Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Galaxy Conference Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: Oct 1976



Biographical History

The Galaxy Conference of Adult. Education Organizations was held in Washington, D.C., in 1969. It was the outgrowth of the Conference of Adult Education Organizations, convened in 1964 to provide liaison among the major professional associations in the field and to focus on common concerns. By 1969, 19 organizations were participating. The Conference, which had both general sessions and associated conferences, was successful both in its own right and in forwarding the goals of the Committee of Adult Education Organizations, which dropped the ad hoc qualification and later incorporated as the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Galaxy Papers, besides giving a comprehensive documentation of the planning and execution of the Conference, include (in Box 3) an organized history, a formal report, and the statement "Imperatives for Action," which resulted from the Galaxy Conference.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Additional material on the Wingspread Conference is located in the Council for the Continuing Education Unit (CCEU) Records. Other collections that may be of particular interest include:

Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) Records
Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
Alexander N. Charters papers
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records
Commission of the Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records
International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records
National Association for Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE) Records
National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records
University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR) Records


Subject Headings

Persons

Charters, Alexander N.

Corporate Bodies

Galaxy Conference on Adult Education, Washington, D.C. 1969 -- Records and correspondence.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Evening and continuation schools -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Galaxy Conference Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Organizational papers

Participating organizations

Miscellaneous


Inventory