Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: International Congress of University Adult Education
Title: International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1954-1991
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: The International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) was formed in 1960 to exchange information and opinions about activities in adult education, and to discuss ways of advancing adult education on a broad front. Records include correspondence, membership records, memoranda, minutes and reports. Organizations represented in the collection include the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults and Unesco. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Alexander N. Charters, Alexander Albert Liveright, and Paul Henry Sheats.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) was formed in 1960, immediately following the Unesco World Conference on Adult Education in Montreal, Canada. Thirty-five adult educators from 14 countries met at the Sagamore Conference Center of Syracuse University to exchange information and opinions about their activities in adult education, and to discuss ways of advancing adult education on a broad front. The Congress acts as an agency of communication and liaison, and a clearinghouse of information and ideas at the international level. The Congress received support in its early years from the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults which provided Alexander Albert Liveright as secretariat. The Congress has sponsored world and regional international meetings of university adult educators, promoted the study of comparative adult education, and published a journal and occasional papers.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records include correspondence, membership records, memoranda, minutes and reports. Organizations represented in the collection include the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults and Unesco.

Correspondence covers 1959-1968. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Alexander N. Charters, Alexander Albert Liveright, and Paul Henry Sheats.Membership records includes both individual and institutional memberships from 1963-1967. Reports and memoranda includes ICUAE, UNESCO and miscellaneous reports. General information such as a directory of colleges involved in adult education and ICUAE's constitution, bylaws and editorial policies resides in General files. Committee files includes the Executive Committee, the Program Planning Committee and the Inter-University International Summer School Committee. Meetings comprises minutes from meetings in various locations (most are in Syracuse). Publications contains several issues of ICUAE's quarterly journal, dating from 1964-1974.

Material which could not be usefully placed in other categories is collected at the end in Miscellanea.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The series themselves are not in any particular order. Within each series, most material is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

The following are particularly closely related to the ICUAE Records:

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records
Alexander N. Charters Papers
Alexander A. Liveright Papers
Paul Sheats Papers

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Charters, Alexander N.
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-1984.

Corporate Bodies

Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults.
International Congress of University Adult Education -- Archives.
Unesco.

Associated Titles

Internation Congress of University Adult Education Journal.

Subjects

Adult education.
International education.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Journals (periodicals)
Memoranda.
Minutes.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority of collection, transfer from ERIC and/or University Archives, 1968-1970.

ICUAE journal issues, gift of Alexander Charters, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EEA
Date: Jun 1976
Revision history: 6 Jun 2006 - finding aid parts 1 and 2 combined, converted to EAD (MRR); 16 Jun 2011 - ICUAE Journal issues added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1959-1964 (May) (4 folders)
Box 2 1964 (Jun)-1968 (3 folders)
Box 2 Undated
Membership records
Box 2 Individual memberships 1963-1965 (4 folders)
Box 3 Individual memberships 1965-1967 (4 folders)
Box 3 Institutional memberships 1963-1965 (2 folders)
Box 4 Institutional memberships 1965-1967 (2 folders)
Box 4 Membership rosters 1961-1966
Reports and memoranda
Box 4 International Congress of University Adult Education 1960-1965
UNESCO
Box 4 1954-1962
Box 5 1963-1967 (3 folders)
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1960-1967
See also Miscellaneous: Discussion group report, "The Concept of Continuing Education"
General files
Box 7 Directory, "Universities and Colleges Engaged in Adult Education" 1962
Box 7 Incorporation 1962
Box 7 Constitution and by-laws 1963
See also Miscellanea: Constitution and history
Box 7 Internal Revenue Service 1965
Box 7 Editorial policy undated
Committee files
Executive Committee
Box 7 1961, Jamaica
Box 7 1961, Syracuse [NY]
Box 7 1962, Ghana
Box 7 1962, Stratford, Ontario
Box 7 1963, Syracuse
Box 7 1964, Sydney
Box 7 1964, Syracuse
Box 7 1965, Krogerup, Denmark
Box 7 1966, Boston
Box 7 1966, Syracuse
Box 7 1966, Buffalo
Box 7 1967, New York
Box 7 1968, Leeds, England
Box 7 1970, Montreal
Box 7 Program Planning Committee, Hamilton, Ontario 1964
Box 7 Inter-University International Summer School Committee 1972-1975 (2 folders)
Meetings
Box 7 Sagamore Conference 1960
Box 7 Unesco staff meeting 1962
Meetings of officers
Box 7 1962, Chicago
Box 7 1963, Syracuse
Box 7 1963, New York
Box 7 1963, Boston
Box 7 1964, Syracuse
Box 7 1965, New York
Box 7 1967, Syracuse
Box 7 1968, Toronto
Box 7 1968, Syracuse
Box 7 1969, Syracuse
Box 7 Annual Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Meeting 1966
Publications
Box 8 International Congress of Adult Education Journal 1964-1974, 1979 1991 - quarterly journal of the organization (18 issues)
1964: March (Volume III, No. 2)
1965: March, May (Volume IV, No.s 1 and 2)
1965: January (Volume V, No. 1)
1966: December (Volume V, No. 2)
1967: June (Volume VI, No. 1)
1968: April, September, December (Volume VII, No.s 1, 2, 3)
1969: December (Volume VIII, No. 1)
1970: July, September (Volume IX, No.s 2 and 3)
1971: April, July, November (Volume X, No.s 1, 2, 3)
1974: April (Volume XIII, No. 1)
1979: April (Volume XVIII, No. 1)
1991: November (Volume XXX, No. 3)
Miscellaneous
Box 6 Constitution and history 1962
See also General files: Constitutution and bylaws
Box 6 Discussion group report, "The Concept of Continuing Education" undated
Box 6 First World Conference, position papers 1965
Box 6 Institut de la Promotion SupĂ©rieure du Travail, Toulouse, France 1965
Box 6 N.E.A. Convention 1965
Speeches
Box 6 Labuda, Gerard undated
Box 6 Lengrand, P. 1965
Box 6 Schwartz, B. 1964
Box 6 University College, Dar es Salaam 1966

Return to top