Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cutler, John L.
Title: John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten
Inclusive Dates: 1925-2002
Bulk Dates: 1925-1938
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Research notes for a book about dime novel author Gilbert Patten, aka Burt L. Standish. Collection includes notes, photographs, printed material, essays, correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gilbert Patten (pen name of Burt L. Standish) was the author of a pulp series for Street & Smith called The Amazing Frank Merriwell Stories. John L. Cutler was the author of Gilbert Patten and his Frank Merriwell saga: a study in sub-literary fiction, 1896-1913 (1934). Ryan K. Anderson is the author of Frank Merriwell and the Fiction of All-American Boyhood (2015). This collection of Cutler's research material was given to Anderson by Cutler's daughter Carolyn, and subsequently donated by Anderson.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten consists of research material for Cutler's book Gilbert Patten and his Frank Merriwell saga: a study in sub-literary fiction, 1896-1913. includes correspondence, Patten memorabilia, and research material.

Correspondence contains Cutler's correspondence with Patten himself, as well as with dime novel collector Charles Bragin and others. There is also one letter from Cutler's daughter Carolyn to Ryan K. Anderson.

Patten memorabilia contains two photographs of Patten along with covers and full issues of several of Patten's stories, written under the name Burt Standish.

Research material contains material accumulatd by Cutler relating to Patten and to dime novels in general, including articles by and about Patten, a questionnaire compiled by Cutler and completed by Patten, a dime novel bibliography, and assorted other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by name or type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center is also the repository for the records of dime novel and pulp publisher Street & Smith. In addition, we have a large number of dime novels and pulp magazines cataloged in our Rare Books holdings; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bragin, Charles.
Ellis, Milton, 1885-1947.
Standish, Burt L., 1866-1945.
Standish, Burt L., 1866-1945. -- Famous Frank Merriwell stories.

Corporate Bodies

Street & Smith.

Associated Titles

Tip top weekly.

Subjects

Dime novels -- History and criticism.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Genealogies (histories)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Research notes.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ryan K. Anderson, 2004.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2010
Revision history: 28 Sep 2018 - processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Cutler, Carolyn (Cutler's daughter) 2002 - to donor Ryan Anderson, about her father
Box 1 Cutler, John, with Charles Bragin (dime novel collector) 1937-1938
Box 1 Cutler, John, with Milton Ellis (professor, University of Maine) 1932, 1934
Box 1 Cutler, John, with Alice Gardner Morris (Patten's ex-wife) 1935
Box 1 Cutler, John, with Gilbert Patten 1931-1934, undated
Box 1 Cutler, John, with Street & Smith 1932
Box 1 Cutler, John, miscellaneous
Patten memorabilia
Box 1 Beadle's New York Dime Library No. 71, cover
Box 1 Jesse James Stories No. 1, full issue
Box 1 Photographs of Patten
Box 1 Tip Top Weekly #256, cover
Box 1 Tip Top Weekly #256, full issue
Research material
Oversize 1 Articles about Patten 1925, 1932, 1934, 1938
Oversize 1 Articles by Patten 1931-1932, 1934, 1937 - includes "Dime novel days: My start as a writer" from Saturday Evening Post
Box 1 Dime Novel Bibliography, Charles Bragin 1938
Box 1 Essay on Munsey Publishing House, author not given undated
Box 1 Maine 1850 census notes
Box 1 Notes on dime novels - index cards
Box 1 Patten genealogical information - family trees on loose sheets, small notebook with notes on Patten family
Box 1 Questionnaires, completed by Patten

Return to top