Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 19 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Cutler, John L.
Title: John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten
Dates: unknown (pre-1934)
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Research notes for a book about pulp author Gilbert Patten. Collection includes notes, photographs, printed material, essays, correspondence.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gilbert Patten (pen name of Burt L. Standish) was the author of a pulp series for Street & Smith called The Amazing Frank Merriwell Stories. Cutler was the author of Gilbert Patten and his Frank Merriwell saga: a study in sub-literary fiction, 1896-1913 (1934).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten consists of research material for Cutler's book for a book Gilbert Patten and his Frank Merriwell saga: a study in sub-literary fiction, 1896-1913. The collection includes notes, photographs, printed material, essays, correspondence.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Standish, Burt L., 1866-1945.
Standish, Burt L., 1866-1945. -- Famous Frank Merriwell stories.

Corporate Bodies

Street & Smith.

Subjects

Dime novels -- History and criticism.

Genres and Forms

Research notes.

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John L. Cutler Research Collection Relating to Gilbert Patten,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ryan K. Anderson, 2004.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.