Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Mabel Cleland Widdemer Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Widdemer, Mabel Cleland.
Title: Mabel Cleland Widdemer Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1921-1963
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American poet and children's author. Collection contains correspondence, printed material, clippings, subject files. Note that the entire collection consists of photocopies (no original items).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mabel Cleland Widdemer (1893-1964) was an American poet and children's author. She wrote several books for the "Childhood of Famous Americans" series published by Bobbs-Merrill, including biographies of Harriet Beecher Stowe, Washington Irving, James Monroe and DeWitt Clinton. Margaret Widdemer (1884-1978) was Mabel's sister-in-law; she was also an author and won a Pulitzer Prize for poetry.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mabel Cleland Widdemer Papers includes correspondence, memorabilia, and writings. Note that the entire collection consists of photocopies (no original items).

Correspondence includes friends, relatives, publishers, fellow authors, and letters from readers.

Memorabilia contains clippings, letters, and transcripts of radio shows where Widdemer's work was discussed.

Writings contains articles, a few items of poetry, and assorted other items.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by name, title, or topic.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the papers of her sister-in-law, Margaret Widdemer.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Tupper, Samuel, 1904-
Widdemer, Mabel Cleland.
Widdemer, Margaret.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Children's authors.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Transcripts.

Occupations

Authors.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mabel Cleland Widdemer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mabel Cleland Widdemer, 1962.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010
Revision history: 28 Sep 2018 - processed (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 American Boy 1924
Box 1 American Girl 1925-1935, 1946, 1948, 1950-1954, undated - includes a folder of reader responses (2 folders)
Box 1 American Library in Paris 1946
Box 1 The American Magazine 1932
Box 1 American Telephone & Telegraph 1946-1947, 1952
Box 1 Arcadia House 1928-1929, 1938, 1940
Box 1 Atlantic Publications 1928
Box 1 The Authors' Guild of the Authors' League of America 1923, 1962
Box 1 Briggs, Olga Hampel 1949-1950, 1954, undated
Box 1 Child Life 1924-1928, 1938, 1943
Box 1 The Classmate 1926-1927, 1930, 1941-1943
Box 1 Cleland, Mabel undated
Box 1 Collier's 1926, undated
Box 1 Detroit Public Library 1953-1954, undated
Box 1 Doubleday & Company 1948, 1952, 1959, 1963
Box 1 Eugene Field Society 1940
Box 1 Everygirl's 1926-1928
Box 1 Farrar & Rinehart 1931-1934, undated
Box 1 Fleming H. Revell Company 1947
Box 1 Graves, Ralph H. 1939-1941
Box 1 Greene, Nelson 1949-1951, undated
Box 1 Harcourt, Brace and Company 1924-1928, 1935, 1938, undated
Box 1 Harold Ober Associates 1953-1956
Box 1 Holland Society of New York 1949
Box 1 The Household Magazine 1928
Box 1 International Mark Twain Society 1946, 1950
Box 1 J. B. Lippincott 1922, 1951-1952
Box 1 Life 1921-1924
Box 1 The Lyric 1953
Box 1 Music Corporation of America 1939
Box 1 New Fiction Publishing Corporation 1921-1923
Box 1 New York Association for the Blind 1933, 1936, 1948, 1952
Box 1 The New Yorker 1928
Box 1 Pen and Brush 1948, 1951, 1954
Box 1 The Portal 1924-1938, undated
Box 1 Rand McNally & Company 1953-1954
Box 1 Reynolds, Noyes 1950-1952
Box 1 Roosevelt Memorial Association 1950-1952
Box 2 St. Nicholas 1932-1938, undated
Box 2 Saturday Evening Post 1923, 1927-1928, undated
Box 2 Saturday Review of Literature 1952
Box 2 Stowe, Lyman Beecher 1949
Box 2 Tupper, Sam Jr. 1958, undated
Box 2 Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation 1946
Box 2 Weaver, Stella 1949, 1952, undated
Box 2 Westminster Press 1944-1945, 1952
Box 2 Who's Who 1941, 1961
Box 2 Widdemer, Margaret 1981-1919, 1951-1954, 1957-1963, undated - letters to and from Mabel's sister-in-law
Box 2 Women's National Book Association 1932-1933
Box 2 Miscellaneous, A-Z (2 folders)
Box 2 Miscellaneous fan letters
Memorabilia
Box 2 Clippings 1923-1960, undated (2 folders)
Box 2 "A Letter from an Author" - letter by Widdemer to a sixth grade book club
Box 2 Material relating to Margaret Widdemer (Mabel's sister-in-law)
Box 2 "Notes for my talk and for publicity purposes in connection with reading to the children at the Albany celebration" June 21st, 1954
Radio show transcripts
Box 2 The Book Column, with Olga Briggs, WPTR Albany 1949-1950
Box 2 The Book Mark, with Olga Briggs, WABY Albany 1949-1950, 1958
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Writings
Box 3 A-U (3 folders)

Return to top