Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Standard Pyroxoloid Corp. (Leominster, Mass.)
Title: Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records
Inclusive Dates: 1946-1972
Quantity: 3 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection contains color formulas and product compositions/formulas in the form of typed reports and on 5 x 8" index cards; records of the Standard Pyroxoloid Company and Stanaloid Corporation; and 38 photographs of an unidentified manufacturing facility, date stamped January 16, 1958 (13 are duplicates).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Standard Pyroxoloid Company was a plastics manufacturer in Leominster, Massachusetts. The Standard Pyroxoloid Company may have evolved into, or been bought out by, the Stanaloid Corporation.

The relationship among the companies named in this collection is unclear and requires further research. The color and product formulas appear to have passed from Du Pont's Arlington Works to Stanaloid Corporation at some time, because the Du Pont name is crossed out and Stanaloid written in. The pieces are assumed to be one collection by virtue of their storage together and similarity of handwriting on the old housing.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records contains color formulas and product compositions/formulas, company records, and photographs.

Company records contains the records of the Standard Pyroxoloid Company and of the Stanaloid Corporation.

Photographs contain an unidentified manufacturing facility, date stamped January 16, 1958.

Product compositions/formulas & processing methods contains formulas, including those for colors, in typed report form and on 5 x 8” file cards.

Miscellaneous contains blank stationary and internal use office reports for the Stanaloid Corporation

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. See in particular the Standard Comb Company Photographs.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Company. Arlington Works.
Stanaloid Corporation.
Standard Pyroxoloid Corp. (Leominster, Mass.) -- Archives.

Subjects

Celluloid.
Chemical plants.
Factories.
Nitrocellulose.
Plastics industry and trade.
Product formulas.
Pyralin.

Genres and Forms

Business records.
Photographs.
Reports.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006
Revision history: Feb 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 22 April 2011 - added material, reprocessed the collection and updated the finding aid (CEG)

Return to top

Inventory

Company records
Box 1 Reports 1946-1949, 1952-1965 - documents from various departments; baking, mixing, press polish, Pyroxylin, rod and tube, rolling, seasoning, stuffing, sheeting
Photographs
Box 1 Unidentified manufacturing facility 16 Jan 1958 - images of machinary (38 photographs)
Product compositions/formulas & processing methods
Box 2 Color formulas & reports: Pyralin no. 52542-53181 1957 - report 53081, "translucent white pearl," includes a material sample, incomplete series
Box 3 Color formulas & reports: Pyralin no. 4112-4122 1957 - incomplete series
Box 4 Color formulas & reports: Pyralin no. 4127-7311 1957 - incomplete series
Box 5 Color formulas & reports: unnumbered 1957 - includes cellulose nitrate sheeting formulas, polyvinyl butyral sheeting by block method process, and a camphor test
Box 6-7 Color formulas undated - index cards with color ingredients, raw materials and color information (200+ index cards)
Product Literature
Box 5 Catalogs 1972 - toy catalogs
Miscellaneous
Box 5 Stanaloid Corporation 1971-1972, undated - blank analysis and weekly expense reports and blank company stationary,

Return to top