Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006

Biographical History

Standard Pyroxoloid Company was a plastics manufacturer in Leominster, Massachusetts. The Standard Pyroxoloid Company may have evolved into, or been bought out by, the Stanaloid Corporation.

The relationship among the companies named in this collection is unclear and requires further research. The color and product formulas appear to have passed from Du Pont's Arlington Works to Stanaloid Corporation at some time, because the Du Pont name is crossed out and Stanaloid written in. The pieces are assumed to be one collection by virtue of their storage together and similarity of handwriting on the old housing.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records contains color formulas and product compositions/formulas, company records, and photographs.

Company records contains the records of the Standard Pyroxoloid Company and of the Stanaloid Corporation.

Photographs contain an unidentified manufacturing facility, date stamped January 16, 1958.

Product compositions/formulas & processing methods contains formulas, including those for colors, in typed report form and on 5 x 8” file cards.

Miscellaneous contains blank stationary and internal use office reports for the Stanaloid Corporation


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. See in particular the Standard Comb Company Photographs.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Company. Arlington Works.
Stanaloid Corporation.
Standard Pyroxoloid Corp. (Leominster, Mass.) -- Archives.


Chemical plants.
Plastics industry and trade.
Product formulas.

Genres and Forms

Business records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Standard Pyroxoloid Company Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008.

Table of Contents

Company records


Product compositions/formulas & processing methods

Product Literature