Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Harold S. Spencer Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Spencer, Harold S.
Title: Harold S. Spencer Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1888-1967
Quantity: 43.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American theatrical agent. Collection includes index cards relating to work records of stage and motion picture actors and actresses (1920-1945); forty-five librettos printed before 1940; and clippings (1888-1964).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold S. Spencer was an American theatrical agent in the mid-twentieth century.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Spencer Papers consist of index cards, librettos, newsclippings, and miscellaneous material.

The Index Cards contain work and experience records of actors and actresses both in theatre and cinema. The years roughly span 1920-1945.

The Librettos comprise texts of 45 popular operas published before 1940.

The Newsclippings are the bulk of the collection. There are both folders arranged alphabetically and volumes arranged chronologically of clippings concerning entertainment stars from 1888-1964.

Miscellaneous contains various playscripts, graphic charts and one published play.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically except for the volumes of news clippings, which are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers and records of many individuals and organizations related to dance, drama and theater. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Spencer, Harold S. -- Archives.

Subjects

Actors -- United States.
Motion picture actors and actresses -- United States.
Theater -- United States.
Theatrical agents -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Librettos.

Occupations

Theatrical agents.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold S. Spencer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CAK
Date: 1 Jul 1979
Revision history: 28 May 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Index cards
Actors
Box 1 Deceased
Box 1 Experience Records
Box 2 Second
Actresses
Box 2 Deceased
Box 3 Experience Records
Box 3 Second
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Musicals
Box 4 Plays
Box 5 Playwrights
Librettos
Box 5 "Adrienne Lecourrer"
Box 5 "Aida" (3 copies)
Box 5 "The Ameer"
Box 5 "An Artist's Model"
Box 5 "Il Barbiere de Siviglia"
Box 5 "The Bartered Bride"
Box 5 "La Boheme"
Box 5 "Boris Godunoff"
Box 5 "Cavalleria Rusticana"
Box 5 "Don Giovanni"
Box 5 "Don Pasquale"
Box 5 "Fatinitza"
Box 5 "Faust" (2 copies)
Box 5 "Fra Diavolo"
Box 5 "Francesa Da Rimini"
Box 5 "Genevieve de Brabert"
Box 5 "La Gioconda"
Box 5 "Les Huguenots"
Box 5 "Lohengrin"
Box 5 "Loveley"
Box 5 "Louise"
Box 5 "The Love Spell"
Box 5 "Lucia di Lammermoor"
Box 5 "Madame Butterfly" (2 copies)
Box 5 "Martha" (2 copies)
Box 5 "Die Meistersinger"
Box 5 "Mignon"
Box 5 "Norma" (2 copies)
Box 5 "Otello"
Box 5 "I Pagliacci"
Box 5 "Parsifal" (2 copies)
Box 5 "Pelleas et Melisande"
Box 5 "Rigoletto"
Box 5 "Der Rosenkavlier"
Box 5 "Samson and Dalilah"
Box 5 "Siegfried"
Box 5 "Tales of Hoffman"
Box 5 "La Tosca"
Box 5 "La Traviata"
Box 5 "Tristan et Isolde"
Box 5 "Il Trovatore" (3 copies)
Box 5 "Turandot"
Box 5 "The Yeoman of the Guard"
Newsclippings
Actors and Actresses
Box 5 A (10 folders)
Box 6 B (18 folders)
Box 6 C (18 folders)
Box 6 D (14 folders)
Box 7 E (5 folders)
Box 7 F (11 folders)
Box 7 G (14 folders)
Box 7 H (18 folders)
Box 7 I (4 folders)
Box 7 J (4 folders)
Box 8 K (7 folders)
Box 8 L (14 folders)
Box 8 M (23 folders)
Box 8 N (7 folders)
Box 8 O (5 folders)
Box 9 P (13 folders)
Box 9 R (13 folders)
Box 9 S (17 folders)
Box 9 T (6 folders)
Box 10 T (7 folders)
Box 10 U-V (8 folders)
Box 10 W (17 folders)
Box 10 X,Y,Z (3 folders)
Box 10 Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 10 Operas A-Z (16 folders)
Volumes
Box 10 1888-1894
Box 11 1894-1898 (2 volumes)
Box 11 Aug, 1898-Jun, 1899
Box 11 Sep, 1899-May, 1900
Box 11 Aug, 1900-Jun, 1901
Box 11 Aug, 1901-Jan, 1902
Box 12 Jan, 1902-May, 1902
Box 12 Aug, 1902-Feb, 1903
Box 12 May, 1903-Oct, 1904 (3 volumes)
Box 13 Oct, 1904-Jan, 1906 (6 volumes)
Box 14 Jan, 1906-Dec, 1906 (3 volumes)
Box 14 Mar, 1907-Dec, 1907 (2 volumes)
Box 15 Dec, 1907-Jun, 1909 (6 volumes)
Box 16 Jun, 1909-Nov, 1910 (6 volumes)
Box 17 Nov, 1910-Feb, 1912 (6 volumes)
Box 18 Feb, 1912-Oct, 1913 (6 volumes)
Box 19 Oct, 1913-Nov, 1915 (6 volumes)
Box 20 Nov, 1915-Oct, 1917 (6 volumes)
Box 21 Oct, 1917-May, 1919 (6 volumes)
Box 22 May, 1919-Feb, 1921 (6 volumes)
Box 23 Feb, 1921-Apr, 1923 (6 volumes)
Box 24 May, 1923-Nov, 1925 (6 volumes)
Box 25 Nov, 1925-Mar, 1928 (6 volumes)
Box 26 Mar, 1928-Jan, 1931 (6 volumes)
Box 27 Jan, 1931-Mar, 1934 (6 volumes)
Box 28 Mar, 1934-May, 1937 (6 volumes)
Box 29 May, 1937-Jul, 1940 (6 volumes)
Box 30 Jul, 1940-May, 1942 (5 volumes)
Box 31 May, 1942-Jan, 1944 (5 volumes)
Box 32 Jan, 1944-Oct, 1945 (4 volumes)
Box 33 Oct, 1945-Mar, 1947 (4 volumes)
Box 34 Mar, 1947-Oct, 1949 (5 volumes)
Box 35 Oct, 1949-Feb, 1952 (4 volumes)
Box 36 Feb, 1952-Nov, 1953 (4 volumes)
Box 37 Nov, 1953-Oct, 1955 (4 volumes)
Box 38 Oct, 1955-May, 1957 (4 volumes)
Box 39 May, 1957-Jul, 1959 (4 volumes)
Box 40 Jul, 1959-Nov, 1961 (4 volumes)
Box 41 Nov, 1961-Mar, 1964 (4 volumes)
Box 42 Mar, 1964-Apr, 1967 (4 volumes)
Box 43 Undated (2 volumes)
Oversize 1 Undated (3 volumes)
Miscellaneous
Box 43 Graphic Charts
Box 43 Published play, The Tower of Nesle, Dumas
Scripts
Oversize 1 Henry Irving, Ellen Terry, Portraits / E. Gordon Craig
Box 43 Ladies in Retirement / Miller
Box 43 The Male Animal / Miller
Box 43 The Man Who Came to Dinner / Kaufman and Hart
Box 43 The Play's the Thing / Wodehouse
Box 43 Southern Exposure
Box 43 Trifles / Glaspell
Box 43 The Winslow Boy / Rattigan

Return to top