Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Harold S. Spencer Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAK
Date: 1 Jul 1979



Biographical History

Harold S. Spencer was an American theatrical agent in the mid-twentieth century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Spencer Papers consist of index cards, librettos, newsclippings, and miscellaneous material.

The Index Cards contain work and experience records of actors and actresses both in theatre and cinema. The years roughly span 1920-1945.

The Librettos comprise texts of 45 popular operas published before 1940.

The Newsclippings are the bulk of the collection. There are both folders arranged alphabetically and volumes arranged chronologically of clippings concerning entertainment stars from 1888-1964.

Miscellaneous contains various playscripts, graphic charts and one published play.


Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically except for the volumes of news clippings, which are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers and records of many individuals and organizations related to dance, drama and theater. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Spencer, Harold S. -- Archives.

Subjects

Actors -- United States.
Motion picture actors and actresses -- United States.
Theater -- United States.
Theatrical agents -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Librettos.

Occupations

Theatrical agents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold S. Spencer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Index cards

Librettos

Newsclippings

Miscellaneous


Inventory