Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood

An inventory of her collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: JOD
Date: Dec 1990



Biographical History

Kendall Taylor was an American art historian and biographer of American Social Realist painter Philip Evergood.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood is focused on Philip Evergood (1901-1973), an American social realist painter who was active from the 1930s through the 1960s. The collection is divided into two sections.

The Philip Evergood series contains original research material relating to Evergood and consists of correspondence, photographs, exhibition catalogs, some of Evergood's writings, and memorabilia. The Kendall Taylor series contains the papers of Kendall Taylor, his biographer, comprising drafts and research notes relating to her work on Evergood.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically, by name, type or title as appropriate.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A small amount of additional Evergood material may be found in the Philip Evergood Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Evergood, Philip, 1901-1973.
Taylor, Kendall, 1941-

Subjects

Art and society -- United States.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Artists -- United States.
Biographers, United States.
Jewish artists -- United States.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Social realism -- United States.
Women art historians -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Announcements.
Awards.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Dissertations.
Drafts (documents)
Drawings.
Essays.
Exhibition catalogs.
Interviews.
Memorabilia.
Notes.
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Art historians.
Artists.
Biographers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kendall Taylor Collection relating to Philip Evergood
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, October 1990.


Table of Contents

Philip Evergood

Kendall Taylor


Inventory