Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jacques Schnier Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Schnier, Jacques, 1898-1988.
Title: Jacques Schnier Papers
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: Manuscripts, published material, correspondence of the Romanian-born sculptor and muralist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jacques Schnier (1898-1988) was a modernist sculptor, mural painter and teacher.

Born in Romania, Schnier was brought to the United States in 1903 by his parents. He graduated from Stanford in 1920 with a degree in engineering but shortly thereafter turned his interest to city planning. The art courses he was required to take as part of his architecture studies led him from city planning to a successful career as a sculptor and muralist, and over the course of his productive life he won numerous awards for his own work as well as for public commissions, including statues and bas-reliefs for the Golden Gate International Exposition in 1939-1940. He was also interested in mental health and psychoanalysis, publishing numerous articles in professional journals on the subject. He was on the faculty at the University of California, Berkeley for thirty years (1936-1966) and was instrumental in establishing both undergraduate and graduate degree programs in sculpture.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jacques Schnier Papers consist of manuscripts, published material, and correspondence of the Romanian-born sculptor and muralist.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many sculptors and painters; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Schnier, Jacques, 1898-1988.

Subjects

Art, Modern -- 20th century.
Sculpture -- 20th century.
Sculpture -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jacques Schnier Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jacques Schnier, 1968.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.