Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William D. Dowling Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: EEA
Date: Jul 1991

Revision history:
4 May 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dowling, William D.
Title: William D. Dowling Papers
Dates: 1961-1980 (bulk: 1965-1978)
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers include published materials, speeches, memoranda, agendas, notes, correspondence, outlines and lists. There are some papers from Dowling’s work on the Ad Hoc Committee on Administration of the Subcommittee for Adult Students at Ohio State University. Many of the papers reflect his interest in adult basic education and vocational and technical training for adults.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Dowling was on the faculty of Ohio State University in the College of Education. He served as chairman of the Ad Hoc Committee on Administration of the Subcommittee for Adult Students. He was also active in national organizations such as the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE). His interests include adult basic education and vocational and technical education for adults.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The material - published material, speeches, memoranda, agendas, notes, correspondence, outlines and lists - generally representing the period 1965-78, is arranged alphabetically. A number of pamphlets have been removed to the adult education pamphlet file.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dowling, William D.
Hendrickson, Andrew, b. 1899

Corporate Bodies

Commission for Professors of Adult Education

Subjects

Adult education

Genres and Forms

Agendas.
Correspondence.
Memoranda.
Speeches.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William D. Dowling Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files


Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 Conference on University Education Related to Aging, 26 Mar 1965
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 1 Presentation by Dowling 30 Oct 1973
Box 1 Presentation by M.J.Even 5 Nov 1979
Box 1 "Effective Reading in Green Bay" by Dowling 1961
Box 1 National Institute for Resource Development and Utilization in ABE, 6-17 Apr 1970
Ohio State University (OSU)
Box 1 Ad Hoc Committee on Adult Students, Art Adams 1978
Box 1 Center for Vocational and Technical Education
"Developmental Program Goals" 1972, 1975
Robert Taylor 1973
Box 1 College of Education, misc. 1972, 1980
Box 1 Graduate Course Outline, Vocational-Technical Education undated
Box 1 Hendrickson, Andrew 1963-1964
Box 1 Publications 1967, 1975