Finding Aids
printer friendly version

National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education.
Title: National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1976-1982
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Records and other papers relating to the adult education organization. Minutes, conference material, correspondence, publications.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The National Association for Public Continuing Adult Education (NAPCAE) existed from 1975 to 1982. Its precursor organization, the National Association for Public School Adult Education (NAPSAE), was founded in 1952 to represent public school adult education and literacy programs within the Adult Education Association (AEA). In 1975 the name was changed to NAPCAE, the name under which it operated until 1982. In 1982 NAPCAE and AEA merged to create the American Association for Adult Continuing Education (AAACE).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records contains meeting minutes, conference material, correspondence, publications, and other material relating to the organization.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The consists of a single series, General files, containing conference and committee folders, constitution and by-laws, correspondence, legislative updates, policies and procedures, publications, and other material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in the area of adult education; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see the records of the predecessor organization, National Association for Public School Adult Education (NAPSAE) . Also, the William Langner Papers contains an extensive collection of the NAPCAE publications Swap Shop, Pulse and Techniques in the Printed material: Misc newsletters subseries.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.
Elementary education of adults.

Genres and Forms

Constitutions.
Correspondence.
Directories.
Manuals.
Memoranda.
Minutes.
Newsletters.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Albert Campbell, 2009.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 16 Jun 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

General files
Box 1 Board minutes 1976-1977
Box 1 Committees 1976-1978
Box 1 Conference info 1974-1978
Box 1 Constitution, by-laws, reorganization committee 1977-1979
See also Reorganization committee (Box 2).
Box 1 Correspondence 1976-1982
Box 1 General info 1977 - includes document on proposed changes to the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD)
Box 1 [Legislative updates] 1978 - found loose in the box, these appear to be alerts to membership on legislation affecting adult education
Box 2 Meeting minutes 1977
Box 2 MVAEA [Missouri Valley Adult Education Association] & IALL [Iowa Association for Lifelong Learning] 1978
Box 2 Planning survey 1975
Box 2 Policies and procedures
Publications
Box 2 Administrator's Swap Shop 1976-1977
Box 2 NAPCAE Exchange 1978-1980
Box 2 Pulse 1978-1982
Box 2 Techniques 1981-1982
Box 2 Reorg. committee 1978
See also Constitution, by-laws, reorganization committee (Box 1)
Box 2 Miscellanous 1977-1978 - photographs, clippings, correspondence, brochures from or about other adult education organizations

Return to top