Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Jun 2009



Biographical History

The National Association for Public Continuing Adult Education (NAPCAE) existed from 1975 to 1982. Its precursor organization, the National Association for Public School Adult Education (NAPSAE), was founded in 1952 to represent public school adult education and literacy programs within the Adult Education Association (AEA). In 1975 the name was changed to NAPCAE, the name under which it operated until 1982. In 1982 NAPCAE and AEA merged to create the American Association for Adult Continuing Education (AAACE).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records contains meeting minutes, conference material, correspondence, publications, and other material relating to the organization.


Arrangement of the Collection

The consists of a single series, General files, containing conference and committee folders, constitution and by-laws, correspondence, legislative updates, policies and procedures, publications, and other material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in the area of adult education; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see the records of the predecessor organization, National Association for Public School Adult Education (NAPSAE) . Also, the William Langner Papers contains an extensive collection of the NAPCAE publications Swap Shop, Pulse and Techniques in the Printed material: Misc newsletters subseries.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.
Elementary education of adults.

Genres and Forms

Constitutions.
Correspondence.
Directories.
Manuals.
Memoranda.
Minutes.
Newsletters.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

National Association for Public Continuing & Adult Education (NAPCAE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Albert Campbell, 2009.


Table of Contents

General files


Inventory