Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Sinclair Lewis Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951.
Title: Sinclair Lewis Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1913-1954
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft.
Abstract: American author. Collection consists of correspondence, one manuscript and photographs; all letters are photopies, no originals.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010

Biographical History

Sinclair Lewis (1885-1951) was an American novelist, short-story writer, and playwright. He was the first American to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, in 1930.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sinclair Lewis Collection consists of correspondence. All letters are photopies, no originals. The finding aid originally listed a photograph and a part of a manuscript; these items could not be located during rehousing (2018).

Return to top


Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the papers of Sinclair Lewis' wife Dorothy Thompson and son Michael Lewis.

Return to top

Subject Headings


Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951.


Authors, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms




Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sinclair Lewis Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010
Revision history: 12 Jan 2018 - rehoused, updated (MRC)

Return to top


Box 1 Bankson, Russell 1919
Box 1 Schauffler, Robert Maven 1913
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1928-1944 - photocopies only (10 folders)
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1945-1946 - mix of originals and photocopies (9 folders)
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1947 - mix of originals and photocopies
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1948, 1950-1953, undated - photocopies only (7 folders)

Return to top