Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sinclair Lewis Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951.
Title: Sinclair Lewis Collection
Dates: 1928-1954
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American author. Collection consists of correspondence, one manuscript and photographs; all letters are photopies, no originals.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sinclair Lewis (1885–1951) was an American novelist, short-story writer, and playwright. He was the first American to be awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, in 1930.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Sinclair Lewis Collection consists of correspondence, one manuscript, and photographs. All letters are photopies, no originals.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the papers of Sinclair Lewis' wife Dorothy Thompson and son Michael Lewis.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sinclair Lewis Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969, 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1948, 1950-1953 (5 folders)
Miscellaneous
Box 1 Photo, partial manuscript of "Free Air"