Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Norma Kidd Green Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Green, Norma Kidd.
Title: Norma Kidd Green Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1844-2016
Bulk Dates: 1950-1980
Quantity: 4 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection includes correspondence and writings of the American author, including Iron Eye’s Family and A Forgotten Chapter in American Education, as well as her childhood books and books by early American educator Jane Andrews.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Norma Kidd Green (1893-1975) was an American author.

A graduate of Beatrice High School in 1911 and the University of Nebraska in 1915, Green was an accomplished writer. Among her publications are a biography of early American educator Jane Andrews and Iron Eye's Family, about the children of Omaha chief Iron Eye (Joseph LaFlesche). Kidd married Roy Melvin Green in 1919 and had four children: Mary Elizabeth (Betty), Nancy Josephine (Nan), William Earl (Bill) and Thomas Franklin (Tom).

Green was deeply interested in the education of women, the lives of Native Americans, and in promoting the habits of life-long learning. She is well known for her Biography by Books in which she set out to portray her own life as a narrative informed by books, particularly those works that were important in her childhood; many of these books are included in the collection. In 1952, Green gave a copy of her story to each of her three living children, and it has since been revised and passed down along the "Green-Genes." This book provides a narrative of Norma Green’s life, including the death of her son Bill in World War II and her focus on foreign affairs, activism, and her renewed efforts on becoming a teacher.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norma Kidd Green Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, printed materials, and writings.

Correspondence contains incoming and outgoing correspondence with the American Foundation for the Blind, Nebraska City School for the Blind, and the Nebraska State Historical Society.

Memorabilia includes diaries, journals, photographs, scrapbooks and other items. Of interest is Green's commencement program from Beatrice High School.

Printed materials is subdivided into writings by Green, by others, and by unknown authors. The majority of these are books that were important in Green’s childhood, which she describes in her Biography by Books. While some of the books predate Green's lifetime, these are books that have been passed down through her family and are relevant to her work and character.

Writings comprises typed and handwritten manuscripts of various articles, essays, etc written by Green. Of special interest are three editions of her Biography by Books, research for her book Iron Eye's Family, and manuscripts for a history of the Young Women’s Christian Association of the University of Nebraska, Green's alma mater.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Memorabilia is sorted first alphabetically by type or topic. then chronologically. Printed materials are subdivided into writings by Green, by others, and by unknown authors. Within these sections, items are sorted alphabetically by author and title. Writings are sorted alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Additional Norma Kidd Green material is available at the Nebraska State Historical Society, including the LaFlesche Family Papers collected by Green. See also the Norma Kidd Green Papers at the Smith College Special Collections.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Alcott, Louisa May, 1832-1888.
Andrews, Jane, 1833-1887.
Arnold, Sarah Louise, 1859-1943.
Gilbert, Charles B. (Charles Benajah), 1855-1913.
Green, Norma Kidd.
LaFlesche, Joseph, 1822-1889.

Corporate Bodies

American Foundation for the Blind.
Nebraska State Historical Society.

Subjects

Children's literature -- 19th century.
Children's literature, American -- Bio-bibliography.
Women authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.
Manuscripts for publication.
Memorabilia.
Research notes.

Occupations

Biographers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norma Kidd Green Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Thomas F. Green, 2000.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 11 Jan 2010
Revision history: 24 Nov 2020 - processed (NR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 American Foundation for the Blind undated
Box 1 Nebraska City School for the Blind 1940
Box 1 Nebraska State Historical Society 1976
Box 1 Opocensky, Virginia 2016
Box 1 Town Journal 1956 - includes typescript of article submitted by Green
Memorabilia
Box 1 Beatrice High School Commencement Program 1911
Box 1 BIOG.NKG.WPD - most likely Green's biography; WordPerfect format (files not viewed) (Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch) (ID#: green_nk_001)
Box 1 Clippings 1941, 1958
Box 1 "Cuttings from Diaries of Norma Kidd (Green)" - handwritten excerpts from from 1911-1971
Box 1 Funeral guest book, Norma Kidd Green 1975
Box 1 Funeral guest book, Roy M. Green 1976 - includes program from memorial service
Box 1 Guest book 1927-1952
Box 1 Journals 1957-1959 (2 folders)
Box 2 Journal undated - scattered notes, many blank pages
Oversize 1 Photograph album undated - candid shots of cabin in woods, people
Box 2 Photographs 1942, 1961, undated - includes clipping of article by Green, which uses one of the photos
Box 2 "Reading Record" 1957-1968
Box 2 Scrapbooks undated - clippings, notes, copies of quotes and poems, etc. (2 volumes)
Printed materials
By Green
Box 2 Articles, miscellaneous 1930-1931, 1942, 1955, 1957
See also Writings: Articles, miscellaneous below.
Box 2 A Forgotten Chapter in American Education: Jane Andrews of Newburyport 1961 - signed and inscribed to Rose Riddell
Box 2 Books And You 1956
By others
Box 4 Alcott, Louisa M. Eight Cousins or, the Aunt Hill 1895
Box 4 Alcott, Louisa M. Rose in Bloom 1886
Box 4 Andrews, Jane Each and All :The Seven Little Sisters Prove their Sisterhood 1905
Box 4 Andrews, Jane Geographical Plays 1880
Box 4 Andrews, Jane The Rational Spelling Book undated
Box 4 Andrews, Jane Seven Little Sisters 1895
Box 4 Andrews, Jane The Stories of My Four Friends 1900
Box 4 Andrews, Jane The Stories Mother Nature Told Her Children 1895
Box 4 Andrews, Jane Ten Boys Who Lived on the Road from long ago to now 1885
Box 4 Arnold, Sarah Louise and Gilbert, Charles B. Stepping Stones to Literature: A First Reader 1902
Box 4 Arnold, Sarah Louise and Gilbert, Charles B. Stepping Stones to Literature: A Second Reader 1902
Box 4 Arnold, Sarah Louise and Gilbert, Charles B. Stepping Stones to Literature: A Third Reader 1897
Box 4 Arnold, Sarah Louise and Gilbert, Charles B. Stepping Stones to Literature: A Reader for Sixth Grades 1897
Box 5 Arnold, Sarah Louise and Gilbert, Charles B. Stepping Stones to Literature: A Reader for Seventh Grades 1898
Box 5 Arnold, Sarah Louise and Gilbert, Charles B. Stepping Stones to Literature: A Reader for Higher Grades 1898
Box 5 Crabtree, J. W. The Roll of Honor Word Book undated
Box 5 Goddard, Julia Fairy Tales in Other Lands 1892
No author or unknown
Box 4 Jingles and Chimes undated
Box 4 Picture Lessons in English Part 1 undated
Box 4 Tip Toe Days 1893
Box 4 The Twentieth Century New Testament undated
Box 4 The Youth’s Keepsake 1844
Writings
Box 2 Articles, miscellaneous - typescript, some with corrections, some annotated with publication date and venue
Biography By Books
Box 2 First edition 1952 - typescript
Box 2 Second edition 1977 - typescript
Box 2 Third edition 2000 - typescript, multiple copies; a few pages of handwritten notes
Box 3 Typescript, third edition 2000 - typescript, multiple copies, one in red cover
Box 3 Typescript of addendum, "Tuesday Morning Study Club" 2000
The First Seventy-Five Years of the Young Women’s Christian Association of the University of Nebraska
Box 3 "Good Copy" 1915 - typescript
Box 3 "Irregular Copy" 1915 - typescript with handwritten notes
Iron Eye’s Family: the Children of Joseph LaFlesche
Box 3 Clippings 1961, 1981
Box 3 Research notes undated
Box 3 Writings 1961-1975
Box 3 Notes, miscellaneous undated
Box 3 Poetry undated - handwritten scraps
Box 3 Toast. Mother-Daughter Banquet undated - includes handwritten notes
Box 3 Unknown undated - copies of poems; typescript fragment

Return to top