Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Mildred Considine Papers

A description of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Considine, Mildred.
Title: Mildred Considine Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1955-1967
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: American society and travel columnist, wife of Bob Considine. Collection contains correspondence, manuscripts and clippings. Bulk relates to her memoir, Just a Minute, Mrs. Gulliver: Being the Account of the Travels and Travails of Mrs. Bob Considine.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mildred Considine (nee Anderson) (1904 or 1908-1983) was an American columnist and author. Born in Coyle, Oklahoma, she grew up in various small towns across that state and later moved to Kansas City. In the early 1930s she married her husband, Hearst newspaper reporter and columnist Bob Considine. Better known to everyone as Millie, she wrote her own columns on society and travel, had a radio show on the Mutual Broadcasting system for five years, and wrote about her life in Just a Minute, Mrs. Gulliver: Being the Account of the Travels and Travails of Mrs. Bob Considine (1967).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mildred Considine Papers consist of biographical material and writings. The bulk of the material relates to her memoir, Just a Minute, Mrs. Gulliver.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection remains largely in original order, as donated.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the papers of her husband, Bob Considine.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Considine, Bob, 1906-1975.
Considine, Mildred.

Associated Titles

Just a minute, Mrs. Gulliver.

Subjects

American newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc.
Travel writing.
Women journalists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Journalists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mildred Considine Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mildred Considine, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010
Revision history: 14 Jun 2018 - processed (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical material
Writings
Book, "Just a Minute, Mrs. Gulliver"
Box 1 Sketches of proposed book (2 copies)
Box 1 Early version (working title: Memories of a Magpie) (2 copies)
Box 1 Rough chapter crafts
Box 1 Hope Hampton - drafts A and B
Box 1 Intermediate notations and sketches
Box 1 Title creation
Box 1 Draft A
Box 1 Draft B
Box 1 Draft C
Box 1 Draft D
Box 1 Draft E (2 folders)
Box 1 Draft F, chapters 1-14
Box 2 Draft F, chapter 15-end
Box 2 Draft G (final) (2 folders)
Box 2 Related correspondence, Prentice Hall
Box 2 Correspondence, general
Box 2 Book publicity
Box 2 Personal appearences 1967 - includes related correspondence, photo stills
Box 2 Book publication parties
Box 2 Reviews, articles and clippings about
Box 2 Miscellaneous story reflections
Columns
Box 2 Milling with Millie 1955-1957
Box 2 Helpful Hints for Housewives - a collection of listener responses from Millie's radio show on the Mutual Radio Network

Return to top