Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Franz Waxman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Waxman, Franz, 1906-1967
Title: Franz Waxman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1922-1996
Quantity: 33 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1934-1967); manuscript scores; printed scores; clippings; articles and speeches; materials about the Los Angeles Music Festival (1947-1966); awards; and his autograph collection. Correspondents include American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, Leonard Bernstein, Boosey and Hawkes, Inc., Nicolai Brerezowsky,Aaron Copland, Werner Egk, Paul Eluard, James Forsyth, Lukas Foss, John Green, John te Groen, Jascha Heifetz, Dorothy Huttenback, Rolf Liebermann, Joshua Logan, Los Angeles Music Festival, J Marks, Charlotte Nicholls, Organisation Artistique Internationale, Menahem Pressler, Max Rabinoff, Marcella Rabwin, Rundfunk Hessischer, Dore Schary, Hans Sikorski, Isaac Stern, Leopold Stokowski, Alexandre Tansman, Union of Soviet Composers, Gottreid Von Emlin, Jerry Wald, Bruno Walter, John Waxman, Lella Simone Waxman, and Alma Mahler Werfel.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

FRANZ WAXMAN 1906-1967

A Biographical Memoir by John W. Waxman

Last portrait of Franz Waxman, taken by Boris Goldenberg in 1965, for the premiere of The Song of Terezín at the Cincinnati May Festival[Photo at right: Last portrait of Franz Waxman, taken by Boris Goldenberg in 1965, for the premiere of The Song of Terezín at the Cincinnati May Festival.]

Franz Waxman led a variety of musical lives as composer, conductor and impresario. He was born in Konigshutte, Upper Silesia, Germany, on December 24, 1906, and was the youngest of seven children. No one in the family was musical except Franz, who started piano lessons at the age of six. His father was an industrialist, and not believing his son could earn a living in music, encouraged him in a banking career. He worked for two and a half years as a teller and used his salary to pay for lessons in piano, harmony and composition. He then quit the bank and moved to Dresden and then to Berlin to study music.

During this period he paid for his musical education by playing piano in nightclubs and with the Weintraub Syncopaters, a popular jazz band of the late 1920s. While with the band he began to do their arrangements, and this led to orchestrating some early German musical films. Frederick Hollander, who had written some music for the Weintraubs, gave Waxman his first important movie assignment: orchestrating and conducting Hollander's score for Josef von Sternberg's classic film, "The Blue Angel." The film's producer, Erich Pommer, who was also head of the UFA Studios in Berlin, was so pleased with the orchestration of the score that he gave Waxman his first major composing assignment: Fritz Lang's version of "Liliom" (1933) which was filmed in Paris. Pommer's next assignment, Jerome Kern's "Music in the Air" (Fox Films, 1934), took him to the United States, and he brought Waxman with him to arrange the music.

Waxman's first original Hollywood score was "The Bride of Frankenstein" (1935), which led to a two-year contract with Universal as head of the music department. He scored a dozen of the more than 50 Universal films on which he worked as music director. Among the best known are "Magnificent Obsession, "Diamond Jim" and "The Invisible Ray."

Two years after he went to Hollywood, Waxman, then 30, signed a seven-year contract with Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer to compose. He averaged about seven pictures a year, and it was during this period that he scored such famous Spencer Tracy films as "Captains Courageous," "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" and "Woman of the Year." In 1937, he was loaned by M-G-M to David O. Selznick for "The Young at Heart" and was nominated for both Best Original Music and Best Score - the first two of 12 Academy Award nominations he was to receive for the 144 films he scored in his 32 years in Hollywood. In 1940 he was again loaned to Selznick, this time for "Rebecca," and was nominated for his third Academy Award.

Waxman left M-G-M in 1943 and began a long association with Warner Brothers. "Old Acquaintance" is from this period. (Selections from three more of his Warner Brothers scores can be heard on RCA albums: "Mr. Skeffington" is included in "Classic Film Scores for Bette Davis" and "To Have and Have Not" and "The Two Mrs. Carrolls" are included in "Casablanca - Classic Film Scores For Humphrey Bogart.")

In 1947 Waxman founded the Los Angeles International Music Festival, which he was to head for 20 years. World and American premieres of 80 major works by composers such as Stravinsky, Walton, Vaughan Williams, Shostakovitch and Schoenberg were given at the festival.

By 1947 Waxman had a busy schedule indeed. In addition to devoting a great deal of time to the festival, he was in demand at all the major studios, was guest conducting symphony orchestras in Europe as well as in the United States and was composing concert music. For the film "Humoresque" he wrote a special piece based on themes from Bizet's "Carmen," which was played by Isaac Stern on the soundtrack. The "Carmen Fantasie" has become standard repertoire and was recorded by Jascha Heifetz for RCA. Among Waxman's other concert works are "Overture for Trumpet and Orchestra," based on themes from "The Horn Blows at Midnight;" "Sinfonietta for String Orchestra and Timpani;" a dramatic song cycle "The Song of Terezin," and an oratorio, "Joshua."

Waxman won the Academy Award in 1950 for "Sunset Boulevard" and in 1951 for "A Place in the Sun." He is the only composer to have won the award for Best Score in two successive years. It was during the '50s and '60s that he composed some of his most important and varied scores. These are represented by the above two Academy Award winners as well as by "Prince Valiant" and "Taras Bulba." He had usually been associated with romantic films, but now he progressed to epic and jazz-oriented scores. "Crime in the Streets," "The Spirit of St. Louis," "Sayonara," "Peyton Place" and "The Nun's Story" are also from this period and the complete scores were issued on soundtrack albums. Franz Waxman received many honors during his lifetime, including the Cross of Merit from the Federal Republic of West Germany, honorary memberships in the Mahler Society and the International Society of Arts and Letters, and an honorary doctorate of letters and humanities from Columbia College. He died February 24, 1967, in Los Angeles at the age of 60.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Documenting the German-American composer's career from the early 1920s through the late 1960s, the Franz Waxman Papers comprises correspondence, writings, memorabilia, and scores.

The Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-9) contains both incoming and outgoing letters and related material, most of which was generated between 1922 and 1967. Correspondence encompasses that of conductors (Eugene Ormandy, William Steinberg, Leopold Stokowski, Bruno Walter); composers (Aaron Copland, Lukas Foss, Rolf Liebermann, Igor Stravinksky, Alexander Tansman); family members (Alice Waxman, John Waxman, Lella Waxman); motion picture producers, directors, and associates (Louis R. Lipstone, Joshua Logan, Marcella Rabwin, Dore Schary, Jerry Wald, Hal B. Wallis, Jack L. Warner, Darryl F. Zanuck); musicians (Johnny Green, Menahem Pressler, Jascha Heifetz, Rudolf Serkin, Isaac Stern); and music managers (Dorothy Huttenback, William McKelvey Martin). Other correspondents include playwright James Forsyth; dance director J. Marks; music publisher Hans Sikorski; singer Herva Nelli; and UCLA Fine Arts Department faculty Frances Inglis and William W. Melnitz. In addition, the Correspondence-Subject Files incorporates the letters of music publishers (Boosey & Hawkes, Inc., Theodore Presser Company, Salabert, Inc.); music associations and professional organizations (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers [ASCAP], International Society for Contemporary Music, Musicians Mutual Protective Association, Southern California Symphony Association, Union of Soviet Composers); and theatrical agencies (Herbert Barrett Management, Inc., Columbia Artists Management, Inc., Basil Horsfield Management Ltd., Organisation Artistique Internationale). Other correspondents include CBS News, Ford Foundation, and Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation. Also, letters, clippings, programs, and publicity document the history of the Los Angeles Music Festival from 1947 through 1966. Other performance-based materials relate to the "Franklin D. Roosevelt Memorial Concert" and "The Song of Terezin."

Housed separately (Oversize packages 1-113), original and reproduction motion picture scores, as well as those for radio and television productions, constitute the bulk of Waxman's Writings. The remainder is comprised of essays, notebooks, transcripts of speeches, and miscellaneous notes (Box 10).

Encompassing a broad assortment of personal and printed documents, as well as a variety of formats, Memorabilia (Boxes 10-23) includes audio-visual material; a music-related autograph collection; financial records; photographs of Waxman, other music professionals, and performances; printed material, including clippings (1928-1967), program notes (1940-1996), and publicity; scores by others, many bearing annotations by Waxman; and scripts for some of the films and theatrical productions with which Waxman was associated.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A collection of original recordings and restored selections of Franz Waxman's music are housed in the Belfer Audio Archive and Laboratory.

See also the papers of Miklos Rozsa and the Christopher Palmer Collection of Roy Webb Scores.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bernstein, Leonard, 1918-1990
Brerezowsky, Nicolai
Copland, Aaron, 1900-1990
Egk, Werner, 1901-1983
Eluard, Paul, 1895-1952
Forsyth, James, 1913-
Foss, Lukas, 1922-
Green, Johnny, 1908-
Groen, John te
Heifetz, Jascha, 1901-1987
Huttenback, Dorothy
Liebermann, Rolf, 1910-
Logan, Joshua
Mahler, Alma, 1879-1964
Marks, J.
Nicholls, Charlotte
Pressler, Menahem
Rabinoff, Max
Rabwin, Marcella
Schary, Dore
Sikorski, Hans
Stern, Isaac, 1920-2001
Stokowski, Leopold, 1882-1977
Tansman, Alexandre, 1897-
Von Emlin, Gottried
Wald, Jerry, 1911-1962
Walter, Bruno, 1876-1962
Waxman, Franz, 1906-1967, Archives
Waxman, John
Waxman, Lella Simone

Corporate Bodies

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
Boosey and Hawkes, Inc
Los Angeles Music Festival
Organisation Artistique Internationale
Rundfunk Hessischer
Union of Soviet Composers

Subjects

Composers, United States
Conductors (Music), United States
German Americans
Motion picture music, Scores
Motion picture music, United States
Music, 20th century
Musicians, United States
Orchestral music, Scores

Genres and Forms

Articles
Autographs
Awards
Clippings
Correspondence
Musical scores
Photographs
Sheet music
Speeches

Occupations

Composers
Conductors (Music)
Musicians

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Franz Waxman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of estate of Franz Waxman.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: GK
Date: Oct 1996
Revision history: 22 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 25 Jan 2007 - added copyright restriction statement (MRC); 18 Apr 2007 - updated Related Material

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1 Biographical material
Box 1 A (1 folder)
Box 1 Abravanel, Maurice 1962
Box 1 Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences 1945-1946
Box 1 American Council for Nationalities Service 1966
Box 1 American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) 1938, 1963, 1964, 1966, undated
Box 1 Ansermet, Ernest 1961
Box 1 Aron, Paul 1952
Box 1 Associated Music Publishers, Inc. 1944-1965
Box 1 B (1 folder)
Box 1 Bakst, Leon undated
Box 1 Barbirolli, John 1957
Box 1 Barnett, John 1961
Box 1 [Herbert] Barrett Management, Inc. 1962-1966
Box 1 Becher, Rolf and Leontine 1922-1925
Box 1 Bennett, Robert Russell 1949, undated
Box 1 Berezowsky, Nicolai and Judith 1952-1953, undated
Box 1 Berger, Theodor 1956
Box 1 Bergman, Ingrid 1954, 1957, 1958
Box 1 Bernstein, Leonard 1951, 1957, 1958, 1965
Beverly Hills Music Festival
See Los Angeles Music Festival
Box 1 Bing, Rudolf 1951
Box 1 Black, Frank 1943
Box 1 Boerner, Charlotte 1965
Box 1 Bohem, Endre 1948-1949
Box 1 Boosey and Hawkes, Inc. 1949, 1963, 1964, 1965
Box 1 Borner, Wolfgang 1960, 1964, undated
Box 1 Boyer, Charles 1949
Box 1 Brandt, Willy 1966
Box 1 Brooklyn Academy of Music
See also "Hansel and Gretel"
Box 1 Brown, Les 1959
Brylawski, Fulton
See Columbia Pictures Corporation
Box 1 C (1 folder)
Box 1 CBS News 1960, 1962, undated
Box 1 Casadesus, Francis 1953
Box 1 Chassman, Joachim 1951
Box 1 Christians, Mady 1945
Box 1 Churchill, Sarah 1958
Box 1 Columbia Artists Management Inc. 1950, 1964, 1965
Box 1 Columbia Pictures Corporation 1948
Box 1 Conley, Eugene 1948, undated
Box 1 Copland, Aaron 1949, 1956, 1957, 1960
Box 1 Corwin, Norman 1945
Craft, Robert
See Stravinsky, Igor
Box 1 Crawford, Joan 1958, 1961
Box 1 Curtin, Phyllis 1965
Box 1 D (1 folder)
Box 1 Dallapiccola, Luigi 1956, undated
Box 1 Darnell, Linda 1954
Box 1 Davis, Bette undated
Box 1 Dello Joio, Norman 1949
Box 1 DePriest, Jimmy 1960
Box 1 Dessau, Paul 1966
Box 1 Diether, Jack 1951
Box 1 Donaldson, Herbert 1965
Box 1 Dorfman, Ania undated
Box 1 Downes, Olin 1949
Box 2 E (1 folder)
Box 2 Egk, Werner 1955-1964, undated
Box 2 Ehlers, Alice undated
Box 2 Ehrling, Sixten 1961
Box 2 Einem, Gottfried von 1954-1957
Box 2 Eisenhower, Dwight D. 1957
Box 2 Eluard, Paul 1950, 1952, undated
Box 2 Engel, Samuel G. and Ruth 1960-1961
Box 2 Erduran, Ayla 1956-1957
Box 2 Erskine, John 1946, 1947
Box 2 F (1 folder)
Box 2 Feist, Leonard 1966
Box 2 Feuchtwanger, Lion and Marta 1956, 1960
Box 2 Ford Foundation 1957, 1964-1965
Box 2 Forsyth, James 1948-1965, undated
Box 2 Foss, Lukas 1947-1964, undated
Box 2 Freed, Arthur 1964
Box 2 Fried, Gerald 1966
Box 2 Fuchs, Viktor 1951-1952
Box 2 G (1 folder)
Box 2 Galindo, Blas 1946
Box 2 Gershwin, Ira 1966
Box 2 Goehr, Walter 1950
Box 2 Goodman, Benny 1953
Box 2 Gould, Morton 1949
Box 2 Graf, Herbert 1952
Box 2 Green, Johnny 1946-1963
Box 2 Gueden, Hilde 1952
Box 2 H (1 folder)
Box 2 Hale, Richard 1952
Box 2 "Hansel and Gretel" 1963
Box 2 Harris, Roy 1964-1965, undated
Box 2 Hartman, Karl Amadeus 1960
Box 2 Hatch, Earl 1957
Box 2 Haubiel, Charles 1965
Box 2 Haun, Harry 1962
Box 2 Hayden, Jeffrey 1959
Box 2 Heifetz, Harold 1966
Box 2 Heifetz, Jascha 1947-1959, undated
Box 2 Heindorf, Ray 1951-1952
Box 2 Hendl, Walter 1964
Box 2 Henreid, Paul and Lisl 1951-1952
Box 2 Herrman, Bernard 1945, 1950
Box 2 Hersholt, Jean 1946, 1955, undated
Box 2 Hessischer Rundfunk 1956
Box 2 Heston, Charlton 1965
Box 2 Hilgenberg, Katherine 1952
Box 2 Holton, Bob 1945
Box 2 [Basil] Horsfield Management Ltd. 1965-1966
Box 2 Hotter, Heinz 1963
Box 2 Husa, Karel 1961
Box 2 Huttenback, Dorothy 1951-1964, undated
Box 2 I (1 folder)
Box 2 Inglis, Frances 1964-1965
Box 2 International Society for Contemporary Music 1957
See also Memorabilia: Printed material
Box 2 Iturbi, Jose (secretary) 1966
Box 3 J (1 folder)
Box 3 Jacobs, Arthur 1952
Box 3 Jaffe, Sam 1951
Box 3 Jolivet, Andre 1956
Box 3 Jurow, Martin 1945
Box 3 K (1 folder)
Box 3 Karr, Gary 1965
Box 3 Kaufman, Louis 1952
Box 3 Kaye, Danny 1958
Box 3 Kendall, Raymond 1955, 1957
Box 3 Kennedy - "In Memoriam John F. Kennedy," November 18, 1964
Box 3 Kennedy, John F. (outgoing) undated
Box 3 Kennedy, Robert F. 1965
Box 3 Kilenyi, Edward 1952
Box 3 Knudsen, Vern Oliver 1964
Box 3 Korngold, Erich Wolfgang 1941, 1949
Box 3 Koster, Henry 1951
Box 3 Kovacs, Rene 1965
Box 3 Kraft Suspense Theatre 1965
Box 3 Krims, Jayne and Milton 1951-1952
Box 3 Kubelik, Rafael 1951
Box 3 L (1 folder)
Box 3 Lechtman, Harry L. 1964
Box 3 Lehmann, Lotte 1957
Box 3 Leinsdorf, Erich 1941, 1960
Box 3 Lenchner, Paula 1952
Box 3 LeRoy, Mervyn 1939, 1942
Box 3 Lert, Richard undated
Box 3 Lewis, Earle R. 1943, undated
Box 3 Lewis, Jerry 1955
Box 3 Liebermann, Rolf 1954-1965
Box 3 Lipstone, Louis R. 1948-1949, 1953, undated
Box 3 Logan, Josh 1955, 1957, undated
Box 4 Los Angeles Music Festival 1947-1951 (6 folders of 24)
Box 5 Los Angeles Music Festival 1952-1959 (8 folders of 24)
Box 6 Los Angeles Music Festival 1960-1963 (6 folders of 24)
Box 7 Los Angeles Music Festival 1964-1966 (4 folders of 24)
See also Memorabilia: Photographs
Box 8 Lowenthal, Jerome undated
Box 8 Loy, Max
See "In Memoriam John F. Kennedy"
Box 8 Lustig, Jan 1951
Box 8 M (1 folder)
Box 8 MCA Artists Ltd. 1951-1952
Box 8 Mankiewicz, Joseph L. undated
Box 8 Mann, Thomas 1945
Box 8 Marks, J. 1964-1965, undated
Box 8 Martin, William McKelvey 1949, 1951, undated
See also "Hansel and Gretel"
Box 8 Mason, James 1952, undated
Box 8 Melnitz, William W. 1960-1965, undated
Box 8 Metropolitan Opera Association, Inc. 1952
Box 8 Milhaud, Darius 1957, 1960-1961
Box 8 Mitropoulos, Dimitri 1953, 1956
Box 8 Mohrhoff, Heinz 1958
Box 8 Monteux, Pierre 1957
Box 8 Murphy, Franklin D. 1962, 1965
Box 8 Musicians Mutual Protective Assocation 1944-1965
Box 8 Musicians Union Local 47
See Musicians Mutual Protective Association
Box 8 N (1 folder)
Box 8 Neel, Boyd 1954, undated
Box 8 Negulesco, Jean 1951-1952, 1957
Box 8 Nelli, Herva 1951-1952
Box 8 Newman, Alfred 1950-1951, 1959
Box 8 Nicholls, Charlotte 1963-1964, undated
Box 8 O (1 folder)
Box 8 Odets, Clifford undated
Box 8 Organisation Artistique Internationale 1949
Box 8 Ormandy, Eugene 1948, 1953, 1966
Box 8 P (1 folder)
Box 8 Peck, Gregory 1948
Box 8 Peerce, Jan 1963
Box 8 Pelletier, Wilfrid 1954-1957
Box 8 Perls, Frank 1951-1952
Box 8 [Theodore] Presser Company 1966
Box 8 Pressler, Menahem and Sarah 1949, 1951-1952
Box 8 Prince, Harold 1964
Box 8 Prinz, Joachim undated
Box 8 R (1 folder)
Box 8 Rabinoff, Max 1949
Box 8 Rabwin, Marcella 1951-1965, undated
Box 8 Rebner, Edward undated
Box 8 Reese, Henry 1949, 1953
Box 8 Reher, Sven 1962
Box 8 Riess, Curt 1958
Box 8 Robinson, Edward G. 1965
Box 8 Ronayne, John 1966
Box 8 Roosevelt - "Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial" concert 1945
Box 8 Rudolf, Max 1963
Box 8 S (1 folder)
Box 8 Salabert, Inc. 1948-1958, undated
Box 8 Salinger, Pierre 1964
San Francisco Contemporary Dancers
See Marks, J.
Box 8 Schary, Dore 1945-1958
Box 8 Schoenberg, Arnold undated
Box 8 Schuman, William 1961-1965
Box 8 Schuster, Joseph 1959, 1961
Box 8 Selznick, David O. 1941, 1948
Box 8 Sendrey, Albert 1951
Box 8 Serkin, Rudolf 1965, 1967
Box 8 Sheehan, Winfield 1939
Box 8 Sidney, Louis K. 1938
Box 8 Siegel, Sol C. 1959
Box 8 Sikorski, Hans 1954-1966
Box 8 Smith, Gregg 1962
Box 8 Solomon, Izler 1951
Box 8 "The Song of Terezin" 1964-1968, undated
Box 8 Southern California Symphony Association 1957, 1958, 1963
Box 8 Steinberg, William 1949-1964
Box 8 Steinert, Alexander and Louise 1947, 1951
Box 8 Stern, Isaac and Vera 1947-1964, undated
Box 8 Stokowski, Leopold 1945, 1960, 1966
Box 8 Stoloff, Morris W. and Elsa 1951
Box 8 Stoska, Polyna 1955
Box 8 Stravinsky, Igor 1956, 1961
See also Memorabilia: Photographs
Box 8 Szigeti, Joseph 1952
Box 9 T (1 folder)
Box 9 Tansman, Alexandre 1954-1956
Box 9 Taubman, Howard 1957, 1961
Box 9 Toch, Ernst 1960
Box 9 Truman, Harry S. (outgoing, secretary) 1946, 1952
Box 9 Twentieth Century-Fox Film Corporation 1951-1959
Box 9 U, V (1 folder)
Box 9 Union of Soviet Composers 1963-1964
Box 9 Van Cleave, Nathan Lang 1951
Box 9 Vincent, John Nathaniel 1957, 1961, undated
Box 9 W (1 folder)
Box 9 Wagner, Wieland 1951
Box 9 [Roger] Wagner Chorale 1949, 1961, undated
Box 9 Wald, Jerry 1945-1962
Box 9 Wallis, Hal 1951-1953, undated
Box 9 Walter, Bruno 1943-1961, undated
Box 9 Walton, William 1956, 1957, 1966
Box 9 Wanger, Walter 1961
See also Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Box 9 "War Industries Concert" August 25, 1944
Box 9 "War Requiem" 1964
Box 9 Warner, Jack 1943, 1945, 1947, undated
Box 9 Wasserman, Lew 1951-1952
Box 9 Waxman, Alice 1939-1956, undated
Box 9 Waxman, John 1943-1960, undated
Box 9 Waxman, Lella 1940-1966, undated
Box 9 Welles, Orson 1956
Box 9 Werfel, Alma Mahler 1948-1960, undated
Box 9 [H. W.] Wilson Company 1956
Box 9 Worth, Irene 1951
Box 9 Y, Z (1 folder)
Box 9 Zanuck, Darryl F. 1950-1952
Box 9 Zissu, Marcus & Stein 1952-1966
Writings
Box 10 Essays (by title) - A-Z, untitled
Box 10 Notebooks undated
Scores
See separate series, Scores, below
Box 10 Speeches 1960, undated
Box 10 Miscellaneous
See also Memorabilia: Scores by others with Waxman annotations, below
Memorabilia
Box 10 Artwork for "The Story of Ruth" record jacket
Audiovisual material/computer diskettes
Audiovisual material
Box 20 "Al Joseph" - 16mm film spool undated
Box 20 "Bird Calls" - 35mm soundtrack spool undated
Box 20 "Franz Waxman Concert Film, Russia" - 16mm film reel 1962
Box 20 "Franz Waxman in Russia," "Weintraub Short," "Entar Tete Music Documentary" - VHS videocassette undated
Box 20 "Home, 8201 Mulholland" - 16mm film reel ca. 1963
Box 20 "Moscow Rehearsal State Orchestra" - 16mm film reel 1962
Box 20 "Opera" - 16mm film reel undated
Box 20 "Russia Dialogue" - 35mm soundtrack spool 1962
Box 20 "Russia Music" - 35mm soundtrack spool 1962
Box 20 Unidentified - 16mm film reel
Box 20 Unidentified - 35mm soundtrack spool
Box 20 Unidentified sheet music - microfilm
Computer diskettes (7)
Box 20 "Rebecca," new parts and scores, Notator-Creator Software for Atari Computer
Autograph collection
Box 10 Berlioz, Hector
Box 10 Gounod, Charles
Box 10 Hollander, Victor
Box 10 Humperdinck, Englebert
Box 10 Scharwenka, Xaver
Box 10 Toscanini, Arturo
Box 10 Unidentified
Box 10 Awards
Box 10 Driving permit
Box 10 Financial records
Funerary
Box 10 Condolence letters to John Waxman
Box 10 Funeral book
Box 10 Tributes to Franz Waxman
Photographs
Waxman
Box 11 Conducting and playing piano
Box 11 Early photographs, Wachsman family and friends
Box 11 Portraits
Box 11 With others
Others
Box 11 Casals, Pablo
Box 11 Ford, John Arnold
Box 11 Liszt, Franz
Box 11 Roman, Stella
Box 11 Rozsa, Miklos
Box 11 Stravinsky, Igor with George Balanchine and others, Los Angeles Music Festival ca. 1956
Miscellaneous
Performances
Box 11 "Rally for the Living" poster negative
See also Memorabilia: Printed material
Box 11 The Spirit of St. Louis
Box 11 Shostakovich party
Box 11 Unidentified
Printed material
Clippings
Box 12 Clippings 1928-1949 (4 folders)
Box 13 Clippings 1950-1958 (9 folders)
Box 14 Clippings 1959-1967, undated (6 folders)
Box 15 Clippings 1983, 1985-1996 (11 folders)
Box 15 Clippings, Los Angeles Examiner 1944-1961, undated (2 folders of 32)
Program notes
Box 16 1940 "Florian"
Box 16 1940 Mar. 20 "Rebecca"
Box 16 1943 "We Will Never Die"
Box 16 1949 Paris concerts
Box 16 1955, 1957 International Society for Contemporary Music
Box 16 1960 Santa Catalina Festival of the Arts
Box 16 1965 Cincinnati May Festival
Program notes and contemporary references to Franz Waxman and his music collected by John W. Waxman
Box 16 1978-1979 season
Box 16 1984-1985 season
Box 16 1985-1986 season
Box 16 1986-1987 season
Box 16 1987-1988 season
Box 17 1988-1989 season
Box 17 1989-1990 season
Box 17 1990-1991 season
Box 17 1991-1992 season
Box 17 1992-1993 season
Box 17 1993-1994 season
Box 17 1994-1995 season
Box 17 1995-1996 season
Box 17 undated
Publicity
Box 17 1946 "Rally for the Living"
Box 17 1953 Los Angeles County Museum Chamber Music Series
Box 17 1992 4. Filmharmonishes Konzert
Scores by others
See separate series, Scores by Others
Box 17 Miscellany 1930-1987, undated
Scripts
Box 18 "Berkeley Square"
Box 18 "Carmen"
Box 18 "The Centurions" (released as "The Lost Command")
Box 18 "Christoph"
Box 18 "[Offenbach] Conduit Le Bal"
Box 18 "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde"
Box 18 "Electra"
Box 18 "Everyman"
Box 18 "The Golden Curtain"
Box 18 "Gurre-Lieder"
Box 18 "Hamlet, Othello, Macbeth" (selections)
Box 18 "Jazz"
Box 18 "Joan of Arc at the Stake" (2 folders)
Box 18 "Jocasta's Cry"
Box 18 "Joshua"
Box 19 "King David"
Box 19 "Lonesome Train"
Box 19 "Maximilian and Carlotta"
Box 19 "A Midsummer Night's Dream"
Box 19 "Orfeo Et Euridice"
Box 19 "Orpheus"
Box 19 "Persephone"
Box 19 "Picasso, Notes for a Ballet"
Box 19 "The Plot to Overthrow Christmas"
Box 19 "The Prophet Isaiah"
Box 19 "Volpone"
Writings by others
Lyrics
Box 19 Clifford, Gordon
Box 19 David, Mack
Box 19 Kolpe, Max/Rotter, Fritz
Box 19 LeClerq, Arthur
Box 19 Nivoix, Paul
Box 19 Strauss, Richard
Miscellaneous
Box 19 Alberts, O.A. 3 items in verse undated
Box 19 Batlle, Salvador Angel. "Franz Waxman: Musica en Caliz de Plata" 1994
Scores by others annotated by Franz Waxman
Box 21 Achron, Joseph. Hebrew Melody undated
Box 21 Bach, Johanne Sebastian. Passionmusik nach dem Evangelisten Johannes, undated
Box 21 Bach, Johanne Sebastian, Violin Concerto No. 2 in C Major, undated
Box 21 Brahms, Johannes. Symphony No. 1, C Minor, New York: Breitkopf & Hartel, Associated Music Publishers, undated
Box 21 Egk, Werner. Peer Gynt, Mainz, Germany: B. Schott's Sohne ca. 1938
Box 21 Egk, Werner. Suite aus Abraxas, Mainz, Germany: B. Schott's Sohne, undated
Box 21 Hartman, Karl Amadeus. Symphony, undated
Box 21 Heiden, Bernhard. Ungerissheit 1930
Box 21 Helm, Everett. Divertimento for String Orchestra, undated
Box 21 Hollaender, Frederick. 9 selections and unidentified fragments, undated
Box 21 Honegger, Arthur. Jeanne D'Arc au Bucher, Paris: Editions Maurice Senart ca. 1939
Box 21 Honegger, Arthur. Jeanne D'Arc au Bucher, Paris: Editions Salabert ca. 1947
Box 21 Honegger, Arthur. Jeanne D'Arch au Bucher, Paris: Editions Maurice Senart ca. 1939
Box 21 Honegger, Arthur. Joan of Arc at the Stake, Paris: Editions Maurice Senart ca. 1939
Box 21 Honegger, Arthur. King David, vocal arrangement for "Angels," undated
Box 21 Hovhaness, Alan. Mysterious Mountain, New York: Associated Music Publishers, Inc., undated
Box 21 Humperdinck, E. Hansel and Gretel, New York: G. Schirmer, Inc., undated
Box 21 Humperdinck, Engelbert. Hansel and Gretel, New York: Broude Brothers, undated
Box 21 Janacek, Leos. Jenufa Jeji Pastorkyna, Wien: Universal-Edition ca. 1917
Box 21 Khrennikov, Tikhon. Symphony, Moscow 1950
Box 21 Khrennikov, Tikhon. Konchert dia Skripki sorkestrom, undated
Box 21 Khrenikov, Tikhon. Vtoraia Symphony 1950
Knipper, Leo.
Box 22 Meadowland, New York: Am-Rus Music Corp. ca. 1943
Box 22 Meadowlands, New York: Carl Fischer, Inc. ca. 1944
Box 22 Song of the Meadow Land, New York: M. Witmark & Sons ca. 1942
Box 22 Knipper, Leo/Lew. Symphony No. 4 (3)
Box 22 Krenek, Ernst. Jonny Spielt Auf, Wien: Universal- Edition A.G. ca. 1926
Box 22 Lackner, Stephan. Divertimento, Hollywood: Carlvi Music Company, Ltd. ca. 1957
Box 22 Lackner, Stephan. Departure-Hoehenwandering, Santa Barbara: Dr. Stephan Lackner ca. 1957
Box 22 Lackner, Stephan. Romantic Overture, undated
Box 22 Liebermann, Rolf. Capriccio, New York: Associated Music Publishers, Inc., undated
Box 22 Mahler, Gustav. Dritte Symphonie in D Moll, Universal-Edition, undated
Box 22 Mahler, Gustav. Neunte Symphonie, Universal- Edition ca. 1912
Box 22 Mahler, Gustav. Symphony No. 3 undated
Box 22 Mahler, Gustav. Symphonie in C Moll No. 2, Leipzig: Josef Weinberger undated
Box 22 Mahler, Gustav. Symphony No. 9 D Minor, London: Boosey & Hawkes Ltd. ca. 1941
Box 22 Mahler, Gustav. Zweite Symphonie C-Moll, Wien- Leipzig: Universal Edition. A.G. ca. 1897
Box 22 Mendelssohn, Felix. Ein Sommernachtstraum, undated
Box 22 Peragallo, Mario. Concerto per Violino e Orchestra, Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania: Theodore Presser Company, undated
Box 22 Prokofieff, S., Symphony No. 4, New York: Independent Music Publishers, undated
Box 22 Reil, Roger. Piano Concerto #1 in E Minor, undated
Box 22 Robinson, Earl. Abe Lincoln Comes Home, undated
Box 22 Robinson, Earl. The Lonesome Train, New York: Decca Records, Inc. ca. 1944
Box 22 Schreker, Franz. Der Schatzgraber, Wein-Liepzig: Universal-Edition A.G. ca. 1944
Box 22 Schumann, Robert. Concerto, Violoncello and Orchestra, A Minor, Op. 129, New York: Broude Bros., undated
Box 22 Shostakovich, Dimitri. Eighth Symphony, Moscow: State Music Publishers 1946
Box 22 Shostakovich, Dimitri. Symphony No. 4, Moscow: Soviet Composer 1962
Box 23 Stephan, Rudi. Die Ersten Menschen, Mainz: B. Schott's Sohne c1915
Box 23 Tschaikowsky, P. Romeo et Juliette, Paris, etc.: Moscou chez P. Jurgenson, undated
Box 23 Tschaikowsky, P. Funftr Symphonie, Leipzig, etc.: D. Rather, undated
Box 23 Tschaikowsky, Peter Ilyitch. Symphony No. 6 (Pathetique) Op. 74, in B Minor, New York: Edwin F. Kalmus, undated
Box 23 Verdi, Giuseppe. La Traviata, New York: Broude Brothers, undated
Box 23 Vincent, John. Symphonic Poem After Descartes, New York: Mills Music, Inc. c1960
Weber, Carl Maria von.
Box 23 Overture of the Great Heroic-Romantic Opera Euryanthe, London: Ernst Eulenburg, Ltd., undated
Box 23 Euryanthe Ouverture, Leipzig: Breitkopf & Hartel, undated
Scores by others without annotations
Box 23 Antheil, George. Shelley's Fragments 1950
Box 23 Brunelli, Louis Jean. Burlesca for Orchestra, undated
Box 23 Jones, John Kester. Spoon River ca. 1961
Box 23 Lackner, Stephan. Nostalgia Tango ca. 1960
Box 23 Lieberman, Rol., The Song of Life and Death, New York: Associated Music Publishers, Inc., undated
Box 23 Malipiero, G. Francesco. Concerti, Milano: G. Ricordi & Co. ca. 1931
Scores by others arranged by Franz Waxman
Box 24 Dvorak, Anton. Humoresque, Opus 101 No. 7, Westport, Connecticut: Fidelio Music Publishing Company, undated
Box 24 Enesco, Georges. Romanian Rhapsody No. 1, Westport, Connecticut: Fidelio Music Publishing Company, undated
Box 24 Rimsky-Korsakoff, Nicolai. The Flight of the Bumblebee, undated
Scores by Waxman
Oversize 1 Absolute Quiet (1936: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer)
Music cue sheet - May 4, 1936
Selections - reproductions
Oversize 1 Ach, wie ist das Leben schon! see Fur'n Groschen Liebe/Ach, wie ist das Leben schon!
Ach, wie oft kommt die Liebe unverhofft!
See Paprika
Adventures of a Young Man
See Ernest Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man (1962: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Oversize 2 The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 7, 1939
Selections - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration by Christopher Palmer: Full conductor's score - original; Instrumentation list; Orchestral parts - original; Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 3 The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1937: Selznick International Pictures)
"Music notes 10/22/37" - carbon (2 copies)
Selections - original
Oversize 4 Air Force (1943: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 17, 1943
Selections - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with annotations)
Oversize 5 Alias Nick Beal (1948: Paramount Pictures) (other titles: The Contact; Man Dark Circle; Strange Temptation)
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction)
Oversize 5.5 Allein in einer grossen Stadt...
Piano score - reproduction
Oversize 6 Anne of the Indies (1951: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 2, 1951
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction)
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions
Restoration: Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 6.5 Arrest & Trial (1963: television series)
"Flame in the Dark": Conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction of original sketches
"Isn't It a Lovely View": Conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction of original sketches
"Who's Little Girl Are You": Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 7 Arsene Lupin Returns (1938: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 1, 1938
Selections - reproductions
Oversize 7.5 At The Circus (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 4, 1939
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 8 Auld Lang Syne Variations
Piano conductor's score - bound reproduction
Selections - reproductions (in part from Jascha Heifetz Archive at the Library of Congress)
Oversize 8.5 Back From Eternity (1956: RKO Radio Pictures)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 5, 1956
Conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches and reproductions
Oversize 9 The Bad Man (1941: M-G-M)
Selections - reproductions, one with annotations
List of compositions recorded for 1930 version
Oversize 10 The Battle Hymn of the Republic
Full conductor's score (measures 1-40) - original
Orchestral parts - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 11 La Belle Croisiere (Paris: Editions Coda, c1934)
Oversize 12 Beloved Infidel (1959: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet (recording date Oct. 30, 1959)
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Restoration: Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
The Big Bankroll
See King of the Roaring '20's
Oversize 13 The Black-Foxe March (New York: Boosey & Hawkes, c1959)
Oversize 14 The Blue Danube / Johann Strauss, arr. by Franz Waxman
Full conductor's score - original and reproduction
Oversize 15 The Blue Veil (1951: RKO Radio Pictures)
Music cue sheet - June 13, 1952
Selections - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 16 Boom Town (1940: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - July 31, 1940
Music notes July, 1940
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 17, A-F The Bride of Frankenstein (1935: Universal Pictures)
Music cue sheet - May 16, 1935
Sketches (Selections) Suite / arr. by Steven Bernstein: Selections - reproductions from the Library of Congress
"The Creation of the Monster" / arr. by Newton Wayland: Full conductor's score - reproductions from the Library of Congress
Silva Soundtrack Recording / arr. by Christopher Palmer: Instrumentation list (partial); Full orchestral parts - original and reproductions with annotations
Oversize 17.5 The Bride Wore Red (1937: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 2, 1937
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
British Grenadiers
See The Virgin Queen (1955: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Oversize 18 Cafe Waltzes for Orchestra
Full conductor's score restorations of selections from:
Hotel Berlin
In Our Time
Rector's Restaurant
Oversize 19 Captains Courageous (1937: M-G-M); restorations 1977
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction)
Restorations:
"Bell System Presents" broadcast / Allyn Ferguson, composer: Music cue sheet - Dec. 4, 1977
Suite / arr. by Christopher Palmer: Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 20 Career (1959: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 23, 1959
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Carmen Fantasie
See Humoresque (1947: Warner Bros.)
Oversize 21 The Charm Bracelet (New York: Tetra Music Corp., c1949, 1978) sole agent: Alexander Broude, Inc.
Oversize 21 The Charm Bracelet: Five Pieces for Violin and Piano (Westport, Connecticut: Fidelio Music Publishing Company, undated)
Oversize 22 A Christmas Carol (1938: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Dec. 7, 1938
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction with annotations and with additional copy of music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Oversize 22.5 Cimarron (1960: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Jan. 23, 1961
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 23 Classic Film Themes Medley [I]
Restoration of full conductor's score (selections) from:
Suspicion
My Geisha
Beloved Infidel
Oversize 24 Classic Film Themes Medley [II]
Restoration of full conductor's score (selections) from:
The Philadelphia Story
A Place in the Sun
This is My Love
Katsumi from Sayonara
Oversize 25 Classic Love Themes Medley
Restoration of full conductor's score (selections) from:
Peyton Place
Rosanna from Ernest Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man
Elephant Walk
The Lost Command
Clown on a Tightrope
see Man on a Tightrope (1953: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Oversize 26 Come Back, Little Sheba (1953: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 14, 1952
"Music notes . . . June 10, 1952" - carbon
Selections - reproductions
Restoration of "Reminiscences":
Full conductor's score - original and reproductions with some annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - original
Oversize 26.5 Confidential Agent (1945: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 7, 1945
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches and reproductions, some with annotations
The Contact Man
See Alias Nick Beal (1948: Paramount Pictures)
Oversize 27 Count Your Blessings (1959: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - May 12, 1959
Piano conductor's score (Selection) - "Theme From Count Your Blessings" (New York: Robbins Music Corporation, c1959)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
The Creation of the Monster
See The Bride of Frankenstein (1935: Universal Pictures)
Oversize 28, A-C Crime in the Streets (1956: Allied Artists)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 1956
Instrumentation list (partial) - Jan. 30, 1956
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals
Orchestral parts - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Re-orchestration for record version:
Conductor's score - original
Orchestral parts - original
Oversize 29 La Crise est Finie (1934: Films Paramount)
Selections: La Crise est Finie (Paris: Editions Salabert, c1934)
On Ne Voit Ca Qu'a Paris (Paris: Editions Salabert, 1934) (issued in two parts)
Oversize 29.5 Cry Wolf (1947: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Apr. 10, 1947
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Dark Circle
See Alias Nick Beal (1948: Paramount Pictures)
Oversize 29.7 Dark City (1950: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet - June 12, 1950
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Notes (miscellaneous)
Oversize 30 Dark Passage (1947: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - June 24, 1947
Piano conductor's score - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 31 A Dark World (a radio play)
Conductor's score - original
Orchestral parts - original
Oversize 32 Demetrius and the Gladiators (1954: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Aug. 6, 1954
Piano conductor's score (Selections) – original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) – originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Restorations:
"Gladiators' March" for concert band:
Instrumentation list
Full conductor's score - reproduction
Orchestral parts - reproductions, some with annotations
Suite: Orchestral parts - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 33 Design for Scandal (1941: M-G-M) (working title: "Miss Achilles' Heel")
Music cue sheet - Nov. 7, 1941
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 34 Destination Tokyo (1944: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet (2) - Dec. 31, 1943
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with some annotations)
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Selections - reproductions with annotations
Re-orchestration of "Till We Meet Again" / arr. by Franz Waxman
"Destination Tokyo: a Montage for Orchestra" / arr. by Christopher Palmer:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproductions
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - original
Holograph notes
Oversize 35 The Devil Doll (1936: M-G-M) (working title: "Witch of Timbuctoo")
Music cue sheet (partial) - Aug. 12, 1936
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration for "Souvenir de Paris" waltzes by Christopher Palmer and Jeff Atmajian:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Notes (miscellaneous)
Oversize 36 Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1941: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - July 14, 1941
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with additional copy of music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Cinema Texas Program Notes - Nov. 18, 1974
Oversize 36.5 Dramatic School (1938: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Dec. 3, 1938
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Dusk: A Setting For Orchestra
See Night Unto Night (1949: Warner Bros.)
Oversize 37 Edge of Darkness (1943: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with annotations and with cast list mounted on endpaper)
Elegy for Strings
See Old Acquaintance (1943: Warner Bros.)
Oversize 38 Elephant Walk (1954: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet - Jan. 11, 1954
Full conductor's scores (source material) - reproductions with annotations
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 39 The Emperor's Candlesticks (1937: M-G-M)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproductions with music cue sheet mounted on endpaper and bearing date June 25, 1937)
Oversize 40 Ernest Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man (1962: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet (3) - May 1, 1962
Piano conductor's (Selections) - original sketches
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
RCA Victor record album list of selections (photocopy)
"Plaisir d'Amour" / Padre G. Martini "public domain" selection - reproduction
Restoration for "Hemingway Suite":
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Instrumentation lists (partial)
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Oversize 40.5 Escape (1940: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 29, 1940
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Re-orchestration of "Preussen's Gloria" / arr. by Franz Waxman
Re-orchestration of "Wiener Blut" / arr. by Franz Waxman
Oversize 41 Ein' feste Burg ist unser Gott
Piano score with annotations - original
Oversize 41.5 The Feminine Touch (1941: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Aug. 30, 1941
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 41.7 Flight Command (1940: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Dec. 12, 1940
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 42 Florian (1940: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet (photostat) - Mar. 23, 1940
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with copy of music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Selection ("Ballet Suite for Miss Baronova") - reproduction
Oversize 43 Four Scenes from Childhood (for violin and piano) "To Joseph Heifetz"
Piano/violin score - reproduction with annotations
Oversize 43.5 Franz Waxman Songbook
Piano/vocal score - reproduction
Oversize 44 Fur'n groschen Liebe/Ach, wie ist das Leben schon! (Berlin: Emelkaton-Verlag, c1932)
See also Un Peu d'Amour
Oversize 45 The Furies (1950: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet - Apr. 4, 1950
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration for Suite:
Instrumentation list
Full orchestral parts (Selections) - original and reproduction, some with annotations
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 45.5 God Is My Co-Pilot (1945: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (Bound reproduction with copy of music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Oversize 45.7 Goyana (undated)
Full conductor's score - bound reproduction
Oversize 46 Gruss und Kuss-Veronika (1932: Deutsche Universal-Film A.G.)
Selections (bound together) (Berlin: Alrobi Musikverlag, c1933): Gruss und Kuss-Veronika; Die kleinen Madchen mit dem treuen Blick
Oversize 46.5 Gunsmoke (1965: CBS Television Network)
"The Raid, Parts I & II":
Music cue sheet (2) - Sept. 1, 1965
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions
Holograph notes on music cues
Oversize 47, A-D He Ran All the Way (1951: United Artists)
Music cue sheet - Jan. 1, 1951
Full conductor's score (Selection) - original sketch
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Hemingway Suite
See Ernest Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man (1962: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man
See Ernest Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man (1962: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Oversize 48 Her Cardboard Lover (1942: M-G-M) (working title: "Love Me Not")
Music cue sheet - May 20, 1942
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 48.1 Her Kind of Man (1946: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 28, 1946
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Orchestral part (Selection) - reproduction
Oversize 48.3 His Brother's Wife (1936: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Aug. 13, 1936
Piano conductor's Score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 48.5 Home Before Dark (1958: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 29, 1958
Oversize 48.7 Honky Tonk (1941: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Sept. 8, 1941
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 48.9 Honolulu (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 4, 1939
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 49, A-B The Horn Blows at Midnight (1945: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Apr. 19, 1945
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - (bound reproduction with some annotations)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Miscellaneous notes
Oversize 49.5 Hotel Berlin (1945: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Mar. 12, 1945
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with copy of music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Miscellaneous notes on restoration
Oversize 50 Humoresque (1947: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Sept. 30, 1946
Carmen Fantasie: Full conductor's score - reproduction
Carmen Fantasie: Full conductor's score - reproduction; Orchestral parts - reproductions
Carmen Fantasie (New York: Harms, Inc., n.d.)
Selection: P. Tschaikowsky Concerto (Opus 35) edited by Leopold Auer, adapted by Franz Waxman - reproduction
Oversize 50.5 I Love You Again (1940: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Aug. 1, 1940
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 51 I, the Jury (1953: United Artists)
Music cue sheets - June 12, 1953 (2), n.d.
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions with annotations
"Molinero, Molinero" - "... p[ublic] d[omain] arr. of Spanish folksong ..." - reproduction
Miscellaneous production notes and financial material
Oversize 51.5 Ice Follies of 1939 (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Mar. 2, 1939
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 52, A-B In Our Time (1944: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Jan. 31, 1944
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with annotations with Ballet Suite from Le Lac des Cygnes / P. Tschaikowsky)
Selections - reproductions
Oversize 53, A-D The Indian Fighter (1955: United Artists)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 18, 1955
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 53.5 The Invisible Ray (1936: Universal)
Music cue sheet - Mar. 30, 1936
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 54, A-D Johnny Holiday (1950: United Artists)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 15, 1949
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches and their reproductions
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 55 Joshua (New York: G. Ricordi & Co., c1960)
Full conductor's score - original
Selection: Rahab's Plea - conductor's piano/vocal score, reproduction
Oversize 55.3 Journey for Margaret (1942: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 20, 1942
Selections - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Holograph notes on music cues
Oversize 56 Kathleen (1941: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 4, 1941
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 57 King of the Roaring '20's (1961: Allied Artists)
Music cue sheet (3) - Mar. 31, 1961
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals
Die kleinen Madchen mit dem treuen Blick. . .
See Gruss und Kuss-Veronika (1932: Deutsche Universal-Film A.G.)
Oversize 57.5 Kraft Suspense Theatre (1964: television series)
"Graffiti"
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
"Operation Grief"
Music cue sheet - Oct. 5, 1964
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction
Music timing script - original, includes holograph notes
"That He Should Weep for Her"
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 58 Lady of the Tropics (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Aug. 8, 1939
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction with music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Liberty Fanfares
See Task Force (1949: Warner Bros.)
Oversize 59 Liliom (1933: German)
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original
Orchestral parts (Selections) - original
Miscellaneous holograph notes and printed material
Oversize 60 A Lion Is in the Streets (1953: Warner Bros.)
Music timing sheet (2) - Feb. 28, 1953
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Selections - reproductions
Oversize 61 The Lost Command (1966: Columbia Pictures) (working title: "The Centurions")
Music cue sheet - Apr. (?) 1966
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches and reproductions
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Selections - reproductions, with instrumentation lists
Restoration:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproduction
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 62 Love in the Afternoon (1957: Allied Artists)
Music cue sheet - June 28, 1957
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original
Selections - originals and reproductions
Holograph notes on music cues
See also "Love Music" from Richard Wagner's Tristan and Isolde
Love Me Not
See Her Cardboard Lover (1942: M-G-M)
Oversize 63 "Love Music" from Richard Wagner's Tristan and Isolde
Score - reproductions (3), one with annotations
Selections: Conductor's score - reproduction; Orchestral part (solo violin) - reproduction
See also Love in the Afternoon
Oversize 63.3 Love on the Run (1936: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 18, 1936
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 63.7 Lucky Night (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Apr. 17, 1939
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 64 Lure of the Wilderness (1952: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Mar. 26, 1952
Piano conductor's score (partially bound reproductions)
Oversize 65, A-B Man on a Tightrope (1953: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - June 26, 1953
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Re-orchestration for "Clown on a Tightrope":
March for concert band - original and reproductions
March for orchestra - reproductions
Holograph notes
Oversize 65.5 Man Proof (1937: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Dec. 15, 1937
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 66 Medal of Honor
Restoration of full conductor's score for Suite: Instrumentation list; Orchestral parts - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 67, A-B Miracle in the Rain (1956: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Dec. 19, 1955
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction, with annotations
Holograph notes on music cues
Restoration:
Instrumentation list
Full orchestral parts - originals and reproductions
Holograph notes on music instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 67.5 Mister Roberts (1955: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - July 8, 1955
"Song, script scenes" outline
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Correspondence relating to music cues and Waxman contract
Oversize 68 Mr. Skeffington (1944: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - July 10, 1944
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - (bound reproduction)
Restoration for Suite:
Instrumentation list
Full orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproduction
Mon Coeur Bat
See Paprika
Oversize 68.5 Music in the Air (1934: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Piano conductor's score - bound reproduction
Oversize 69 My Cousin Rachel (1952: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 7, 1952
Selections - original sketches and reproductions
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproduction
Oversize 70 My Geisha (1961: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet (2) - Feb. 2, 1962
"Correction Sheet" - Feb. 19, 1962
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 71 The Mysterious Deep (1960: CBS Television Network)
Music cue sheet - July 8, 1960
Music cue sheet with script annotations
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction
Oversize 72, A-B Night and the City (1950: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheets - July 14, 1950
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches (with additional cue sheets)
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration for "Nightride Suite":
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions with annotations
Oversize 73, A-B Night Unto Night (1949: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - n.d.
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Restoration for "Dusk: A Setting For Orchestra":
Full conductor's score - reproduction (partially bound)
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 74, A-B Nightmoods For Orchestra
Re-orchestrations for selections from:
He Ran All the Way
The Two Mrs. Carrolls
Peyton Place
Nightride Suite
See Night and the City (1950: Twentieth Century- Fox)
Oversize 74.3 No Minor Vices (1948: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 22, 1948
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Oversize 74.5 Nora Prentiss (1947: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 6, 1947
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Oversize 75 Nostalgic Film Themes
Re-orchestrations for selections from:
Suspicion
My Geisha
Beloved Infidel
Prince Valiant
Oversize 76, A-C The Nun's Story (1959: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions of original sketches, some with annotations
Conductor's score (Selections) (partially bound) - reproduction
"Complete Notes on [Scoring] 'The Nun's Story'"
Correspondence relating to scoring
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score - reproduction
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Oversize 77 Objective, Burma! (1945: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound with undated music cue sheet mounted on endpaper and note laid in) - reproduction with annotations
Conductor's note
Restoration for "March for Concert Band":
Instrumentation list
Full conductor's score - reproduction with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) "file master" - originals
Oversize 78 Old Acquaintance (1943: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with some annotations)
Restoration for Elegy for Strings ("Kit and Preston"):
Full conductor's score (source material) - reproduction with annotations
Full conductor's score with annotations - "copying proof"
Orchestral parts - reproductions
Oversize 79 On Borrowed Time (1939: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet (2) - June 30, 1939
Piano conductor's score (Selection) - original sketch
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration for Suite by Christopher Palmer and Jeff Atmajian:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions with annotations
Correspondence on score restoration
On Ne Voit Ca Qu'a Paris
See La Crise est Finie (1934: Films Paramount)
Oversize 79.5 Only the Valiant (1951: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproduction, some with annotations
Oversize 80 Open Windows (CBS Television)
Conductor's score (Selections) - original
Oversize 81 Paprika
Selections:
Ach, wie oft kommt die Liebe unverhofft! (Berlin: Alrobi Musikverlag, c1932)
Mon Coeur Bat (Paris: Editions Salabert, 1932) issued with: Je L'Aime, Je L'Adore / W. R. Heyman (Paris: Editions Salabert, c1934)
Oversize 81.5 The Paradine Case (1947: Selznick International Pictures)
Music cue sheet - July 22, 1949
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (bound reproduction with annotations)
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Orchestral part (Selection) - reproduction
"Fantasy For Piano and Orchestra From the Film 'The Paradine Case'":
Conductor's score - bound reproduction
Correspondence relating to bound score reproduction
Passacaglia
See Sorry, Wrong Number (1948: Paramount Pictures)
Oversize 81.7 Personal Property (1937: M-G-M) (working title: "Man in Possession")
Music cue sheet - March 13, 1937
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 82 Un Peu d'Amour (Berlin: Emelkaton-Verlag, c1932)
See also Fur'n groschen Liebe/Ach, wie ist das Leben schon!
Oversize 83, A-B Peyton Place (1957: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 7, 1957
Music cue sheet - n.d.
Piano conductor's score - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Holograph notes about album selections
Los Angeles Times film review and publicity story, December 13, 1957
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproduction, some with annotations
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals
Oversize 83.5 Peyton Place "Television Pilot and Preview" (1963: Twentieth Century-Fox Television)
Pilot undated
"Music Notes"
"Music Notes" - "revised Nov. 8, 1963"
Conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Preview undated
"Music Notes"
Conductor's score (Selection) - original sketch
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 84 The Philadelphia Story (1940: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 22, 1940
Restoration for Suite by Don Rose: Full orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 84.5 Phone Call From a Stranger (1952: Twentieth Century- Fox)
Music cue sheet - Feb. 8, 1952
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - bound reproduction
Oversize 85 The Pioneer Suite
Restoration of selections from:
Red Mountain
Cimarron
The Indian Fighter
Oversize 86, A-D A Place in the Sun (1951: Paramount Pictures) ; 1963, 1985
Music cue sheet - May 18, 1951
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions with annotations
Selection: A Place in the Sun (New York: Paramount Music Corporation, c1951)Restorations:
Medley No. 1:
Full conductor's score - reproduction with some annotations
Suite:
Full conductor's score - reproductions
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals
Holograph notes on instrumentation
Suite (1963: Hollywood Bowl version):
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions with annotations
Suite (1985: London):
Conductor's score - original and reproduction with some annotations
Conductor's score (bound reproduction)
Instrumentation list
Symphonic Scenario / arr. by Christopher Palmer:
Conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproduction, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Instrumentation list (partial)
Holograph notes (photocopies)
Oversize 86.5 Port of Seven Seas (1938: M-G-M) (working title: "Madelon")
Music cue sheet - Mar. 25, 1938
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction
Oversize 87 Possessed (1947: Warner Bros.) (working title: "The Secret")
"Final Music Notes" (Selections) - n.d.
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction
Selection: Danse Russe from Petrouchka [two bars] by Igor Stravinsky - reproduction
Correspondence relating to film title change and music rights
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproduction, some with annotations
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 88 Pride of the Marines (1945: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproductions with undated music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Oversize 89, A-B Prince Valiant (1954: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction)
Restorations:
Prince Valiant Fanfares (for concert band):
Full conductor's score - original
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Suite:
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproduction with some annotations
Instrumentation list with holograph notes
Orchestral parts (Selections) originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 90 Rear Window (1954: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet (feature) - July 6, 1954
Music cue sheet (feature) - Aug. 6, 1954
Music cue sheet (trailer) - Sept. 7, 1954
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
"Description of Manner in Which Music Was Used" (in feature and trailer)
Holograph notes
"Orchestra Chart," n.d.
Correspondence relating to music rights
Selection: Lisa (New York: Paramount Music Corporation c1954)
Restorations:
Prelude: Full conductor's score - original and reproduction
Rhumba: Full conductor's score - original and reproduction
Oversize 91, A-H Rebecca (1940: Selznick International Pictures)
Full conductor's score (Selections, including deletions) - original with some reproductions, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selection "The Tango") - original
Holograph notes on music cues
Suite (radio version) / arr. by Ernest Klapholz:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations (partially bound)
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations

Suite (record version):
Music cue sheet - n.d.
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions
Holograph notes on music cues

Suite (unspecified version):
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions, some annotations
Oversize 91.3 Red Mountain (1951: Paramount Pictures) (working title: "Quantrell's Raiders")
Music cue sheet - July 13, 1951
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Reminiscences
See Come Back, Little Sheba (1953: Paramount Pictures)
Oversize 91.5 Reunion in France (1942: M-G-M) (working title: "Reunion")
Music cue sheet - Dec. 11, 1942
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 91.7 "Rhapsody for Piano and Orchestra"
Conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
The Ride to Dubno
See Taras Bulba (1962: United Artists)
Rosanna
see Ernest Hemingway's Adventures of a Young Man (1962: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Oversize 91.9 Run Silent, Run Deep (1958: United Artists)
Music cue sheet - May 9, 1958
Conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Oversize 92 Sayonara (1957: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 20, 1957
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Scampolo
See Fur'n groschen Liebe/Ach, wie ist das Leben schon!
Oversize 92.5 Scherzetto undated
Full conductor's score - bound reproduction
Oversize 93, A-B Second Hungarian Rhapsody by Franz Liszt / arr. by Waxman-Friedhofer
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Orchestral parts (Selections) - original
Oversize 93.3 Seven Sweethearts (1942: M-G-M) (working titles: "Tulip Time in Michigan," "Tulip Time")
Music cue sheet - Aug. 3, 1942
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Oversize 93.5 The Shining Hour (1938: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Nov. 15, 1938
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 94, A-B The Silver Chalice (1954: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Jan. 21, 1955
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 95 Sinfonietta (New York: Boosey & Hawkes, c1956)
Sir Walter Raleigh
See British Grenadiers (march)
Oversize 96 The Song of Terezin (Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania: Theodore Presser Company, c1966)
final (uncorrected) study score & vocal score
Oversize 96 The Song of Terezin (Westport, Connecticut: Fidelio Music Publishing Company, renewed c1994)
bound reproduction of final study score & vocal score
Oversize 97 The Song of Terezin/Das Lied von Terezin (Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania: Theodore Presser Company, c1966)
Oversize 98 Sorry, Wrong Number (1948: Paramount Pictures)
Restorations:
Introduction and Passcaglia / arr. by Christopher Palmer:
Full conductor's score - original and reproduction
Passacaglia "for concert band" / arr. by J.D. Morsch:
Full conductor's score - reproduction
Instrumentation list and photocopy of holograph notes
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Souvenir de Paris
See The Devil Doll (1936: M-G-M)
Oversize 99 Spectrum: A Color Cycle For Jazz Ensemble
Re-orchestration:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Holograph notes on arrangement
Oversize 100, A-D The Spirit of St. Louis (1957: Warner Bros.) )
Music cue sheet: Feature - Mar. 4, 1957
Trailer - Apr. 9, 1957
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions (partially bound)
Orchestral parts (Selections) - original and reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration:
Full orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 101, A-C The Story of Ruth (1960: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - May 9, 1960
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions of original sketches
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restorations: "Narrative version"
Full conductor's score - original and reproduction
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)

Restorations: "Symphonic version":
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Strange Temptation
See Alias Nick Beal (1948: Paramount Pictures)
Oversize 102 Sunset Boulevard (1950: Paramount Pictures)
Music cue sheet - April 14, 1950
Conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, partially bound
Restoration:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Orchestral arts (Selections) - originals
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 103, A-C Taras Bulba (1962: United Artists)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Selections: La Stella del Desiderio (New York: United Artists Music Co., c1962; Milano: Resolute Casa Editrice Musicale, c1962)
Restoration for "The Ride to Dubno" (alternate title: "The Ride of the Cossacks") [Charles] "Gerhardt version":
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 104 Task Force (1949: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet (trailer and feature) - Sept. 2, 1948
Restoration for "Liberty Fanfares" for concert band:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals
Oversize 104.5 That Hagen Girl (1947: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Oversize 105, A-B Theme, Variations and Fugato for Jazz Orchestra (Los Angeles: Fidelio Music Co., c1956)
Full conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Orchestral parts - reproductions, some with annotations
Holograph notes on instrumentation
Oversize 106, A-C This is My Love (1954: RKO Radio Pictures)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 22, 1954
Music cue sheet - n.d.
Lyrics sheet "third revision" - Apr. 28, 1954
Conductor's score - original sketches with music notes bearing date May 5, 1954
Conductor's score (Selections) - originals and reproductions
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration: Conductor's score (Selections) - original and reproduction
Oversize 107 To Have and Have Not (1945: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet - Oct. 31, 1944
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction)
Oversize 108 Tortilla Flat (1942: M-G-M)
Music cue sheet - Apr. 17, 1942
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction with additional music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Oversize 109 The Two Mrs. Carrolls (1947: Warner Bros.)
Music cue sheet (trailer and feature) - Feb. 28, 1947
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Orchestral parts (Selections) - original
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 110 Untamed (1955: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Jan. 26, 1955
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions
Restoration for Suite:
Full conductor's score (Selections) - reproductions, some with annotations
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (Selections) - originals and reproductions, some with annotations
Holograph notes on instrumentation (photocopy)
Oversize 111 The Very Thought of You (1944: Warner Bros.)
Piano conductor's score (Selections) (bound reproduction with undated music cue sheet mounted on endpaper)
Oversize 112 The Virgin Queen (1955: Twentieth Century-Fox)
Music cue sheet - Sept. 1, 1955
Piano conductor's score (Selections) - original sketches
Re-orchestration for "British Grenadiers March" / arr. by F. Waxman:
Full conductor's score (traditional) with annotations - reproduction
Conductor's score "1st draft" - reproduction
Conductor's score "file master" - reproduction
Instrumentation list
Orchestral parts (master copy)
Oversize 113 Young in Heart (1938: Selznick International)
Conductor's score - original sketches and photocopies
Music notes and continuity
Oversize 114 Unidentified fragments - original
Oversize 115 Music cue sheets photocopies

Return to top