Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Benjamin Spock Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Spock, Benjamin, 1903-1998.
Title: Benjamin Spock Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1945-1990
Quantity: 241 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American pediatrician, author, and peace activist. Collection includes correspondence, medical reference files, writings, memorabilia; cartoons, caricatures, articles by and about Spock, clippings, and photographs relating to his political activities (1951-1976), including material about the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy; research material of biographer Lynn Z. Bloom, including correspondence, published documents, some of Spock's writings and notes, Bloom's notes and typescripts, biographical transcripts, and interview materials; and material of Spock and wife Mary Morgan (1974-1985).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Benjamin Spock (1903-1998) was an American pediatrician, author, and peace activist. He is the author of the worldwide best-selling book Baby and Child Care.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin Spock Papers includes correspondence, medical reference files, writings, memorabilia; cartoons, caricatures, articles by and about Spock, clippings, and photographs relating to his political activities (1951-1976), including material about the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy; research material of biographer Lynn Z. Bloom, including correspondence, published documents, some of Spock's writings and notes, Bloom's notes and typescripts, biographical transcripts, and interview materials; and material of Spock and wife Mary Morgan (1974-1985).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center contains a wide range of published material by Dr. Spock. Please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog to locate these items.

See also the Benjamin Spock Symposium Collection and the Dr. Spock War Posters Collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bloom, Lynn Z., 1934-
Morgan, Mary, 1943-
Spock, Benjamin, 1903-1998.

Corporate Bodies

National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy (U.S.)

Subjects

Child care.
Child development.
Child psychology.
Child rearing.
Children -- Health and hygiene.
Infant psychology.
Infants -- Care.
Infants -- Development.
Infants -- Health and hygiene.
Medicine -- Practice.
Nuclear disarmament.
Peace movements -- United States.
Pediatricians -- United States.
Pediatrics.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Protest movements.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- United States.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Appointment books.
Articles.
Caricatures.
Cartoons (humorous images).
Clippings.
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Pediatricians.
Physcians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin Spock Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Benjamin Spock and Mary Morgan.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 9 Feb 1994
Revision history: 1 Oct 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top