Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mullen, Marion L.
Title: Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection
Inclusive Dates: circa 1970-1990
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection of commemorative coins and medallions from the Franklin Mint and other similar companies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Commemorative and thematic coins are coins issued to commemorate a particular person, place, or event, or highlight a particular issue or theme. They usually have an original and/or distinctive design relating to the purpose of issuance. Most serve as collectors items only, though on occasion some are put into regular circulation.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection consists of more than two hundred coins and medals struck for various purposes. Some fall into sets, others are single items. Most are still in their original packaging or encapsulation as issued. To assist in identifying items, the inventory below gives the number of items as well as the number and type of enclosure. Incomplete albums or sheets are noted.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to the collection requires the supervision of a Librarian or Curator.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Also of interest may be the merchants' scrip collection, found in the Central New York Trade Catalogs and Business Ephemera.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Franklin Mint.
Lincoln Mint.
Longines Symphonette.
Wittnauer Precious Metals Society.

Subjects

American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976 -- Collectibles.
Astronautics -- United States -- Collectibles.
Commemorative coins.
Presidents -- United States -- Collectibles.
United States -- History -- Collectibles.

Genres and Forms

Commemoratives.
Medallions.
Proof coins.

Occupations

Coin collectors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marion L. Mullen Commemorative Coin and Medal Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marion L. Mullen, 1990.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 1 May 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Franklin Mint
Box 1 America in Space (1 album plus one additional page)
Box 2 America in Space (17 items in 7 blue and 5 white packages)
Box 2 America's 10th Anniversary in Space (1 item, boxed)
Box 1 American Bicentennial Medals (1 sheet)
Box 2 American Heritage Medallic Treasury of American History (10 items in 5 packages)
Box 2 Bicentennial medal 1976 (1 item, boxed)
Box 1 East African Wildlife - incomplete (4 sheets)
Box 1 Eyewitness to History (10 items in 10 plastic cases)
Box 2 Fifty States Bicentennial Medals (50 items in 50 packages)
Box 2 Kennedy Memorial Medal (1 item, in package)
Box 2 Medallic Yearbook (23 items in 23 packages)
Box 2 National Governor's Conference Official Statehood Medals: Pennsylvania (1 item in package)
Box 2 Panama Commemorative Coin (1 item, in package)
Box 1 Presidential Commemorative Medals - incomplete (1 album)
Box 2 Presidential Treasury of Commemorative medals - incomplete (1 album)
Box 1 Project Apollo (1 sheet)
Box 2 States of the Union Mini-Coin Set (50 items in one folder)
Box 1 Thomason Medallic Bible 1970 (1 album)
Box 1 United Nations Commemorative Medal, Namibia (1 item, in package)
Box 1 United Nations Peace Medals 1971-1978, 1980-1983, 1985-1987 (15 items in 15 plastic cases)
Box 1 Zodiac medals (1 album)
Unidentified sets
Box 2 American history, miscellaneous (48 items in 48 blue packages)
Box 2 People, miscellaneous (44 items in 44 gray packages)
Box 1 Space-related, miscellaneous (8 items in 8 plastic cases)
Box 2 Stamps, miscellaneous (4 items in 4 blue packages)
Box 2 U.S. Presidents, miscellaneous (2 items in 2 packages)
Independence Hall Association
Box 2 Signing of the Declaration of Independence (1 rectangular medal, framed)
Lincoln Mint
Box 2 John F. Kennedy commemorative medals (36 items in 33 brown packages, 3 blue packages)
Longines Symphonette
Box 2 Great American Triumphs (30 items in 5 boxes, 1 envelope, 2 plastic cases)
Royal Mint
Box 2 Coinage of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1 maroon box)
Wittnauer Precious Metals Guild
Box 2 American history, miscellaneous (17 items in 15 boxes and 1 package)
Unidentified
Box 1 Great Flags of America - 42 items, 22 in 2 large sheets and 20 in 10 packages (42 items)
Box 2 Apollo-Soyuz Mission (1 coin, 1 envelope with two cancelled stamps, packaged)
Box 2 Miscellaneous (2 items in 1 blue package and 1 white package)

Return to top