Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Frank C. Laubach Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Laubach, Frank Charles, 1884-1970.
Title: Frank C. Laubach Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1896-1974
Quantity: 211.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Personal papers of the missionary, adult educator, and literacy pioneer; also contains organizational records of Laubach Literacy, Inc. Collection includes correspondence, administrative papers, financial papers, U.S. and international projects, writings, photographs, and miscellanea.
Language: Majority in English, literacy manuals in dozens of other languages.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frank C. Laubach (1884-1970) was a Christian Evangelical missionary, author, and educator who specialized in international literacy. Dr. Laubach recognized literacy as a "first step toward ending the suffering and exploitation of the world's disadvantaged" (Laubach Literacy International brochure); he was the founder of the "Each One Teach One" literacy teaching method and of Laubach Literacy, and is credited with teaching more than 100 million people to read."

Frank C. Laubach

Frank Charles Laubach was born in Benton, Pennsylvania on September 2, 1884. He studied at Bloomsburg State College (1901), Perkiomen Prep School (1905), Princeton University (BA, 1909), and Union Theological Seminary (1913). He was married to Effa Seely on May 15, 1912, and earned his MA (1912) and PhD (1915) from Columbia University.

In 1915, Dr. Laubach and his wife went to the Philippines as Congregational missionaries with the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. He was a minister at Cagayan, and taught at Union Theological Seminary in Manila. In 1930, he began literacy work on the island of Mindanao and developed an alphabet for the Maranaws in their own Maranaw language. This was the start of his "Each One Teach One" concept, which encouraged adults taught by the system to then volunteer their time to teach others. From 1930 to 1970, Dr. Laubach traveled to more than one hundred countries developing literacy primers in 312 languages. He and his literacy teams worked with missions, private agencies, governments, U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), the Peace Corps, and UNESCO.

In 1935 Dr. Laubach organized the World Literacy Committee, and in 1941 he became one of the founders of the Committee on World Literacy and Christian Literature, known as "Lit-Lit" (later Intermedia) of the National Council of Churches. He worked with this organization until his retirement in 1954 at the age of 70. In 1951, to facilitate cooperation with government and secular organizations, Dr. Laubach started World Literacy, Inc. (now World Education). In 1955, the year after his retirement, he founded Laubach Literacy, Inc., a non-profit literacy organization with headquarters in Syracuse, New York. His son, Robert, took over the presidency of LLI after Dr. Laubach's death on June 11, 1970. Mrs. Effa Laubach died on March 29, 1973, at the age of 85; the couple are buried in the family plot in Benton, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Laubach was a prolific writer whose books covered a variety of interests, including the Philippines, prayer and spiritual life, challenges to world literacy and to international technical assistance, and materials to teach adults to read (including literacy primers in 312 languages). He gave the impetus to the opening of literacy and journalism courses at Hartford School of Missions, Syracuse University, Asbury College, Baylor University, University of California, and more than twenty other centers across the United States.

Laubach has been recognized many times for his accomplishments. He received honorary degrees from Princeton, Columbia, Syracuse, and Temple Universities, and from Lafayette, Wooster, Muskingam, Marietta, Findlay, and Baldwin-Wallace Colleges. Time magazine referred to him as the founder of a world-wide literacy drive. Norman Vincent Peale, in Look, called Laubach one of the five greatest men in the world, and Newsweek featured him as "one of the grand men of the missionary world." Lowell Thomas called him "the foremost teacher of our times." On the 100th anniversary of his birth, the United States Postal Service honored Dr. Laubach with the issue of a commemorative stamp in the "Great Americans" series.

Four books have been written about him: Apostle to the Illiterates, by David E. Mason; Each One Teach One, by Marjorie Medary; Champion of the Silent Billion, by Helen M. Roberts; and Frank C. Laubach, Teacher of Millions, by David E. Mason. His work has been taught to Sunday School children in the curriculum of the Methodist, Lutheran, and other denominations. Dozens of religious and secular magazines including Together, The Lutheran Standard, Christian Herald, Time, Look, Newsweek, Reader's Digest, Collier's, and Saturday Evening Post have run articles about "Mr. Literacy."

Laubach Literacy, Inc.

For a detailed history of Laubach Literacy and related organizations, including the National Affilication for Literacy Advance (NALA), Laubach Literacy Action (LLA), New Readers Press (NRP), and ProLiteracy Worldwide, please refer to the Laubach Literacy, Inc. Records finding aid.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frank C. Laubach Collection contains both the organizational papers of Laubach Literacy, Inc. (LLI) and the personal papers of Frank C. Laubach. The collection traces the development of literacy teaching from the early 1920's, at the beginning of Dr. Laubach's missionary career with the Moro tribe in the Philippines, and reaches into the present efforts of Laubach Literacy, Inc., to deal with illiteracy on a worldwide scale. As such, it is a valuable research tool for students of literacy in America or of world literacy.

The collection includes correspondence, personal papers of both Frank and Effa Laubach, administrative papers, financial papers, writings (manuscripts and articles), organizational and meeting material, and photographs, as well as material relating to trustees, domestic and international projects, languages, and some miscellany.

Correspondence, the first major group of the Laubach Collection, is divided into four subgroups: Frank Laubach, General, Foreign, and Specific files. Dr. Laubach's own correspondence dates are considerably earlier than the other sub-groups. General correspondence contains organizational correspondence of a varied nature, covering the broad range of questions concerning Laubach Literacy, Inc. Foreign correspondence pertains to foreign correspondence of such a general nature that it has no specific file. Specific files contains the correspondence of specific individuals and projects.

The next series, Frank C. Laubach papers, consist of a great variety of material accumulated over Dr. Laubach's lifetime: biographical material; essays, articles and speeches; scrapbooks and diaries, manuscripts dated before 1955. The notes, memorabilia and data collected during Dr. Laubach's missionary career in the Philippines are of particular philosophical and historical interest.

The papers of Laubach's wife, Effa Seely Laubach (1882-1973), consist of a small amount of correspondence and miscellaneous notes.

Trustees' material consists of agenda, meetings, minutes of meetings and decisions concerning the Board of Trustees of Laubach Literacy, Inc.

Administrative files are divided into two subgroups. Administrative papers consists of major materials regarding organizational policy, contracts and personnel information. Administrative correspondence is all interoffice memoranda within and from Laubach Literacy, Inc.

Financial papers include budgets, auditors' reports, bank statements and corporate assessments.

Projects, domestic consist of literacy programs, projects, and training workshops sponsored by Laubach Literacy in the United States. Included here is National Affiliation for Literacy Advance (NALA) material as well as the papers and records of state and local literacy organizations.

Projects, overseas contains material related to literacy projects abroad, such as U.S. Government (AID, Peace Corps) contracts, proposals, and support; and monthly reports from Laubach staff members located in other countries.

Languages contain all the primers and reading materials developed or used by Laubach in any language. More than 300 languages are represented.

Manuscripts and articles contain the manuscripts developed at Laubach Literacy, Inc., from 1955 to 1969. This group also holds other manuscripts and articles prepared by Laubach staff members or interested persons.

Organizations and meetings contains the records and papers of organizations, conferences and meetings not directly sponsored by Laubach Literacy, but of interest to Laubach staff members or Trustees.

Miscellaneous holds over six boxes of newspaper clippings collected at Laubach Literacy, and also includes unclassified newsletters and pamphlets.

Photographs relate to a variety of Laubach projects, both domestic and overseas, and are filed by geographical location. Also included are photographs of the Laubach family.

The collection closes with 99 Streamlined Reading films covering lessons in literacy instruction.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The subdivisions of Correspondence are arranged chronologically except for Specific files, which are alphabetical by name. All remaining series are arranged alphabetically by name, title, or topic as appropriate.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Laubach Literacy International Records. In addition, the library has many published works by Frank Laubach; please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Laubach, Effa S., 1882-1973.
Laubach, Frank Charles, 1884-1970.
Laubach, Robert S (Robert Seely), 1918-
Mason, David E.

Corporate Bodies

Laubach Literacy, Inc.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Adult education teachers, Training of.
Clergy -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Educators -- United States.
English language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers.
English language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers.
Evening and continuation schools -- United States.
Literacy -- Africa.
Literacy -- Asia.
Literacy -- Colombia.
Literacy -- India.
Literacy -- Latin America.
Literacy -- Mexico.
Literacy -- United States.
Literacy.
Missionaries.
New literates, Writing for.
Television in adult education.
Visual literacy.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Bank statements.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Essays.
Financial records.
Manuscripts for publication.
Maps.
Minutes.
Motion pictures (visual works)
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Poems.
Progress reports.
Proposals.
Readers.
Reports.
Textbooks.

Occupations

Adult education teachers

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frank C. Laubach Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Majority gift of Frank C. Laubach, 1966-1978.

Material in boxes 328A, 328B and 328C, gift of David Mason, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DRC, MW
Date: May 1974
Revision history: 12 Aug 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC); 14 Feb 2012 - adds, M11-211 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Laubach, Frank
Box 1 1896-1932 (6 folders)
Box 2 1933-1938 (6 folders)
Box 3 1940-1954 (5 folders)
Box 4 1955 (5 folders)
Box 5 1956 Jan-1957 May (5 folders)
Box 6 1957 Jun-Dec (4 folders)
Box 7 1958 Jan-1959 Feb (5 folders)
Box 8 1959 Mar-1960 Feb (5 folders)
Box 9 1960 Mar-Sep (5 folders)
Box 10 1960 Oct-1961 Aug (4 folders)
Box 11 1961 Sep-1962 Sep (4 folders)
Box 12 1962 Oct-1963 Jun (4 folders)
Box 13 1963 Jul-1964 Mar (4 folders)
Box 14 1964 Apr-Oct (4 folders)
Box 15 1964 Nov-1965 Apr (5 folders)
Box 16 1965 May-Sep (5 folders)
Box 17 1965 Oct-Dec (5 folders)
Box 18 1965 Dec-1966 Mar (5 folders)
Box 19 1966 Apr-Jul (5 folders)
Box 20 1966 Aug-Oct (7 folders)
Box 21 1966 Nov-1967 Dec (5 folders)
Box 22 1968 Jan-Sep (5 folders)
Box 23 1968 Oct-1969 Aug (6 folders)
Box 24 1969 Sep-1971 (6 folders)
Sympathy letters
Box 25 1970 (4 folders)
Box 26 1970 (2 folders)
General
Box 27 1940-1960 Feb (6 folders)
Box 28 1960 Mar-Aug (6 folders)
Box 29 1960 Sep-1961 Feb (5 folders)
Box 30 1961 Mar-Jun (6 folders)
Box 31 1961 Jul-Oct (7 folders)
Box 32 1961 Oct-Dec (6 folders)
Box 33 1961 Dec-1962 Jan (6 folders)
Box 34 1962 Jan-Mar (6 folders)
Box 35 1962 Mar-Apr (6 folders)
Box 36 1962 Apr-Jun (6 folders)
Box 37 1962 Jun-Jul (6 folders)
Box 38 1962 Aug-Sep (6 folders)
Box 39 1962 Oct-Nov (5 folders)
Box 40 1962 Dec-1963 Jan (5 folders)
Box 41 1963 Jan-Mar (5 folders)
Box 42 1963 Mar-May (6 folders)
Box 43 1963 May-Jul (7 folders)
Box 44 1963 Aug-Oct (7 folders)
Box 45 1963 Nov-1964 Jan (6 folders)
Box 46 1964 Feb-Apr (5 folders)
Box 47 1964 Apr-Jun (5 folders)
Box 48 1964 Jul-Sep (6 folders)
Box 49 1964 Oct-Nov (4 folders)
Box 50 1964 Dec-1965 Feb (6 folders)
Box 51 1965 Feb-Mar (5 folders)
Box 52 1965 Apr-May (5 folders)
Box 53 1965 Jun-Aug (4 folders)
Box 54 1965 Aug-Oct (6 folders)
Box 55 1965 Oct-Dec (6 folders)
Box 56 1966 Jan-Feb (5 folders)
Box 57 1966 Mar-Apr (5 folders)
Box 58 1966 Apr-Jun (6 folders)
Box 59 1966 Jun-Aug (6 folders)
Box 60 1966 Sep-Nov (5 folders)
Box 61 1966 Nov-1967 Jan (5 folders)
Box 62 1967 Jan-Feb (5 folders)
Box 63 1967 Feb-Apr (6 folders)
Box 64 1967 Apr-Jun (6 folders)
Box 65 1967 Jul-Sep (6 folders)
Box 66 1967 Oct-Nov (5 folders)
Box 67 1967 Dec-1968 Feb (5 folders)
Box 68 1968 Feb-Mar (4 folders)
Box 69 1968 Mar-May (5 folders)
Box 70 1968 Jun-Aug (6 folders)
Box 71 1968 Sep-Nov (5 folders)
Box 72 1968 Dec-1969 Jan (5 folders)
Box 73 1969 Feb-Apr (5 folders)
Box 74 1969 Apr-Jun (4 folders)
Box 75 1969 Jun-Sep (5 folders)
Box 76 1969 Sep-Nov (5 folders)
Box 77 1969 Dec-1970 Apr (6 folders)
Box 78 1970 May-Oct (5 folders)
Box 79 1970 Nov-1972 (3 folders)
Box 79 Undated
Foreign, general
Box 80 1951-1961 Sep (6 folders)
Box 81 1961 Oct-1962 Jul (5 folders)
Box 82 1962 Aug-1964 Jun (6 folders)
Box 83 1964 Jul-1967 (5 folders)
Box 84 1968-1970 (3 folders)
Specific files
Boyer, Gilbert
Box 85 1960-1964 Apr (6 folders)
Box 86 1964 May -1969 (2 folders)
Box 86 Caswell, Robert 1964-1970
Box 86 Chapman, Margaret 1957-1967
Box 86 Colombia 1962-1969 (2 folders)
Dames, Joseph J.
Box 86 1960-1963
Box 87 1964-1970 (2 folders)
Box 87 Ecuador
Box 87 Edwards, Fern 1961-1967
Friedman, Robert
Box 87 1962-1965
Box 88 1965-1970
Box 88 Giffin, George 1967-1968
Box 88 Gipson, Priscilla 1961-1970 (3 folders)
Box 88 Guatemala 1962-1965 (2 folders)
Box 88 Haynes, Evelyn 1962-1967
Box 89 Henry, William 1964-1966
Box 89 High, Ellen 1958-1965
Box 89 Hudkins, James 1968
Box 89 Johannes, Phyllis 1962-1969 (3 folders)
Box 89 John, A. K. 1958-1970 (2 folders)
Box 90 Johnson, Marion 1942-1970
Box 90 Jordan 1960-1967
Box 90 Kirk, Elizabeth M. 1962-1963
Box 90 Koinonia Foundation 1952-1969 (3 folders)
Box 91 Leonard, Benjamin 1961-1963
Box 91 Likins, Robert 1959-1966
Lowe, Lorenzo
Box 91 1956-1960 Jun (5 folders)
Box 92 1960 Jul-1961 Sep (6 folders)
Box 93 1961 Oct-1962 Dec (3 folders)
Box 93 Undated
Macmillan, May
Box 93 1957-1962 (3 folders)
Box 94 1963-1967 (6 folders)
Box 95 1968-1970
Mason, David
Box 328B to Frank Laubach 1963-1968, undated (3 folders)
Box 328B to Bob Laubach 1967
Box 95 Mexico 1958-1967 (3 folders)
Box 95 Morgan, Angela 1940-1957
Morrill, Louise
Box 95 1959-1962 (4 folders)
Box 96 1963-1970
Box 96 Oliver-Douglas 1959-1966
Pakistan, East
Box 96 1955-1962 (2 folders)
Box 97 1963-1968
Box 97 Peace Corps 1961-1968 (6 folders)
Box 98 Pearson, Irving 1962-1968 (6 folders)
Box 98 Philippines 1933-1965
Box 98 Pitts, Edward 1968-1970
Box 99 Roberts, Byron T. 1961-1969 (3 folders)
Box 99 Roberts, Helen 1958-1964
Box 99 Sabo, Joseph 1961-1968 (3 folders)
Shumate, Hazel
Box 99 1960-1963
Box 100 1964-1969 (2 folders)
Box 100 Smith, Dorita 1960-1963
U.S. Government Departments
Box 100 1948-1962 (3 folders)
Box 101 1963-1970 (5 folders)
Box 101 U.S. Government, elected representatives 1957-1970 (2 folders)
Box 102 U.S. Government, literacy proposal to 1961-1962
Box 102 Valle de Bravo 1957-1968 (2 folders)
Box 102 Vestermark, Lynne 1962-1963
Box 102 Ward, Muriel B.
Box 103 Warlow, Loretta 1959-1967
Box 103 Whittington, Richard 1962
Box 103 Willard, Jay 1967-1968
Laubach, Frank
Box 104 Accounts 1945-1957
Box 104 Addresses
Box 104 Africa
Box 104 Art work
Articles
Box 104 I-III (3 folders)
Box 105 IV-VII (4 folders)
Box 106 VIII
Box 106 Articles by (4 folders)
Box 107 Articles by, The Argus
Articles about
Box 107 I-II (2 folders)
Box 108 III-VI (4 folders)
Box 109 VII-IX (3 folders)
Box 109 Australia 1949
Box 109 Bibliographies
Box 109 Biographical data
Box 110 Birthday banquets
Box 110 Book manuscript, parts of
Box 110 Book reviews (2 folders)
Box 110 Books for the People
Box 110 Broadcasts
Box 110 Camps Farthest Out
Box 110 "Christ Liveth in Me"
Box 110 "Christian Save Your World" - draft
Box 110 Church statistics
Box 110 Can I Help You (CIHU) 1947-1955
Box 110 Committee on World Literacy and Christian Literature 1942-1954
Box 111 "Compassion of Jesus as Told by Matthew"
Box 111 Courses: Literacy as Evangelism 1969
Box 111 Daily devotions 1952
Box 111 Death of, notes sent and received
Diaries and notes
Box 111 1921-1938 (4 folders)
Box 328A 1937-1940 (5 bound volumes)
Box 112 1939-1970 (3 folders)
Box 328A 1953 (1 volume)
Box 112 Diaries from the Philippines 1929-1940
Box 112 "Did Mary Tell Jesus Her Secret?" - foreword
Box 112 Directories 1928-1933
Box 113 "Each One Teach One," Educational Significance of 1970
Box 113 Economy, world 1953-1954
Box 113 Egypt
Essays
Box 113 I-IV (4 folders)
Box 114 V-IX (5 folders)
Box 115 X-XV (6 folders)
Box 116 XVI-XI (4 folders)
Box 116 Essays about
Box 116 Evangelism, personal
Box 116 "Far East Newsletter" 1949
Box 116 Foreign aid 1953-1954
Box 117 Form letters (2 folders)
"Forty Years with the Silent Billion"
Box 117 Chapters 1-146 (3 folders)
Box 118 Chapters 47-60 (3 folders)
Box 118 Recording 1-23 (2 folders)
Box 119 Genealogy
Box 119 Gospel of Mark
Box 119 "Growing Bigger Every Day" 1961
Box 119 "How to Make the World Literate" 1957 (2 folders)
Box 119 India 1949-1956
Box 119 Indonesian Literacy Conference 1951
Box 119 Inspired Letters
Box 119 Interviews
Box 119 Inter-American Affairs
Itineraries
Box 119 I-II (2 folders)
Box 120 III-IV (2 folders)
Box 120 Journalism, re 1953-1954
Box 120 Journals 1939
Box 120 Key system for teaching illiterates
"Lanao Progress"
Box 120 1933-1935 (2 folders)
Box 121 1936-1941
Box 121 "Last Ten Years"
Box 121 Laubach method, comment on the 1966
Box 121 Laymen's Movement for A Christian World, Inc. (2 folders)
Box 121 "Letters From A Modern Mystic" unedited manuscript
Box 121 Liberia 1952
Box 121 Library lists, suggest
Box 121 Libya 1951
Box 122 Literacy, articles re
Box 122 Literacy campaign in India and Africa 1936-1937
Box 122 Literacy evangelism
Box 122 Magazines 1946, 1956-1969
Box 122 Mailing addresses 1932-1940
Box 122 "Making Everybody's World Safe"
Box 122 Malaya visits 1952
Box 122 Manuscript, untitled 1943
Box 123 Maps
Box 123 Meals for Millions Foundation
Memorabilia
Box 123 1910-1951
Box 123 1954
Box 124 1956-1964 - includes birthday tributes (4 folders)
Box 125 1965-1968 (4 folders)
Box 126 1970
Box 126 Undated (2 folders)
Moro book
Box 126 Draft 1930-1933
Box 126 Notes for 1915
Box 126 New Guinea 1949
Box 126 The new literacy method 1949
Box 126 New literates, preparing material for 1951
Box 126 News releases 1946-1965
Notes
Box 127 1904-1921, 1927, 1937, 1945-1949, 1951-1969 (6 folders)
Box 128 1970
Undated
Pamphlets
Box 128 I-II (2 folders)
Box 129 III-IV (2 folders)
Box 129 Paris Prayer Groups 1946
Box 129 Passports
Box 129 Peace proposal, Philippines 1934
Philippines
Box 129 [General] 1920-1929
Box 130 [General] 1930-1966 (4 folders)
Box 130 Accounts in 1930-1940
Box 131 Articles from
Box 131 Cooperating Committee for Philippines
Box 131 Islam in
Box 131 Literacy in
Box 131 Society of Educated Youth of 1934
Box 131 United Evangelical Church 1933
Box 131 Plays
Box 131 Poems
Box 131 Point Four
Box 131 Portraits of
Box 131 Portuguese primer
Box 131 "The Positive Thing" - draft
Prayers
Box 131 I
Box 132 II-III (2 folders)
Programs
Box 132 I-II (2 folders)
Box 133 III-V (3 folders)
Box 133 Promotion for Laubach Literacy Advance
Box 133 Publications
Box 133 Recognition of
Box 134 "Rollcall" Yearbook 1962
Box 134 Royalties, statements of
Box 134 "Shut Your Eyes" - manuscript
Box 134 "The Silent Billion" - draft
Box 134 The Silent League 1929-1930
Box 134 Songs
Speeches and sermons
Box 134 I-III (3 folders)
Box 135 IV-VIII (5 folders)
Box 136 IX-XI (3 folders)
Box 136 Spelling, new (2 folders)
Spelling reform
Box 136 I
Box 137 II-VI (5 folders)
Box 138 VII
Box 138 Statement re 1947-1964
Box 138 "Story ov Je/sus Re/told from thu Bi/bl, thu," part one 1960
Box 138 Supplies, missionary
"Teaching the World to Read"
Box 138 Chapters 7-23 1946
Box 138 Bibliography 1946
Box 138 Tours 1944-1970
Tours, letters from
Box 138 1933-1944
Box 138 1947-1966
Box 139 1960-1967
Box 139 Travel papers
Box 139 United Nations
Box 139 U.S. Government
Box 139 "Was Jesus Really God's Son?" - manuscript
Box 139 Who's Who in the East
Box 139 "Why and How" 1967
Box 139 World Health Organization 1953-1955
World Literacy, Inc.
Box 139 I-II (2 folders)
Box 140 III-IV (3 folders)
Box 140 World Neighbors, Inc.
Box 140 World Outreach 1969
Box 140 World peace (2 folders)
Box 141 Yiddish primer
Box 141 "You are My Friends" 1942 - draft
Laubach, Effa Seeley
Box 142 Correspondence 1915-1972 (3 folders)
Box 142 Notes and various material (2 folders)
Trustees
Box 143 Committees
Box 143 Financial reports 1957-1971 (2 folders)
Box 143 Letters to 1959-1969
Meetings
Box 143 1961-1966 (11 folders)
Box 144 1967-1971 (9 folders)
Box 145 1973 (2 folders)
Box 145 Meetings, general papers 1957-1972, undated
Box 145 Memos to 1960-1971
Minutes of meetings
Box 145 1955-1967 (2 folders)
Box 146 1968-1970
Box 146 Minute index
Box 146 Newsletters 1966
Box 146 President's reports to 1961-1971
Box 146 Proposals to
Box 146 Proposal to from the executive director
Box 146 Recommendations by
Reports to
Box 146 Annual 1960-1970
General
Box 146 1955-1971
Box 147 Undated
Box 147 International projects 1958-1970 (2 folders)
Box 147 Semi-annual 1962-1970 (2 folders)
Box 147 United States programs 1960-1971
Administrative files
Administrative papers
Box 148 Accounts
Box 148 Affiliation, agreement of undated
Box 148 By-laws 1955
Contracts
Box 148 Banking 1955-1963
Box 148 Leases 1963
Box 148 Publishing 1950-1968
Contributions
Box 148 General 1956-1965
Box 148 Lists 1957-1960
Box 148 General
Box 148 D'Oliviera, Louise
Box 148 Church, total U.S.
Box 148 Copyrights
Development
Box 148 Bulletins and reports 1967
Box 148 Canvassing 1967
General
Box 148 1958-1967 (2 folders)
Box 149 1968-1970
Box 149 Laubach Literacy Advance 1966-1967
Box 149 Midwest
Box 149 Red Cross
Box 149 Reports 1967
Box 149 Survey material
Box 149 Director of education reports 1963
Box 149 Ditto masters, miscellaneous
Executive Committee
Box 149 Meetings 1968-1971
Box 149 Memos
Box 149 Recommendations 1964-1969
Box 149 Form letters 1961-1970
Box 150 Form letters, prints, sample
Foundations
Box 150 Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Box 150 David C. Cook Foundation 1968-1969
Box 150 Direct Relief Foundation
Box 150 Foundation for World Literacy
Box 150 General
Box 150 General Telephone and Electric Fund
Box 150 Investors Overseas Services 1965-1967
Box 150 Johnson Foundation
Box 150 Kellogg Foundation 1964
Box 150 Kresge Foundation 1963
Box 150 Lilly Endowment 1964-1967
Box 150 Ottinger Foundation
Box 150 Philco-Ford
Box 150 Functions, departmentalization of
Box 150 Fund applications, support for cooperative research 1963
Box 150 Fund associates
Fund raising
Box 150 Banquets 1964-1968
Box 150 Churches
Box 151 Laubach Literacy Advance 1967
Box 151 Fund raising guides and information (2 folders)
Grants and scholarships
Box 151 Applications 1961-1968
Box 151 Fund records, Summer Institute of Literacy, Chautauqua
Box 151 Incorporation, certificate of
Box 151 Incorporation, certificate of, amendments 1960
Box 151 Information about Laubach Literacy, general
Box 151 Interim Committee 1968-1969
Box 151 Internal organization recommendations
Inter-office memoranda
Box 151 1954-1961
Box 152 1962-1965 May (5 folders)
Box 153 1965 Jun-1967 Jun (4 folders)
Box 154 1967 Jul-1968 Mar (5 folders)
Box 155 1968 Apr-1970 undated (5 folders)
Box 155 Interoffice shipping 1965
Box 155 Inventory of equipment and furniture 1965
Box 155 Investment Management Account, Marine Midland Trust
Box 155 Job descriptions
Box 156 Label listing
Box 156 Library, Laubach Literacy
Box 156 Long-range plans, Laubach Literacy 1967
Box 156 Management information
Box 156 McMillan Company
Box 156 News releases
Box 156 Notes, general
Box 156 Organizational charts
Box 156 Permissions, reprint
Personnel
Applications, confidential
Box 156 A-M (3 folders)
Box 157 N-Z (2 folders)
Box 157 Applications, tabulation of 1961-1963
Box 157 Biographical sketches
Box 157 Director of education 1961
Box 157 Director of programs
Box 157 Employees, lists of 1962-1968
Box 157 Gipson, Priscilla
Box 157 Graduation, employee
Box 157 Information, general
Box 157 Job descriptions
Box 157 Laubach, Robert - biographical notes
Box 157 Morrill, Louise D'Oliviera
Box 157 Roberts, Byron T.
Box 157 Shumate, Hazel
Box 157 Status reports, employee 1968
Box 157 Planning: publishing
Box 157 Pledges, delinquent
Policy
Box 157 "Each One Teach One in Action," R. S. Laubach 1968
Box 157 Foreign work
Box 158 Use of name by affiliated organizations
Box 158 Policy and planning 1965-1969
Box 158 Printing techniques
Box 158 Procedure, office
Box 158 Programs, summary of
Promotion
Box 158 Budget 1967
Box 158 "Christian, Save Your World" 1970
Box 158 Church programs
Box 158 Goals and materials
Box 158 Promotional ideas
Promotional materials
Box 158 Exhibits
Box 158 Information (3 folders)
Box 159 Information
Box 159 Mailing ideas (2 folders)
Box 159 Testimonials
Box 159 Proposals for headquarters building
Box 159 Public relations, church
Publications
Box 159 "Laulitgram" 1965
Box 159 "News," Laubach Literacy 1969-1972
Box 159 "Newsletter," Laubach Literacy Fund 1956-1967
Box 159 "Newsletter," production of
Box 159 "Newsletter," recipients of
Box 159 Publishing
Box 159 Sponsors 1963
Box 160 Staff meetings
Box 160 Staff meetings, minutes 1962-1967
Box 160 Syracuse University, MEMOS from
Box 160 Tape recordings and slide shows, projects
Box 160 Thirtieth anniversary dinner participants
Box 160 Valuation of assets 1966
Box 160 Washington office
Box 160 Washington office, Board of Zoning adjustment
Administrative correspondence
[General]
Box 161 1959-1962 Apr (6 folders)
Box 162 1962 May-1963 Dec
Box 163 1964
Box 164 1965 Jan-1966 Mar
Box 165 1966 Apr-Dec
Box 166 1967 Jan-Nov
Box 167 1967 Dec-1968 Dec
Box 168 1969-1970, undated
Financial contributions
Box 168 1960-1963 (2 folders)
Box 169 1964-1969 (4 folders)
Box 169 Grants and scholarships 1954-1969 (2 folders)
Box 169 Personnel 1946-1969 (2 folders)
Box 169 Personnel: Mason, David 1968
Box 170 Requests for financial support 1960-1963
Financial papers
Box 171 Account diversification 1968
Box 171 Accountants' reports 1956-1969 (13 folders)
Box 171 Balance sheets 1957-1959
Box 171 Balance sheets and income statements 1964-1967
Bank statements
Box 171 1960, 1962-1964 (4 folders)
Box 172 1965-1968 (6 folders)
Box 173 1968-1969 (2 folders)
Box 173 Banking agreements
Box 173 Banking resolutions, corporate 1969
Box 173 Budget 1956-1957 1960, 1962-1969 (8 folders)
Box 173 Budget appropriations 1969-1970
Checkbooks
Box 173 1958-1961 (2 folders)
Box 174 1964-1968 (5 folders)
Box 175 1966-1969 (3 folders)
Box 175 Currency exchange 1964-1967
Box 176 Estate settlement 1968
Box 176 Expenses 1961-1968
Box 176 Finance, report of the director of 1962
Box 176 Financial report on literacy courses 1958
Box 176 Financial statements 1956-1960
Box 176 Foreign projects
Box 176 Funds received
Box 176 Income and contributions
Box 176 Income report
Box 176 Income statements, investment portfolio 1970
Box 176 Income tax 1966
Box 176 Individual earnings records 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Insurance
Box 176 1963-1965
Box 177 1966-1968
Box 177 Insurance policies
Box 177 Investment 1965
Box 177 Investment management 1965
Payroll
Box 177 Publishing 1963
Box 177 Records 1968
Box 177 Summary 1968
Box 177 Projects, overseas 1962
Box 177 Publication costs
Box 177 Reports 1957-1958, 1960-1962, 1964-1969 (3 folders)
Box 177 Salaries 1962-1963
Box 177 Social Welfare Department
Box 177 Stocks 1957-1958
Box 177 Tax, state, general
Box 177 Taxes, State of New York 1965-1966
Box 177 Unemployment compensation 1964-1966
Projects, domestic
Box 178 Address lists, general (2 folders)
Adult Basic Education, general (2 folders)
Box 178 Inter-university Workshop 1965
Box 179 Regional conference 1965-1966
Box 179 Workshops
Box 179 Adult education, general summary undated (4 folders)
Box 179 Adult education legislation 1967
Box 180 Adult literacy primers, revision of 1969
Box 180 Adult readers book lists 1964-1965
Box 180 Alabama, state literacy
Box 180 Alphabet and spelling materials
Box 180 Arithmetic, remedial 1968
Box 180 Arkansas, state literacy
Box 180 Articles, American education 1958
Box 180 Asbury Seminary
Box 180 Association Films, Inc.
Box 180 Audio-visual communications, Laubach Literacy
Box 180 Audio-visual equipment
Audio-visual materials, generation information for "Streamlined Reading"
Box 181 1-5B
Box 181 6-7B
Box 181 10-12B
Box 181 13-19A
Box 181 20-23A
Box 181 24-30A
Box 181 31-37
Box 181 38-46
Box 182 Bible lessons
Box 182 Bible story, pictures
Box 182 Bible telecourses 1962
Box 182 Bibliographies
Box 182 Bibliography of Recommended Materials for Adults with Limited Reading Ability. Smith, Jeanette undated
Box 182 California, state literacy
Box 182 Central Training Institute, U.S. Army
Box 182 Charts and Stories record undated
Box 182 Chautauqua Institution 1959-1964 (2 folders)
Box 182 Chinatown
Box 182 Church literacy
Box 183 Colorado, state literacy
Box 183 Community action programs 1966
Companies of Compassion, accounts
Box 183 General material (2 folders)
Box 183 Membership and donation lists
Box 183 Report 1962
Box 183 Promotion of (2 folders)
Box 184 State (6 folders)
Box 185 Compassion Book, materials gathered for 1953
Box 185 Connecticut, state literacy
Box 185 Coordinating Committee guides 1965-1967
Box 185 Corrections, Bureau of, Pennsylvania 1962
Box 185 Course evaluation
Courses, assignments and projects 1964
Box 185 General
Box 185 Literacy as Evangelism 1962-1969
Box 185 Teacher training 1965
Box 185 Teaching English and Simple Writing for New Literates
Box 185 Techniques of Adult Literacy 1961-1969
Box 185 Writing for New Literates
Box 186 Writing Poetry
Box 186 Demonstrations
Box 186 Development, Companies of Compassion 1968
Box 186 Diagnostic Reading Survey
Box 186 Diagnostic Reading Tests
Box 186 Diagnostic Survey for Beginning Adult Readers, Laubach
Box 186 Experimental version 1966
Box 186 Student answers 1966
Box 186 Economic Opportunity Act 1964
Box 186 Economy, world
Box 186 Education and vocational programs
Box 186 Education Bulletins 1962
Box 186 Education Bulletins (New), 1-43 1969-1970
Box 186 Education Directory: Cortright, Richard
Box 186 Education Reports, stencils
Box 186 Education, world, articles
Box 186 Educational and Cultural Center Serving Onondaga and Oswego Counties
Box 187 Educational Developmental Laboratories
Box 187 Educational information
Box 187 English Spelling Made Easy 1959
Box 187 "Ergodic and Stochastic Principles in Relation to Laubach Literacy Materials"
Box 187 Evaluation forms, various 1966
Box 187 Evangelism
Box 187 Exhibit materials
Box 187 Experiences, evaluation
Box 187 Field reports, Laubach Literacy Center 1963
Film scripts, production
Box 187 Various
Box 188 Various
Films
Box 188 "Breakthrough in Hong Kong"
Box 188 Miscellaneous
Box 188 "Plight of the Desperate Billion" 1962
Box 188 Production, information re
Box 188 Films, literacy
Box 188 Florida, state literacy
Box 188 Georgia, state literacy
Box 188 Hartford Seminary
Box 188 Hawaii
Box 188 Health, Education and Welfare, U.S. Department of, Proposal to 1963
Box 188 Home Economics, teaching: writing workshop 1965
Box 188 Hong Kong Baptist College
Box 188 Information on various fields
Box 188 Information, general
Box 188 Information sheets
Box 188 Interview projects
Box 188 International Teaching Alphabet
Box 188 Itineraries, Johannes, Phyllis
Box 189 Kansas, state literacy
Box 189 Kentucky, state literacy
Box 189 "Ladder of Literacy," Robert, R. S. 1964
Box 189 Language Facility Test, Dailey, John T. 1965
Box 189 Language Power Seminar 1966
Box 189 Laubach Literacy Institute 1962-1969
Box 189 Laubach Literacy School 1961
Box 189 Laubach Literacy Summer Institute 1968
Box 189 Laubach, Robert, literacy work
Box 189 Literacy associates, United States
Box 189 Literacy councils, general (2 folders)
Box 190 Literacy education
Box 190 Literacy evangelism
Box 190 Literacy in the United States, general 1960-1962
Box 190 Literacy Institute, Indianapolis 1962
Box 190 Literacy Institute, University of Virginia 1963
Box 190 Literacy kit
Box 190 Literacy materials, lists of 1960-1962
Literacy organizations
Box 190 Alabama
Box 190 Alaska
Box 190 Arizona, Tucson
Box 190 Arkansas
Box 190 California, Alhambra
Box 191 California, Alhambra
Box 192 California, Alhambra
Box 193 California, Alhambra
Box 193 California, Berkeley (2 folders)
Box 193 California, Vista
Box 193 Certification procedure
Box 193 Colorado
Box 193 Connecticut
Box 193 Delaware
Box 193 Florida, Miami
Box 193 General
Box 193 Georgia, Atlanta
Box 193 Idaho, Boise
Box 194 Illinois
Box 194 Indiana
Box 194 Iowa
Box 194 Kansas
Box 194 Kentucky
Box 194 Maryland, Montgomery County (2 folders)
Box 194 Maryland, Prince George's County
Box 194 Massachusetts
Box 194 Michigan
Box 194 Minnesota
Box 194 Mississippi
Box 194 Missouri
Box 194 Nebraska
Box 194 New Jersey
Box 194 New York
Box 194 North Carolina
Box 194 Ohio
Box 194 Oklahoma
Box 195 Oregon (2 folders)
Box 195 Pennsylvania
Box 195 South Carolina
Box 195 Tennessee
Box 195 Texas
Box 195 Texas, Baylor Literacy Center (2 folders)
Box 195 Texas, Houston
Box 196 Virginia
Box 196 Washington, D. C. (2 folders)
Box 196 Washington State
Box 196 Wisconsin
Box 196 Literacy organizations and information 1959-1966
Box 196 Literacy programs, general
Box 196 Literacy quarterly reports
Box 197 Literacy report, United States
Box 197 Literacy statistics
Box 197 Literacy studies, Baylor Literacy Center 1961
Box 197 Literacy Survey 1966
Box 197 Literacy Symposium
Box 197 Literacy teaching 1964
Box 197 Literacy teaching, quarterly reports (3 folders)
Box 197 Literacy training, Alabama, reports
Box 197 Literacy Week, National essay
Box 197 Literacy workers, handbooks for
Literacy
Box 197 Adult, Materials and Programs, review and appraisal of
Box 197 Articles re 1955-1966
Box 198 General (3 folders)
Box 199 Harvard panel on 1970
Box 199 Information re
Box 199 Standards for
Box 199 Mailing lists, general
Box 199 Manpower, general
Box 199 Manpower Literacy Programs, evaluation of
Box 199 Manpower retraining
Box 199 Maryland, state literacy
Box 199 Mass media
Box 200 Massachusetts, state literacy
Box 200 Michigan, state literacy
Box 200 Migrant workers
Box 200 Mississippi, state literacy
Box 200 Mississippi Delta Project 1964
Model School Project
Box 200 Program proposal 1965-1966
Box 200 Training report 1965-1966
National Affiliation for Literacy Advance (NALA)
Box 200 Conference 1969
Box 200 "Leadership," NALA
Box 200 Promotion
Box 200 Questionnaire
Box 200 Regional Training Conferences 1966-1968, undated (4 folders)
Box 200 Semi-Annual Reports
Box 200 Survey
Box 200 General information re (2 folders)
Box 200 Study on 1970-1972
Box 200 New Hampshire, state literacy
New literates
Box 200 Information for
Materials for
Box 201 "Anand the Wise Man," Laubach, Frank, second reader, Vol. I
Box 234 "Anand the Wise Man," original copy (oversize)
Box 201 Articles to be edited
"Be Informed" Series
Box 201 [General]
Box 202 Credit
Box 202 Driving
Box 202 Evaluation forms
Box 202 Evaluations
Box 202 You and the Law
Box 202 You and Your Family
Box 202 Bible Guide, Higby, E. J.
Box 202 Bible Stories
Box 202 Bibliographies
Box 202 Books
Box 202 Booklets 1961
Box 203 Child care
Box 203 "Citizens of God's World"
Box 203 "City Living," Laubach, Frank and Kirk, E. M. dummies
Box 203 Cleaning
Box 203 "Easy Bible Guide," Higby, E. J.
Box 203 Family planning
Box 203 First aid
Box 203 Follow-up books
Box 203 Fundamental education
Box 203 General
Box 203 "Going Forward," word lists for chapters 1-13
Box 204 "Good Manners" revision
Box 204 "Gospel of Luke, Simplified," Laubach, Frank 1951-1953
Box 204 "Growing Old"
Box 204 Health
Box 204 "Heroes of Faith"
Box 204 "Heroes of Witness"
Box 204 Hobbies
Box 204 Home Economics Workshop
Box 204 Information re
Box 204 "It is Smarter not to Drink"
Box 204 "Juan and Marie Make a New Home"
Box 204 "Learn to Pray"
Box 204 "Learning to Read," Grant, Alice
Box 204 "Letters to Grandma," Roxby, Mary Belle
Box 234 "Literature," Meador, Murray (oversize) (3 folders)
Box 204 "Making Our World Safe"
Box 205 Miscellaneous
Box 234 "New Streamlined English Series," Readings in (oversize)
Box 205 by New writers 1961
Box 205 "News For You"
Box 205 "News For You," goals for
Box 205 Newspapers 1964-1969
Box 205 "Our United States," Laubach, R. S. 1965
Box 205 "Our Fifty States," Schwartz, Lillian
Box 205 "Read and Grow," Laubach, R. S.
Box 205 "Read to Learn"
Box 205 "Reading to Learn"
Box 206 "Readings in Literature," Meador, Murray
Box 206 "Readings in Literature," teachers' guides to, Meador, Murray
Box 206 Recipes
Box 206 Rejected stories
Box 206 Religions
Box 206 "Science"
Box 207 Stories translated from Arabic
Box 207 Stories, various (2 folders)
Box 207 "Story of Jesus" 1946-1948
"Story of Jesus"
Box 207 Projects
Box 207 Vernacular editions
Box 207 "Story of Jesus retold from the Bible," books 1-12, Laubach, F. 1946
Box 207 Stories based on Streamlined English word lists
Box 208 "Titus," translation of
Box 208 "U Sein, the Wise Man," Laubach, F. 1948
Box 208 "We Honor Them" 1965-1968
Box 208 Word lists
Box 208 Writing
Box 208 Progress report of
Box 208 Reading for
Box 208 Writing for (2 folders)
New Readers Press
Box 208 Contract for 1963
Box 208 General information 1966
Box 208 New Streamlined English series, development of
Box 208 New York State literacy 1968
Box 208 New York state literacy, adult basic education 1965
"News for You"
Box 208 [General] 1960-1963
Box 208 Material for
Box 209 Questionnaires 2 folders 1968
Box 209 News stories
Box 209 North Carolina, state literacy
Box 209 Ohio, state literacy
Box 209 Oral Roberts University
Box 209 "Participants in Laubach Literacy Training Courses, A Study of," Dethe, S. K.
Box 209 Peace, re 1962
Penitentiaries, state
Box 209 Louisiana
Box 209 Ohio, film literacy 1960
Box 209 Literacy in
Box 209 Pennsylvania, state literacy
Box 209 Phonic methods
Box 209 Population and birth control
Box 209 Population statistics
Box 209 Population, world
Box 209 Poverty, suburban programs in
Box 209 Press releases
Box 209 Primers, illustrations
Box 209 Printed material, demands for
Box 210 Printing
Box 210 Prisons and reformatories, state: state directors for adult basic education programs
Box 210 Private enterprise, world wide 1951-1956
Box 210 Program materials, miscellaneous
Box 210 Programmed instruction
Box 210 Programmed teaching
Box 210 Programs, general
Box 210 Project, needs re, promotion and report
Box 210 "Pronouncing glossary," Laubach, F. 1968
Box 210 Proposals and models
Box 210 Proposals and research 1970
Box 210 Proposals by director of publication 1962
Box 210 Proposals for financial aid
Box 210 Proposals for National Association of Volunteer Adult Literacy Organizations 1966
Box 210 Proposals, literacy 1963-1965
Box 211 Proposals project (3 folders)
Proposals
Box 211 To commissioner of education 1960
Box 211 Educational television 1964-1965
Box 211 Evaluation Study by Laubach Literacy
Box 211 Literacy Workshop
Box 211 Los Angeles County Adult Literacy 1965
Box 211 Mississippi Delta Project
Box 212 Research
Box 212 Teaching "English the New Way," Experiment in 1963
Box 212 Publishing: Behrman, Mayes, general
Box 212 Publishing materials
Box 212 Publishing records
Box 212 Publishing reports
Box 212 Puppetry
Box 212 Questionnaires 1967
Box 212 Readability formulas, Spache and Gunning
Box 212 Readability Survey
Box 212 Reading Ability, Durrell Analysis of
Box 212 Reading Aids, unidentified
Box 212 Reading instruction, articles re
Box 212 Reading tests, Job Corps
Box 212 Regional Training Conference 1966-1967
Box 212 Rehabilitation programs
Box 212 Reports, general
Box 213 Reports, scripts for tapes
Box 213 Reports on literacy, local
Box 213 Research, miscellaneous 1967
Box 213 Research proposal
Box 213 Resource book, preparation of material for readers of limited ability
Box 213 Simple English, articles re
Box 213 Sketches
Box 213 Slide shows, scripts
Box 213 South Carolina, state literacy
Box 213 Southern Rural Training Project 1962
Box 213 Speech sounds, how to make 1968
Box 213 Spelling
Box 213 Stanford Achievement Test 1965
Box 213 State Committee Chairman
Box 213 State literacy organizations
Box 213 State prisons, "An Experiment on Education" 1961
Box 213 Streamlined English word list
Box 213 Students, foreign
Box 213 Summer Institute of Literacy 1968
Box 213 Syracuse University Library of Continuing Education 1966
Box 214 Syracuse University School of Education
Box 214 Syracuse University School of Journalism (2 folders)
Box 214 Tape catalogs
Box 214 Tape recording scripts
Teacher training
Box 214 Evaluations (2 folders)
Box 214 "Model School System" 1966
Box 214 Southern California
Box 214 Teacher training, Laubach Literacy Fund, general
Box 214 Teacher training conferences, regional 1966-1968
Box 214 Teacher training workshops
Box 214 Teaching, volunteer
Box 215 "Teaching Adults"
Teaching Aids
Box 215 "A Glossary for English the New Way," Stafford, V. H. 1962
Box 215 "An Easy Way to Better Reading," Valiant, M.
Box 215 "Applied Mathematics" Book II, Hooker, Margaret
Box 215 "Be Informed" Series
Box 215 "Building Your Language Power" 1965
Box 215 "Building Your Language Power," guide to 1965
Box 215 Charts and stories, materials for
Box 215 "Christ, the Source of Our Power," Laubach, F. 1962
"Each One Teach One" primers
Box 215 [General]
Box 215 Brochure
Box 215 Complete edition
Box 216 Prospectus 1963
Box 216 Educational Developmental Laboratories English
Box 216 "English the New Way Basic Phonics for," Laubach, F. 1969
"English the New Way," Laubach, F. draft, lessons 1-20 1969
Box 216 Notes
Box 216 Preparation
Box 216 Readings
Box 216 Teachers' manual, Hoff, Olive and Franklin
Box 216 Explanations of
Box 216 Sentence patterns in, Laubach, F.
Box 216 Teacher's Guide to, Laubach, F.
Box 216 Transparencies for
"Learn English the New Way," Laubach, F.
Box 217 Revised ed. Book I 1964
Box 217 Book II 1960, 1962
Box 217 Revised ed., Book II 1964
Box 217 Book II, Students' workbook, layout 1964
Box 218 Workbook, Book I 1965
Box 219 "New Ingglish Fonetic Alfubet," Laubach, F.
"New Streamlined English Series"
Box 219 Corrections c.1967 (2 folders)
Box 219 Correlated reader #4 Laubach, F. and Kirk, E. M.
Box 219 Correlated reader #5
Box 219 "New Streamlined English Series, Read the Easy Way," Laubach, F. dummies
Box 219 "New Streamlined English Series" guides to, draft 1967
"New Streamlined English Series"
Box 219 Materials for 1967
Box 220 Orig. manuscripts 1962
Box 220 Revisions 1967
Box 220 Skill Book I c. 1960
Box 220 Book I 1963-1964
Box 220 Skill Book I. orig. manuscripts 1965
Box 220 Skill Book I 1966
Box 220 Skill Book I, teacher's manual
Box 220 Skill Books 1-3, teacher's manual for, abridged ed. 1967
"New Streamlined English Series," Skill Books 1-5
Box 221 Teacher's manual for 1965
Skill Book 2
Box 221 Original manuscripts 1965
Box 221 Teacher's manual 1966
Skill Book 3
Box 222 Edited manuscripts 1965
Box 222 Teacher's manual for 1966, 1967
Skill Book 4 1966
Box 222 Draft
Box 223 Original edition manuscripts 1965
Box 223 Revised manuscripts 1967
Box 223 Teacher's manual for
Box 223 Typesetting copy c. 1967
Skill Book 5
Box 223 Original edition manuscripts 1965
Box 223 Revised edition 1967
Box 223 [General] 1967
Box 223 Printer's copy 1969
Box 224 Teacher's manual for
Box 224 Teacher's manual for 1967
Box 224 Skill Book 6 1967
"New Streamlined English Series, Read the Easy Way," Laubach, F.
Box 224 Experimental ed. 1963
Box 224 Teacher's manual 1963
"New Streamlined English Series"
Box 224 Slides
Box 224 Stories for Laubach, F. and Kirk, E. M.
Box 225 Story of Jesus, Book IX
Box 225 Student's work book 1964
Box 225 Teacher's manual and introduction
Box 225 Tests for, draft 1967
Box 225 Tests for 1967 (2 folders)
Box 225 "New Streamlined English Series, Write the Easy Way," Laubach, F., Books I, II, IV dummy
Box 226 Phonics, the Wallace Technique in
Box 226 "Reading Readiness Charts and Stories," Laubach, F. 1955
Box 226 "Readings in Literature," teacher's guide for "Streamlined English" 1967
"Streamlined English,"
Box 226 Lesson plans for 1962
Box 226 Materials re
Box 226 Reading readiness charts and stories 1955
Box 226 Revised edition, edited copies circa 1955
Box 226 Revision for
Box 226 Teacher's Guide and summaries of television lessons 1960-1962
Box 226 Teacher's manual for 1960
Box 226 Charts
Box 227 "Streamlined English, Frank Laubach's," Wolf, W.C.
"Streamlined English Lessons"
Box 227 Lessons 1-50 (3 folders)
Box 227 Teacher's Manual, Laubach, F. 1945
Box 227 "Streamlined English Series, Story of Jesus," Stage II, Books 1-12, revision, Laubach, F.
Box 227 "Streamlined Reading," teacher's guide to
Box 227 "Streamlined Spelling," McKeon, D.
Box 228 "Streamlined Spelling," McKeon, D.
Box 228 "Streamlined Writing"
Box 228 "Teaching English as a Second Language"
Box 228 "Teaching Helps," Laubach, F. 1968 •
Box 228 "Words in Color," questions concerning, Gategno, C.
Box 228 "Writing Lessons for the Student of the Laubach Methods," Literacy Center, Koinonia Foundation
Box 228 Teaching Aids, sketches for
Box 228 Teachers, literacy lists 1966
Box 228 Teaching "English the New Way"
Box 228 Teaching filmstrips
Box 228 Teaching illiterates, Girl Scouts
Box 228 Teaching report forms
Box 228 Teaching reports 1962
Box 228 Teaching reports: Bell, Alta 1963
Box 228 Teaching writing 1957-1962
Box 228 Teaching, radiophonic
Television literacy
Box 228 "Adding the Easy Way" 1959-1960
Box 228 General
Box 229 "Let's Learn to Pray"
Box 229 "New Streamlined English," Memphis WKNO 1965
Box 229 Operation Alphabet
Box 229 "Reading the Easy-TV Way"
Box 229 "Reading the Easy-TV Way," teacher's guide, Laubach, F.
Box 229 "Streamlined Reading," WKNO-TV scrapbook of press clippings 1958
Box 229 "Streamlined Writing Book" 1958
Box 229 Tennessee, WKNO
Box 229 Television literacy reports and information re
Box 229 Television literacy teacher's guides 1960
Box 229 Television literacy program material 1958-1963
Box 229 Television literacy proposal 1963
Box 229 Television literacy workshops, script for, Blankenship, M.
Box 230 Training and research 1962
Box 230 Training Courses, A Study of Participants in, Laubach Literacy 1965
Box 230 Training courses, Laubach Literacy
Box 230 Union Organization
Box 230 United States, tour of, Yudelowitz, Ruth 1961
U.S. Government
Box 230 Civil disorder
Box 230 Education, Office of
Box 230 Education, Office of, compiled report
Box 230 Health, Education and Welfare, Department of
Box 230 Interior, Department of
Manpower contracts
Box 230 I-II (2 folders)
Box 231 III
Box 231 Miscellaneous 1957-1958
Box 231 National Service Program, facts on the proposed 1963
Box 231 Presidential Address 1960
Box 231 Representatives, House of 1969
Box 231 Social Security
Box 231 VISTA
Box 231 Visual aids, transparencies
Box 231 Voter registration
Box 231 Washington, D. C., literacy
Box 231 Wheaton College
Box 231 Williams Laboratories
Box 231 Women in literacy
Box 231 Word lists
Box 231 Workshop, Teacher Training 1967
Box 231 Workshop and Training Conference
Box 232 Workshop evaluation 1964-1966 (2 folders)
Box 232 Workshop evaluation sheets 1964-1966
Box 232 Workshop records
Box 232 Workshop standards
Box 232 Workshop test
Workshops
Box 232 Certificate records
Box 232 Certificate records, Florida 1965
Box 232 General
Box 232 Personal data for participants 1963-1964
Box 233 Reports
Box 233 Schedules
Box 233 Teachers trained 1968
Box 233 World literacy statistics
Box 233 Youth, religion
Box 233 Youth Leadership Training 1965
Projects, overseas
Box 235 Afghanistan (2 folders)
Box 235 Afghanistan 1964 (2 folders)
Box 235 Afghanistan: Literacy Pilot Project sample lesson 1965
Box 235 Afghanistan, Associated Students of, in U.S.
Box 235 Afghanistan Mission 1967
Box 235 Afghanistan Research Center
Africa Adult Literacy Program
Box 236 Congo
Box 236 Congo-French primer, Ward, Ginger 1951-1964
Box 236 Egypt
Box 236 Ethiopia
Box 236 General (2 folders)
Box 236 Ghana
Box 236 Ghana, "An experiment in Readability" 1957
Box 236 Kenya (3 folders)
Box 236 Kenya, J.J. Dames
Box 237 Kenya Literacy Center (3 folders)
Box 237 Kenya literacy evangelism
Box 237 Kenya Literacy Mission
Box 237 Kenya Literacy Mission Handbook 1965
Box 237 Kenya literacy organization
Box 237 Kenya Literacy Project
Box 237 Kenya Workshop Evaluations: J.J. Dames
Box 238 Liberia
Box 238 Literacy
Box 238 Mali, notes on, Laubach, Robert
Box 238 Mali Plan for Community Development
Box 238 Morrill, Louise
Nigeria
Box 238 General 1962-1966
Box 238 Literacy
Box 238 Literacy teachers
Box 238 Sabo, Joe
Box 238 Training evaluation
Box 239 Nigeria Adult Literacy Project
Box 239 Nigeria, University of
Box 239 Operation Upgrade
Box 239 Rhodesia
Box 239 Rhodesia, Northern
Box 239 Sierra Leone 1964-1965
Box 239 Somalia, development
Box 239 Statistics, literacy
Box 239 Sudan
Box 239 Swaziland
Box 239 Tanganyika
Box 239 Africa, South: Leader Exchange Program Operation Upgrade
Afro-lit
Box 240 Conference (3 folders)
Box 240 Newsletter 1969
Box 240 Nairobi, Kenya 1968
Box 240 Seminar
Box 240 Annual report 1964-1965
Box 240 Appendices 1962
Box 240 Asia Society
Box 240 Asia, Southeast, literacy contacts 1961-1963
Box 241 Bolivia
Box 241 Boyer, Gilbert
Brazil
General
Box 241 1963-1964 (2 folders)
Box 241 Proposal for Literacy Training and Research
Box 241 Reports and proposals 1963-1969
Box 241 Roberts, Byron
Box 241 Progress report for 1964-1965
Box 241 British Honduras
Box 241 Budrow, Theodore, "Alphabetizacion en America Latina"
Box 241 Burma
Box 241 Cambodia
Box 241 China, Hong Kong 1970
Colombia
Box 241 [General] (2 folders)
Box 242 [General] (4 folders)
Box 262 Educational television 1966
Box 262 Literacy Attitudes Survey, Caswell, Robert and Cortright, Richard
Colombia
Box 242 Antioquia, University of (Robert Caswell) 1967-1968
Box 242 Boyer, Gilbert 1962-1963, 1964
Box 242 Caswell, Robert 1966
Box 242 Friedman, Robert 1964-1965
Box 243 La Picota Prison literacy 1964
Box 243 Pearson, Irving 1965, 1966
Box 243 Television education 1965-1966
Box 243 Colombia, Medellin 1966
Box 243 Contacts, literacy
Box 243 Costa Rica
Ecuador
Box 244 [General] (6 folders)
Box 244 Pearson, Irving 1966
Box 244 Guayaquil
Box 245 Quito 1964-1965
Box 245 Filmstrips, Portuguese
Box 245 Foreign aid
Box 245 Foreign aid, information re
Box 245 Foreign students in the United States
Box 245 Foreign students, reports from 1962
Box 245 Fund allocations
Guatemala
Box 245 [General] 1962-1964 (2 folders)
Box 245 Sigman, Hal
Box 245 Haiti
Box 245 Honduras 1962
Box 246 Hong Kong
Box 246 Hunger, world
India
Box 246 Bengal Social Service League
Box 246 General 1959-1960, undated (4 folders)
Box 246 High, Ellen
Box 246 John, A. K.
Box 247 Literacy House, Lucknow
Box 247 Leonard, Benjamin 1962-1963
Box 247 India, Kerala
Box 247 India, literacy in
Box 247 Indian Journal of Adult Education
Box 247 Indonesia
Box 247 International Programs Community Development
Box 247 Iran, Long-range Literacy Program
Box 247 Israel itineraries, general
Box 247 Japan
Box 247 Jordan 1955
Box 247 Kenya
Box 247 Korea 1962
Box 248 Ladder of Literacy, Spanish
Box 248 Land reform
Box 248 Language materials
Box 248 Languages, shelf lists
Box 248 Languages in which lessons have been prepared
Box 248 Latin America, general (3 folders)
Box 248 Lists of projects
Literacy Associates
Box 248 Africa
Box 248 Asia
Box 248 Latin America
Box 248 Literacy literature needs
Box 248 Literacy materials, primers
Box 248 Literacy Training and Research, Plan for Beginning Set of Materials for
Box 248 Malaya
Box 248 Mali, "An Open Letter..." 1962
Box 248 Manual of Operation
Box 248 Maps
Mexico
Box 249 de Renteria, Ana Maria 1964
Box 249 General 1956-1965, undated (4 folders)
Box 249 Baja, California 1962
Box 249 Tijuana 1963-1964, undated (2 folders)
Box 249 Valle de Bravo 1961-1964
Box 250 Middle East
Box 250 Migration
Box 250 Miscellaneous materials 1967
Box 250 Missionaries, articles re
Box 250 Missionary agencies, directory of
Box 250 Near East, reports
Box 250 Needs and opportunities 1966
Box 250 Needs and requests for aid
Box 250 Needs and support
Box 250 Nepal literacy 1966
New literates, materials for
Box 250 "Anand the Wise Man" vol. II
Box 262 "Anand the Wise Man" 1952
Box 250 Spanish (2 folders)
Box 250 Spanish book lists
Box 251 Operation Upgrade
Pakistan
Box 251 Bivar, H.G.S. (2 folders)
Box 251 General 1963, undated (5 folders)
Box 252 Literacy Conference, evaluation of
Box 252 Pakistan, East 1963-1965
Box 252 Panama
Box 252 Paraguay
Peace Corps
Box 252 Afghanistan
Box 252 Brazil
Box 252 Central America
Colombia
Box 252 I-III (3 folders)
Box 253 IV
Box 253 Colombia Literacy Project
Box 253 Colombia Proposal
Box 253 Colombia teacher training
Box 253 Contracting Manual
Box 253 Directories and sample contracts
Box 253 Ecuador
Box 253 Evaluation of Trainees
Box 254 General 1961-1964, undated (7 folders)
Box 254 Mexico
Box 254 Pakistan
Box 254 Proposals 1963-1964
Box 255 Training, stateside
Box 255 Training programs
Box 255 Training programs 1968
Box 255 Peru, Lima
Philippines
Box 255 General (3 folders)
Box 256 "Lanao Progress" 1933-1934 (2 folders)
Box 256 New literates, materials for
Box 256 "Totwl" 1930-1933
Box 256 Population, world
Box 256 Price lists for books 1966
Box 256 Primer illustrations, Sabo, Joe
Box 256 Primers and follow-up materials
Box 256 Primers, lists of 1962
Box 256 Project needs
Box 256 Projects, miscellaneous information
Box 256 Projects, lists of
Box 256 Projects, report on a survey of
Box 256 Projects and sponsors
Box 262 Promotional materials - project needs
Proposals, "Adult Literacy Training in Underdeveloped Areas of the Free World"
Box 256 [General]
Box 257 Afghanistan
Box 257 Brazil
Box 257 Colombia (3 folders)
Box 257 Colombian Literacy Project
Box 257 Dominican Republic 1964
Box 257 Ecuador
Box 257 Mexico, for Production Center of Spanish Literacy Materials 1963
Box 257 New literates, newspapers far
Box 257 Nigeria
Box 257 Overseas Study Program
Box 257 Pakistan
Box 257 Research
Box 258 Technical Services Overseas c.1963
Box 258 Technical Services, United States Government 1963
Box 258 Proposals, discussions re
Box 258 Proposals, miscellaneous
Box 258 Puerto Rico
Box 258 Radio
Box 258 Radio School 1963
Box 258 Requests for aid 1959-1963
Box 258 Somali Republic, data sheet 1962
Box 258 Soviet Union, clippings
Box 258 Spain
Box 258 Spanish "Ladder of Literacy" book
Box 258 Spanish literacy material
Box 258 Spanish vocabulary
Box 258 Standards for programs
Box 258 Students, foreign, Africa
Box 258 Students, international
Box 258 Syria
Box 258 Taiwan (2 folders)
Box 258 Teaching aids, Persian and Moro
Box 258 Teaching packages, Portuguese
Box 258 Television literacy, reports and information re
Box 262 Television spots, frames for
Box 259 Thailand
Tours
Box 259 Africa 1963
Box 259 Boyer, Gilbert
Box 259 Central American fact-finding trip 1964
Box 259 Congo
Box 259 General
Box 259 Pakistan and Africa, Marshall Clark 1961
Box 259 Warlow, Loretta
Box 328B World Literacy 1954 - "disagreement on World Tour; viewpoint of principals involved and relation to UNESCO; basic to understanding formation lf Laubach Literacy Int. in 1955"
Box 259 World Literacy 1960
Box 259 Tours, 'round the world 1961-1962
Box 259 Travel report 1960
Box 259 Travel reports, general
Trips
Box 259 Literacy Project Survey
Box 259 Mason, David 1964
Box 259 Warlow, Loretta 1960
Box 259 Turkey 1960
Box 259 U.N.E.S.C.O. Project, Kenya 1962
Box 259 United Nations
Box 259 University's Role in Latin American Development 1962
U.S. Government
Box 260 Agency for International Development (4 folders)
Box 260 International Cooperation Administration (2 folders)
Box 260 Miscellaneous
Box 261 State, Department of
Box 261 World Education
Box 261 World tours 1960
Box 261 World tours, Laubach Literacy Team
Box 261 Vietnam
Languages
Box 263 Afrikaans, South Africa
Box 263 Ahanta, Ghana
Box 263 Akha, Burma
Box 263 Amharic, Ethiopia
Box 263 Amis, Taiwan
Box 263 Ao-Assam, India
Arabic
Box 263 Egypt (2 folders)
Box 291 Egypt (oversize)
Box 263 Lebanon
Box 263 Palestine and Syria
Box 263 Sudan
Box 264 Tripoli and Algeria (2 folders)
Box 264 Assamese, India
Box 264 Aymara, Bolivia (2 folders)
Box 264 Bali-British Cameroons
Box 264 Bambara
Box 264 Bantu
Box 264 Bandi, Liberia
Box 264 Baouli, Ivory Coast
Box 264 Bari, Sudan
Box 291 Bari, Philippines (oversize)
Box 291 Bassa, Liberia (oversize)
Box 265 Batonu, Nigeria
Box 291 Bemba, Zambia (oversize)
Box 265 Bengali
Box 265 Bengali, India (2 folders)
Box 265 Bicol, Philippines
Box 265 Bilaan, Philippines
Box 265 Bolobo, Belgian Congo
Bulu
Box 265 Camerouns
Box 265 Kenya
Box 265 Bura, Nigeria
Box 265 Burmese, Burma
Box 265 Busanchi, Nigeria
Box 265 Bwikalebwe, Belgian Congo
Box 266 Cebuano, Philippines
Box 266 Chattisharhi, India
Chinese
Box 266 [General]
Box 266 Homer Dubs system of writing (3 folders)
Box 291 Hong Kong (oversize)
Box 266 Mandarin
Box 266 National phonetic signs, syllabary of
Box 266 Chinyanja, Northern Rhodesia
Box 266 Chokwe, Angola
Box 266 Cigogo, Tanganyika
Box 266 Cishanga, Mozambique
Box 266 Cree, U.S. Indian
Box 267 Creole, Haiti (3 folders)
Box 291 Creole, Haiti (oversize)
Box 267 Dagaari, Gold Coast
Box 267 Dagbani, Gold Coast
Box 267 Dho-Luo, Kenya
Box 267 Dinka, Sudan
Box 267 Douala, Camerouns
Box 268 Engliddish (2 folders)
English
Box 268 for Africans and Indians
Box 291 for Africans and Indians (oversize)
Box 268 American, beginning
Box 268 New literates
Box 268 Television, WKNO
Box 268 English, Streamlined (3 folders)
Box 291 English, Jamaica (oversize) (2 folders)
Box 268 English, Liberia
Box 269 English (original), U.S.A. (2 folders)
Box 269 Eskimo
Ewe
Box 269 Gold Coast 1948
Box 269 Togoland
Box 269 Fante, Gold Coast
Box 269 Farsi, Iran
Box 269 Filipino languages, Philippines
French
Box 269 [General]
Box 291 [General] (oversize)
Box 269 Algeria
Box 269 Camerouns
Box 269 Haiti
Box 269 Mali
Box 269 Fulani, Camerouns
Box 269 Ga, Gold Coast
Box 292 Gio, Liberia (oversize)
Box 269 Gitanga, Mozambique
Box 269 Gola, Liberia
Box 269 Gondi, India
Box 292 Grebo, Liberia (oversize)
Box 292 Guarani, Paraguay (oversize)
Box 269 Gujarati, India
Box 292 Gujarati, India (oversize)
Box 269 Gurmukhi, India
Box 269 Haka, Burma Hindi
Box 292 Hausa, Nigeria (oversize)
Box 269 Hindi, India
Box 292 Hindi, India (oversize) (3 folders)
Box 269 Huichol, Mexico
Box 270 Iban, Sarawak (3 folders)
Box 270 Ibo, Nigeria
Box 292 Ibo, Nigeria (oversize)
Box 270 Ifugao, Philippines
Box 271 Igbo, Nigeria
Box 271 Ilango, Philippines
Box 293 Ilocano, Philippines (oversize)
Box 271 Ilyamba, Tanganyika
Box 272 Indebele, Rhodesia
Box 272 Indian, Mexico (2 folders)
Box 272 Indonesian, Indonesia (2 folders)
Box 272 Iramba
Box 272 Italian
Box 272 Javanese, Indonesia
Box 272 Jita (Kijita), Tanganyika
Box 272 Joloano, Philippines
Box 272 Kabre, Togo
Box 272 Kabyle, Afghanistan
Box 273 Kachin, Burma
Box 273 Kaka, French Camerouns
Box 273 Kalenjin, Kenya
Box 273 Kamba, Kenya
Box 273 Kanarese, India
Box 273 Kaonde, Zambia
Box 273 Kekchi, Mexico
Box 273 Kasem, Ghana
Box 273 Khasi, Asam, India
Box 273 Kihungana, Belgian Congo
Box 273 Kikongo, Belgian Congo (2 folders)
Box 274 Kikuyu, Kenya (2 folders)
Box 293 Kikuyu, Kenya (oversize)
Box 274 Kikwango, Belgian Congo
Box 293 Kimanga, Belgian Congo (oversize)
Box 274 Kimbala, Belgian Congo
Box 274 Kimbundu, Angola
Box 274 Kirundi, Rwanda, Urundi
Box 293 Kisi, Sierra Leone (oversize)
Box 274 Kiswahili, Kenya
Box 274 Kituba, Congo
Box 274 Kiyanzi (Kimputu), Belgian Congo
Box 274 Kono, Sierra Leone
Korean, Korea
Box 274 I-II (2 folders)
Box 275 III-IV (2 folders)
Box 275 Kpelle, Liberia
Box 275 Kru, Liberia
Box 293 Kru, Sierra Leone (oversize)
Box 275 Kuanua, New Guinea
Box 275 Kuranko, Sierra Leone
Box 275 Kuvi, India
Box 275 Lahu, Burma
Box 275 Laotian, Laos
Box 276 Lesotho, South Africa
Box 276 Limba, Sierra Leone
Box 276 Lingala, Belgian Congo
Box 276 Loekele, Belgian Congo
Box 276 Loma, Liberia
Box 276 Lomango, Lokundo, Congo
Box 276 Lomue, Mozambique
Box 276 Lozi [Zambia]
Box 276 Luganda, Uganda
Box 276 Lunda, Northern Rhodesia
Box 276 Luo, Kenya
Box 276 Mabea, Makae, French Cameroun
Box 276 Luyia, Kenya
Box 276 Malagasy, Magagascar
Box 293 Malay, Singapore (oversize)
Box 277 Malayalam, India
Box 277 Mam, Guatemala Indian Philippines
Box 277 Mampruli, Gold Coast (Ghana)
Box 277 Mandarin, China
Box 277 Mandingo, Sierra Leone
Box 293 Mano, Liberia (oversize)
Box 277 Manobo, Philippines
Box 277 Maranaw, Philippines (2 folders)
Box 277 Marathi, India (2 folders)
Box 278 Masai, Kenya
Box 278 Mayan, Mexico
Box 278 Mazateco, Mexico
Box 278 Medlpa, New Guinea
Box 278 Mende, Sierra Leone
Box 278 Mindanao, Philippines
Box 278 Moro, Philippines
Box 278 Moru, Sudan
Box 278 Morung, Australia
Box 293 Moto, Philippines (oversize)
Box 278 Naga dialects, Asam, India
Box 278 Nandi, Kenya
Box 278 Navajo, U.S. Indian
Box 278 Ndebele, Rhodesia
Box 279 Nepali, Nepal (2 folders)
Box 279 Nigeria
Box 279 Niha, Tanganyika
Box 293 Njanja, Zambia Nyasaland (oversize)
Box 279 Olunyore, Kenya
Box 279 Omampuli, Gold Coast
Box 279 Oriya, India (3 folders)
Box 279 Otetela, Congo
Box 279 Oulof, French West Africa
Box 280 Pangasinan, Philippines
Box 293 Pangasinan, Philippines (oversize)
Box 280 Parbatia, Nepal
Box 280 Patua, Sierra Leone
Persian
Box 280 Afghanistan
Box 280 Iran
Box 280 West Pakistan
Pidgin
Box 280 Australia
Box 280 New Guinea
Portuguese
Box 280 [General] (2 folders)
Box 280 Angola
Box 281 Brazil (2 folders)
Box 281 Bi-lingual readers, Mozambique
Box 294 Bi-lingual readers, Mozambique (oversize)
Box 293 Portuguese literacy materials (oversize)
Punjabi
Box 281 Pakistan
Box 281 Persia
Box 281 India
Box 281 Purai, Papua New Guinea
Pushtu
Box 281 Afghanistan
Box 281 West Pakistan
Box 281 Putu, Liberia
Box 281 Pwo karen, Burma
Quechua
Box 282 Bolivia, Ecuador, Guatemala
Box 294 Peru (oversize)
Box 282 Rimi, Tanganyika
Box 282 Roro, Papua New Guinea
Box 282 Rukuba, Nigeria
Box 282 Samarino, Philippines
Box 282 Sango, Chad
Box 282 Santali, India
Box 282 Saora, India
Box 294 Sesotho, South Africa (oversize)
Box 282 Sgaw karen, Burma
Box 282 Shibukeni, Northern Rhodesia
Box 282 Shona, Southern Rhodesia
Box 294 Shona, Southern Rhodesia (oversize)
Box 294 Sindebele, Southern Rhodesia (oversize)
Box 282 Sindhi, Pakistan
Box 282 Sinhalese, Ceylon
Spanish
Box 282 [General]
Box 283 [General]
Box 283 Argentina
Box 283 Bolivia
Box 283 Chile
Box 283 Colombia
Box 283 Costa Rica (2 folders)
Box 284 Costa Rica
Box 284 Cuba
Box 294 Cuba (oversize)
Box 284 Dominican Republic
Box 284 Ecuador
Box 284 Film, Teaching Spanish for illiterate adults, script
Box 284 General (2 folders)
Box 294 General (oversize)
Box 285 Guatemala
Box 285 Jamaica
Box 294 Jamaica (oversize)
Box 285 Mexico (2 folders)
Box 294 Mexico (oversize)
Box 294 Peru (oversize)
Box 285 Puerto Ric
Box 294 Venezuela (oversize)
Box 285 Word list
Swahili, Congo
Box 285 General
Box 286 General
Box 286 Kenya, television
Box 286 Ki-swahili, Congo
Box 286 Swazi, Swaziland (2 folders)
Box 286 Subano, Philippines
Box 286 Tagalog, Philippines
Box 294 Tagalog, Philippines (oversize)
Box 286 Tamahaq, Sahara, Algeria
Box 286 Tamil, India
Box 295 Tamil, India (oversize)
Box 286 Tamil (Romanized), India
Box 287 Taung Thu, Burma
Box 295 Tchien, Liberia (oversize)
Box 287 Telugu, India
Box 295 Telugu, India (oversize)
Box 287 Temne, Sierra Leone
Box 287 Terena, Portuguese, Brazil
Box 287 Thadou kuki, Assam, India
Box 287 Thai, Thailand
Box 287 Tifinagh, Tamahaq
Box 287 Tiv, Nigeria
Box 287 Tonga
Box 287 Tsetchuana, South Africa
Box 287 Tshiluba, Congo
Box 287 Tshwa, Transvaal
Box 287 Tsongo, Mozambique
Box 287 Turu, Tanganyika
Box 287 Turkish
Box 295 Turkish, Turkey (oversize)
Box 287 Twende, Tanganyika
Box 288 Umbundu, Angola
Urdu
Box 288 India
Box 288 West Pakistan 1962-1963 (4 folders)
Box 289 West Pakistan 1962-1963
Box 289 Urundi, Belgian Congo
Box 289 Vai, Liberia
Box 289 Venda, South Africa
Box 289 Vietnamese
Box 289 Vietnamese primer, original
Box 289 Visayan, Philippines
Box 289 Xhosa, South Africa
Box 289 Xironga, Mozambique
Box 289 Yiddish
Box 290 Yoruba, Nigeria
Box 290 Zande, Sudan
Box 290 Zapotec, Mexico
Box 290 Zeme naga, Assam
Box 290 Zulu, South Africa
Manuscripts and articles
Box 296 Cornish, Louis C. "Philippines Calling, The" 1942
Cortright, Richard
Box 296 Articles, miscellaneous 1955-1969
Box 296 "Literacy, U.S. A." 1964
Box 296 "Readings in Literistics," I 1961
Box 296 Speeches
Box 296 "Training Volunteer Literacy Teachers" 1963
Box 296 Crow, Martha F. "Christ in the Poetry of To-day," excerpts from
Box 296 Dames, J.J. "Christ's Message; a Harmony of the Four Gospels" 1970
Box 296 Duncan, Hall "How Africans See Pictures" 1962
Box 296 Encyclopedia of Education article
Box 297 Ereno, Paz notes and essays
Box 297 Fisher, Margaret notes and essays
Box 297 Hagedorn, Hermann "Bomb that Fell on America" 1948
Box 297 Haynes, Evelyn "How to Introduce the Laubach Literacy Aids to the Foreign Students Studying in the United States." 1961
Box 297 Hopkins, Maria "The True Spirit of Christmas"
Box 297 Johnson, Raymond "Measurement and Classification of Teacher Attitudes Toward Illiterates"
Box 297 King, Sidney E. "Christianity is Communism" 1961
Laubach, Frank
Box 297 "Christ Liveth in Me" original manuscripts 1970
Box 297 "Christ Liveth in Me"
Box 297 "Christian, You Can Save the World" 1968-1969
Box 297 "Compassion of Jesus As Told by Matthew" reformed story
Box 297 "Did Mary Tell Jesus Her Secret?" undated
Box 298 "Did Mary Tell Jesus Her Secret?" 1967, undated (2 folders)
Box 298 Ch. I 1968
Box 298 "English the New Way," explanation of (2 folders)
Box 298 Foreign Reading Book manuscripts 1943
Box 299 "Forty Years with the Silent Billion"
Box 299 "Greatest Life, the" 1956
Box 299 "Greatest Life, the" draft
Box 299 "Growing Bigger Every Day" 1961
Box 299 "Heavenly Ways of Earth's Graduates" 1962
Box 299 "How to Make the World Literate" draft
Box 299 "How to Teach One and Win One for Christ"
Box 299 "Key System of Teaching Illiterates" 1932
Box 299 "The Last Ten Years" (2 folders)
Box 299 "Learning the Vocabulary of God" 1908
Box 299 "Letters by a Modern Mystic" 2 folders 1955
Box 299 "Making the World Literate"
Box 299 Manuscripts, various
Box 299 Miscellaneous
Box 300 "Nations are Learning Compassion, the"
Box 300 Pamphlets
Box 300 "Positive Thing, the" 1970
Box 300 "Prayer, the Mightiest Force in the World" 1946 (2 folders)
Box 300 "Silent Billion Speak, the" 1945
Box 300 Spelling reform 1948
Box 300 "Story of Jesus, the, Retold from the Bible" parts I-III 1957
Box 300 "Streamlined English Lessons, Teachers Manual" 1946
Box 300 "Teaching Illiterates"
Box 301 "Wake Up or Blow Up" 1957
Box 301 "War of Amazing Love" orig. manuscripts
Box 301 "Was Jesus Really God's Son?" 1967
Box 301 "What Jesus Had to Say About Money" 1966
Box 301 "Why There are Vagrants; a Study" 1916
Box 301 "World is Learning Compassion, the" draft
Laubach, Robert
Box 301 Articles, various
Box 301 Dissertation, framework of, "Criteria for the Readability of Materials in English for Adults of Limited Reading Ability" 1961
Box 301 "Flight to Mount Hagen," Literacy Journal 1947-1948
Box 302 "Lyceum and Chautauqua, Early Adult Education Experiments" 1955
Box 302 Notes
Box 302 Reports and articles
Box 302 Laubach, Robert and Cortright, Richard, "Readings in Literacy Education"
Box 302 Literacy, world, articles re
Box 302 Lowe, Lorenzo, essays and articles, various 1961-1962
Box 302 Manuscript, German
Mason, David
Box 328C Manuscript for book, Apostle to the Illiterates (2 folders)
Box 302 Notes
Box 328C Miscellaneous - abstract, fragments, chapter from Ancient Literacy
Box 302 Morgan, Angela, manuscripts, various (2 folders)
Box 302 Philippines
Box 302 Roberts, Helen, "Dust or Destiny?"
Box 302 Schultz, Minnie, "Anda Ka Swng"
Box 302 Singh, Sundar Sadhu "With and Without Christ" 1929
Box 302 Spaulding, Seth, "How to Evaluate Your Educational Publication for New Literates" 1956
Box 303 Stafford, Virginia 1967
Box 303 "Story of Jesus," Spanish Books I-XII 1967
Box 303 Success Stories 1967-1968
Box 303 Varmah, Evangeline
Box 303 Vrooman, Carl, "A Free World Manifesto" 1966
Box 303 Whittington, Dick, "God's Gauntlet"
Organizations and meetings
Box 304 Adult Education Association undated
Box 304 Adult Education Association 1960-1967 (5 folders)
Box 304 Adult Basic Education, Adult Education Association
Adult Education
Box 304 ERIC Clearinghouse 1967
Box 304 National seminars 1968
Box 304 Aerospace Industries Association of America, Inc. 1964
Box 304 Afghanistan: International Afghanistan Mission 1966-1967
Box 304 African Enterprise 1969
Box 304 American Associations of Evangelical Studies, Inc. 1966
Box 304 American Council on Education, Forty-Sixth Annual Meeting 1963
Box 304 American Farm School, Greece 1960-1961
Box 304 American Library Association 1965-1968
Box 304 American Voluntary Agencies 1962
Box 304 Amigos de las Americas, Inc. 1965-1966
Box 304 Arden House Program, Columbia University 1964-1968
Box 304 Arms of Friendship 1961
Box 304 Asgrow Seed Company 1966
Box 304 Associations, various 1963-1968
Box 305 Baptist Church 1961-1968
Box 305 Baptist General Convention
Box 305 Books for the People Fund, Inc. 1962-1965 (4 folders)
Box 305 Business International
Box 305 Campbell Folk School
Box 305 Camps Farthest Out 1961-1969, undated (5 folders)
Box 305 Canadian Association for Adult Education 1964
C.A.R.E.
Box 305 Undated
Box 306 1960-1962 (2 folders)
Box 306 Christian Youth Corps of America, Inc.
Box 306 Church World Service 1966-1967
Box 306 CIHU
Box 306 Committee on Adult Education 1965
Box 306 Committee on World Literacy
Box 306 Community Action Program 1965
Box 306 Conferences, miscellaneous 1960-1969 (3 folders)
Box 306 Conferences, general
Box 306 Council of the Southern Mountains 1967
Box 306 Education, White House Conference on 1965
Box 306 Evangelical Literature Overseas 1967
Box 306 Evangelism, World Conference on (2 folders)
Foundation for World Literacy
Box 306 Undated
Box 307 Undated
Box 307 1955-1963 (3 folders)
Box 307 Freedom from Hunger Foundation, Inc. 1966
Box 307 Freedom Reaching Everyone Everywhere
Box 307 Graham, Billy, Evangelistic Association 1970
Box 307 Illiteracy, World Conference on
Box 307 Indianapolis Literacy Institute, Indiana University 1961
Box 307 Inter-American Literacy Foundation 1962
Box 307 International Communications, Council on 1970
Box 307 International Education Institute 1962-1963
Box 307 International Institute of San Francisco
Box 307 International Service Organization
Box 307 International Voluntary Services, Inc. 1963-1964
Box 307 International Youth Leadership Training Course 1965-1966
Box 307 Involvement, Inc.
Box 307 Journalism, Association for Education in 1966
Koinonia Foundation
Box 308 [General] (4 folders)
Box 308 1957-1968 (2 folders)
Box 309 1961-1970 (5 folders)
Box 309 "Awake" Koinonia Co-workers' newsletter
Box 309 "Epistle to the Koinonians" (2 folders)
Box 310 "Koinonia Magazine" (2 folders)
Box 310 "Koinonia Partner Report"
Box 310 "World Newssheet"
Box 310 Laymen's Movement for a Christian World, Inc.
Box 310 Laymen Overseas
Box 310 Leadership Resources, Inc. 1963
Box 310 League of Women Voters
Box 310 Le Moyne College International House 1964-1966
Box 310 Library of Congress 1955
Box 310 Literacy Action Foundation
Literacy Evangelism, Inc.
Box 310 [General] (2 folders)
Box 310 Rice, Robert F. 1967-1968
Box 310 Literacy Organization, Colombia
Box 310 Manpower Training, Inc. 1967
Box 310 Meals for Millions, Inc.
Box 310 Mennonite Central Committee
Box 310 Missionary Society of the Congregational Christian Churches 1963
National Association for Public School Adult Education (NAPSAE)
Box 310 1956-1968
Box 311 1963
Box 311 National Association of Congregational Christian Churches 1964
Box 311 National Broadcasting Company publications 1968
Box 311 National Citizens Committee for Broadcasting 1969
Box 311 National Council of Teachers of English 1964
Box 311 National Education Association
Box 311 National Service Conference
Box 311 New World Foundation 1954-1961
Box 311 New York Author's League
Box 311 Operation Alphabet 1962-1963
Box 311 Organizations, general
Box 311 Pan-American Union 1963-1965
Box 311 Pan-American Union Library Development Program 1965
Box 311 People to People 1956-1965, 1957
Box 311 Plymouth Youth Center 1965-1966
Box 311 Project Concern in Mexico 1969
Box 311 Reading Reform, Foundation 1970
Box 311 Red Cross
Box 311 Religious Heritage of America, Inc.
Box 311 Resources, U.S.A.
Box 311 Retired Persons, American Association of (AARP)
Box 312 Salvation Army 1965-1969
Box 312 Science Research Associates, Inc. 1967
Box 312 Social Welfare Assembly 1966
Box 312 Society for International Development 1960-1961
Box 312 Southern Baptist Project
Box 312 Southwest Community House Association 1963-1964
Box 312 UNESCO 1960-1967
Box 312 United Methodist Church
Box 312 United Nations 1949-1964
Box 312 Urban League, Washington, D.C. 1967
Box 312 Vocational Education Project, Draper 1963
Box 312 Voluntary Foreign Relief Program 1961
Box 312 Voluntary Organizations for Foreign Service, Inc. 1968
Box 312 Washington Program for Laymen Overseas 1966
Box 312 Wilmington Legislative Committee 1962
Box 312 Wingspread Conference 1966
Box 313 World Literacy and Christian Literature, Committee on 1961-1963
Box 313 World Literacy by Television Conference
Box 313 World Literacy Evangelism, Inc.
Box 313 World Neighbors, Inc.
Box 313 Y.W.C.A.: Teaching Literacy 1965
Miscellaneous
Clippings
Box 314 I-IV (5 folders)
Box 315 VI-XI (6 folders)
Box 316 XII-XVI (5 folders)
Box 317 XVII-XXII (6 folders)
Box 318 XXIII-XXVII (5 folders)
Box 319 XXVIII-XXXII (5 folders)
Box 320 XXXIII-XXXVIII (6 folders)
Box 321 Information, miscellaneous
Box 321 Information booklets, various
Box 321 Leaders, world, lists of
Newsletters
Box 321 I-VI (6 folders)
Box 322 VII-XII (6 folders)
Box 323 XIII
Box 323 Newsletters, foreign
Box 323 Plays
Poems
Box 323 General
Box 323 Morgan, Angela
Prayers
Box 323 General
Box 323 Hopkins, Maria
Box 323 Printed matter
Box 323 Programs, miscellaneous
Box 323 Songs
Box 323 Records
Photographs
Box 324 Chile
Box 324 Afghanistan
Box 324 Africa (2 folders)
Box 324 Africa, Katanga, Jadotville 1961
Box 324 Africa, Tripoli
Box 324 Art work
Box 324 Audio-visual materials
Box 324 Bolivia
Box 324 Burma
Box 324 Camps Farthest Out
Box 324 "Chains"
Box 324 China
Colombia
Box 324 I
Box 325 II-IV (3 folders)
Box 325 Colombia prisons
Box 325 Companies of Compassion
Box 325 Ecuador
Box 325 England
Box 325 Ghana
Box 325 Guatemala
Box 325 Haiti
Box 325 Hawaii
Box 325 Honduras (British)
Box 325 Hong Kong
India
Box 325 [General]
Box 325 Edwards, Fern
Box 325 Bihar
Box 325 Karthicappally
Box 325 Indochina
Internal organizations
Box 325 I-II (2 folders)
Box 326 III
Box 326 Japan
Box 326 Jordan
Box 326 Katanga, Congo
Box 326 Kenya
Box 326 Kenya Literacy Mission 1965
Box 328B Kenya Literacy Mission 1965
Box 326 Kuwait
Box 326 Latin America, general
Box 326 Laubach family (2 folders)
Box 326 Laubach, Frank (2 folders)
Box 326 Liberia, Monrovia
Box 326 McMillan, May
Mexico
Box 326 I
Box 327 II-III (2 folders)
Box 327 Miscellaneous and unidentified
Box 328B Miscellaneous and unidentified, "for book"
possibly for Mason's book, Apostle to the Illiterates
Box 327 New Guinea
Box 327 Nicaragua
Box 327 Nigeria
Box 327 Pakistan
Box 327 Paraguay
Box 327 Peace Corps, Colombia (2 folders)
Box 328B Peace Corps, Colombia Literacy project
Box 327 Philippines
Box 327 Rhodesia
Box 327 Sudan
Box 327 Taiwan
Box 327 Thailand
Box 327 Turkey
United States
Box 327 Arizona
Box 327 Arkansas
Box 327 California
Box 328 General (4 folders)
Box 328 Kansas 1965
Box 328 Kentucky
Box 328 Louisiana
Box 328 Michigan
Box 328 Mississippi
Box 328 Missouri
Box 328 New Mexico
Box 328 New York
Box 328 Oklahoma
Box 328 Oregon
Box 328 Students, foreign
Box 328 Tennessee
Box 328 Texas
Box 328 Washington, D. C.
Box 328 Washington State
Streamlined Reading Series Kinescope reels - 99 reels, each 29 minutes
Reel 1 Streamlined Reading #1
Introduce books; welcome by Dr. Laubach; learn letters A-L; practice writing in simple words and sentences.
Reel 2 Streamlined Reading #7
Lesson 3; introduce R, S, T, V, W, Y; use them in words and sentences, then write words.
Reel 3 Streamlined Reading #8
Review charts #2 and #3; practice writing letters in book.
Reel 4 Streamlined Reading #13
Introduce Z, A, E, I, 0, U; use in words and sentences; demonstrate how to write these letters, and write words using them.
Reel 5 Streamlined Reading #26
Using Lesson 2 in book, y endings on words are explored; then these endings are used in sentences which are written in workbook.
Reel 6 Streamlined Reading #24
Importance of sounds in word building; putting basic sounds together to form words.
Reel 7 Streamlined Reading #30
Miss Helen Brown uses the Laubach method to review vowel sounds and then inserts them in monosyllabic words.
Reel 8 Streamlined Reading #32
Review of Lessons 1-3; fill in blanks in sentences using words from lists and story.
Reel 9 Streamlined Reading #27
Miss Helen Brown practices writing sentences using word groups "This is a ," insert simple adjectives and adverbs.
Reel 10 Streamlined Reading #25
Miss Helen Brown reviews vowel sounds; then spells words the way they sound; and then spells them properly and uses them in sentences. For use with blue book.
Reel 11 Streamlined Reading #11
Sentences, questions; practice reading in rhythm, natural breaks; practices writing T, P, N, H, K, W, S, F, R, B, L
Reel 12 Streamlined Reading #12
Manuscript and cursive writing; practice writing to music; small b, f, t, r, y, p, d, h, n, v, g, j
Reel 13 Streamlined Reading #14
Review of Lesson 3; Chart 4; sounds of Z and vowels; practice.
Reel 14 Streamlined Reading #15
Practice writing capital letters to music; J, K, L, M, N, P, R, S, T, V, W, Y.
Reel 15 Streamlined Reading #10
Reading and writing practice from Chart 2 and Chart 3; the sounds Sh, J, K, M, N; Chart 3, R, S, etc., to end of alphabet.
Reel 16 Streamlined Reading #9
Writing practice from Chart 2; introduce last part of alphabet.
Reel 17 Streamlined Reading #16
Chart 5, end of Book 1; last two letters, x and q; the sounds sh, th, ch, and wh.
Reel 18 Streamlined Reading #1A
Review Chart 1; practice writing letters A-L.
Reel 19 Streamlined Reading #5
Review of sounds in Charts 1 and 2; practice writing letters in Chart 2; capitals and small letters B through P.
Reel 20 Streamlined Reading #2
Review consonants B through H; practice writing consonants; some pictures; only one demonstration showing how to write small letters and capital letters.
Reel 21 Streamlined Reading #21
Review Chart 1; introduce Chart 2; practice writing the letters.
Reel 22 Streamlined Reading #6
Practice writing letters to music.
Reel 23 Streamlined Reading #3
Practice writing letters using guidelines.
Reel 24 Streamlined Reading #22
Reading in Book 2; Lesson 1; sound of i.
Reel 25 Streamlined Reading #20
Practice with z and combinations qu, th, and wh; review sentences; questions, who, where; reading the alphabet; saying and writing alphabet.
Reel 26 Streamlined Reading #24
Writing X and Q to music; writing numbers 2, 3, 4, 5; sentences written about pictures shown.
Reel 27 Streamlined Reading #21
Practice writing words by sound; top, tag, ted, bat, bob, big, leg, lap, lug, pig, pod.
Reel 28 Streamlined Reading #23
Lesson 1 in Streamlined English; combining consonant sounds with i.
Reel 29 Streamlined Learning #18
Practice writing words containing tall and short letters.
Reel 30 Streamlined Reading #17
Practice writing small and capital letters B through Z and vowels; practice writing sounds th, sh, ch, wh, qu.
Reel 31 Streamlined Reading #19
Review of Lessons 4 and 5; Chart 4, Z and vowels; Chart 5, x, qu, th, sh, ch, wh; Story 5, review of writing.
Reel 32 Streamlined Reading #4
Chart 2, practice sounds J through Y; practice writing.
Reel 33 Streamlined Reading #31
Review of Book 2; u; Lesson 1, 2, and 3.
Reel 34 Streamlined Reading #78
Lesson 19, new sound, ou, ow; pictures; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 35 Streamlined Reading #39
Continue use of vowel A; practice reading apple sound of A; practice writing.
Reel 36 Streamlined Reading #37
Lesson 5, vowel sound A as in apple; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 37 Streamlined Reading #33
Reel 38 Streamlined Reading #35
Lesson 4, letter E; review words with 'bed' sound of E; practice reading; sentence patterns; practice writing.
Reel 39 Streamlined Reading #44
Review homework Lesson 5; Lesson 6; helping words; practice writing; practice saying first 15 letters of alphabet.
Reel 40 Streamlined Reading #47
Review of AR sound; practice reading, practice writing.
Reel 41 Streamlined Reading #43
Review of Lessons 4, 5, and 6; practice writing sounds TH, I, S.
Reel 42 Streamlined Reading #42
Review lesson of capital and small letters; writing to music; how to sit and hold pencil; one demonstration writing letters A through R.
Reel 43 Streamlined Reading #45
Writing and spelling; looking at pictures and writing a sentence about each picture.
Reel 44 Streamlined Reading #48
Story of Dr. John; Lesson 8; the orange sound of the letter 0; pictures used for demonstration; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 45 Streamlined Reading #46
Review of sounds A as in apple and R; sound of both letters together; pictures used to demonstrate lesson; practice reading The Farm and The Farmer; contractions; practice writing.
Reel 46 Streamlined Reading #41
Review of vowel sounds; pictures used to demonstrate short vowel sounds; practice writing; Y as a vowel; no pictures.
Reel 47 Streamlined Reading #38
Words containing the sound A as in apple; practice writing.
Reel 48 Streamlined Reading #34
Review of vowel sound E as in egg; pictures used to demonstrate sound; practice reading; practice writing numbers 6, 7, 8 and 9.
Reel 49 Streamlined Reading #36
Practice writing to learn to spell; pictures used often; practice with ell and ill combinations.
Reel 50 Streamlined Reading #40
Lesson 6, commonly used words; parts of words; pass, ask, ance; pictures used throughout; ast, ath; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 51 Streamlined Reading #49
Practice writing last eight letters of alphabet, small and capitals, with music; numbers 1 through 9; practicing reciting ,alphabet through R; no pictures.
Reel 52 Streamlined Reading #50
Story of Dr. John; Lesson 9; New sound of UR, ER, and IR; practice with sound of R; practice reading and writing with new sound; pictures used to demonstrate sound.
Reel 53 Streamlined Reading #52
Review of vowel sounds A as in apple, E as in egg, I as in in, O as in orange, and U as in up; Y sometimes as in city; practice reading and writing; pictures used to demonstrate; little repetition.
Reel 54 Streamlined Reading #55
Recitation of alphabet; how to find names in a telephone directory; abbreviations; Mr., Mrs., and others; practice using the telephone; telephone dial used as demonstration tool; no pictures; emergency numbers.
Reel 55 Streamlined Reading #53
Review of Lessons 8 and 9; sounds of o as in orange; U as in up, Y as in city; numbers, no pictures.
Reel 56 Streamlined Reading #56
The long vowel sound of the letter E; ē, ee, ea, ey, e-e; different ways E may be written; pictures used; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 57 Streamlined Reading #54
Begin study of long vowel sounds; ā, ai, ay, a(k)e or a(m)e; different ways A may be written as a long vowel; pictures used; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 58 Streamlined Reading #51
Practice writing and spelling; use of new sound; er=ur, er, ir; letters rest on bottom line of writing; special letters go below bottom line.
Reel 59 Streamlined Reading #62
Vowel sound of the letter O; five ways of writing long O, o, o-e, oe, cw, oa; practice reading; pictures used; practice writing.
Reel 60 Streamlined Reading #58
Vowel sound of long I; Lesson 12; four ways to write the sound I, ide-ive-ine, igh, CI; practice reading; pictures used; practice writing.
Reel 61 Streamlined Reading #60
Review of long vowel sounds; no pictures; sounds of A, I, E; dictation of sentences using those sounds; practice reading and writing.
Reel 62 Streamlined Reading #61
Continuation of review of long vowel sounds of I, A, E; sentences dictated; no pictures.
Reel 63 Streamlined Reading #59
Completion of Lesson 12; practice reading sentences with long sounds of I; review of long vowel sounds of A, E, and I; practice writing; no pictures.
Reel 64 Streamlined Reading #63
Reading, groups of words; dictation of sentences to practice reading by groups; practice writing; Lesson 13; Long vowel sounds of O; ō, o-e, oe, ow, oa; practice writing words with long o vowel sound; no pictures.
Reel 65 Streamlined Reading #64
Lesson 14; story about farm life; study of sound of OR; practice reading, practice writing; pictures.
Reel 66 Streamlined Reading #57
Review of homework of Lessons 10 and 11; dictation and writing of words having long vowel sound E; no pictures.
Reel 67 Streamlined Reading #72
Lesson 17; sounds of diphthong AU, AW, ought, aught, alk; story with pictures; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 68 Streamlined Reading #71
Review of Lessons 13, 14, and 15; read sentences; Lesson 16; future tense; definitions of tense and verbs; practice writing; no pictures.
Reel 69 Streamlined Reading #65
Writing and spelling lesson about a farmer and his house; pictures used; sentences written about pictures; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 70 Streamlined Reading #70
Lesson 16; diphthong OO; future tense; pictures used; practice reading; practice writing.
Reel 71 Streamlined Reading #69
Symbols, letters, pictures, and signs; pictures used; what symbols mean; practice writing words found on signs; color and shape of signs.
Reel 72 Streamlined Reading #66
Lesson 15; story about a woman cook; sound of U as in put; UU as in cook, woman, good, looking, wood, etc.; pictures used to illustrate story; practice writing new words learned in lesson.
Reel 73 Streamlined Reading #68
Review of long vowel sounds of 5, u as in put, 5; street signs; practice reading; practice writing; no pictures.
Reel 74 Streamlined Reading #67
Writing and spelling; dictation, hook, wool, hood, cookie, stood, and woodcarver; practice writing sentences using oo sound; no pictures.
Reel 75 Streamlined Reading #73
Going over homework sentences of Lesson 16; review using sentences to illustrate three sound alike words, to, two, too; practice reading and writing; dictation; no pictures.
Reel 76 Streamlined Reading #79
Dictation; words having long u sound; practice reading and writing; no pictures; often used together words, "let us go."
Reel 77 Streamlined Reading #75
Lesson helping to spell sound au, aw, ought, aught, alk; sentences illustrating these sounds; practice reading and writing; no pictures.
Reel 78 Streamlined Reading #77
Review sentences of Lesson 17; ai, oo, ar, ee, uu; practice reading and writing; no pictures.
Reel 79 Streamlined Reading #74
Lesson 18; long vowel sound of E, ue, ew, use, ure; practice reading and writing; dictation story illustrating sound; pictures used.
Reel 80 Streamlined Reading #76
Review of Lesson 16; homework; Number 17; word list; verbs; helping words; no pictures.
Reel 81 Streamlined Reading #80
Continuation of Lesson 19; five new words; nouns, vowels, consonants, syllables, accent; practice writing vowels; practice writing consonants; definition of syllables; practice writing syllables; rules about vowel sounds; definition of accent; practice writing accent; no pictures.
Reel 82 Streamlined Reading #88
More about consonants; unvoiced letters t, p, k, ch, f, s, etc; voiced letters b, d, g, j, v, z; voiced letters through the nose, m, n, ng; silent letters; two ways to pronounce s; rules; exceptions; practice reading and writing; story of three Roberts; no pictures.
Reel 83 Streamlined Reading #87
Rules governing pronunciation of vowels; diphthongs; practice reading and writing; dictation of sentences having one vowel words and two vowel words; fords for ex. pin and pine, not and note, cap and cape; no pictures.
Reel 84 Streamlined Reading #82
Lesson 20; new sound of and oy; pictures used to illustrate words having the new sound; story using new sound; practice reading and writing.
Reel 85 Streamlined Reading #83
How to use dictionary; parts of words; syllables, accents, hyphen; definitions of these words; pen-man-ship, friend-ly; one syllable words; how they are pronounced; practice reading, writing, and pronouncing one or more syllable words; sign indicating short vowel sound, e.g., pen; no pictures.
Reel 86 Streamlined Reading #85
Review of Lessons 18, 19 and 20; filling in blanks in sentences; practice reading sentences; practice in s sound and of and oy sounds; practice writing sentences using these sounds; exclamation mark.
Reel 87 Streamlined Reading #84
Review of Lessons 18, 19 and 20; practice reading words from word lists; things; verbs; helping words; nouns; practice reading sentences; practice writing.
Reel 88 Streamlined Reading #86
Review of long vowel sounds; 5, ay, ai, a/e; baby, play, braid, face; e, e-e, ee, ea, ey; be, Pete, tree, read, key; i, i-e, igh, y; child, fine, bright, cry; 6, o-e, oe, ow, oa; old, home, pictures; u, ue, ew, u-e; due, news, cure; Y, by; no pictures.
Reel 89 Streamlined Reading #81
The dictionary; how to use it; entry words; alphabetical order; practice putting words in alphabetical order by their second letter; same by third letter; same by fourth letter; guide words; vocabulary; phonetic spelling, n, noun, meanings of words; pronunciation; no pictures.
Reel 90 Streamlined Reading #94
Canister 91 Two sounds of g, hard and soft; go, gem; rules governing usage; practice reading and writing sentences with the two sounds of g; no pictures.
Reel 91 Streamlined Reading #91
Help in word recognition; explanation pronouncing ch; three ways to pronounce ch; ch as pronounced in child and such; exception is stomach; tch is always soft as in catch or kitchen; beginning ch sound three ways; child, Christmas, chef; rules governing sounds of ch; before a vowel, when in middle of a word, names of people with ch in middle; before 1 and r; s before ch; ch = sh in words coming from French.
Reel 92 Streamlined Reading #92
Th and tion; this thing; voiced and unvoiced; practice with th as beginning sound; tion and sion = shun sound; practice; no pictures.
Reel 93 Streamlined Reading #89
Short review of voiced and unvoiced letters; quiz; p, unvoiced, z; voiced, ten examples; no pictures; review of silent letters; pronunciations of s.
Reel 94 Streamlined Reading #93
Rules about sounds of the letter c; when c is before the letters e, i, or y it has soft sound as s in snake; two ways to pronounce c; soft as soft s and hard as in k; when c is before any letter except above letters it has hard sound; ch as sh; practice in dictation; no pictures.
Reel 95 Streamlined Reading #95
Sounds of ng; three rules; as in king and ring; voiced through nose; practice pronouncing examples ng in the middle of a word as in finger, angry and other examples; practice; exceptions to the rules; long, longer, longest; strong and young, etc. nge is pronounced like nje; change, danger, edge, strange, etc.; practice; no pictures.
Streamlined Reading #97
Questions about three stories; study of word lists; new words learned; practice reading, writing, spelling; no pictures.
Streamlined Reading #98
The last lesson; 22 new words which break rules; pronunciation; believe, busy, business, heaven, leather, opposite, pearl, tongue, pleasant, building, island, creased, relief, religion, rough, cough, sew, spread, sword, thread, carriage, youth; all these words break a rule; words with unnecessary a, earth, heaven, pearl, dean, instead, etc.; pronunciation of ough; five ways, though, rough, cough, plough, through; no pictures.
Streamlined Reading #96
Rules how consonants can change sounds of vowels; ong, awng; long, belong, strong, etc.; all, awl; all words that come from all are spelled al, already, almost, etc., except shall; war and wal, a, aw, war, wall, etc.; double consonants following vowels give vowel short sound; manner, etc.; dividing words with double consonants into syllables; practice writing; silent letters; w before r and k and g silent in front of n; silent letters in front of t; o in front of us; 1 in front of k; no pictures.
Streamlined Reading #90
Making longer words by adding endings; ed, three ways of pronouncing ed; ed as in lifted, d as in called, and t as in talked; ed when following d or t; d when it follows voiced letters, b, e, g, j, 1, m, n, o, r, v, n, y, z; t when it follows unvoiced letters, ch, f, k, p, sh, x, ss; quiz.

Return to top