Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kuekes, Edward D.
Title: Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1947-1963
Quantity: 4,000 items (ca.).
Abstract: Papers of the Pulitzer Prize-winning American editorial cartoonist. Collection consists of original drawings created for the Cleveland Plain Dealer (1947-1963) and includes a reproduction of "Aftermath," which won Kuekes the Pulitzer Prize in 1953.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cartoonist Edward D. Kuekes was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on February 2, 1901. He studied at the Baldwin-Wallace College, the Cleveland Institute of Art, and the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts. He was appointed to President Eisenhower's "People to People" committee and has received awards from the Newspaper Guild, the C.I.T. Fund, the Freedom Fund at Valley Forge, and the National Safety Council. He has been presented with the Baldwin-Wallace Alumni Merit Award, the National Cartoonists Society Silver T-Square Award, the United States Presidential Prayer Award, the Christopher Award, the United States Treasury Award, the Salvation Army Centennial Award, and in 1953 the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning. He is the creator of Funny Fables and the cartoon Alice in Wonderland for United Features Syndicate, and has lectured to various art groups on the subject, "So you can't draw a straight line, either."

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons consists of approximately 4000 original political cartoons which appeared in the Cleveland Plain Dealer between 1947 and 1963. The collection is arranged chronologically. Included in the collection is a reproduction of "Aftermath," the cartoon for which Kuekes was awarded the 1953 Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over eighty cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Kuekes, Edward D. Archives.

Associated Titles

Cleveland plain dealer (Cleveland, Ohio : 1885)
Plain dealer (Cleveland, Ohio)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons, United States.
Cartoonists, United States.
Editorial cartoons, Ohio, Cleveland.
Editorial cartoons, United States.
Pulitzer prizes.
World politics, Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States, Politics and government, 1945-1989, Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images).
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward D. Kuekes, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: 16 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 6 Feb 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Box 1 1947-1948, Jan-Jul 1949
Box 1 Aug-Dec 1949
Box 1 1950 (3 folders)
Box 1 1951 (3 folders)
Box 1 1952 (3 folders)
Box 1 1953 (3 folders)
Box 1 1954 (3 folders)
Box 1 1955 (3 folders)
Box 1 1956 (3 folders)
Box 1 1957 (2 folders)
Box 1 1958 (3 folders)
Box 1 1959 (3 folders)
Box 1 1960 (3 folders)
Box 1 1961 (3 folders)
Box 1 1962 (3 folders)
Box 2 Apr-Dec, 1963 (2 folders)

Return to top