Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jul 1967

Revision history:
16 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)
6 Feb 2009 revised (MD)
1 Aug 2013 box numbers revised and additions to inventory (MD)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kuekes, Edward D., 1901-1987.
Title: Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons
Dates: 1947-1966
Quantity: 51 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the Pulitzer Prize-winning American editorial cartoonist. Collection consists of original drawings created for the Cleveland Plain Dealer (1947-1963) and includes a reproduction of "Aftermath," which won Kuekes the Pulitzer Prize in 1953.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Edward D. Kuekes (1901-1987) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Ed Kuekes was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on February 2, 1901. He studied at the Baldwin-Wallace College, the Cleveland Institute of Art, and the Chicago Academy of Fine Arts. He was appointed to President Eisenhower's "People to People" committee and has received awards from the Newspaper Guild, the C.I.T. Fund, the Freedom Fund at Valley Forge, and the National Safety Council. He has been presented with the Baldwin-Wallace Alumni Merit Award, the National Cartoonists Society Silver T-Square Award, the United States Presidential Prayer Award, the Christopher Award, the United States Treasury Award, the Salvation Army Centennial Award, and in 1953 the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning. He is the creator of Funny Fables and the cartoon Alice in Wonderland for United Features Syndicate, and has lectured to various art groups on the subject, "So you can't draw a straight line, either."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons consists of approximately 4,000 original political cartoons which appeared in the Cleveland Plain Dealer between 1947 and 1963. The collection is arranged chronologically. In addition to a few press clippings about Kuekes, the collection also includes a reproduction of "Aftermath," the cartoon for which Kuekes was awarded the 1953 Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning, as well several other printed examples of Kuekes' work.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over eighty cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kuekes, Edward D., 1901-1987.

Associated Titles

Cleveland plain dealer (Cleveland, Ohio : 1885)
Plain dealer (Cleveland, Ohio)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Ohio -- Cleveland.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Pulitzer Prizes.
World politics -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government, 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images).
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward D. Kuekes Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward D. Kuekes, 1964.


Table of Contents

Clippings and Printed Material

Cartoons

Oversize Cartoons


Inventory

Clippings and Printed Material
Box 1, Folder 1 Newspaper clippings 1964-1966
Box 1, Folder 2-3 Printed Material 1953-1964 - includes "Aftermath" (Kuekes' 1953 Pulitzer Prize winning cartoon), "A Tribute to Winston Churchill", "The Nation Speaks Out for the President" (cover portrait of LBJ by Kuekes), and cartoons memorializing the death of Rachel Carson and the assassination of John F. Kennedy. (7 items)
Cartoons
Oversize 1 1947-1948
Oversize 1 1949 Jan-Feb
Oversize 2 1949 Mar-Aug
Oversize 3 1949 Sep-Dec
Oversize 4 1950 Jan-Apr
Oversize 5 1950 May-Aug
Oversize 6 1950 Sep-Dec
Oversize 7 1951 Jan-Apr
Oversize 8 1951 May-Aug
Oversize 9 1951 Sep-Dec
Oversize 10 1952 Jan-Apr
Oversize 11 1952 May-Aug
Oversize 12 1952 Sep-Dec
Oversize 13 1953 Jan-Apr
Oversize 14 1953 May-Aug
Oversize 15 1953 Sep-Dec
Oversize 16 1954 Jan-Apr
Oversize 17 1954 May-Aug
Oversize 18 1954 Sep-Dec
Oversize 19 1955 Jan-Apr
Oversize 20 1955 May-Aug
Oversize 21 1955 Sep-Dec
Oversize 22 1956 Jan-Apr
Oversize 23 1956 May-Aug
Oversize 24 1956 Sep-Dec
Oversize 25 1957 Jan-Apr
Oversize 26 1957 May-Aug
Oversize 27 1957 Sep-Dec
Oversize 28 1958 Jan-Apr
Oversize 29 1958 May-Aug
Oversize 30 1958 Sep-Dec
Oversize 31 1959 Jan-Apr
Oversize 32 1959 May-Aug
Oversize 33 1959 Sep-Dec
Oversize 34 1960 Jan-Apr
Oversize 35 1960 May-Aug
Oversize 36 1960 Sep-Dec
Oversize 37 1961 Jan-Apr
Oversize 38 1961 May-Aug
Oversize 39 1961 Sep-Dec
includes 5 cartoons dated 1961 only (i.e. no month indicated)
Oversize 40 1962 Jan-Apr
Oversize 41 1962 May-Aug
Oversize 42 1962 Sep-Nov
Oversize 43 1963 Apr-Aug
Oversize 44 1963 Sep-Dec
Oversize 44 Misc. Undated
Box 1, Folder 4 "An Ode to Syracuse University Library Associates"
Oversize Cartoons
Oversize 45 1950 Aug-1956 Aug [OVERSIZE] (62 items)
Oversize 46 1956 Sep-1957 Dec [OVERSIZE] (83 items)
Oversize 47 1958 Jan-1958 Dec [OVERSIZE] (70 items)
Oversize 48 1959 Jan-1959 Dec [OVERSIZE] (73 items)
Oversize 49 1960 Jan-1960 Dec [OVERSIZE] (78 items)
Oversize 50 1961 Jan-1963 Jun [OVERSIZE] (49 items)