Finding Aids
printer friendly version

James Ivey Collection

An inventory of his Collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ivey, Jim.
Title: James Ivey Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1892-1971
Bulk Dates: 1966-1969
Quantity: 2.1 linear ft.
Abstract: Original editorial cartoons by Jim Ivey, a collection of cartoons by other cartoonists and two catalogs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Burnett Ivey (1925- ), commonly known as Jim Ivey, is an American cartoonist and cartoon historian.

James Ivey was born in Chattanooga, Tennessee on April 15, 1925, the son of a college professor. He attended the University of Louisville, George Washington University and the National Art School in Washington, D.C and also pursued correspondence work through Landon School of Illustration and Cartooning. While a Navy submariner from 1943 to 1946, Ivey also drew cartoons.

Ivey began as a layout artist in the engraving department at the Washington Star before he landed a spot in the Star’s editorial art department. In 1953 he left for the St. Petersburg Times, and from 1959 to 1966 Ivey held a cartoonist position at the San Francisco Examiner. Ivey then pursued freelance work until he became a cartoonist with the Orlando Sentinel in 1970 where he stayed until 1977 when he again went back to freelancing. Ivey also spent time teaching the art of cartooning at the University of Central Florida from 1978 to 1983.

Ivey is also well known as a cartoon collector and comics historian. In the 1950s, Ivey received a Reid Fellowship to study political cartooning in Europe and returned to the United States in 1959. In 1967, Ivey opened the Cartoon Museum with items from his own collection and published the quarterly publication cARTtoon. In the 1970s he started the annual Orlandocon convention. Ivey’s interest has spanned all forms of cartooning including comic books and his personal collection of cartoons is international in scope. His writings have appeared regularly in the World of Comic Art, the Comics Journal and Hogan’s Alley and his own work has been included in several books including Thoughts of Man (1975) and his self published retrospective, Cartoons I Liked (2008).

Ivey’s cartoons have been reprinted in other countries though Germany’s Tarantel-Press and were also distributed through the Chicago Tribune and Rotcho syndicates. Ivey was an active member of the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and the National Cartoonists Society and won the NCS’s Silver T-Square Award in 1979.

Jim Ivey currently lives in Orlando, Florida and continues to draw freelance cartoons.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Ivey Collection is divided into 2 series: Cartoons and Catalogs. Cartoons contains 72 original editorial cartoons by Ivey (1951-1971) as well as 60 cartoons by other cartoonists (these include editorial cartoons, comic strips and magazine cartoons from 1892-1969).

Ivey's cartoons primarily address local and state issues in Florida including education and taxes as well as state and federal elections. Of particular interest are two cartoons depicting William Safire, who was hired by the Florida Development Commission in 1967. Generally, few words accompanied his cartoons. Ivey's style featured loose, bold lines and relied heavily on caricature and humor, a style noticeably different from other editorial cartoonists during this period. For example, one cartoon commenting on the rise of automation industry depicted children meeting an automated Santa Claus during Christmastime.

Ivey's cartoons were drawn with pen, ink and blue pencil on paper and illustration board (and some paper affixed to illustration board) and unlike most editorial and political cartoonists during this time he did not use crayon. Some have dot screening attached. Ivey's work for the Orlando Sentinel often contains sticky notes with notations about the size, page and day the cartoon was to be published.

Also included in the collection are original cartoons from other cartoonists that Ivey collected. Heavily represented in Ivey's collection of other cartoonists are cartoonists from other Florida newspapers including Lynn Brudon and Richard Hodgins Sr. Additionally there are several of examples of work from European cartoonists.

Catalogs consists of 2 items- a catalog detailing Ivey's collection of American and international cartoons (from his Cartoon Museum) and a catalog from the 1971 exhibit, "Hogarth to Herblock" at the Lock Haven Art Center.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons drawn by Ivey are arranged in date order. Cartoons by other cartoonists are arranged in alphabetical order by the cartoonist's last name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Cartoonists Eugene Craig, Richard Hodgins, Sr. and Jack Kent who are represented in the James Ivey Collection also have cartoons in other collections at Special Collections Research Center.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Brudon, Lynn.
Hodgins, Sr., Richard
Ivey, Jim.
Methfessel, Karl.
Safire, William, 1929-2009 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

Orlando sentinel.
Orlando star.
San Francisco examiner.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- California -- San Francisco.
Cartoonists -- Florida.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- California.
Editorial cartoons -- Florida.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Education -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

Florida -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Catalogs.
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Ivey Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James Ivey, 1967-1970 and 1972.

One 1965 San Francisco Examiner cartoon, gift of Janet Wolfertz, 2013.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: –
Date: 16 May 1968
Revision history: 4 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 26 Oct 2009 - added detailed inventory, scope and bio (SK); 4 Feb 2014 - added M13-096 (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
By Jim Ivey
Oversize 1, Folder 1 Pocket Cartoons 1951, 1962, undated
Oversize 1, Folder 2 St. Petersburg Times 1956, 1958
Oversize 1, Folder 3 San Francisco Examiner 1965, undated
One cartoon gift of Janet Wolfertz, 2013.
Oversize 1, Folder 4 St. Petersburg Times 1966
28 Jul 1966
Oversize 1, Folder 5 St. Petersburg Times 1967
1967 (no month or day, 4 items); 19 Feb 1967; 19 Apr 1967; 6 May 1967; 16 May 1967; 8 Dec 1967
Oversize 1, Folder 6 St. Petersburg Times 1968
1968 (no month or day, 5 items); 3 Jan 1968; 27 Jan 1968; 11 Mar 1968; 20 Oct 1968
Oversize 1, Folder 7 St. Petersburg Times 1969
1969 (no month or day, 1 item); 12 Jan 1969; 19 Jan 1969; 9 Feb 1969; 23 Mar 1969; 23 Apr 1969; 1 Jun 1969; 6 Jul 1969; 16 Jul 1969; 20 Jul 1969; 10 Aug 1969; 13 Aug 1969; 20 Aug 1969; 21 Sep 1969; 28 Sep 1969; 12 Oct 1969; 20 Oct 1969
Oversize 1, Folder 8 Orlando Star 1970
1970 (no month or day, 7 items); 4 Feb 1970; 2 Jul 1970; 10 Jul 1970
Oversize 1, Folder 9 Orlando Evening Star and Orlando Sentinel 1971
1971 (no month or day, 4 items); 22 Dec 1971
Oversize 1, Folder 10 Miscelleneous items undated - most are probably from the St. Petersburg Times
By others
Oversize 2 Addis, Don, St. Pete Independent undated
Oversize 2 Bart(olomew) , Minneapolis Journal undated
Oversize 2 Brown, Pat, Orlando Sentinel undated
Oversize 2 Brudon, Lynn, Orlando Sentinel 1964, 1968-1969
15 Jul 1964; 6 May 1968; 1 Jun 1968; 24 Mar 1969; 12 Aug 1968; 25 Sep 1964; 7 May 1965; 10 Jun 1968; 15 Jul 1968; 30 Sep 1968; 14 Oct 1968; 28 Oct 1968; 18 Nov 1968; 23 Dec 1968; 9 Dec 1968; 16 Dec 1968; 6 Jan 1969; 10 Feb 1969; 24 Feb 1969; 25 May (no year); 22 Jun (no year)
Oversize 2 Costello, Jerry, Knickerbocker News (Albany, NY) 8 Sep (no year)
Oversize 2 Coulthard, John circa 1930s - cartoon ad
Oversize 2 Craig, Eugene, Columbus Dispatch undated
Oversize 2 Dalrymple, Louis, Puck 1892
Oversize 2 Dean, Odel, Dayton News
circa 1910; circa 1920
Oversize 2 Egli, Leo, Licking County Weekly 1951
Oversize 2 Evans, Ray, Columbus Dispatch circa 1956
Oversize 2 Glackens, L.M., Puck 3 Feb 1909
Oversize 2 Gunder, Ed, Brevard Sentinel 1966-1967
6 Apr 1966; 21 Nov 1967; 2 Dec 1967
Oversize 2 Hodgins Sr., Richard, Orlando Star 1969-1970
4 Feb 1969; 7 Mar 1969; 27 Mar 1969; 28 May 1969; 4 Jun 1969; 23 Jun 1969; 14 Oct 1969; 3 Dec 1969; 13 Jan 1970; 26 Jan 1970
Oversize 2 Kelly, Charles, Dublin [Ireland] Opinion 23 Jan 1965 -
Oversize 2 Kent, Jack 23 Jan 1965 - comic strip
Oversize 2 Maris, A.M., Punch Bowl 1908 - University of Pennsylvania humor magazine
Oversize 2 Methfessel, Karl, Korean Stars and Stripes undated - 6 items, mostly from the Korean Stars and Stripes; includes one work in paint of a soldier
Oversize 2 Meyer, Gil, Orlando Sentinel
1966; 24 May 1969
Oversize 2 Rudolph circa 1920
Oversize 2 Somerville, John 8 Apr 1964 - comic strip, Two Bits, San Francisco News Call Bulletin
Oversize 2 Stinson undated
Oversize 2 Wood, Art, Pittsburgh Press 1962
Catalogs
Oversize Cartoon Museum undated
Oversize The Cartoon - Hogarth to Herblock- Lock Haven Art Center Aug 1971

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top