Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Richard Hodgins, Sr. Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Hodgins, Richard, Sr.
Title: Richard Hodgins, Sr. Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: circa 1968
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 12 original editorial cartoons from the Orlando Evening Star.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard Hodgins, Sr. (1905-1984), commonly known as Dick Hodgins, Sr., was an American editorial cartoonist.

Richard “Dick” Hodgins, Sr. was born in Valley Falls, Rhode Island on July 13, 1905 and attended the Rhode Island School of Design. He spent thirteen years as the editorial cartoonist for the Orlando Sentinel Star until he retired to Cape Cod in 1970. The National Cartoonists Society awarded Hodgins the Silver T-Square award in 1971. Hodgins published two instructional books: The Great American Book of Cartooning (1979) and Drawing Animals (1979).

Richard Hodgins, Sr. died in August 1984. His son, Dick Hodgins, Jr. is an award-winning cartoonist.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Hodgins, Sr. Cartoons contains 12 original editorial cartoons published by the Orlando Evening Star. The cartoons are undated but are from approximately 1968. The cartoons were drawn with ink, crayon and color gauche on illustration board and are mounted. Traces of pencil are visible. Images measure 9 1/2" x 12" with the items measuring 13 1/2" x 16".

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged alphabetically by caption.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Dirksen, Everett McKinley -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Hodgins, Richard, Sr.
Kennedy, Robert F., 1925-1968 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Wallace, George A. -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

Orlando Evening Star.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Florida.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Florida.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- Florida.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Gun control -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Hodgins, Sr. Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Hodgins, Sr., 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 1968
Revision history: 4 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 5 Jan 2010 - added bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons (12 items)
Oversize 1 Circa 1968
'Bout Time For Cleaning: law and order
Chained For Life: gun control
Ev's Being Heard: Everett Dirksen, Abe Fortas
Getting A Slow Burn!: weather
Getting A Tighter Grip!: crime
Heading For The Oregon Trail: Robert F. Kennedy
Heavy, Heavy, What Hangs Over?: George Wallace
Heel Them Under: gun control
The Old Squeeze Play!: taxes; Orange County, Florida
Taking A Second Look At Miami: Democratic National Convention
They're Off And Running!: Orange County, Florida
Warning Signal: Florida, forest fires

Return to top