Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Stephen Crane Collection Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Stephen Crane Collection Photographs
Inclusive Dates: 1873-1899
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Photographs of Crane as a child, young man (Syracuse University baseball team), in Greece, at Linson's studio; also a few photographs of Crane's parents, sister and wife and one of Crane's short-lived crush, the young Nellie Crouse. Formats include prints, negatives and glass plate negatives.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Stephen Crane (1871-1900) was an American novelist, poet and journalist. Crane's mother, Mary Helen Peck, was the daughter of George Peck, an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary in Madison County, New York. Crane attended but did not graduate from Lafayette College and Syracuse University before moving to New York City where he worked as a freelance journalist and writer. His first novel, Maggie: A Girl of the Streets, was published in 1893, followed in 1895 by the novel for which he is best known, The Red Badge of Courage. The latter, about a young soldier's initiation into the horrors and ironies of war set during the American Civil War, won great acclaim for its vividness and psychological depth.

Crane and Cora Stewart-Taylor, who would become his wife, moved to Sussex, England in 1895. The two worked together as war correspondents during the Greco-Turkish War of 1897, novelized in Crane's Active Service (1899) whose central character is a journalist covering the war. Crane died at age 28 of tuberculosis in Badenweiler, Baden, Germany.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Stephen Crane Collection Photographs contains photographs of American author and journalist Stephen Crane as a child, young man (Syracuse University baseball team), in Greece, and at the studio of portrait photographer Corwin Knapp Linson. There are also a few photographs of Crane's parents, sister and wife and one of a young woman named Nellie Crouse, for whom Crane had a short-lived passion. Formats include original photographs, original and copy negatives, and glass plate negatives.

Within the single box, glass plate negatives reside in a small box, prints are in a folder, and negatives are in mylar pages in a three-ring binder. In the inventory below, numbers preceding the negatives and prints refer to page numbers in the binder; numbers preceding glass plate negatives refer to the penciled numbers written on the paper covers of the negatives in the box.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Original photographs in Box 2 are restricted and accessible by special permission only. Researchers are encouraged to use the reproductions in Box 1.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Stephen Crane Collection. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has many published Crane works and reference materials in its Rare Books holdings; please refer to SUMMIT, our main catalog for a complete listing. Special Collections Research Center is also the repository of the papers of George Peck, Crane's maternal grandfather.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Crane, Cora, 1865 or 6-1910 -- Photographs.
Crane, Stephen, 1871-1900 -- Photographs.
Crouse, Nellie -- Photographs.
Linson, Corwin Knapp, b. 1864.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University -- Baseball -- Photographs.

Subjects

Photography -- Negatives.

Genres and Forms

Negatives (photographic)
Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Stephen Crane Collection Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEHG
Date: Jan 1992
Revision history: 2 Nov 2011 - added Box 2, restriction; 7 Jan 2014 - added Peck connection (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Negatives and prints
Box 1 01 S. Crane, approximately age 2 circa 1873 - copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #1
Box 1 02 S. Crane, approximately age 2 circa 1873 - original photo, copy neg.
Box 1 03 Crane with Company B of the Battalion at Hudson River Inst. 1888-1889 - original photo, copy neg.
Box 1 04 Crane in Syracuse University baseball team uniform, close-up from team photo spring 1891 - original photo, copy neg.
Box 1 05 Crane with SU baseball team spring 1891 - 2 original photos, copy neg.
Box 1 06 Pendennis Club Crane, friends, skeletons 1892 - original photo and neg., 2 copy neg.s
Box 1 07 Pendennis Club Crane with head wrapped in towel smoking hookah 1893 - original photo, 4 copies retouched neg., before and after cleaning
Box 1 08 Pendennis Club photo of Crane with head wrapped in towel, hookah changed to a pipe, caption at bottom "The Pace of Youth" 1893 - original photo, retouched copy neg (copy neg. also with #07)
Box 1 09 Crane with pipe, Linson photo 1893 - copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #2
Box 1 10 Crane with pipe, very blurred, Linson photo 1893 - copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #3
Box 1 11 Crane portrait, New York, Linson photo 1893 - copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #4
Box 1 12 Crane portrait, Linson photo 1893 or 1894 - 2-3 original photos, 1 old retouched neg., copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #5
Box 1 13 Crane on couch in Linson's studio (42W30) 1893 - original photo, copy neg.
Box 1 14 Crane portrait, Linson photo study for painting (#1) undated - original photo with caption "Photo by Corwin Knapp Linson 1894" at lower left, 2 copy neg.s of photo
See also glass plate negatives #6
Box 1 15 Crane portrait, Linson photo study for painting (#2), chin line pencilled in and right hand visible 1894 - original photo, 2 copy neg.s
Box 1 16 Crane and Linson seated on roof of Linson's studio 1894 - 2 original photos, 2 copy neg.s
See also glass plate negatives #7
Box 1 17 Crane and Linson standing on roof of studio 1894 - original photo, copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #8
Box 1 18 Crane and Lucius Button on roof of Linson's studio 1894 - original photo, 2 copy neg.s
See also glass plate negatives #9
Box 1 19 Crane and Linson at Scranton coal mine 1894 - original neg., original photo, copy neg.
Box 1 20 Crane and Linson at Scranton coal mine, inscription at bottom 1894 - original photo, 3 copy neg.s
Box 1 21 Crane on horseback, Jacksonville, Florida 1896 - original photo, 2 copy neg.s
Box 1 22 S. Crane early 1896 - older 8x10 neg., copy neg.
Box 1 23 Crane in Greece (1a), 3/4 view 1897 - original photo, copy neg., copy photo from Schoberlin Collection credited to Newark Public Library
See also glass plate negatives #10
Box 1 24 Crane in Greece (1b) same as 1a except neg. made from framed photo 1897 - original framed photo, neg. made from photo
Box 1 25 Crane in Greece (2), side view 1897 - original photo, copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #11
Box 1 26 Crane in Greece (3a) with John Bass 1897 - copy neg., older photo from Schoberlin Collection
See also glass plate negatives #12
Box 1 27 Crane in Greece (3b) with John Bass, same as 3a but neg. made from framed photo 1897 - original framed photo, 8x10 copy neg. made from photo, 4x5 copy neg.
Box 1 28 Crane in study at Brede Place, Sussex, England 1899 - original mounted photo, copy neg. from photo
Box 1 29 Crane at desk undated - copy neg.
See also glass plate negatives #13
Box 1 30 Agnes Crane (sister) undated - original photo from Schoberlin Collection, copy neg. from photo [original missing 1991]
Box 1 31 Cora Stewart Crane undated - original photo, copy neg.
Box 1 32 Cora Stewart Crane, caption "To Mable from Auntie Cora April '92" written on photo 1892 - original photo, older 8x10 neg., copy neg. from photo, older photo from Schoberlin Collection
Box 1 33 Cora Stewart Crane in Greece as Imogen Carter 1897 - original photo, 8x10 copy neg. from photo, 4x5 copy neg.
Box 1 34 Jonathan Townley Crane (father), facing right circa 1875 - original photo, 5x7 copy neg. from photo, 4x5 copy neg.
Box 1 35 Jonathan Townley Crane (father), facing left circa 1875 - original photo, copy neg. from photo
Box 1 36 Mary Helen Peck Crane (mother) 1889 - older neg, copy neg.
Box 1 37 Nellie Crouse, with dog 1895 or 1896 - original (?) photo, older neg., copy neg.
Box 1 38 Claverack College and Hudson River Insitutute, with S. Crane inscription on back undated - original photo from Schoberlin Collection, 2 copy neg.s from photo (front and back)
Box 2 Originals of the above (38 items)
RESTRICTED: Original photographs in Box 2 are restricted and accessible by special permission only. Researchers are encouraged to use the reproductions in Box 1.
Glass plate negatives
Box 1 01 S. Crane, approximately age 2 circa 1873
Box 1 02 Crane with pipe, Linson photo 1893
Box 1 03 Crane with pipe, very blurred, Linson photo 1893
Box 1 04 Crane portrait, New York, Linson photo 1893
Box 1 05 Crane portrait, Linson photo 1893 or 1894
Box 1 06 Crane portrait, Linson photo study for painting (#1) undated
Box 1 07 Crane and Linson seated on roof of Linson's studio 1894
Box 1 08 Crane and Linson standing on roof of studio 1894
Box 1 09 Crane and Lucius Button on roof of Linson's studio 1894
Box 1 10 Crane in Greece (1a), 3/4 view 1897
Box 1 11 Crane in Greece (2), side view 1897
Box 1 12 Crane in Greece (3a) with John Bass 1897
Box 1 13 Crane at desk undated

Return to top