Finding Aids
printer friendly version

George Peck Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Peck, George,1797-1876.
Title: George Peck Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1793-1878
Quantity: 4.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary, a Methodist-supported school in Madison County, New York. Collection includes correspondence (1793-1878); financial records (1823-1876); an autbiographical essay; diaries (1852-1875); notebooks (1856-1868); sermons; and personal memorabilia, including clippings, financial records, and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Peck (1797-1876) was an American Methodist Episcopal clergyman, author, and President of Cazenovia Seminary, a Methodist-supported school in Madison County, New York. Through his daughter Mary, he is the grandfather of American novelist and poet Stephen Crane.

Born on August 8, 1797 in Middlefield, New York, Peck was associated with the Methodist Episcopal Church throughout his life. He married Mary Myers on June 10, 1819 and the couple had five children: George Myers, Luther W., Mary, William Fletcher (died aged 7 months), and Wilbur Frank. Peck received his A.M. degree from Wesleyan University in 1835 and a D.D. from August College in 1840. He became president of Cazenovia Seminary in 1835, and was also the editor of the Methodist Quarterly Review and the New York Advocate. He died in Scranton, Pennsylvania on May 20, 1876.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Peck Papers consists of correspondence, financial material, memorabilia, miscellanea, published material, and writings.

Correspondence (1793-1878) includes personal, financial and business letters. Financial material (1823-1876) consists mainly of receipts. Memorabilia contains such articles as eyeglasses and a stereoscope card of Peck Hall. Published material consists of advertisements, clippings, and copies of Methodist Quarterly Review and The Ladies' Repository. Writings includes a set of diaries from 1852-1875, as well as articles, sermons and reports pertaining to the Methodist Episcopal Church for which Peck worked.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and financial material are arranged chronologically. Memorabilia, published material, anmd writings are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings related to Methodist church and clergy. For a complete listing of manuscript collections please refer to the SCRC Subject Index . For a complete listed of published material (monographs, periodicals, broadsides, etc.) please refer to the Classic Catalog .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Peck, George, 1797-1876.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Episcopal Church -- Clergy.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Clergy as authors.
Educators -- United States.
Methodists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Autobiographies.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Financial records.
Notebooks.
Photographs.
Sermons.

Occupations

Authors.
Clergy.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Peck Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: 11 Oct 1979
Revision history: 11 Mar 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 7 Jan 2014 - added Stephen Crane connection (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1793-1798
Box 1 1803
Box 1 1819-1859 (39 folders)
Box 2 1860-1878 (13 folders)
Box 2 Undated
Financial papers
Box 2 1823-1876 (6 folders)
Box 2 Undated
Memorabilia
Box 2 Bookplates
Box 2 Business cards
Box 2 Deed
Box 2 Eyeglasses
Box 2 Golden wedding anniversary poem and program 1869
Box 2 Leather pouch
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Peck family genealogy
Box 2 Penwiper
Box 2 Photographs
Oversize 1 Print of George Peck
Box 2 Railroad certificate
Box 2 Seeds
Box 2 Stereoscope card of Peck Hall
Miscellaneous
Box 3 1852-1858
Published material
Box 3 Advertising materials
Box 3 Clippings 1838-1871
Box 3 Evangelical Alliance 1846
Box 3 The Ladies' Repository Jul 1843, Jun 1859, Apr 1860, Oct 1864
Box 3 Map of camp meeting ground 1869
Box 3 Methodist Quarterly Review Apr 1862, Jul 1880
Box 3 Miscellaneous 1853-1875
Box 3 Pamphlets 1832-1872
Writings
Box 3 Autobiographical sketch 1813
Box 3 Autobiography
Box 3 Bank book 1863-1868
Box 3 Camp meetings 1870
Box 3 Camp accounts book 1821-1826
Box 3 Cash book 1837-1838
Box 3 Cash book 1870-1871
Box 3 Catholicity 1866
Diaries
Box 4 1852-1863, missing 1857 and 1860 (10 volumes)
Box 4 1863, 1867, 1868, 1870, 1872, 1873, 1875 (7 volumes)
Box 4 Family record
Box 4 Farm book 1867-1868
Box 4 First Methodist Class at Ross Hill
Box 4 History of Sanford Charge
A transcript of this document is available in the finding aids files.
Box 4 History of the Sheshequin Charge 1868
Box 4 Journal 1846
Box 4 Memorandums of circuit travels 1816-1818
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1821-1861
Box 5 Miscellaneous notebooks 1856-1865 (3 volumes)
Box 5 Notebook 1868
Box 5 Report of the Committee on Pastoral Address
Box 5 The Seminary As It Relates to the Ministry
Box 5 Sermon notes 1820-1834, 1849-1860 (3 folders)
Sermons and speeches
Box 5 National evils and their remedy 1841
Box 5 The past and the present 1866
Box 5 Subscription book 1857
Box 5 Wyoming Camp Meeting Association stock record
Box 5 Wyoming District Meeting records 1871-1873

Return to top