Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Alexander N. Charters Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Charters, Alexander N.
Title: Alexander N. Charters Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1939-1991
Quantity: 50 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American adult educator. Material in the collection includes bibliographies, correspondence, directories, memoranda, minutes, newsletters, photographs, reports, speeches and writings related to issues and organizations in the field of adult and continuing education. Organizations represented include the Adult Education Association (AEA/USA), Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE), Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA), Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO), Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), Committee for the Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCAE), Galaxy Conference, International Conference on Adult Education (ICAE), International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE), Middle States Association (MSA), National University Extension Association (NUEA), Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education, Unesco, and the Universidad Simon Rodriguez.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alexander N. Charters was born on August 22, 1916 in Verdant Valley, Alberta, Canada. He earned a B.A. in history and English from the University of British Colombia (1938) and a PhD in adult education from the University of Chicago (1948). At the University of Chicago he studied under Cyril O. Houle. His interest in adult education was encouraged by his aunt and uncle, Jessie and W. W. (Wallace) Charters, both of whom were active in the field. During his service in the Canadian Navy, reading material provided by his aunt and uncle sparked his interest in adult education. When Dr. Charters decided that he wanted to attend graduate school, he discussed career possibilities with his Uncle Wallace. Dr. Charters began his career in the field of adult education in 1948 when he was appointed Assistant to the Dean of University College at Syracuse University. Since that time he has served Syracuse University in the following capacities:

Assistant Dean of University College (1950-1952)
Assistant Professor of Adult Education (1950-1954)
Head/Director of Library of Continuing Education (LCE) (1950-1965)
Chairman Adult Education, School of Education (1950-1980)
Dean of University College (1952-1964)
Associate Professor of Adult Education (1954-1959)
Professor of Adult Education (1959-1983)
Vice President for Continuing Education (1964-1973)
Head/Editor, Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) (1964-1983)
Director/Head, Syracuse University Resources in Continuing Education (SUREA) (1965-1983)

During his tenure at Syracuse University, Dr. Charters actively encouraged his fellow professionals and organizations with which he was involved to donate their personal papers and organizational records to the Special Collections Research Center at Syracuse University. As a result, the library has more than 55 manuscript collections on the subject, as well as thousands of adult education-related books, pamphlets, photographs, dissertations, audiovisual items, and journals. The collection is considered the largest English-language adult and continuing education archives in the world.

Professionally, Dr. Charter has participated in and provided leadership to many national and international adult education organizations, and has attended and provided leadership for numerous international conferences including the International Conference on Adult Education (Tanzania, 1976; Buenos Aires, 1985; Bangkok, 1990), International Congress of University Adult Education (Denmark,1965; Montreal, 1970; Ghana, 1976), and UNESCO (Sydney, 1964; Geneva, 1972; Tokyo, 1972; Paris, 1985). Organizations with which Dr. Charters has been most involved include the following:

National:
ACHE - Association for Continuing Higher Education (president, vice president)
CAEO - Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (chair)
CPAE - Commission of Professors of Adult Education
CSLEA - Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (board member, chairman, secretary)
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center
UCEPR - University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (chair)
Galaxy Conference (chair)
United States National Commission on UNESCO (steering committee)
International:
CSRCAE - Committee for the Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (1st chair). In 1992 this organization became ISCAE (see below).
ICAE - International Conference on Adult Education (board, documentation chairman)
ICUAE - International Congress of University Adult Education (executive committee)
ISCAE - International Society for Comparative Adult Education
UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
WCOTP- World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession

Alexander Charters served as a consultant to Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools (MSA), Universidad Simon Rodriguez (Caracas, Venezuela), Kingsborough Community College (New York) and Zimbabwe Distance Education College. He has authored numerous articles on adult education including many dealing particularly with comparative adult education. He has been honored with, among others, the Bittner Award (NUEA), the Pioneer Award (AEA/USA), and the William Pearson Tolley Award for Distinguished Leadership in Adult Education (Syracuse University). Upon his retirement from Syracuse University in 1983 he was honored with the title Professor Emeritus.

Since his retirement in 1983 Dr. Charters has maintained a leadership role in adult education organizations, including lectures, presentations, consultations, and other contributions. He continues his long-standing interest in the documentation of the history of adult education, working with Syracuse University Libraries to collect, preserve, and make accessible monographs, journals, and important personal and organizational papers.

Outside of his professional interests, Dr. Charters has been involved in numerous community activities including the Council on Aging, the Metropolitan Syracuse Committee on Adult and Continuing Education, Urban League, and the Thursday Morning Roundtable. He is a long-standing member of Rotary and an active member of Park Central Presbyterian Church in Syracuse, New York.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The material contained in the Alexander N. Charters Papers relate both to his personal life and his relationship with various adult education organizations. The material reflects his professional involvement with adult education organizations and their committees, conferences, and meetings over more than forty years.

Correspondence-subject files contains material relating to both organizations and individuals, interfiled. Organizations with material of particular length and substance include the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE), Adult Education Association/United States of America (AEA-USA), Adult Education Action Council (AEAC), American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE), Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC), Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO), Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA), Committee for the Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCAE), Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), Fund for Adult Education (FAE), International Conference for Adult Education (ICAE), International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE), Laubach Literacy (LLI), Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (MSA), and National University Extension Association (NUEA).

Writings consist of material written, cowritten, or compiled by Alexander N. Charters. These are also listed, with some additions, in Historical and Research Materials Related to Adult and Continuing Education, prepared by Jane B. Frost and published by Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education as MSS 35. Materials listed in this guide are filed in the order set forth by Mrs. Frost; her three-letter code and chronological numbering system have been retained.

Microfiche and Microfilm contain versions of selected documents in that format, while Miscellaneous includes an assortment of memorabilia and research material relating to the 1991 video documentary on Dr. Charters.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are organized entirely in alphabetical order by topic, with adult education organizations filed by acronym preceding individual folder titles. This series contains various types of material, including the following:

General correspondence: filed chronologically, correspondence related to specific individuals is filed alphabetically, in general A-Z folders and in some instances under individual names. The order of filing is: Chronological, general A-Z and individual names. Correspondence may also be found in organizational and individual names files.
Directories: Directories are filed under Directories and under various adult education organizations and includes names of individuals in the adult education field.
Memos: Memos which were sent by Dr. Charters to the School of Education, Syracuse University from 1972-1979, are filed in numerical order.
Minutes: Minutes are included under the various organizations.
Photographs: Photographs include both personal and those related to adult education.
Reports: Organizational reports are found under the organization.
The series also includes various newsletters, notes, proposals and speeches.

Writings are subdivided by type (published, notes and unpublished, memos, Tolley series, official reports, Centennial series, proposals/contracts, news clippings/releases, and supplemental); within each of these subsets items are ordered chronologically. Microfiche and Microfilm are arranged alphabetically by title. Miscellaneous is arranged alphabetically by type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

CLOSED: The Alexander Charters Papers are currently undergoing processing and are closed to researchers. We estimate that the collection will reopen in early 2010.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see the following:

Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (AEA/USA) Records
American Foundation for Continuing Education (AFCE) Records
Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) Records
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) Records
Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA) Records
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) Records
Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE) Records
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) Records
Fund for Adult Education (FAE) Records
Galaxy Conference Records
International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE) Records
Laubach Literacy International (LLI) Records
National University Extension Association (NUEA) Records
Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records, 1964-1985
University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR) Records

Because of Dr. Charters' long association with Syracuse University, the University Archives also contain much material. In particular, the researcher is directed to the following topics:

Bureau of School Services, 1964-1973
Clearinghouse of Resources for Educators of Adults (CREA), 1975-1979
Dean of University College, 1952-1964
Division of Summer Session
Division of International Programs Abroad (DIPA), 1964-1973
East European Language Program, 1964-1967
School of Education, 1964-1985
Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE), 1964-1985
Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA), 1965-1985
University College, 1948-1954, 1964-1973
Vice President for Continuing Education, 1964-1974

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Charters, Alexander N. Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Association.
Association for Continuing Higher Education (U.S.)
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults.
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations.
Commission of Professors of Adult Education.
Committee for the Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education.
Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools.
National University Extension Association.
Syracuse University. -- Publications in continuing education.
Syracuse University., School of Education.
Unesco.
Universidad Nacional Experimental Simon Rodriguez.

Subjects

Adult education teachers, Training of.
Adult education, Archival resources.
Adult education, Bibliography.
Adult education, Congresses.
Adult education, Cross-cultural studies.
Adult education, Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Adult education, History.
Adult education, Research.
Adult education, United States.
Adult education.
Community education.
Comparative education.
Continuing education, Archival resources.
Continuing education, Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Continuing education.
Educators, United States.
Evening and continuation schools.
International education.
Universities and colleges, Graduate work.
University extension.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Correspondence.
Directories.
Memoranda.
Minutes.
Newsletters.
Photoprints.
Reports.
Speeches.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alexander N Charters Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Alexander N. Charters.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 18 Jan 1995
Revision history: 26 Jun 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

RESTRICTED: The Alexander Charters Papers are currently undergoing processing and are closed to researchers. We estimate that the collection will reopen in early 2010.

Return to top