Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Cartoon Press Kits Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Cartoon Press Kits Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1993-2008
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Press kits (folders, sample strips, etc.) for various comic strips
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

A press kit is a prepackaged set of promotional material. In the case of comic strips, press kits often include sample strips, a page with sketches and brief bios of main characters, a bio of the cartoonist, and contact information for the agent, contained in or printed on an illustrated custom folder or packet.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cartoon Press Kits Collection consists of press kits for a number of popular comic strips. Not all kits are complete, many consisting only of the illustrated printed folder. Strips represented include Get Fuzzy (Darby Conley) and Calvin and Hobbes (Bill Watterson).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

For other press kits, see the Movie Press Kit Collection and Television Press Kits. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than a hundred editorial and strip cartoonists; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

Advertising -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- Marketing.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- Public relations.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Press kits.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cartoon Press Kits Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Sep 2013
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Press kits
SC 700 Miscellaneous 1993, 2008, undated
Eleven strips are represented:
  • Baby Blues (Jerry Scott, Rick Kirkman)
  • Calvin and Hobbes (Bill Watterson)
  • F Minus (Tony Carrillo)
  • The Far Side (Gary Larsen)
  • Frank and Ernest (Bob Thaves)
  • Frazz (Jef Mallett)
  • Garfield (Jim Davis)
  • Get Fuzzy (darby conley)
  • Luann (Greg Evans)
  • Rose is Rose (Pat Brady)
  • Zits (Jerry Scott, Jim Borgman)

Return to top