Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Adja Yunkers Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Yunkers, Adja, 1900-1983.
Title: Adja Yunkers Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1941-1959
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, published material, clippings, scrapbook from the Latvian-American lithographer and painter.
Language: Much is in English, some items in Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Adja Yunkers (1900-1983) was an artist and teacher known for his color woodcuts, lithographs, and abstract paintings. Born in Latvia, he studied in Europe, established a workshop in Stockholm, and eventually emigrated to the United States in 1946, where he was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship. He taught at the Cooper Union Art School and the New School for Social Research.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adja Yunkers Papers contains biographical material, correspondence, and printed material.

Biographical material consists of a bibliography of Junkers' publications, including essays, introductions and so on.

Correspondence consists of letters between the Yunkers and Richard and Ellen Vowles and a few incoming telegrams from museums related to exhibits.

Printed material contains scrapbooks of clippings and miscellaneous printed material, including programs, reviews, and so on in English and other languages.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Many of the clippings are VERY fragile and care should be taken in handling them. Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has many manuscript collections of artists, including painters, illustrators, cartoonists, and sculptors. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Yunkers, Adja, 1900-1983.

Subjects

Lithography -- 20th century.
Painters -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Scrapbooks.

Occupations

Lithographers.
Painters.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adja Yunkers Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Adja Yunkers, 1964.

Vowles letters, gift of Liz Vowles, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Sep 2009
Revision history: 15 Jul 2014 - collection processed (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Oversize 1 Bibliography undated
Oversize 1 Chronology undated
Oversize 1 Statement on art 1959
Correspondence
Oversize 1 Museums 1946
Oversize 1 Vowles, Richard and Ellen 1945-1958, undated
Printed material
RESTRICTED: Many of the clippings are VERY fragile and care should be taken in handling them.
Oversize 1 Scrapbook I 1941-1946 - programs, reviews, clippings, etc.
Oversize 1 Scrapbook II 1943-1946 - programs, reviews, clippings, etc.
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous 1946-1952, undated - programs, reviews, clippings, etc.

Return to top