Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Lyman Young Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Young, Lyman
Title: Lyman Young Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1933
Quantity: 6 items
Abstract: Original daily cartoons from the newspaper adventure strip Tim Tyler's Luck.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lyman Young (1893-1984) was an American cartoonist. Born in Chicago, he studied at the Chicago Art Institute, served in World War I with an ambulance company in France, and worked as a salesman before he started his cartooning career in 1924, taking over C. W. Kahles' The Kelly Kids. In 1927 Young created his first original strip, a spin-off of The Kelly Kids entitled The Kid Sister. He is best known for Tim Tyler's Luck, which he started in 1928; so popular was the daily strip that a movie was made of it in 1937 starring Frankie Young. When Lyman died his son Bob took over the strip. In 1977 he received the National Cartoonists Society Silver T-Square Award.

His brother Chic Young was also a cartoonist and created the long-running newspaper comic strip Blondie.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lyman Young Cartoons collection contains 6 original daily cartoons from the newspaper adventure strip Tim Tyler's Luck (1933).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also has the Chic Young Cartoons, containing original cartoons by Lyman's brother and creator of the comic strip Blondie.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Young, Lyman.

Associated Titles

Tim Tyler's luck (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lyman Young Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Rendell, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: BB
Date: Dec 1968
Revision history: 23 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 23 Jan 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Tim Tyler's Luck cartoons (6 items) (Daily cartoons. Blue pencil, pen and ink on illustration board, all approx. 6 ¾ x 26 in.)
Box 1 10/30/1933
Box 1 10/31/1933
Box 1 11/01/1933
Box 1 11/02/1933
Box 1 11/03/1933
Box 1 11/04/1933

Return to top