Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Wynkoop Family Papers

An inventory of their papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wynkoop family.
Title: Wynkoop family Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1684-1930
Quantity: 4.0 cubic ft.
Abstract: Papers of a Kingston, New York family include correspondence (1740-1930); account books (1768-1770); a daybook (1758-1779); ledgers (1776, 1791-1808); journals, diaries, family Bibles, legal papers (1753-1804), and memorabilia. The bulk of the collection consists of business records of Cornelius Wynkoop and his sons, Cornelius C. Wynkoop and John C. Wynkoop.
Language: Bulk in English, some in Dutch, scattered items in French, German, or Spanish.
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Several family trees have been prepared to assist the researcher. These are available via the links below (for online edition) or at the end of this finding aid (for hard copy edition). Names of family members who are prominently represented in the collection appear in capital letters.

Wynkoop family A (Cornelius Wynkoop and Hendrika Newkirk)
Wynkoop family B (Cornelius C. Wynkoop and Maria Catherine Ruehl)
Wynkoop family C (John C. Wynkoop and Lydia Sylvester)
Wynkoop family D (Augustus Wynkoop and Anna Maria Silvester)
Reynolds family (Samuel Reynolds and Jane Jones)
Ruehl family (Martin Augustus Ruehl and Maria Katherina Bamper)
Silvester family (Peter Silvester and Jan Van Schaack)

The members of the Wynkoop family who are represented in this collection resided during the eighteenth century primarily in Kingston and Hurley, Esopus District, Ulster County, N.Y., and in New York City. Principal family members of the nineteenth century lived also in Ghent and Kinderhook, Columbia County, N.Y., and in Syracuse.

The bulk of the papers were generated by Cornelius Wynkoop (1732-circa 1807), sometime merchant of New York City. Of Dutch ancestry, he was the son of Cornelius Wynkoop (1688-circa 1747), a blacksmith of Hurley who is represented in the collection by one item, a family record, perhaps in his own hand, in which he recounts his capture by a French privateer while he was en route to Curacao in 1708. The younger Cornelius settled in New York City probably by 1750 and became a bookkeeper in the shop of Mary Alexander, a prominent businesswoman and the wife of lawyer James Alexander. Wynkoop was a witness to the 1756 will of Mary Alexander, who died in 1760. He may have purchased her business, for it was about 1760 that he began mercantile trading that extended along at least one leg of the triangular route with the West Indies. He dealt in rum and molasses, among other commodities; friends and relatives were engaged in sugar refining. Before the Revolutionary War he reportedly had three vessels, two owned outright, before two were seized by privateers. In 1770, Cornelius Wynkoop, described as a shopkeeper, was admitted as a freeman of the city of New York.

Cornelius Wynkoop left New York City about 1773 and settled in the Kingston, N.Y., area. During the next years he reportedly kept school and worked as an accountant. He was commissioned in 1779 as Assistant Commissary of Issues in the Northern Department. It was at Kingston that were born the last two of the ten children of Cornelius and Maria Catherine (Ruehl) Wynkoop. Of the children, John C. Wynkoop (1761-1796) was a lawyer who studied law in Kinderhook with Judge Peter Silvester and who practiced at Kingston. Of John C. Wynkoop's children, a son was Peter Silvester Wynkoop, minister and a great-grandfather of the donor, William Niver Wynkoop; and a daughter, Anna Maria Wynkoop, who married Samuel Hawley, was the mother of Jane (Hawley) Isaacs, a correspondent of Martin Van Buren, Jr.

Catharine Wynkoop (1763-1845) married Jonathan Hasbrouck. Their son, Abraham Bruyn Hasbrouck (1791-1879), was president of Rutgers College from 1840 to 1850.

Cornelius C. Wynkoop (1772-1796) was a surveyor.

The father discontinued his own use of the middle initial C before the birth of this son, who used the initial throughout his short life. Augustus Wynkoop (1777-1836) was a merchant in New York City. His granddaughter, Sarah B. Reynolds, collected Wynkoop memorabilia and genealogical material.

Cornelius Wynkoop returned to New York City probably after 1779 once again to trade. A tax book for the First Ward of New York City for the years 1801 to 1808, which is in the collection, suggests that he may have collected taxes in his last years, besides maintaining his financial interests. In the accompanying genealogical charts, the names of family members who are represented in the collection appear in capital letters. Further biographical and anecdotal material (but little additional information on Cornelius Wynkoop's business interests) is available in the notes of Sarah B. Reynolds, "Incidents and Family History," a copy of which is filed in the collection with other Wynkoop genealogical material, and in Richard Wynkoop, Wynkoop Genealogy in the United States of America (2nd ed., New York, 1878; 3rd ed., New York, 1904). A copy of the second edition, with holograph corrections and additions presumably in the hand of Sarah B. Reynolds, is part of the collection. A copy of the third edition is available in Syracuse at the Syracuse Public Library.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wynkoop Family Papers, 1684-1930, contain correspondence, financial papers, legal papers, memorabilia, and miscellaneous material, amounting to approximately 900 items. Bulk dates are 1758 to 1779 and 1790 to 1808. Parts of the collection are in Dutch, although English predominates; occasional items are in French, German, or Spanish.

Correspondence, 1740-1930, consists of 251 letters. The periods 1761-1766 and 1790-1796 have the heaviest representation; letters of the earlier period relate to business, those of the later period to family matters.

Incoming letters to Cornelius Wynkoop (1732-circa 1807) form the principal part of the collection. There are 51 letters from his son Cornelius C. and 51 letters from his son John C. Other correspondents represented in number are John de Neufville (18 letters) and Nicolas DeRonde (7), business associates, and Jonathan Hasbrouck (12), a son-in-law. The years after 1804 are thinly represented. There are five letters written by Martin Van Buren, Jr., while touring in Europe with his father in 1853 and 1854. Martin Van Buren is represented by an A.L.S. written from Lindenwald in 1856 and by an 1857 letter to the senior Van Buren from Bradley Benedict Burt, a lawyer of Oswego, N.Y. There are three letters of Peter Erben to Abraham Bruyn Hasbrouck, a grandson of Cornelius Wynkoop (1732-circa 1807) and a president of Rutgers College. The content of correspondence after 1874 is mostly genealogical. Richard Wynkoop, compiler of three editions of the Wynkoop genealogy, and Sarah B. Reynolds, a granddaughter of Augustus Wynkoop who gathered family records, are represented. An index of the correspondence appears at the end of this inventory.

Within Financial papers, 1743-1870, most items date from 1758 to 1808 and reflect the mercantile interests of Cornelius Wynkoop (1732-circa 1807). Seven bound financial volumes span the years 1758 to 1808. A daybook of 1758-1762 also includes ledger entries of 1776-1779 at Hurley and sets of schoolmaster's records of 1773-1774 at Kingston and 1776-1777 at New York City. In a receipt book, dated 1758 but commencing two years later, are inscribed names of old New York: Beekman, Bleecker, Lefferts, Roosevelt, and Schuyler. An account book dates from the 1760s, as do record books of the brigantine Mary & Anne and the scow Friendship; these latter include daybook entries, ledgers of accounts, shipping lists, and sailing orders for voyages to Tortola and other destinations. From the Federal period are a ledger, mostly of family accounts, and a tax book for the First Ward of New York City.

A sixty-year span of business is recorded in eleven folders of accounts, including accounts for the operation of a sugarhouse, and eight folders of bills and receipts. A 1771 bill of sale for a slave, pre-Revolutionary wage records, a fragment of a proprietors' assessment list for repairs possibly at New York City, bills of exchange, bills of lading, bonds, memoranda of payment, price lists, and promissory notes are other categories of financial papers. There are two folders of miscellaneous financial records. An item of 1778 concerns the issuing of rations to Revolutionary troops on the Hudson at a time when Cornelius Wynkoop was Assistant Commissary of Issues for the Northern District.

Legal papers, 1753-1815, consist largely of papers relating to the estates of Cornelius Wynkoop's relatives and business associates.

The section of Memorabilia, 1715-1904, contains both holograph and printed material under the headings Bibles, Genealogy, and General; the last two categories are subdivided alphabetically by the name of the family or family member. Of three eighteenth-century Dutch Staten Generael Bibles in the collection, two are identifiable as Wynkoop family Bibles. In a narrative that is part of the family record in the 1715, 1727 Bible, Cornelius Wynkoop (1688- circa 1747) recounts his capture en route to Curacao by a French privateer in 1708. Genealogical material, much of it collected by Sarah B. Reynolds, includes the holograph family record, perhaps removed from a Bible now lost, of Cornelius Wynkoop (1732-circa 1807); a copy of Richard Wynkoop's Wynkoop Genealogy in the United States of America, 2nd ed. (1878 , with additions apparently in the hand of Sarah B. Reynolds; and data on allied families. The section of general memorabilia includes a lengthy religious testament of Jane Reynolds. There is a volume of Cornelius Wynkoop (1732-circa 1807) with his "Journal of a Trip to Albany," a four-page account of a trip from Kingston in July 1758 that includes an after-the-fact description of the Battle of Fort Ticonderoga; a three-page "Catalogue of Books Belonging to Corn. C. Wynkoop June 1758"; and receipts that date from 1758 to 1760. A notebook of Peter Silvester Wynkoop, apparently written while he was pastor at Ghent and Hillsdale in Columbia County, N.Y., contains baptism and marriage records, minutes of church meetings, and a record of children's Sabbath behavior. Among other items of unidentified origin are two printed lottery tickets of 1793 and 1818.

Among the Miscellaneous material, 1684-1889, are funeral lists (possibly of the funeral of John Michael Kern), an undated map of Oswego, N.Y., newspaper clippings, and newspapers. In the latter category are the New-York Gazette and General Advertiser of October 17, 1798; a reprint of the Ulster County Gazette of January 4, 1800, observing the death of George Washington; and a number of the Syracuse (N.Y.) Anti-Bonder, Satuday [sic], May 25, 1889, opposing the financing of a new Syracuse water supply by municipal bonds. The earliest item in the collection is a 1684 Hamburg imprint of eight unnumbered pages, containing an acrostic on "Hamburg vivat" and a 152-line poem with a concluding eight-line sonnet. Other poetry includes two broadsides: a New Year's address from the carriers of the Evening Post to their patrons (New York, January 1, 1803) and two copies of The carrier of the New-York Evening Post to his patrons. (January 1, 1804). Under the heading of Religious Effects are two items related to the cabala: a broadside, "Cabbalistisches Paragramma, welches auf der Wahl Ihro Wohl-Ehrwuerden Herrn Anton Ruehl, welcher den 29ten Jun. Anno 1749. zum Diacono an der St. Jacobi Kirche [in Hamburg] erwaehlet worden, verfertiget von C. D. W."; and a notebook of cabalistic tables and commentary, signed "John Brounderost, His Book 1754." There are deathbed statements of Abraham Reynolds (1819), Adrian Wynkoop (1821), and Catherine [Wynkoop?] (1829); a manuscript narrative of Christian redemption, "A memorable instance of Divine Guidance" (circa 1780?); and a poem in Dutch on the pope as Antichrist, "Vergelijking van Christus en den Roomsche paus."

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically to the day, except the undated letters of one folder, arranged alphabetically by the name of the writer. Financial papers, legal papers, and miscellany are arranged under alphabetical descriptive headings. Memorabilia is subdivided into Bibles, Genealogy, and General; the last two categories are further subdivided alphabetically by the name of the family or family member.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Because of their fragile condition, parts of the collection are restricted. These items have been placed in Box 9. Photocopies have been made and filed in the appropriate locations in Boxes 1, 2, 3, 4, and 8.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Hasbrouck, Jonathan, 1763-1846.
Reynolds family -- Genealogy.
Ruehl family -- Genealogy.
Wynkoop family -- Archives.
Wynkoop family -- Correspondence.
Wynkoop family -- Genealogy.
Wynkoop, Cornelius C., 1772-1796.
Wynkoop, Cornelius, 1732-ca. 1807.
Wynkoop, John C., 1761-1796.

Corporate Bodies

John de Neufville & Son (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

Subjects

Cabala.
Dutch -- New York (State) -- History -- Sources.
Dutch Americans -- Commerce -- New York (State)

Places

Kingston (N.Y.) -- History.
New York (N.Y.) -- Commerce.
New York (State) -- History -- 1775-1865.
New York (State) -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775.
Ulster County (N.Y.) -- History.
United States -- Social life and customs -- To 1775.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Bibles.
Briefs (legal documents)
Correspondence.
Daybooks.
Genealogies.
Ledgers (account books)
Notebooks.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Wynkoop Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Edward J. Wynkoop Jr. and W. Niver Wynkoop, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: EL
Date: Mar 1974
Revision history: 24 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 8 Sep 2014 - additions P-14-083 (MRC); 6 Jan 2017 - fixed index code (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 [General] undated
Box 1 [General] 1740, 1748, 1761-1793 (20 folders)
Box 2 [General] 1794-1930 (21 folders)
Financial
Package 1 Account book (Volume 1) 1768-1770
Box 2 Accounts 1748-1766, undated (6 folders)
Box 3 Accounts 1769-1808 (4 folders)
Box 3 Accounts, Sugar House 1773-1777
Box 3 Assessment list, fragment undated
Box 3 Bills and receipts 1743-1808, undated (8 folders)
Box 3 Bills of exchange 1759-1762
Box 3 Bills of lading 1760-1764, undated
Box 3 Bills of sale 1771, 1870
Box 3 Bonds 1761-1788
Box 3 Daybook (Volume 2) 1758-1779
Box 3 Invoices 1759-1764, undated (4 folders)
Package 2 Ledger (Volume 3) 1776, 1791-1808
Box 3 Memoranda of payment 1763-1807, undated
Box 3 Price lists 1762
Box 3 Promissory notes 1762, 1794
Box 4 "Receipt Book, 1758" (Volume 4) 1760-1797
Record books
Box 4 Brigantine Mary & Anne (Volume 5) 1762-1770
Box 4 Scow Friendship (Volume 6) 1761-1771
Box 4 Tax book (Volume 7) 1801-1808
Box 4 Wage records 1764-1776
Box 4 Miscellaneous 1759-1796, undated (2 folders)
Legal
Box 4 Bail bonds 1765, undated - Juan Antonio Castillon, Havana
Box 4 Bill of complaint 1764
Box 4 Briefs 1801-1804, undated
Box 4 Deeds 1765-1792
Box 4 Depositions 1756, 1764
Estates
Box 4 Brunkhurst [Brunckhorst], John 1797-1801
Box 4 DeRonde, Nicolas 1762-1763 - will, correspondence
Box 4 Nordberg, Capt. John 1782-1783
Box 4 Pettersson, George 1764, undated - will, rental agreement
Box 4 Rypell, John 1761-1762, undated
Box 4 Stephany, John Sebastian 1777
Box 4 Van Schaack, Maria W. 1815
Box 4 Wetsel, Mary Christina 1798
Box 4 Insurance agreement 1763
Box 4 Oath of allegiance 1780
Box 4 Oath of office 1791
Box 4 Power of attorney 1753
Box 4 Release 1795
Memorabilia
Bibles
Box 5 [Biblia] (Volume 8)
Three volumes bound as one, contains the following:
1) [Old Testament, title page lacking]
2) Het Nieuwe Testament (Amsterdam, Jacobus Conynenberg [en] Isaak Vander Putte, 1727)
3) De CL Psalmen Des Propheten Davids (Amsteldam [sic], By de Weduwe van Hendrik Schelte, MDCCXV)
Box 6 Biblia (Volume 9) (Dordrecht, Jacob en Hendrik Keur, 1741) - 3 volumes bound as one
Box 7 Biblia, Dat is De gantsche H. Schrift vervattende alle Canonyke Boeken des Ouden en Nieuwen Testaments (Dordrecht, 1777) (Volume 10)
Three volumes bound as one, contains the following:
1) [Old Testament, no separate title page]
2) Het Nieuwe Testament (Amsterdam, H. Brandt... en Compagnie, 1776)
3) Het Boek der Psalmen (Amsterdam, H. Brandt... en Compagnie, 1775)
Genealogy
Box 8 Miscellaneous - notes, holograph
Box 8 Reynolds Family, also Jones Family - notes, holograph, printed material
Box 8 Ruehl Family, also Bamper (Boemper), DeRonde, Kern, and Petterson Families - notes, holograph
Box 8 Silvester Family, also Van Schaack Family - notes, holograph
Wynkoop Family
Box 8 Notes, holograph
Box 8 Wynkoop Genealogy in the United States of America, 2nd ed., by Richard Wynkoop (Volume 11) 1878
General
Box 8 Kern, John Michael undated - sermon and clipping, printed material
Box 8 Reynolds, Henry undated - lithograph portrait
Reynolds, Henry H.
Box 8 Certificate of the Washington National Monument Society circa 1849 - printed material
Box 8 Memorial minute to George W. Pratt 1862 - printed material
Reynolds, Jane
Box 8 Eulogy with poem 1779 - holograph
Box 8 Religious testament (Volume 12) 1798 - holograph
Box 8 Reynolds, Margaret 1792 - certificate of membership, holograph
Wynkoop, Cornelius
Box 8 Journal (Volume 13) 1756-1786 - holograph
Box 8 Poem 1749 - holograph
Box 8 Wynkoop, Henrietta 1875 - acrostic poem, holograph
Box 8 Wynkoop, Peter Silvester (Volume 14) 1826-1832 - notebook, holograph
Box 8 Unidentified 1793-1904, undated - holograph, photograph, printed material (2 folders)
Miscellany
Box 8 Funeral lists undated - holograph
Box 8 "Map of Oswego [N,Y.] and its environs" "Engrav'd by J.V.N. Throop" 24 by 32 inches
Box 8 Newspaper clippings 1888, 1960, undated
Box 8 Newspapers 1798, 1800, 1889
Poetry
Box 8 Acrostic "Hamburg vivat" and verse (Hamburg, Gedruckt bey Arnold Lichtenstein, 1684) 1684
Box 8 Broadsides 1803, 1804
Box 8 Holograph verses undated
Religious effects
Box 8 Broadside 1749
Box 8 Deathbed statements 1819-1829 - holograph
Box 8 Narrative, "A memorable instance of Divine Guidance" circa 1780? - holograph
Box 8 Notebook of cabalistic records (Volume 15) circa 1754 - holograph
Box 8 Poem, "Vergelijking van Christus en den Roomsche paus" undated - holograph
Restricted material
All restricted material is in fragile condition; photocopies of all such items are interfiled in the appropriate folders in Boxes 1, 2, 3, 4, and 8.)
Box 9 Correspondence
Financial
Box 9 Accounts (2 folders)
Box 9 Bills and receipts
Box 9 Bills of exchange, memorandum of payment
Box 9 Promissory notes
Legal
Box 9 Deposition
Box 9 Estates
Box 9 Memorabilia
Box 9 Miscellany

Return to top

Selected index to correspondence

  • [no surname], Mag : [no year] Mar 31, Syracuse, to Jennie [no surname]
  • [no surname], Mary Agnes : 1874 Jun, Brooklyn, to Sarah [Reynolds?]
  • [unidentified] : 1762 Mar 5, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1764 Feb 13, New York, to Corn, Coppenger; 1765 Mar 28?, New York, to Corn, Coppenger; [no date], New York, to Corn, Coppenger
  • Allen, Sturges : 1902 Feb 20, Westminster, MD, to Jonathan Gosman Wynkoop
  • Bard, John : 1795 Aug 2, New York, to [Cornelius Wynkoop]
  • Berry, Charlotte W. : 1894 May 16, Pasadena, Calif., to Mrs. Wynkoop
  • Booth, B. : 1766 Nov 24, Amboy, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop
  • Buloid, Robert : 1841 Nov 18, New York, to Rev. Peter S. Wynkoop; 1849 Dec 4, New York, to Rev. Peter S. Wynkoop
  • Burt, B. B. [Bradley Benedict] : 1857 Feb 23, Oswego, to M. Van Buren
  • Cardozo [?], Harriet J. : 1895 Jun 8, Albany, to Sarah B. Reynolds
  • Cockburn, Will[iam] et al. : 1794 Mar 13, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • de Neufville, John : 1761 Jul 14, Amsterdam, to Nicolas de Ronde; 1761 Jul 14, Amsterdam, to Nicolas de Ronde; 1761 Jul 15, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Jul 20, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Jul 21, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Aug 1, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Dec 22, 29, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Dec 22, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Dec 29, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Jan 5, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Mar 5, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Mar 12, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Mar 12, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Mar 16, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Jun 15, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Jun 15, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1762 Dec 10, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1763 May 24, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1763 Jul 15, Amsterdam, to Executors and Administrators of the Estate of Nicolas DeRonde
  • De Witt, Jno. : 1740 Sep 13, Manor Livingston, to Mary Alexander
  • Depew, Ganson : 1930 May 28, Buffalo, N.Y., to Edward J. Wynkoop
  • DeRonde, Nicolas : 1761 May 7, New York, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Jul 14, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Jul 15, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Aug 18, Arnhem, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Aug 18, Arnhem, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Sep 5, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1761 Sep 5, Amsterdam, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop
  • Dodhon, Frances : 1774 Dec? 27, Leek, to King George III
  • Doll, William : 1799 Jan 27, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • DuBois, Cornelius : 1798 Apr 10, Hurley, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • DuBois, John J? : 1797 Sep 29, Hurley, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1797 Nov 17, Hurley, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1798 Jun 12, Hurley, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Dumond, Anthony : 1797 Oct 16, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1797 Nov 17, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Eaton, Harriet Phillips : 1900 Jun 18, Jersey City H'ts, N.J., to [Sarah B.] Reynolds; 1900 Sep 26, Jersey City H'ts, N.J., to [Sarah B.] Reynolds
  • Erben, Peter : 1874 Apr 4, New York, to A. Bruyn Hasbrouck; 1874 Apr 17, New York, to A. Bruyn Hasbrouck; 1875 Feb 8, New York, to [Abraham Bruyn Hasbrouck]
  • Gosman, Robert : 1824 Mar 6, Upper Red Hook, to Margaret Wynkoop; 1834 Apr 25, Upper Red Hook, to Rev. Peter S. Wynkoop
  • Gouverneur, Isaac : 1748 Feb 8, Curacao, to James Alexander
  • Harris, Thomas : 1764 Mar 19, London, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop
  • Hasbrouck, Daniel : 1800 Jun 25, Wankill, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Hasbrouck, Jonathan : 1791 Sep 7, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 22, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 8, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1793 Dec 9, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1797 Feb 15, [Kingston?], to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1798 Aug 20, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1798 Sep 12, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1798 Dec 4, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1799 Mar 6, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1799 Jul 27, Kingston, to Augustus Wynkoop; 1800 Jul 5, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Hawley, Mary : 1816? Jun 29, [Coxsackie], to Sally King
  • Hoog?, Margaretta : 1815 Apr 5, Coxsackie, to James Van der Poel
  • Hotchkiss & Lewis : 1850 Sep 25, New Haven, to William A. Judson & Co.
  • Houseal, Bernard Michael : 1777 Feb 21, New York, to John Brunkhurst
  • Jackson, Henry : 1795 Jun 1?, Flatbush, to Augustus Wynkoop
  • Jansen, Cornelius : 1796 Jun 14, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Judah, Julia M. (Gelston) : 1882 Oct 6, Brattleboro, to Henry Reynolds; 1882 Oct 20,, to Sarah B. Reynolds
  • Kern, John Michael : 1776 Jan 14, [no place], to [no recipient]; 1776 Jan 21, Hanover [N.Y.], to [no recipient]
  • Laidle, Archibald : 1761 Sep 24, Flushing, to the Consistory of the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of the City of New York (contemporary copy)
  • Lansingh, Myndert : 1747 or 8 Jan 13, Curacao, to James Alexander
  • Lasker?, John : 1791 Jun 25, New York, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Loomis, Josephine S.? : 1890 Jan 1, Saint Paul, to Mrs. Wynkoop; 1892 Mar 6, Saint Paul, to Mrs. Wynkoop
  • McMillan, John : 1788 Dec 12, Albany, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1792 Jul 20, Albany, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1798 Dec 24, Albany, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Morris, Woodbury : 1761 Mar 28, Providence, to Nicolas DeRonde
  • Myers, Margaret Jane : 1833 Mar 18, Mobile, to Margaret Reynolds
  • Quackenboss, Walter : 1761 Jun 2, New York, to Catharine Rypel
  • Reade, D[e]Witt & Livingston : 1748 Sep 20, Kingston, to [Jamaica] Mary Alexander; 1748 Oct 5, Kingston, to [Jamaica][Mary Alexander]
  • Reynolds, Henry Hinsdale : 1853 Jun 9, [no place], to W. Hathaway
  • Reynolds, J.T. : 1903 Jul 22, Media, Pa., to Sarah B. Reynolds; 1903 Jul 31, Media, Pa., to Sarah B. Reynolds
  • Reynolds, Julia : 1882 Apr 19, Reynoldsville, Pa., to Mrs. M.J. Myers
  • Reynolds, Sarah B. : 1891 Apr 21, Kingston, to Jonathan [no surname]; 1894 Jul 3, Kingston, to Dr. Edward [Judson Wynkoop]; 1894 Sep 18, Kingston, to Dr. Edward [Judson Wynkoop]
  • Silvester, John L.B. : 1905 Dec 7, Albany, to Sarah B. Reynolds
  • Silvester, P. [Peter?] : 1771 Jul 25, Albany, to George Peterson; 1796 Jul 9, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Stanton, Gerald N. : 1894 Nov 10, New York, to Edward J. Wynkoop; 1894 Nov 10, New York, to Francis S. Wynkoop; 1894 Nov 17, New York, to Edward Judson Wynkoop; 1895 Apr 30, New York, to Sarah [B. Reynolds]; 1895 May 5, New York, to Sarah [B. Reynolds]
  • Tappen, Christopher et al. : 1794 Mar 13, Kingston, to Edward Livingston
  • Tappen, Christopher : 1795 Sep 11, Kingston, to Edward Livingston
  • Tolman, Thomas : 1778 May 18?, Albany, to Edward Livingston; 1779 Mar 9, Albany, to Edward Livingston
  • Van Buren, Martin, Jr. : 1853 Jan 15, [no place], to [Jane (Hawley) Isaacs]; 1853 Mar 14, [no place], to Mrs. [Jane] I[saacs]; 1853 Jul 2, [Killarney], to Mrs. [Jane] I[saacs]; 1853 Jul 13, Glasgow, to I[saac] S. Isaacs; 1854 Jun 4, Sorrento, to Isaac S. Isaacs
  • Van Buren, Martin : 1856 Jan 22, Lindenwald, to [Samuel Hawley?]; 1856 Feb 8, Lindenwald, to [Isaac Isaacs?]
  • Van Dyck, C.V.A. : 1890 Apr 9, Beirut, to Sarah [Reynolds?]
  • Van Wyck, Jas. P. : 1904 Jun 27, Hudson, N.Y., to [Sarah B.] Reynolds
  • VanSchaack, P. : 1818 Mar 31, Kinderhook, to Augustus Wynkoop
  • Werden, Isaac : 1764 Feb 15, Quebec, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop; 1764 Jun 10, Quebec, to [Cornelius C.?] Wynkoop; 1765 Feb 16, Quebec, to [Cornelius C.?] Wynkoop
  • Wetsel, Mary Christina : 1801 Mar 18, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop, with copy of 18 Apr 1801 letter of Cornelius Wynkoop, to Peter Sim; [1802] Nov ?], [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1803 Jan 9, [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1803 Dec 13, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1804 May 19, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Wheelwright, Nat[haniel?] : 1763 Aug 15, Boston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1763 Aug 22, Boston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1763 Aug 29, Boston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Williams, Hen[ry?] : 1775 Jan 19, New York, to Cornelius C. Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, A[drian?] : 1769 Apr 1, Hurley, to [Cornelius C. Wynkoop?]
  • Wynkoop, Augustus : 1791 Dec 27, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 7, to; 1795 Sep 27, Brooklyn, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, Cornelius C.(b. 1772) et al : 1794 Mar 13, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Apr 20, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, Cornelius C.(b. 1772) : 1790 Jun 18, Kinderhook, to Cornelius & Catharine Wynkoop; 1790 Jul 19, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 Oct 26, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Jul 18, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Jul 24, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Aug 5, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 1, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 9, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 21, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 30, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Oct 3, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Oct 15, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Oct 16, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Oct 28, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 4, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 7, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 16, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 26, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Dec 1, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Dec 28, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Feb 9, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 4, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 14, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 23, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 31, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 7, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 11, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 28, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Sep 29, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Oct 6, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Oct 23, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Nov 2, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Nov 19, Kingston, to Augustus Wynkoop; 1792 Nov 30, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1793 Jan 28, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1793 Feb 4, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1793 Feb 4, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Jan 22, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Feb 20, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 May 3, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 May 23, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Jun 19, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Jul 10, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Oct 9, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Dec 7, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Dec 22, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Jan 12, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Jan 27, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Feb 2, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Apr 27, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 May 3, Kingston, to Henrietta Wynkoop; 1795 May 6, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Jun 1, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Jun 22, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Aug 31, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Sep 30, Kingston, to Augustus Wynkoop; 1795 Nov 28, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Nov 30, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Mar 24, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Jan 12, Kingston, to Augustus Wynkoop; 1796 Mar 30, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, Cornelius : 1763 Jan 14, New York, to William Ward; 1763 Nov 22, New York, to [Maria Katherina (Ruehl) Wynkoop?]; 1771 Oct 24, New York, to Peter Silvester; 1773 Mar 31, New York, to Peter Silvester (copy); 1787 Jul 3, Red Hook, to Herman Hoffman; 1796 Sep 24, New York, to Jonathan Hasbrouck; 1800 Jul 3, New York, to Daniel Hasbrouck; 1800 Jul 7, New York, to Jonathan Hasbrouck; [no date], [no place], to Rutger Bleeker
  • Wynkoop, Edward Judson : 1894 Jul 6, Hudson, N.Y., to [Sarah B.] Reynolds; 1894 Sep 7?, Syracuse, N.Y., to [Sarah B.] Reynolds
  • Wynkoop, Francis S. : 1894 Nov 13, New York, to Sarah [B. Reynolds]
  • Wynkoop, Henrietta : 1894 Aug 1, Kingston, to Augustus Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, John C. : 1788 Oct 23, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1789 Jul 7, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1789 Jul 18, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1789 Aug 26, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1789 Sep 16, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1789 Nov 16, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 Feb 4, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 Mar 8, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 May 8, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 Jun 17, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 Jul 20, [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1790 Sep 8, Kinderhook, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Jul 10, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Jul 16, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Aug 5, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 2, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 8, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Sep 21, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Oct 3, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Oct 14, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 4?, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 15, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1791 Nov 16, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Feb 4, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Feb 9, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 13, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 22, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Mar 31, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 11, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 14, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Apr 28, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Jul 21, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Aug 14, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Sep 17, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Sep 26, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Sep 29, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Oct 5, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1792 Nov 20, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1793 Dec 2, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1794 Aug 7, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Jan 26, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Mar 27, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Apr 20, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Jun 8?, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Oct 13, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Oct 22, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1795 Nov 9, Kingston, to Edward Livingston; 1795 Nov 30, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Apr 20, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 May 12, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 May 13, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 May 14, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 May 23, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Jun 2, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Jun 8, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Jun 23, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1796 Jul 6, Kingston, to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, Lea : 1795 May 9?, [no place], to [Cornelius ? Wynkoop]; 1796 Dec 5, [no place], to Henrietta Wynkoop; 1797 Jun 30, [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop; 1799 Jul 27, [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop; [no year] Apr 16, [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop; [no year] Oct 25, [no place], to Cornelius Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, M.W. : 1829 Oct 6, Ghent, to Eliza Kittle
  • Wynkoop, Peter Silvester : 1804 Jan 1, Kingston, to Augustus Wynkoop
  • Wynkoop, Richard : 1894 Sep 14, Brooklyn, to [Sarah B.] Reynolds
  • Yeomans, Moses : [no date], [no place], to Cornelius C. Wynkoop

Return to top