Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Giles R. Wright Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wright, Giles R., fl. 1930-1962
Title: Giles R. Wright Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1929-1962
Quantity: 1.0 linear feet
Abstract: Papers of the American clergyman. Collection includes essays, notes, sermons, speeches, published material, and miscellany.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Giles R. Wright was an American clergyman.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Giles R. Wright Papers is divided into three series. Miscellaneous includes, among other things, a folder of programs of church services in which Wright participated as minister. Published material contains magazine articles and newspaper clippings primarily of a religious nature. Writings contains notes and essays from Wright's college years as well as handwritten copies of his sermons and speeches as a minister.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type within each series.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wright, Giles R., fl. 1930-1962

Subjects

Clergy, United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Programs (documents)
Sermons.
Speeches.
Theses.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Giles R. Wright Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: 11 Jan 1979
Revision history: 24 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Miscellaneous
Box 1 Bulletin 1956
Box 1 Church service programs 1941-1961
Box 1 Poem
Published material
Box 1 Magazine articles 1937-1945
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1950
Box 1 Newspaper clippings 1940-1958
Writings
Box 1 Educational notes 1930-1953 (5 folders)
Box 1, 2 Essays and theses 1929-1947 (3 folders)
Box 2 Exams 1940-1942
Box 2 Fragments
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Sermons and speeches 1936-1962, undated (4 folders)

Return to top