Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John E. Wool Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wool, John Ellis, 1784-1869.
Title: John Wool Letter
Inclusive Dates: 1839
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from the American army officer to A.G. Moore, Esq. Accompanied by sales slip and letter documenting its purchase by Charles Devens Osborne in 1950.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Ellis Wool (1784-1869) was an American military officer who fought in the War of 1812, the Mexican-American War and the American Civil War. He retired from the army with the rank of Brigadier General. As one of four general officers of the United States Army in 1861, he was the oldest general on either side of the Civil War.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John E. Wool Letter consists of a letter from Wool to A.G. Moore, Esq. discussing Wool's assignments over the past months and the military situation in Florida and other places.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wool, John Ellis, 1784-1869.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- Officers.

Places

United States -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John E. Wool Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1980.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 26 Oct 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 644 Moore, A.G. 21 Mar 1839

Return to top