Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Henry Woodhouse Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Woodhouse, Henry, 1884-
Title: Henry Woodhouse Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1914-1937
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Italian-American aviation enthusiast and forger of historical documents, particularly Washingtoniana. Collection contains correspondence, writings and memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Woodhouse (1884-1970) was an Italian-American aviation enthusiast and forger of historical documents, particularly Washingtoniana.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Woodhouse Collection consists of correspondence, writings and memorabilia.

Most of the Correspondence relates to Woodhouse's research into George Washington, his family and their associations; others concern the celebration of George Washington's 200th birthday. A few of the letters relate to Woodhouse's interest in aeronautics, including one from the United States Army, asking for input from the Aero Club of America as to what control should be adopted for heavier-than-air vehicles. The bulk of the correspondence is with Professor Albert Bushnell Hart, but there are a few letters from others, including Rear Admiral Colby M. Chester, poet Clement Wood, great-great-granddaughter of Thomas Jefferson Fanny M. Burke, and poet Faith Van Valkenburgh Vilas.

Memorabilia consists of an invitation to join the Congressional Country Club; a large number of cards from "The Henry Woodhouse Historic Exhibit in Federal Hall Memorial Museum," which accompanied the historical documents that were exhibited; fliers or broadsides advertising "Washington's Lost Records Found by Henry Woodhouse President of the Historic Arts Association"; and assorted letterhead.

Writings contains four articles or essays, two by Woodhouse and two by others. The two by Woodhouse are a typescript entitled "Forest Service Air Patrol" and the photostat of a 1936 New York Times article on "Preventing War / Economic Conferences Seen as Important." The other two items are a typescript by Rear Admiral Colby M. Chester, entitled "The national importance of an all-American canal" and a photostat of a short piece on aeronautic defense headed with the words "For September Number of 'Flying.' "

Miscellany contains three items dating from the 1800s, one signed by "H.A. Washington" and one addressed "Simon Stevens to Gov. Morgan N.Y. Ap. 16/60." The authenticity of these documents, understandably, cannot be determined.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Chester, Colby Mitchell, 1844-1932.
Hart, Albert Bushnell, 1854-1943.
Wood, Clement, 1888-1950.
Woodhouse, Henry, 1884-

Corporate Bodies

Aero Club of America.

Subjects

Forgers -- United States.
Forgery of manuscripts.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Historians.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Woodhouse Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 24 Oct 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 643 General correspondence 1914-1937, undated
Memorabilia
SC 643 Miscellaneous - invitation to join the Congressional Country Club; cards from "The Henry Woodhouse Historic Exhibit in Federal Hall Memorial Museum"; fliers or broadsides advertising "Washington's Lost Records Found by Henry Woodhouse President of the Historic Arts Association"; assorted letterhead; and a photostat of a 1936 New York Times article by Woodhouse, on "Preventing War / Economic Conferences Seen as Important."
Writings
SC 643 By Woodhouse and by others 1936, undated
Miscellany
SC 643 Three items of uncertain provenance and authenticity 1847, 1860, 1897 - one signed by H.A. Washington, one from Simon Stevens to New York Governor J.P. Morgan

Return to top