Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Tennessee Williams Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Tennessee Williams Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1959-1980
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Typescripts of several plays, one photograph and a note from Williams to Andy Warhol
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Tennessee Williams (1911-1983) was an American playwright. Among his best-known works are The Glass Menagerie, A Streetcar Named Desire, and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (the latter two won Williams the Pulitzer Prize for Drama in 1948 and 1955, respectively). He also wrote novels, screenplays, and short stories. Many of his works have been made into movies.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Tennessee Williams Collection consists of memorabilia and writings.

Memorabilia contains a publicity photograph and a handwritten note from Williams to Andy Warhol, with a sketched self-portrait.

Writings contains typescripts for several of Williams' plays, including The night of the iguana and Slapstick tragedy.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type and within that by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The donation of which this was part also contained published items by Williams, which have been sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Warhol, Andy, 1928-1987.
Williams, Tennessee, 1911-1983.

Associated Titles

Slapstick tragedy.
The fugitive kind.
The night of the iguana.

Subjects

American drama -- 20th century.
Dramatists, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.
Screenplays.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Dramatists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tennessee Williams Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Eric D. Sherman, 2017.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 25 Sep 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 1 Note and self-portrait, Tennessee Williams to Andy Warhol circa 1980
Box 1 Photograph 1978 - publicity portrait photograph
Writings
Box 1 The fugitive kind 1959 - cutting continuity with dialogue mimeographed transcript; issued, not published
Box 1 The fugitive kind, from the stageplay Orpheus Descending, screenplay by Tennessee Williams and Robert Meade 1959 - final draft, mimeographed typescript
Box 1 The night of the iguana 1961 - original mimeographed typescript, annotated as "final and approved New York playing version"; issued, not published
Box 1 Slapstick tragedy / The mutilated 1965 - original mimeographed typescript, annotated as "rehearsal version"
Box 1 Two plays by Tennessee Williams 1971 - original mimeographed typescripts, "I never get dressed til after dark on Sundays" and "The day on which a man dies: An accidental Noh play"; issued, not published

Return to top