Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Harry Emerson Wildes Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wildes, Harry Emerson, 1890-1982
Title: Harry Emerson Wildes Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1945-1953
Quantity: 3.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American sociologist, biographer, political advisor to the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP). Collection consists entirely of reports on post-World War II Japan.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harry Emerson Wildes (1890-1982) was an American sociologist and biographer. Among his best-known works are biographies of William Penn, George Fox and Anthony Wayne. During and after World War II he served as a political advisor to the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP), which was both the title held by General Douglas MacArthur and the collective name of his administrative office during the occupation of Japan (it was usually referred to in Japan as General Headquarters or GHQ). Wildes contributed to the drafting of the Japanese Constitution, drawing on the constitutions of other countries including the United States, France, Germany, and the Soviet Union.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harry Emerson Wildes Papers consists of reports and miscellaneous other documents generated for the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP), most of them focused on post-World War II Japan. There is one item by Wildes that was published in a

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wildes, Harry Emerson, 1890-1982.

Corporate Bodies

Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers.

Subjects

Historians -- Japan.
Historians -- United States.
Public health -- Japan.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Occupied territories,

Places

Japan -- History -- Allied occupation, 1945-1952.
Japan -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989.

Genres and Forms

Administrative reports.
Articles.
Bibliographies.
Chronologies.
Government records.
Official reports.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harry Emerson Wildes Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Harry Emerson Wildes, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 31 Oct 2010
Revision history: 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 4 Oct 2019 - processed (MC)

Return to top

Inventory

Reports
Box 1 Articles covering the five major Japanese political parties Sep 1946 - series of reports compiled by SCAP's Political Parties Branch, Public Administration Division, Government Section
Box 1 Catalog of administrative directives to the Japanese government, Volume I Apr 1947 - also called "SCAPIN-A's"; contains SCAPIN-A #1-2000, also cover only for Volume IV
Box 1 Civil Historical Section, Political and Social Affairs Division, miscellaneous Jul-Sep 1950 - reports on Japanese arts, culture, events; includes bibliographies, chronologies, summaries of movies and films, etc.
Box 1 Summation of non-military activities in Japan & Korea, No.'s 1-3 Sep-Dec 1945 (3 volumes in 3 folders)
Box 2 Summation of non-military activities in Japan & Korea, No.'s 4-5 Jan-Feb 1946 (2 volumes in 2 folders)
Box 2 Summation of non-military activities in Japan, No.'s 6-9 Mar-Jun 1946 - title changed with this volume (4 volumes in 4 folders)
Box 3 Summation of non-military activities in Japan, No.'s 10-16 Jul 1946-Jan 1947 (7 volumes in 7 folders)
Box 4 Summation of non-military activities in Japan, No.'s 17-22 Feb-Jul 1947 (7 volumes in 7 folders)
Box 5 Summation of non-military activities in Japan, No.'s 23-27 Aug-Dec 1947 (5 volumes in 5 folders)
Box 6 Summation of non-military activities in Japan, No.'s 28-32 Jan-May 1948 (5 volumes in 5 folders)
Box 7 Summation of non-military activities in Japan, No.'s 33-35 Jun-Aug 1948 (3 volumes in 3 folders)
Miscellaneous
Box 7 Index of JCS directives to Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers Dec 1948
Box 7 Post-war public health developments, by Harry Emerson Wildes 1953 - reprint from Contemporary Japan, Vol. XXI, Nos. 10-12 (3 copies)
Box 7 Stylebook, Civil Historical Section Nov 1950 - outline, purpose, typing style and formatting, etc.

Return to top