Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Colleen Wiessner Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wiessner, Colleen Aalsburg.
Title: Colleen Wiessner Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1998-2009
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of Dr. Colleen Wiessner, adult educator, relating to her work in the field of transformative learning, particularly in organizing conferences. Includes conference proceedings, research notes, photographs, audiocassettes, minicassettes, and computer media.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dr. Colleen Aalsburg Wiessner (1954-2009) was an American scholar specializing in adult education. She was an assistant professor in the Department of Leadership, Policy, and Adult and Higher Education at North Carolina State University. Receiving her Master's and Doctorate from Teacher's College, Columbia University, she studied under Dr. Jack Mezirow, who originated the concept of transformative learning. While Mezirow's student, she helped to coordinate the First National Conference on Transformative Learning in 1998, and continued to be involved in the recurring conference until her death in 2009. Renamed the International Conference on Transformative Learning two years after its start, the conference still continues under the name of the International Transformative Learning Conference.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Colleen Wiessner Papers consists of audio recordings, computer media, documents related to Wiessner's conferences and professional work, Wiessner's writings, and miscellaneous photographs and other printed material.

Audio recordings consists of cassettes containing interviews with specific individuals such as Jack Mezirow, as well as on specific topics such as Work Place Learning and conferences.

Computer media contains items related to conferences, as well as notes, articles, and research, including work by and related to Jack Mezirow.

Conferences consists of documents related to Wiessner's work on the International Conference on Transformative Learning, including conference proceedings, participant feedback, and promotional material.

Professional work includes items related to Wiessner's research involving focus groups, completed feedback forms from the NCSU New Learning Project, and notes on education theory.

Writings contains papers written by Wiessner, including items written while a Master's student under Jack Mezirow.

Miscellaneous contains abstracts of education papers; photographs, including some from an unidentified conference; and printed material, primarily items advertising books and events related to transformative learning and social advocacy.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided into six series, with each series arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Access to recordings requires advance notice to create a use copy.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Mezirow, Jack, 1923-2014.
Wiessner, Colleen Aalsburg.

Corporate Bodies

International Transformative Learning Conference.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Education -- Philosophy.
Transformative learning -- Congresses.
Transformative learning.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Brochures.
Conference proceedings.
Floppy disks.
Photographs.
Presentations (communicative events)
Research notes.
Sound recordings.
Typescripts.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Colleen Wiessner Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Victoria Marsick, 2016.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 9 Jan 2017
Revision history: 16 Aug 2017 - Audio cassettes and computer media inventory added and inclusive dates updated (PJM); 09 Jul 2019 - processed (DSA)

Return to top

Inventory

Audio recordings
Media descriptions are transcribed verbatim from items' existing labels.
Box 1 CIU COP undated 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_015)
Box 1 Ed O’Sullivan, Parts 1 and 2 04/22/2004 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_010)
Box 1 Elizabeth Kasl, Parts 1 and 2 04/22/2004 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_011)
Box 1 Elizabeth Kasl 04/22/2004 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_012)
Box 1 Jack Mezirow, Parts 1 and 2 04/14/2004 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_008)
Box 1 Jack Mezirow, Parts 3 and 4 04/14/2004 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_009)
Box 1 DC-SCH-1-1 ; John Dirkx undated 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_013)
Box 1 JSW-ST-1-1; Jasper (No.2) undated 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_001)
Box 1 JSW-P-1-2 undated 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_002)
Box 1 JSW-P-2-1; Practitioner Interview undated 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_003)
Box 1 Maxine Greene 12/06/1997 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_004)
Box 1 [Victoria] Marsick, Work Place Learning, Part 1 04/17/1998 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_005)
Box 1 [Victoria] Marsick, Work Place Learning, Part 2 04/17/1998 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_006)
Box 1 Victoria Marsick, Reflections on the Conferences (1-5) 04/05/2004 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_007)
Box 1 [Unknown] undated 1/8 inch audio cassette (ID#: wiessner_c_014)
Computer media
Media descriptions are transcribed verbatim from items' existing labels.
Box 4 Advent Readings undated - Advent Readings: Orem King, (Winthrop); Euro-Amer. Collab.; Parhen; Lennard/ Thompson/ Booth Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_018)
Box 4 Boot (Emergency) undated - Emergency boot disk Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_044)
Box 4 Carolyn Masterson Notes undated - Carolyn Masterson Notes, (done) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_031)
Box 4 Conference Proceeding from [Nil.Pfahl?] undated - Conference Proceeding from Nil.Pfahl, (6 documents WorldPerfect5.Windows) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_029)
Box 4 Discussion Notes - Karen Escolas, undated - Karen Escolas, Word 6.0: Discussion Notes, April 17th; Discussion Notes, April 16th; Belenky Notes, April 17th Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_042)
Box 4 Focus Groups and General Sessions undated - Focus Group; Discourse; Reflection; etc.; Focus Group - Workplace Orgn.; General Sessions - Mezirow, Kegan, Brochfield, Cranton; By Peter Hess, (done) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_032)
Box 4 GHI Story undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_040)
International Conference on Transformative Learning, 3rd, 2000
Box 4 TLC 2000 - TLC, (2000), (From Ann M. - done): TLDay1.wpd; TLDay2.wpd, (includes Kegan); Mary Belenb.wpd; Larry Datoz.wpd (Includes day3, recommendation); Victoria Marsick.wpd Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_028)
Box 4 TLC 2000 2000 - TLC 2000: TLC.paper.Janice.E.Clark. “Imagining Otherwise”. IBM -PC Windows 98; Microsoft Word 2000. Second and Final Submission Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_036)
Box 4 TLC 2000 2000 - TLC 2000: Presentation Notes - Stephen Brookfield: “The Critical Reflection Dimension”, from Lunda J. Belknap, Ed. D. Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_037)
Box 4 TLC Email list 2000; UNC Job App; Supporting Documents 2000 - TLC Email list 2000; UNC Job App; Supporting Doc., etc. Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_035)
International Conference on Transformative Learning, undated
Box 4 TLC undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_020)
Box 4 TLC undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_021)
Box 4 TLC undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_022)
Box 4 TLC undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_041)
Box 4 TL Conference: “Cosmic Heroes...”, Joanne Gozawa undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_045)
Box 4 TLC Proceedings undated - Misc. Disst. Purpose Grid: TLC Proceedings: Tara Amann; Ed O’Sullivan; Dororthy Ettling; Sue; Scoth; Hazi Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_019)
Box 4 JKL undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_023)
Box 4 Mezirow Chapter undated - Mezirow Chapter: H. Prop Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_033)
Box 4 [Mezirow] Files undated - Mez. Files: Brannon; Yarosz; Davis; Cohen; Muhihill; Valek Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_024)
Box 4 [Mezirow] Files undated - Mez. Files: Wallis; Gozawa (update); Lopez, (sent w/ Luddy, Latson, Lopez); Alnadeff; Tisdele, (update); Sawyer (1); Sawyer (2) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_025)
Box 4 [Mezirow] Files undated - Mez. Files: Luddy, Lopez; Latson; Taylor, Sawyer, Dirkx; Smith Brown; Cranton, Roy, Linline; Cranton; Golia Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_026)
Box 4 [Mezirow] Files: Early doctoral files to use, review undated - Mez. Files: Early doctoral files to use/ review; TLC too? Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_027)
Box 4 [Mezirow] Files: ECCW Workshop undated - Mez. Files: ECCW Workshop: Jenson - Quad; Taylor - Women in City; Peddigrew; O’Neill; Coleman; Diaz Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_017)
National Conference on Transformative Learning, 1st, 1998
Box 4 Changing Adult Frames of Reference, Conference Proceedings of The First National Conference on Transformative Learning 04/15/1998; 04/17/1998 - Conference Proceedings, The First National Conference on Transformative Learning, (April 15-17, 1998) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_043)
Box 4 Insights from the First National Conference on Transformative Learning undated - Colleen Aalsburg Wiessner [sic] and Cheryl A. Smith, 1. Chapter; 2. Colleen Bio; 3. Cheryl Bio, (Word 97) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_039)
Box 4 Sharon Lamm’s Research Notes undated - Sharon Lamm’s Research Notes - world perfect 6.1; Good, Kegan back up, (done) Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_030)
Box 4 Teams; Vattimo; L. O. undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_034)
Box 4 TL Book Chapter undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_038)
Box 4 Transformative Learning as Meaning Becoming Clarified, J. Mezirow; Microsoft Word undated - Floppy disk: 3 1/2 inch (ID#: wiessner_c_016)
Conferences
See Computer media for more material relating to the International Conference on Transformative Learning.
Box 2 International Conference on Transformative Learning, 3rd 2000 - includes conference proceedings (5 folders)
See also Computer media: International Conference on Transformative Learning, 3rd, 2000.
Box 2 International Conference on Transformative Learning, 4th 2001 - includes papers presented at conference (3 folders)
Box 2 International Conference on Transformative Learning, 5th 2003 - conference proceedings
Box 2 International Conference on Transformative Learning, 6th 2005
Box 2 International Conference on Transformative Learning, 8th 2009
Box 2 National Conference on Transformative Learning, 1st 1998
See also Computer media: National Conference on Transformative Learning, 1st, 1998.
Box 2 National Conference on Transformative Learning, 2nd 1999
Box 2 Standing Conference on University Teaching and Research in the Education of Adults, 34th 2004
Box 2 Unidentified conferences, expenses 2001-2002
Box 2 Unidentified conference, participant feedback 2006
Professional work
Box 3 Focus groups undated - topics, schedules, and instructions for researchers
Box 3 NCSU New Learning Project undated - participant feedback (2 folders)
Box 3 Notes undated - thoughts on education theory, for unidentified talk or paper (3 folders)
Writings
Box 3 Choreographing theory development undated
Box 3 Reflections on a happening undated (2 folders)
Box 3 Where have we been? Where are we going? undated
Miscellaneous
Box 3 Abstracts 2000-2006 - includes material by Jack Mezirow
Box 3 Photographs undated - some depicting unidentified conference (4 folders)
Box 3 Printed material 2000-2007

Return to top