Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Whitaker, Frederic
Title:	Frederic Whitaker Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1928-2005
Quantity:	65 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American painter (1891-1980). Correspondence, published material, paintings, and sketches.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Frederic Whitaker (1891-1980) was an award-winning American artist and writer on painting and art. Whitaker began his artistic career as a metalsmith, working for Gorham Manufacturing Company and Tiffany & Co. and later founding two companies of his own. However, it was as a watercolorist that he became most famous and when he retired in 1949 he devoted himself full-time to painting. He was also active in the promotion of the arts, particularly painting; he was a member of the National Academy of Design, a Fellow of Britain's Royal Society of Arts, served seven years as president of the American Watercolor Society, and founded Audubon Artists. He received numerous awards and recognitions for his work, and was the author of two books and numerous articles and essays on painting, art, and political topics of the day.

Whitaker's wife Eileen Monaghan (1911-2005) was also a painter of watercolors; though less widely known than her husband, she was an important artist in her own right. The couple married in 1943 and often exhibited their work in joint shows. Eileen was a member of the American Watercolor Society, the recipient of many awards, and in 1978 she became only the second woman to be elected to the National Academy of Design's watercolor division.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frederic and Eileen Monaghan Whitaker Papers is divided into seven series: American Watercolor Society material, Artwork, Correspondence, Eileen Whitaker material, Memorabilia, Printed material, and Writings.

American Watercolor Society (AWS) material contains correspondence, committee information, publications such as newsletters and publicity, the AWS constitution and revisions, meeting minutes, reports, material on special projects undertaken by the AWS, and more. Much of this material dates from Frederic's tenure as president of the Society.

Artwork contains both original artwork and reproductions. Works include sketches, drawings, pencil tracings, and of course watercolors. Included here are some examples of Whitaker's work used in publications, as for example the Prudential Company's annual report.

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing correspondence with artists, galleries, publishers,art schools, art organizations, family and friends. Correspondents of note include Walt Disney, Clara Fasano, Boyland Fitzgerald, William Gropper, Jimmy Hatlo, Anna Hyatt Huntington, Janice Lovoos (Whitaker biographer), Edmondo Quattrocchi, and more.

Eileen Whitaker material consists of a small amount of material related solely to Frederic's wife Eileen. This includes awards, biographical material, clippings, and other items.

Memorabilia contains a wide range of items, from address books to souvenir paintbrushes. The bulk of this series consists of photographs taken by the Whitakers both in the United States and other countries, and scrapbooks.

Printed material includes articles, clippings and exhibit catalogs. The majority of the clippings related to either Frederic or Frederic and Eileen, but there is also one folder of clippings related solely to Eileen.

Whitaker's Writings include articles, drafts of his autobiography and an assortment of biographical sketches, essays on a variety of topics (art, beauty, charity, equality, free enterprise, noncitizens/immigrants, tolerance, taxes, prostitution, and many more), and a few other items such as a poem.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Within each series, material is arranged alphabetically with the exception of clippings and articles, which are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A large number of published books and monographs by and about the Whitakers have been removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. To locate these items, please refer to the Classic Catalog and search for "Gift of Frederic Whitaker".

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many notable painters, sculptors and cartoonists. Additional Whitaker material may be found in the papers of Anna Hyatt Huntington, Eliot Candee Clark, Moissaye Marans and Norman Kent, among others.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frederic Whitaker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JMB
Date: Sep 1978
Revision history: 16 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 12 Sep 2011 - additions processed (JMB); 10 May 2016 - updates and minor corrections (MRC); 17 Jan 2018 - Eucharistic Congress drawings, tube 1, added (MRC); 20 Sep 2018 - Eucharistic Congress drawings, OS 6, added (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	American Watercolor Society
Box 1		Arcier Project
		Awards
Box 1			Data and possibilities 1952
Box 1			Letters to donors 1957
Box 1			Watercolor of the Year Award 1951
		AWS organizational material
Box 1			Annual Report and Foreword 1958
Box 1			Letters to Fred (Pre-Presidency) 1956-1968 (3 folders)
Box 1			Meeting minutes 1978-1981 (2 folders)
Box 1			Newsletters 1993-2005 (2 folders)
Box 1			AWS Annual 1956
Box 1			AWS Annual Show 1951
Box 1			AWS Expansion undated
Box 1			AWS Information Center undated
Box 1			AWS Miscellaneous
Box 2		Changes for 1953 1953
Box 2		Cocktail Party Press
		Committees
Box 2			Advertising 1953-1954
Box 2			Associated Members 1953
Box 2			Awards 1955
Box 2			Catalog 1954
Box 2			Catalog Advertisements 1953
Box 2			Constitution Revision 1952
Box 2			Cultural Relations 1952
Box 2			Demonstrations 1953
Box 2			Dinner 1953-1954
Box 2			Duties
Box 2			Exhibition 1954
Box 2			Finance 1954
Box 2			Gasser / Grumbacher undated
Box 2			Gifts and Bequests 1952-1953
Box 2			Historian 1950-1952
Box 2			Members 1952-1953
Box 2			Officers, Addresses 1952
Box 2			Olson Awards
Box 2			Personnel of Committees 1953-1954
Box 2			Public Relations 1953
Box 2			Regional 1952-1953
Box 2			Regional Washington
Box 2			Society-Tie Up 1952
Box 2		Cooper Spec. meeting
		Correspondence
Box 2			Allied Artists
Box 2			Arrangements with NAD
Box 2			Awards
Box 2			AWS material 1954-1955
Box 2			Committees
Box 2			Eileen (2 folders)
Box 3			Eileen (Kent Day Coes)
Box 3			Gibson Art Company
Box 3			Members
Box 3			Non-Members
Box 3			Officers
Box 3			Secretary
Box 3			Treasurer
Box 3			Walleen
Box 3		Demonstrators
Box 3		Dinner 1952
Box 3		Exhibition 1951
Box 3		Fund-raising
Box 3		Fund-raising foundations
Box 4		Grand Prize
Box 4		Hague Certificate
Box 4		Information booklet
		Informative [material]
Box 4			1953-1955 Exhibition Schedule
Box 4			Artist Labs
Box 4			Constitution
Box 4			Data
Box 4			Duties of President and Vice President
Box 4			Schedules
Box 4			Voting results 1955
Box 4		Invitations to AWS Exhibit
Box 4		Jury of Awards 1982
Box 4		Letterhead design
		Letters
Box 4			Alphaeus Cole protest
Box 4			Art Jury in Action
Box 4			Associated member leaflets
Box 4			AWCS printed forms
Box 4			AWS donor leaflets
Box 4			Biographical questionnaire
Box 4			Membership in AWS
Box 4			Miscellaneous
Box 4			President Harry S. Truman
Box 4			President's Report Feb 1954
Box 4			President's Report Aug 1954
Box 4			To members
Box 4			To new members
Box 4			Various forms
Box 4			Why AWS needs money
Box 4		M.C.
Box 4		Meeting material
Box 4		Mildew on paper
Box 4		Miscellaneous papers
Box 4		New donors / Patrons
		Paper
Box 4			Advertising
Box 4			Agreement
Box 4			Arcier
Box 4			AWS paper advertising
Box 4			Grumbacher endorsement
Box 4			Kornreich insurance
Box 4			Stevens-Nelson Paper Company
Box 4		Plessner picture project
Box 5		Press releases 1945-1949
Box 5		Publicity 1955
Box 5		Publicity material ideas 1954
		Records
Box 5			AIMS undated
Box 5			Financial 1951-1952
Box 5			Lena Newcastle 1952
Box 5			Letters to speakers 1951
Box 5			Meeting material 1951-1954
Box 5			Treasury figures 1954-1958
		Reports
Box 5			Minutes, official records 1951-1954
Box 5			National Arts Club dinner 1950
Box 5			Speeches to AWS 1953-1954
Box 5		Robert Lesch Company 1955
		Special projects
Box 5			AWA undated (2 folders)
Box 5			Grumbacher undated
Box 5			History 1953
Box 5			Publicity AWCS undated
Box 5			Reuel, Estill, Co. 1950
Box 5		The Spanish Institute 1955
Box 5		Vital statistics 1953
Box 5		Voting data 1955
Box 5		Walter White plan 1952 (*)

	Artwork
Box 6		Color reproductions
Box 6		Color sketches (9 folders)
Box 6		Drawings for American Watercolor Society
Box 6		Illustrations for articles
Tube 1		National Eucharistic Congress, 8th, held in October of 1938 in New Orleans, LA 1938 - designs, working drawings, and sketches for ostensorum, candelabra, crucifixes, etc., at various levels of detail
Oversize 6		National Eucharistic Congress, 8th, held in October of 1938 in New Orleans, LA 1938 - drawings for coats of arms and shields for archdiocese of New Orleans
Box 7		Paintings (matted) (3 folders)
		Pencil sketches
Box 7			[General] (4 folders)
Oversize 1			[General] (oversize)
Box 7			Church (2 folders)
Box 7			Manufactured goods
Box 7			Mexico and Spain
Box 8			Mexico and Spain (cont.)
Box 8		Pencil tracings
		Photographs of Fred Whitaker [MISSING May 2016] (2 folders)
Box 8		Photostats (2 folders)
Box 8		Printed miscellanea
		Prudential
Box 8			Annual report 1971
Box 8			Calendar undated
Box 8			General 1963 - includes b&w photographs of sketches
Box 8			Houston 1963
Box 8			Los Angeles 1964 (2 folders)
Box 8			Minneapolis undated
Box 8			Newark 1964
Box 8			Toronto 1964
Box 8		Watercolors (2 folders)
Box 9		Watercolors (4 folders)
Box 9		Watercolor sketches (6 folders)
Box 10		Watercolors (6 folders)
Box 10		Watercolors (matted) (2 folders)
Oversize 2		Watercolors (oversize)

	Correspondence
Box 11		Miscellaneous - A
Box 11		Abrahamsen, Christian 1958-1974
Box 11		Academic Artists Association 1959, 1965-1970, 1953-1962, 1958-1960
Box 11		Abbott, Robert undated
Box 11		Acevedo, Guillermo 1968-1972
Box 11		Acker, Perry 1965-1974
Box 11		Addison Gallery of American Art 1939
Box 11		Allied Artists of America 1944-1966 (2 folders)
Box 11		Allied Publications, Inc. 1962-1967
Box 11		Amateur Artists Association of America, Inc. 1951-1957
Box 11		American Art in Sports, Inc. 1957-1958
Box 11		American Artist 1943-2004 (3 folders)
Box 11		American Artists Group, Inc. 1945
Box 11		American Artists Professional League, Inc. 1948-1970 (3 folders)
Box 12		American Artist Societies, Council of 1968-1970 (3 folders)
Box 12		American Society of Miniature Painters 1956-1958
Box 12		American Artist Professional League 1948
Box 12		American Veteran's Society of Artists Inc. 1950-1971
Box 12		America's Artists in Particular 1959-1960
Box 12		Anargyros, Spero 1966-1967
Box 12		Anderson, Harry 1958, 1968
Box 12		Archdiocese of New Orleans 1972
Box 12		Architectural League of New York 1945, 1956
Box 12		Argent Galleries 1941
Box 12		Arizona Highways 1972
Box 12		Armory Show 1964
Box 12		Arms, John 1945-1947
Box 12		Arroyo, Mercedes (Mrs. Nicolas) 1966-1969
Box 12		Art Association Guild 1964
Box 12		Art Association of Newport 1945
Box 12		Art Centre of the Oranges 1945-1959
Box 12		Art Institute of Chicago 1944
Box 12		Art League of Long Island, Inc. 1957
Box 12		The Art Times 1959-1964
Box 12		Artist Publishing Company 1954-1961
Box 12		Artists and Craftsmen Associated (Dallas, Texas) 1962-1972 (2 folders)
Box 13		Artists' Fellowship, Inc 1948-1974
Box 13		Artists Guild Incorporated 1941
Box 13		The Artists Magazine 1993
Box 13		Artists U.S.A. 1970
Box 13		Arts Club of Chicago 1942-1943
Box 13		The Arts Centre of Rancho Santa Fe 1974-1978 (2 folders)
Box 13		Arvidson, Betsy 1997-2004
Box 13		Athenaeum 1966
Box 13		Attleboro Museum, Inc. 1950
Box 13		Audubon Artists 1965-1980
Box 13		Avery, Ralph 1957-1969
Box 13		Miscellaneous - B (2 folders)
Box 13		Babishvili, Vladimir undated
Box 13		Baker Gallery 1978-1982
Box 13		Baltimore Watercolor Club 1950-1966
Box 13		Barnaby, Conrad 1966-1969
Box 13		Barnum Festival Art Show 1962
Box 13		Barrington Art Show undated
Box 13		Bartell, George 1968
Box 13		Beaugureau-Schimmel Gallery 1956-1967, undated
Box 14		Bender, Bill 1972-1973
Box 14		Bernard & Grunning 1938 (4 folders)
Box 14		Betts, Edward 1968-1969
Box 14		Blegvad, Eric 1961
Box 14		Bockhorst, Paul 2002-2003
Box 14		Bohnert, Rosetta 1955-1956
Box 14		Boston Arts Festival 1956
Box 14		Boston Committee for Fair Representation in Art Exhibitions 1961
Box 14		Boston Museum of Fine Arts 1957-1958
Box 14		Boston Society of Water Color Painters 1953-1957
Box 14		Bradshaw Gallery 1996-1997
Box 14		Brandon, Warren 1966-1973
Box 14		Brandt, Rexford and Joan 1966
Box 14		Brewl, Harold 1943-1964, undated
Box 14		Bridgeport Art League 1959
Box 14		Brinker, Aquinas P. 1943-1951
Box 14		Brommer, Gerald 1972-2004
Box 14		Bruggers Fine Arts and Transfer Co., Inc. undated
Box 14		Burr Galleries 1957-1959
Box 14		Butler Institute of American Art 1942-1959
Box 14		Miscellaneous - C (2 folders)
Box 14		California Exposition Art Show 1970-1971
Box 14		California Watercolor Society 1949-1968
Box 15		Campbell, Cameron 1994-2001
Box 15		Camelback Galleries 1949
Box 15		Campos Photography 1998-1999
Box 15		Carnes, Michael and Suzanne 1986-2003
Box 15		Carr, Jim Gordon 1959-1967
Box 15		Carter, Mary 1955-1989
Box 15		Castaňon Custom Frames 1990-2004
Box 15		Catherine Lorillard Wolfe Art Club 1963
Box 15		Cayuga Museum of History and Art 1944-1955
Box 15		Challis Galleries 1966-1967
Box 15		Chase National Bank 1949-1960
Box 15		Chouinard Art Institute 1956
Box 15		Checkley, David 1961-1972
Box 15		Cianfarani, Aristide B. 1946-1960
Box 15		Circle Gallery 1974-1996
Box 15		Cirino, Antonio 1965-1977
Box 15		Clark, Eliot 1954-1962
Box 15		Clement, Charles 1966-1967
Box 15		Close, Frank (Mrs.) 1969-1973
Box 15		Coes, Kent 1955-1966
Box 15		Code of Fair Practice 1948-1952
Box 15		Committee for Fair Representation in Art Exhibitions 1961
Box 15		Community Art Project 1942
Box 15		Conacher Galleries 1970
Box 15		Connecticut Academy of Fine Arts 1957-1958
Box 15		Connecticut Classic Arts 1959, 1962
Box 15		Connecticut Watercolor Society 1948-1959
Box 15		Cooper, Mario 1960-1972
Box 15		Copenhagen Gallery 1976
Box 15		Copley Newspapers 1974-1984
Box 15		Corrigan, James 1952-1959
		Council of American Artist Societies
Box 16			[General] 1962-1963
Box 16			Publicity Releases undated
Box 16			American Artists Professional League 1967
Box 16			Council letterhead undated
Box 16			Exhibitions 1963
Box 16			Informative data undated
Box 16			Artist/manufacturer relations 1963
Box 16			Frank Reilly 1963-1964
Box 16			Frank C. Wright, Jr. 1963
				See also Wright, Frank C. below.
Box 16		Council of Traditional Artists Societies 1967-1970
Box 16		Court, Lee Winslow 1961-1968
Box 16		Cowboy Hall of Fame 1973-1975
Box 16		Cowie Galleries 1952
Box 16		Cox, Barbara 1992-1994
Box 16		Crafton Hills College 1980
Box 16		Creative Club 1963
Box 16		Crisp, Arthur 1956
Box 16		Currier Gallery of Art 1944
Box 16		Miscellaneous - D
Box 16		Daggett, Noel 1962
Box 16		Damrosch, Dr. Walter 1947
Box 16		Danbury Academy of the Arts 1963
Box 16		Dartmoor Artists 1954
Box 16		DeHellebranth, Elena M. 1958-1965
Box 16		DeLue, Donald 1952-1969
Box 16		DeMaine, Harry and Lucy 1942, 1974
Box 16		Desert-Southwest Art Gallery 1960-1970
Box 16		Dictionary of Artists 1966-1967
Box 16		Discussions conducted by Frederic Whitaker 1947-1955
Box 16		Disney, Walt 1965
Box 16		Dixie College 1965-1967
Box 16		Dole, John S 1966-1967
Box 16		Donald Art Publications 1944
Box 16		Douglaston Art League 1959
Box 16		Doyle, William and Anita Figueredo 1967-2003
Box 16		Miscellaneous - E
Box 16		Eccles, Albert E. (Mr. and Mrs.) 1960-1973
Box 16		Edward-Dean Museum of Decorative Arts 1967-1970
		Edwin Austin Abbey Scholarship Fund
			See Incorporated Edwin Austin Abbey Memorial Scholarship Fund.
Box 16		Egan, John 1981
Box 16		Eighth Street Gallery & Art School 1942
Box 17		El Camino Memorial Park 1980-1995
Box 17		Eliot O'Hara Watercolor School 1955
Box 17		Ellenshaw, Peter 1972
Box 17		Ellison, Cy 1966-1994
Box 17		Emerson-Bailey, Richard 1961
Box 17		Engel, Michael 1944-1963
Box 17		Miscellaneous - F
Box 17		Fabri, Ralph 1947-1974
Box 17		Falsone, Jack 1992, 2002
Box 17		Famous Artists School 1950-1962
Box 17		Faragil Galleries 1940-1942, 1963
Box 17		Fasano, Clara 1957
Box 17		Feeley, Joe and Velma 1965-1968
Box 17		Fifty American Artists 1953
Box 17		Fine Arts Collectors Club, Inc. 1966-1967
Box 17		Fine Arts Federation of New York 1947-1964
Box 17		Fine Arts Gallery (Society) of San Diego 1967-1972
Box 17		Fischer, Frederick 1969-1970
Box 17		Fitzgerald, Boyland 1958-1959
Box 17		Fleuridas, Andre 1967
Box 17		Flint, Russell 1950
Box 17		Florida Southern College 1950-1952
Box 17		Foster, Will 1972
Box 17		Foster, Walter 1967
Box 17		Founders Gallery (University of San Diego) 1981-1994
Box 17		Francis, Emily A. (Contemporary Arts Gallery) 1960
Box 17		Frank Reilly's School of Art 1962
Box 17		Franklin Mint 1973-1974
Box 17		Franz, Leslie 1968
Box 17		Frohlich, Minnette 1966-1967, 1982
Box 18		Frye Museum 1980-1994
Box 18		Fuller, Harvey 1983, 1994-1995
Box 18		Miscellaneous - G
Box 18		Gallerias Cortez 1976
Box 18		The Gallery of Distinguished Artists 1970
Box 18		Gallery of Southwestern Art 1953-1954
Box 18		Gammell, R.H. Ives 1959
Box 18		Garth, John 1964-1970
Box 18		Gasser, Henry 1946, 1955-1969
Box 18		Gibson, George 1970-1992
Box 18		Glanzman, Louis 1962
Box 18		Glicksman, Allen 1960
Box 18		Global Advertising Services, Inc. 1965-1966
Box 18		Gorsline, Douglas 1964
Box 18		Gramatky, Hardie 1959-1968
Box 18		Gramatky-Smith Family 1989-2001
Box 18		Grand Central Art Galleries 1944-1971
Box 18		Grant, Gordon 1941, 1943, 1954
Box 18		Graphology 1987
Box 18		Greenwich Society of Artists 1953
Box 18		Gropper, William undated
Box 18		Gubing, Ruth 1966-1970
Box 18		Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1956
Box 18		Guild of Boston Artists 1959
Box 18		Guatemala 1991-1998
Box 18		Gute, Herbert J. 1961-1964
Box 19		Miscellaneous - H
Box 19		Haddock, Arthur 1955-1956
Box 19		Hall of Fame [of American Artists] 1960-1970
Box 19		Halladay, Allan 1960-1970
Box 19		Hammond, A.H. Knighton 1959-1960
Box 19		Harbor Art Galleries 1955
Box 19		Hardin, Adlai S. 1960
Box 19		Hartford Society of Women Painters, Inc. 1958
Box 19		Hartley, Harrison 1955-1964
Box 19		Harvey, Gerald (G. Harvey Gallery) 1965
Box 19		Hassrick, Royal B. 1974
Box 19		Hatfield Gallery 1966-1969
Box 19		Hatlo, Jimmy 1950
Box 19		Heitland, Bill 1949-1962
Box 19		Henry & Cahill, LLP. 2002
Box 19		Herman, Vic 1968-1973
Box 19		Hermes, Ernest 1940
Box 19		Hibiscus Alley 1949-1950
Box 19		Hillbom, Henrik undated
Box 19		Hill, Thomas J. 1958-1971
Box 19		Hines, Diane C. 1990-1991
Box 19		Hoban, Russell C. 1961
Box 19		Hobbelink-Kaastra Art Gallery 1958
Box 19		Holden, Donald 1965
Box 19		Holly, Harold 1965-1970
Box 20		Horatio Alger Award 1973-1976
Box 20		Horse Museum 1957
Box 20		Houlihan, Raymond F. 1965
Box 20		Hudson Valley Art Association 1950-1961
Box 20		A. Huney Gallery 1975-1990 (2 folders)
Box 20		Hunt, Dr. E. Woodrow 1953
Box 20		Huntington, Anna 1928
Box 20		Huntingtons, Jon Kery 1928
Box 20		Huntington Hartford Foundation 1963-1965
Box 20		Miscellaneous - I
Box 20		Incorporated Edwin Austin Abbey Memorial Scholarship Fund 1952
Box 20		International Art Services, Inc. 1988
Box 20		International Association of Plastic Arts 1953-1956
Box 20		International Studio Art Corporation 1940
Box 20		Irvington Art and Museum Association 1952
Box 20		Isaac Delgado Museum of Art 1951
Box 20		Ishikawa, Shinji 1954-1968
Box 20		Insurance companies 1942
Box 21		Miscellaneous - J
Box 21		Jambor, Louis 1945 (2 folders)
Box 21		Jenckes, Thomas A. 1936-1938
Box 21		Jennings, Jan 1975-2005 - correspondence, manuscript, Whitaker Foundation correspondence (3 folders)
Box 21		Jones, Franklin 1966
Box 21		Jones Gallery 1966
Box 21		Jordan Marsh Company 1958-1961
Box 21		Jung, Kwan Y. and Yee Wah 1971-2002 (2 folders)
Box 21		Miscellaneous - K
Box 21		Kabat, Jack 1963-1964
Box 21		Kaep, Louis 1951-1973
Box 21		Kalin, Victor B. 1988-2002
Box 22		Kappa Pi National Honorary Art Fraternity 1949-1950
Box 22		Kelly, Deidre 1991-2003
Box 22		Kennedy Galleries, Inc. 1957-1958
Box 22		Kenneth Lynch & Son, Inc. 1941
Box 22		Kent, Norman 1960-1971 (5 folders)
Box 22		Kery, Jon 1972-1992 (3 folders)
Box 22		Kester, Lenard 1959-1967, 1992
Box 22		Kinghan, Charles 1961-1969
Box 22		Kingman, Dong undated
		Kinyon, Robert
			See Millsap & Kinyon.
Box 22		Klein, George 1944-1950, 1972
Box 22		Knickerbocker Artists 1956-1957
Box 23		Koch, John 1964
Box 23		Kocherthaler, Mina 1957-1964
Box 23		Kohler Art Center 1974
Box 23		Kosa, Emil 1951-1968
Box 23		Kroll, Leon 1945-1946
Box 23		Miscellaneous - L
Box 23		Lacy, Ernest 1988
Box 23		Laguna Beach Art Association 1960-1967
Box 23		La Jolla Art Association 1967
Box 23		La Jolla Branch, San Diego Public Library 1996-2003
Box 23		La Jolla Museum 1969
Box 23		La Jolla Village News 1996-1999
Box 23		Lamb, Adrian 1962
Box 23		Lancaster Open Juried Art Show 1959
Box 23		Lang, Ann 1943-1944
Box 23		Lange, Herman and Natja 1972-1983
Box 23		Larsen, Edwin (Ted) 1965-1966
Box 23		Laszlo, George 1946
Box 23		Lathrop, Gertrude K. 1966
Box 23		La Revue Moderne 1960
Box 23		Leason, Max A. 1963-1964
Box 23		Leason, Percy 1945-1959
Box 23		Leith-Ross, Harry 1957
Box 23		Le Vitrail Francais 1957
Box 23		Lincourt, Evelyn 1967-1969
Box 23		Liturgical Arts Society, Inc. 1942-1943
Box 23		Lloyd, R. McAllister 1964-1982
Box 23		Lober, Georg 1945-1946
Box 23		Logan, Kickapoo 1971-1973
Box 23		Lovell, Tom 1990-1997
		Lovoos, Janice - relating to her book on Whitaker
Box 23			[General] 1965-2002
Box 24			[General, cont.] 1965-2002 (2 folders)
Box 24			Correspondence 1970
Box 24			Captions 1970
Box 24			Miscellaneous 1970
Box 24			Reference material 1970
Box 24		Loring, Ginny (Mrs. Paule) 1959-1969
Box 24		Longheed, Robert E. 1957-1974
Box 24		Lowe Foundation 1954-1955
Box 24		Lowell Art Association 1961
Box 24		Lukits, Theo N. undated
Box 24		Lulz, Dan 1968
Box 24		Miscellaneous - M (2 folders)
Box 24		Maccoy, Guy 1973-1974
Box 25		MacDowell Colony 1968-1969
Box 25		MacLeod, Robert 1965-1993
Box 25		Macomber, Allison 1950
Box 25		Madsen, Roy and Barbara 1971
Box 25		Mahoney, Charles A. 1984-1988
Box 25		Manno, Joseph undated
Box 25		Marans, Moissaye 1963
Box 25		Marblehead Arts Association 1952
Box 25		Martin, Linda Whitaker 2003-2005
Box 25		Mary Moore Gallery 1987
Box 25		Mason, Roy 1950-1973 (2 folders)
Box 25		Massachusetts College of Art (Mass Art) 1998-2003
Box 25		Maxwell, John 1977-1983
Box 25		McCann, Mrs. Charles 1971-1972
Box 25		McCleery-Cumming Company, Inc. 1969
Box 25		McGrew, R. Brownell 1971
Box 25		Meier, Henry 1967-1972
Box 25		Metropolitan Museum of Art 1950-1985
Box 25		Meyer, Susan 1971-1975
Box 25		Miller, Barse 1952-1968
Box 26		Miller, Gerhard 1963-1969
		Millsap, Darrell W.
			See Millsap & Kinyon.
Box 26		Millsap & Kinyon 1968
Box 26		Mingei Museum 1996-2003
Box 26		Mint Museum undated
Box 26		Mississippi State College for Women 1965
Box 26		Moddie, John 1963
Box 26		Mofchum, Gerald 1963-1968
Box 26		Mongerson Gallery 1984
Box 26		Monjo, Enrique 1956-1963
Box 26		Monroe, Lee and Barbara ("Bobbie") 1985, 1994, 2004
Box 26		Montclair Art Museum 1946
Box 26		Montgomery, Jack 1965-1973
Box 26		Morgan, Neil 1979-2004
Box 26		Mueller, Chris 1971
Box 26		Muganini, Joseph 1974
Box 26		Municipal Art Society 1946-1947
Box 26		Munson, Ruth 1969
Box 26		Museum of Art, Science & Industry 1961-1966
Box 26		Museum of Fine Arts (Little Rock, Arkansas) 1959
Box 26		Miscellaneous - N
Box 26		Nancarrow, Loren 1996
		National Academy of Design
Box 26			[General] 2000-2003 (3 folders)
Box 27			[General] 1956-2003 (8 folders)
Box 28			[General] 1959-1960 (1 folders)
Box 28			Changes to be considered 1961
Box 28			Constitutional amendments 1960-1961 (2 folders)
Box 28			Constitutional changes 1961
Box 28			EXH Committee 1963
Box 28			Informative 1960
Box 28			Membership 1956
Box 28			Membership Committee 1961
Box 28			Miscellaneous 1961-1962
Box 28			Points accepted by committee 1961
Box 28			Present Constitution 1960
Box 28			Watercolor Committee 1948
Box 28		National Arts Club 1964-1980 (2 folders)
Box 28		National Council for U.S. Art, Inc. 1955
Box 28		National Council on the Arts and Government 1956
Box 28		National Orange Show Exhibition 1970
Box 28		National Sculpture Society 1951-1958
Box 28		National Society of Mural Painters 1945-1946
Box 28		National Society of Painters in Casein, Inc. 1955
Box 28		National Watercolor Society 1991-1992
Box 28		Negrón, David 1970
Box 28		Neville Public Museum 1945
Box 29		New Britain Museum of American Art 1961, 1973
Box 29		New England Watercolor Society 1985-1986
Box 29		New Haven Paint and Clay Club, Inc. 1951-1963
Box 29		New Jersey Watercolor Society 1946, 1955
Box 29		New York World's Fair 1964
Box 29		Newhouse Galleries, Inc. 1954
Box 29		Newton Galleries 1960
Box 29		Nicholas, Thomas A. 1966-1971
Box 29		Nisbet, Robert H. 1959-1963
Box 29		Noble, Houston 1966-1972
Box 29		Norfolk Museum 1956-1966
Box 29		North Shore Arts Association 1944
Box 29		Northland Press 1969-1985
Box 29		Northlight 1966-1982
Box 29		Norton Gallery and School of Art 1943-1945
Box 29		Nye, Vernon 1967-1974
Box 29		Miscellaneous - O undated
Box 29		O'Brien's Art Emporium 1972-1973 (3 folders)
Box 29		Oakland Art Gallery 1942-1950
Box 29		Oakley, Thorton 1951
Box 29		Oehler, Helen 1945-1974
Box 29		Oklahoma Museum of Conservative Art 1963
Box 29		Oklahoma Museum of Art 1969-1976
Box 30		Old Bergen Art Guild 1966-1969
Box 30		Old Town Circle 1972
Box 30		Old Town Galleries 1967-1976 (2 folders)
Box 30		Olsen, Herb 1957-1968
Box 30		Ortlieb, Robert undated
Box 30		Miscellaneous - P
Box 30		Palm Desert Gallery 1970-1973
Box 30		Panoras Gallery 1957-1958
Box 30		Parkersburg Fine Arts Center 1943
Box 30		Parrish Art Museum 1962
Box 30		Partridge, Roi 1972-1975
Box 30		Pauma Village Art Gallery undated
Box 30		Peirce, Gerry 1967
Box 30		Pellew, John C. 1962-1972, 1982-1988
Box 30		Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts 1967
Box 30		Permanent Pigments, Inc 1957-1958
Box 30		Petersen, Christian 1956-1961
Box 30		Philadelphia Museum College of Art 1960
Box 31		Philadelphia Water Color Club 1947-1959
Box 31		Phillips, James March 1968
Box 31		Phoenix Art Museum 1971-1972
Box 31		Pike, John 1943, 1965-1970
Box 31		Pilots Employment Agency 1956
Box 31		Post Publishing Co. 1958
Box 31		Pincus, Robert 2003
Box 31		Pitz, Henry 1956-1958, 1970
Box 31		Plainfield Art Association 1944
Box 31		Pleissner, Ogden 1956-1957
Box 31		Portman, John Raymond (Monsignor) undated
Box 31		Potts, Thos. 1965
Box 31		The Print Room 1955
Box 31		Procter, Burt 1971-1974
Box 31		Providence Art Club 1939-1947, 1964
Box 31		Providence Watercolor Club 1943-1975
Box 31		Purdy, Donald R. undated
Box 31		Putman, Donald 1967-1969
Box 31		Puzinas, Paul and Austra 1970-1975
Box 31		Quattrocchi, Edmondo 1961, 1996-1998
Box 31		Miscellaneous - R
Box 31		Raveson, Sherman 1955
Box 31		Rawlins, Eva 1965-1966
Box 31		Ray, Ruth 1956
Box 31		Reading Public Museum and Art Gallery 1962-1964
Box 31		Reagan, Ronald 1971
Box 31		Reed, Doel 1967-1968
Box 31		Reed, William 1971
Box 31		Regan, Catherine 1979-2000
Box 31		Reid, Albert T. 1952
Box 31		Reilly, David (Reilly, Oliver & Olsen, Ltd.) 1996-1997
Box 32		Reilly, Richard 1977-1995 (2 folders)
Box 32		Reinhold Publishing Company 1961-1965 (2 folders)
Box 32		Reiss, Lionel S. 1955
Box 32		Rembert, William and Jean 1973
Box 32		Reynard, Grant 1954
Box 32		Reynolds, Pat 1987-1981
Box 32		Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) 1939-1969
Box 32		Rhode Island Water Color Society (RIWCS) 1975-1984
Box 32		Richards, Walter D. 1984-1997
Box 32		Ridgewood Art Association, Inc. 1947
Box 32		Riggs Gallery 1989-1990
Box 32		Riley, Bernard 1958
Box 32		Riley, Kenneth 1958
Box 32		Rochester Art Club 1954
Box 32		Rockport Publishers 1996-1999
Box 32		Rogers, Charles B. 1965-1967 (2 folders)
Box 33		Roosevelt, Eleanor 1942
Box 33		Rose, John C. 1973-1974
Box 33		Ross, Alex 1968-1973
Box 33		Royal Society of Arts 1954-1980 (2 folders)
Box 33		Royal Society of British Artists 1951
Box 33		Royal Society of Painters in Water Colours 1962
Box 33		Ruiz, José 1962
Box 33		Miscellaneous - S (2 folders)
Box 33		Saalburg, Grace (Mrs. Charles) 1962-1966
Box 33		Sachs, Shelly 1966
Box 33		Safford, Ruth Perkins 1956-1968
Box 33		Sail-making 1957-1958
Box 33		Salmagundi Club 1943-1965
Box 33		San Diego Art Guild/Fine Arts Gallery 1964-1969
Box 33		San Diego Art Institute 1967-1970, 2004
Box 33		San Diego Museum of Art 1980-2000
Box 34		San Diego Tribune 1966-1987
Box 34		San Diego Union 1975-2000 (2 folders)
Box 34		San Diego Watercolor Society 1965-1993
Box 34		San Diego Zoo 1999-2003
Box 34		San Francisco 1971 - various correspondents
Box 34		Sanborn, Herbert J. 1932
Box 34		Sandra Wilson Gallery 1972
Box 34		Sands, Jennifer 1983-2000
Box 34		Saris, Anthony 1958-159
Box 34		Savage, Eugene 1961-1965
Box 34		Scalise, Nicholas P. 1992
Box 34		Scarsdale Art Association 1957
Box 34		Schaefer, Rockwell B. 1943
Box 34		Schimmel, William 1970-1973
Box 34		Schmitt, Paul A. 1969-1970
Box 34		Scholastic Magazines Art Awards 1956
Box 34		Scott, Beth 1966
Box 34		Scripps Memorial Hospital 1978
Box 34		Shackelford, Lyne T. 1966-1972
Box 34		Sheets, Millard 1964-1973
Box 34		Sheldon Swope Art Gallery 1967-1979
Box 34		Sherman, Stowell B. 1945-1946
Box 34		Shilstone, Arthur 1960
Box 34		Shinn, Everett 1942-1943
Box 34		Shneour, Polly 2001-2003
Box 34		Silverman, Burt 1999
Box 34		Silvermine Guild of Artists 1951-1958
Box 34		Simpson, Maxwell Stuart 1962
Box 34		Sisson, Frederick 1943-1945
Box 34		Sleicher, Robert S. 1965
Box 34		Smith, Bissell Phelps undated
Box 34		Snidow, Gordon 1971-1973
Box 34		Society of Western Artists 1966-1970
Box 35		Sonneman, Anna 1998
Box 35		Sorel, Edward 1960
Box 35		Southwest Art 1975-1981
Box 35		Sowinski, Stanislaus 1998-2005
Box 35		Spanish Village Art Center 1969
Box 35		Spooner, Maryjane 1976, 1995-2005
Box 35		Spriggs, Kristine 1977-2001 (2 folders)
Box 35		Springfield Museum of Fine Arts [Massachusetts] 1959-1964
Box 35		Springfield Art Museum [Missouri] 1963-1967
Box 35		Springville High School Art Association/Gallery [Utah] 1969-1974
Box 35		Springville Museum of Art [Utah] 1969-1974
Box 35		St. Lawrence University 1970-1974
Box 35		St. Luke Art Guild 1963
Box 35		St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church 1953-1956
Box 35		Staten Island Institute of Sciences 1944-1946
Box 35		Stefan, Ross 1979-1989
Box 35		Steinke, Bettina 1968-1969
Box 36		Stevens, Dr. Marjorie 1967-1968
Box 36		Stevens, Stanford 1963
Box 36		Strisik, Paul 1971
Box 36		Sullivan, Mary 1992-1999
Box 36		Sundblom, Haddon 1953-1956
Box 36		Syndicate Publications 1953-1955
Box 36		Syracuse University (5 folders)
Box 36		Szabo, Laszlo 1961
Box 36		Miscellaneous - T undated
Box 36		Talbot, Vernon 1955-1958
Box 36		Taylor, Bailee 1988-2000
Box 36		Teague, Donald 1957-1964
Box 36		Thielke, Luanne 2001-2004
Box 36		Thurston family 1955-1957, 1993-2000 (2 folders)
Box 37		Tiffany, Paul and Ruth 1964-1970
Box 37		Today's Art 1963-1966
Box 37		Tompkins, Agnes (Mrs. Erwin C.) 1967-1974
Box 37		Trailside Galleries 1973, 1987, 1992 (2 folders)
Box 37		Tschamber, George H. 1943-1945
Box 37		Tucson Watercolor Guild, Inc. 1955
Box 37		Twentieth Century Realists 1966-1968
Box 37		Miscellaneous - U
		United States Congress
Box 37			[General] 1959-1967
Box 37			Congressional Bill #6874 1955
Box 37			House Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC) 1955-1959
Box 37			Barry Goldwater 1961-1971
Box 37			Hon. George A. Dondero of Michigan 1956-1961
Box 37			Art and Communication 1959-1960
Box 37		University Club San Francisco undated
Box 37		University of San Diego 1944-1971
Box 37		Utopian Club undated
Box 37		Miscellaneous - V undated
Box 37		Vavra, Ron 1995-2000
Box 37		Vebell, Edward 1961
Box 37		Village Art Center Gallery 1948-1964
Box 38		Vogue Wright Studios 1957
Box 38		Vose Galleries 1953-1955
Box 38		Miscellaneous - W undated (2 folders)
Box 38		Walker, Gilbert A. 1962
Box 38		Ward Eggleston Galleries 1955
Box 38		Washington Square Outdoor Art Exhibit 1948-1949
Box 38		Washington Water Color Association 1942-1960
Box 38		Watercolor Correspondence School (Metropolitan Group) 1951
Box 38		Watson, Ernest 1946-1966
Box 38		Watercolor U.S.A. 1970
Box 38		Watercolor West 1970-1974
Box 38		Watson-Guptill Publications 1955-1975
Box 38		Weaver, Paul 1984-2002
Box 38		Weibel, Kathy 1989-1991 (2 folders)
Box 38		West, James H. 1976-1977
Box 38		West Coast Watercolor Society 1970-1974
Box 38		The Westerners 1970
Box 38		Westport Artists 1950-1958
Box 39		Wheat, John 1957-1958
Box 39		Whitaker, Eileen 1944-1961 - letters and information about her early career
		Whitaker, Frederic
Box 39			Writings - articles written by Whitaker that do not appear in American Artist; articles written about Whitaker that have not been filed under any other folder; short stories, notes and essays written by Whitaker that were not filed under any other folder; condolences written to Eileen Whitaker or "In Memoriams" published after Whitaker's death in 1980.
Box 39			Condolences on his death 1980
Box 39			Salad tongs design 1975-1976
			Book by Janice Lovoos - correspondence and information regarding the book written about Whitaker by Janice Lovoos
				See Lovoos, Janice above.
Box 39		Whitaker family 1939-1973
Box 39		Whitney, Edgar A. 1965-1973
Box 39		Whitney, Joseph F. 1966-1976
Box 39		Who's Who in American Art 1958
Box 39		Who's Who in Art Gallery 1978-1980
Box 39		Wichita Centennial National Art Exhibit 1970
Box 39		Wichita State University 1971-2003
Box 39		Wieghorst, Olaf 1972
Box 39		Wilbur, Lawrence Nelson 1957
Box 39		Wilkey, Justice Roscoe S. 1970
Box 39		Williams, John Scott 1959-1977
Box 39		Williams, Wheeler 1957-1965
Box 39		Wilson, Ivan 1954-1966
Box 39		Witt, Samuel A. 1964-1969
Box 39		Wollheim-Rosequist Galleries 1975-1989
Box 39		Wong, Frederick 1967-1968
Box 39		Wood, Robert E. 1967-1970
Box 39		Wostrel, Nancy 1994-2004
Box 39		Wright, Barton A. 1969
Box 39		Wright, Frank C. 1967
			See also Council of American Artist Societies : Frank C. Wright, Jr. above.
Box 39		Wurlitzer Foundation 1969-1970
Box 39		Wyoming Valley Art League 1960-1961
Box 39		Wyeth, Andrew 1951
Box 39		Miscellaneous - Y
Box 39		Yaros, Ken 1997-2002
Box 39		Zornes, Milford 1966-1970
Box 39		Unidentified

	Eileen Whitaker
Box 40		Awards undated
Box 40		Biography 1955
Box 40		Book clippings undated
Box 40		Clippings 1967
Box 40		Contract 1980
Box 40		Exhibitions of Eileen's work 1961-1996
Box 40		Inventory of office 1993
Box 40		Quotes and miscellaneous 1982
Box 40		United States International University 1981-1983

	Memorabilia
Oversize 3		Address book
Oversize 3		American Watercolor Society silver-handled paintbbrush
Oversize 3		Book of pressed flowers
Oversize 3		Brushes
Oversize 3		Caricature of Fred
Box 41		Eileen Monaghan Whitaker, personal undated (5 folders)
		Frederic's death
Box 41			Appraisals of Fred's work 1982
Box 41			Condolence letters 1980
Box 41			Distribution of Fred's work 1981
Box 41			Obituaries and tributes 1980
Box 41			Will and Testament 1981
Oversize 3		Gastebuch
		Photographs
Box 41			Amish and Pennsylvania Dutch
Box 41			Animals (2 folders)
Box 41			Boats
Box 41			Buildings
Box 41			Canada (Quebec)
Box 41			Connecticut
Box 42			Corn shocks
Box 42			Delaware
Box 42			Donkeys
Box 42			France
Box 42			Germany
Box 42			Gloucester (Mass.)
Box 42			Ireland
Box 42			Italy
Box 42			Louisiana
Box 42			Maine
Box 42			Mexico (3 folders)
Box 43			Mexico (4 folders)
Box 43			Miscellaneous, A-R (3 folders)
Box 44			Miscellaneous, S-Z
Box 44			Miscellaneous, unlabeled
Box 44			New Jersey - quarry
Box 44			New York (2 folders)
Box 44			Norwalk (Connecticut)
Box 44			Pennsylvania
Box 44			Piermont
			Portugal [MISSING May 2016] 1956
Box 44			Rhode Island
Box 44			Rocks
Box 44			Roslyn
Box 44			Skiffs
Box 44			Spain, A-C 1956 (4 folders)
Box 45			Spain, C-T 1956 (8 folders)
Box 46			Spain, V-Y 1956
Box 46			Spain, miscellaneous 1956 (2 folders)
Box 46			Tobacco plants
Box 46			Trees
Box 46			Tugs
Box 47			United States, various
Box 46			Unknown
Box 46			Vermont
Box 46			Of Fred Whitaker
Oversize 3		Plaque from San Diego Watercolor Society
		Postcards
Box 46			France 1956 (2 folders)
Box 46			Miscellaneous, A-M
Box 48			Miscellaneous, M-W
Box 48			Spain
		Records
Box 48			Art records 1971
Box 48			Artists known
Box 48			Awards, etc. 1957, 1974
Box 48			Biographical materials undated
Box 48			Consignment papers 1974
Box 48			Copyright registration 1942
Box 48			Member lists 1962
Box 48			Museums represented 1970
Box 48			Regarding ownership of Whitaker paintings 1957-1975
Box 48			Watercolor owners 1976-1978
Oversize 3		Sheet music (gift)
Box 65		Tape of the Horatio Alger Awards (1 reel) (ID#: whitaker_001)
Oversize 3		Tools
		Scrapbooks
Oversize 4			Scrapbook
Oversize 4			Scrapbook
Oversize 5			Scrapbook
Oversize 5			Scrapbook
		Travel
Box 49			France
Box 49			Ireland
Box 49			London
Box 49			Portugal
Box 49			Spain
Box 49		War ration book undated

	Printed material
		Articles
Box 55			About Eileen Monaghan 1967, 1971-1975
Box 55			About Frederic Whitaker 1939-1949, 1954-1980, undated (6 folders)
		Calendars
Box 55			General Tire International 1967
Box 55			New York Life Agent 1961
		Clippings
Box 55			About Eileen
Box 55			About FW 1931-1945 (7 folders)
Box 56			About FW 1946-1960 (15 folders)
Box 57			About FW 1961-1986, undated (17 folders)
Box 57			About art, artists
Box 57			Miscellaneous
		Exhibit catalogs
Box 50			Catalogs 1939-1950 (18 folders)
Box 51			Catalogs 1951-1959 (13 folders)
Box 52			Catalogs 1960-1966 (12 folders)
Box 53			Catalogs 1968-1972 (8 folders)
Box 54			Catalogs 1973-1980 (6 folders)
Box 54			Catalogs 1990-2000
Box 54			Catalogs Undated (3 folders)
		Miscellaneous
Box 58			About FW
Box 58			Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) alumni publications 1944-1945, 1956, 1968-1969, 1972, 1975 (2 folders)

	Writings
		Articles - published/printed articles by the Whitakers
Box 58			By Eileen Monaghan 1959
Box 58			By Frederic Whitaker 1947-1969 - most published in American Artist, Today's Artist, or The Artist (3 folders)
Box 58		Autobiography (2 folders)
			See also Manuscripts: Autobiography, below.
Box 58		Biographical sketches
		Drafts
Box 59			[General] (4 folders)
Box 59			Guatemala
Box 59			Notes on drawings
Box 59			Speech, "A New Division"
Box 59			Speeches
Box 59			The Artist of the Real World
		Essays - typescripts of essays on various topics, by FW
Box 59			Anti-Defamation 1974
Box 59			Anti-Discrimination
Box 59			Are Americans Too Generous 1971
Box 59			Are You A Genius? / Is It Smart
Box 59			Art (2 folders)
Box 59			Arts Organization
Box 59			Articles and Random Thoughts (complete set)
Box 59			Artistic Abnegation
Box 59			Assimilabilty
Box 59			Barnacles 1977
Box 59			Beauty is Where You Find It 1971
Box 59			Beggars 1973
Box 59			Blackmail
Box 59			Booby Traps 1977
Box 60			Can't Sleep Tonight 1971
Box 60			Charity 1975
Box 60			Concentration 1975
Box 60			Conversation with My Wife undated
Box 60			Copies 1973
Box 60			Creativity Is Not Easy 1975
Box 60			Credo 1974
Box 60			Cult of Irresponsibility undated
Box 60			Democracy Republic 1975
Box 60			Dependability 1976
Box 60			Design in Painting 1954
Box 60			Emerging Nations 1971
Box 60			Endless Results Follow Every Action 1972
Box 60			The Entrepreneur 1971
Box 60			Equality 1975
Box 60			Equality of Privilege undated
Box 60			Everyone Needs Help 1971
Box 60			Evolution versus Revolution 1954
Box 60			Eye Versus Camera undated
Box 60			Fairy tale, "The Glass Mountain" 1979
Box 60			Free Enterprise 1978
Box 60			Free Enterprise undated
Box 60			Freedom from Lice 1971
Box 60			Free-loaders 1975
Box 60			Friends, profiles of undated
Box 60			Genius - Artistic and Commercial undated
Box 60			Genius - Or the Tale of a Young Inventor 1977
			The Glass Mountain
				See Fairy tale, "The Glass Mountain"
Box 60			Guilty or Not 1977
Box 60			Habits of Unsalaried Assistants undated
Box 60			Helping Others 1971
Box 60			Hospitality 1976
Box 60			How a Left Wing Movement Operates undated
Box 60			How I Paint a Watercolor 1954
Box 60			How to Get Things Done 1972
Box 60			How to Clarify Your Thinking 1971
Box 60			How to Paint An Outstanding Watercolor undated
Box 60			How's Joe 1976
Box 60			I Know My Rights 1971
Box 60			I Marched in the Parade 1970
Box 60			Ideas Cut Two Ways 1971
Box 60			Illegal Aliens 1975
Box 60			Incidence of Chance 1971
Box 60			Income tax 1978
Box 60			The Indian Problem 1974
Box 60			Inflation Simplified 1974
Box 60			Invention 1976
Box 60			It Isn't Necessary Always to Access the Blame 1971
Box 60			Is Art A Vocation? undated
Box 60			Is Liberty a Cancer? undated
Box 60			Is Tolerance A One-Way Street? undated
Box 60			Jobs 1976
Box 60			Justice 1971
Box 60			Justice Can Be Bought 1971
Box 60			Legal Punishment 1971
Box 60			Legal vs. Intuitional Judgment 1971
Box 60			Let's Be Neat? undated
Box 60			Let's Be Practical undated
Box 60			Let's Teach Facts of Life 1970
Box 60			Life Is a Tough Ordeal 1974
Box 60			Malpractice Insurance 1975
Box 60			May we copy the work of others? 1975
Box 60			Medical Malpractice 1975
Box 60			Menial Labor 1971
Box 60			Merry Christmas Amigos undated
Box 60			Metamorphosis 1977
Box 60			Miscellaneous 1971-1976 (3 folders)
Box 60			Miscellaneous and drafts 1978
Box 61			Modernization of the Art Business undated
Box 61			Monstance 1978
Box 61			Moving Left in Government and Art undated
Box 61			Municipal Art Society of New York History 1948
Box 61			Negro Problem 1967
Box 61			Non-art 1971-1976 (3 folders)
Box 61			Not that much truth 1977
Box 61			Odors 1968
Box 61			Old Man in a Hurry 1975
Box 61			Our Debt to Past Generations 1975
Box 61			Painting from photographs
Box 61			Painting / Value of Money 1977
Box 61			Planting Seeds 1973
Box 61			Poverty 1975
Box 61			Poverty Problem 1969
Box 61			The Power of Law undated
Box 61			Power of the Individual 1975
Box 61			Pragmatism or Sentimentality 1971
Box 61			Prejudice and Discrimination undated
Box 61			Production 1976
Box 61			Production / Inflation 1976
Box 61			Prosperity Is Contagious 1967
Box 61			Prostitution 1977
Box 61			Pursuit of Happiness 1971
Box 61			Purveyors of Discourtesy 1975
Box 61			Questions 11A amd 11B on improving high schools and colleges today 1966
Box 61			Random Reflections on Matters Artistic 1967-1972 (6 folders)
Box 62			Rattlesnakes 1975
Box 62			Recollections undated (3 foldres)
Box 62			Reverie 1975
Box 62			Rewards for Virtue and Valor undated
Box 62			Right Without Thinking 1971
Box 62			Rights and Responsibilities 1974
Box 62			Says the Boss undated
Box 62			Self-Education undated
Box 62			Shipwreck / Cape Cod undated
Box 62			Should the Rich Be Nationalized undated
Box 62			Social issues 1970-1977 (3 folders)
Box 62			Solve Problems of Labor, Friction, Etc 1971
Box 62			Somebody Else 1975
Box 62			Source of Wealth 1968
Box 62			South of the Border undated
Box 62			Speaking / Writing / Thinking 1979
Box 62			The Spider 1951
Box 62			Stop Talking undated
Box 62			Success 1970
Box 62			Sudden Death / How It Feels 1972
Box 62			Talking from the Book undated
Box 62			Tax Payer's Strike 1971
Box 62			Technique undated
Box 62			Test Civilization undated
Box 62			The "Over" System 1972
Box 62			The Debt to Our Forebears 1970
Box 62			The -Ism Painters undated
Box 62			The Nature of Ferment undated
Box 62			Thoughts on Sex undated
Box 62			Thoughts While Listening 1971
Box 62			To organize an art society
Box 62			Today's Art / Take It Easy 1955
Box 62			Value of Human Life 1971
Box 62			Value of Time undated
Box 62			Wages 1978
Box 63			Watercolor Painting undated
Box 63			We Can't Expect to Reach the Peak 1971
Box 63			We Get What We Ask For undated
Box 63			We Think We Know What We Like undated
Box 63			Wealth 1971
Box 63			We're a Tough Lot 1955
Box 63			What's Wrong with Art Today? 1968
Box 63			Who Exploits the Workers 1977
Box 63			Who Owes What to Whom 1969
Box 63			Who Wins Prizes - And Why undated
Box 63			Why Does Art Need to Be Explained? undated
Box 63			Women Are Different undated
Box 63			Women Overload Everything 1971
Box 63			Women's Lib 1975
Box 63			Women's Lib #2 1977
Box 63			Word to Upcoming Generation 1971
Box 63			Working Over Watercolors 1955
Box 63			You Can Keep From Saying Anything 1971
Box 63		Inspirational material for essays undated
Box 63		Letter to God 1979
		Manuscripts
Box 63			Autobiography (I Marched in the Parade) 1966
				See also Autobiography, above.
Box 63			Organizing a Painting 1964
Box 63			Painting Perfection undated (2 folders)
Box 64			This Crazy Art Business undated (2 folders)
Box 64			This Crazy Art Business / The Artist and the Real World undated
Box 64		Poem, "I Play My Concertina" undated
Box 64		Rules undated
Box 64		Miscellaneous - letters to the editor, "quotable quotes," blurbs for other artists' exhibits, etc. (6 folders)

Return to top