Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Walt Wetterberg Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wetterberg, Walt
Title: Walt Wetterberg Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1966-1968
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Out Our Way (The Willets).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Walt Wetterberg was an American cartoonist. Wetterberg worked on the comic strip Out Our Way (The Willets) during the mid-1960s. Published collections of his work include, Ada the Ayrshire (New York: M.S. Mill Co., 1943) and Hutch Meets Ada, and Other Misadventures of Hutch (Philadelphia: Farm journal, 1979).

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walt Wetterberg Cartoons collection contains original daily and Sunday cartoons from the newspaper comic strip Out Our Way (The Willets). Daily cartoon: traces of graphite, opaque white, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 6 ¾ x 18. Sunday cartoon: traces of graphite, opaque white, pasteovers, brush, pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 18 x 26.

The Sunday feature Out Our Way (The Willets) (sometimes spelled "Willits") was a spin-off from the popular daily panel strip Out Our Way, created by J. R. Williams in 1922. Though Williams signed the feature, it was produced by a number of assistants over the years, including Neg Cochran, Walt Wetterberg and Paul Gringle. Apparently, Wetterberg was responsible for a daily comic strip focused on the Willet family (as per our holdings), but this daily feature is distinct from the Out Our Way daily panel which continued concurrently.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Daily and Sunday cartoons are arranged separately in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Neg Cochran Cartoons collection for additional material related to Out Our Way.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wetterberg, Walt.
Williams, James Robert, 1888-1957

Corporate Bodies

Newspaper Enterprise Association.

Associated Titles

Out our way (comic strip)
The Willets (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walt Wetterberg Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Newspaper Enterprise Association, Inc., 1967-1969.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: 28 May 1968
Revision history: 12 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 17 Apr 2009 - revised (MD); 7 Jul 2017 - cartoons from 1968 added (MS)

Return to top

Inventory

Out Our Way (The Willets)
Click here for detailed inventory.
Box 1 Daily cartoons 1966 Aug - 1967 Mar
Box 2 Daily cartoons 1967 Apr - 1967 Dec
Box 3 Daily cartoons 1968 Jan - 1968 Jun
Box 4 Daily cartoons 1968 Jul - 1968 Dec
Oversize 1 Sunday cartoons 1966 Jun - 1967 Dec
Oversize 2 Sunday cartoons 1968

Return to top