Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

West Glenville (N.Y.) Dutch Reformed Church Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: West Glenville Dutch Reformed Church (West Glenville, N.Y.)
Title: West Glenville (N.Y.) Dutch Reformed Church Records
Inclusive Dates: 1818-1953
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Records from a church in West Glenville, New York. Collection includes consistory minutes, vital records, financial records and more. Collection is photocopy or microfilm only, no original documents.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The West Glenville (N.Y.) Dutch Reformed Church was incorporate in West Glenville, New York in 1814. Its seal was a ten-cent piece made of silver. Its current (2010) building is at 8 North Church Street.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The West Glenville (N.Y.) Dutch Reformed Church Records consist of photocopied and microfilmed versions of manuscripts, subject files and financial material dating from 1814 to 1953.

The microfilmed records include a historical sketch, vital records (baptisms 1814-1875, marriages 1818-1876, deaths and memberships 1818-1953, and consistory minutes 1814-1953. The vital records are important genealogically since New York State's Department of Health did not begin recording vital records until 1880. The consistory minutes relate the goals, both spiritual and material, of a small church for more than a century.

Xeroxed material consists of approximately 500 pieces of legal and financial material, and dates from 1814 to 1910. There are subscription lists to raise money to furnish the church, repair the barn at the parsonage, raise the minister's salary, and so on. Also included are pew rental lists, statements of expenses and receipts, fire insurance policies, and burial lot subscriptions and deeds. The earliest entry, dated February 23, 1814, Minutes of Consistory Meetings, mentions the election of church officers held at the new church edifice September 25, 1813.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

West Glenville Dutch Reformed Church (West Glenville, N.Y.)

Subjects

Reformed Church in America -- History.

Places

New York (State) -- Church history.
West Glenville, N.Y. -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Church records.
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Microfilm.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

West Glenville (N.Y.) Dutch Reformed Church Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Nov 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top