Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Robert Wayland-Smith Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wayland-Smith, Robert.
Title: Robert Wayland-Smith Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1944-1961
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Personal correspondence, memorabilia of the American peace activist. Much of the material relates to Wayland-Smith's activities as chairman of the Upstate New York Witness for Peace Committee.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert Wayland-Smith (1904-1961) was vice president and treasurer of Oneida Ltd. Silversmiths in Oneida, New York, director of the Oneida Valley National Bank, and a member of several amateur ornithology associations. A Quaker convert, he was active in the peace movement in Central New York, serving as Chairman of the Upstate New York Witness for Peace Committee and helping to organize vigils and other demonstrations for peace.

Wayland-Smith's wife Prudence (1908-1995) was also a social activist for over 50 years, focusing much of her energies on migrant and prison reform.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert Wayland-Smith Papers consists of correspondence and printed material, most relating to Wayland-Smith's activities as chairman of the Upstate New York Witness for Peace Committee. One folder contains a scrapbook of clippings relating to the Witness for Peace vigil at Griffiss Air Force Base in 1961, protesting the installation there of Titan ICBMs. Other activities mentioned are vigils at Fort Detrick, Maryland, and at Newport, a pilgrimage to Washington, and the Tricentenary of the American Society of Friends. Personal correspondence deals largely with Wayland-Smith's book purchases.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Folders are alphabetical and within that chronological.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wayland-Smith, Robert.

Corporate Bodies

Witness for Peace (Organization)

Subjects

Pacifism -- History.
Pacifism -- Religious aspects -- History.
Peace movements -- New York (State)
Quakers -- New York (State)
Quakers -- United States -- Political activity.
Society of Friends.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Fliers (printed matter)
Minutes.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Wayland-Smith Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 4 Feb 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence-subject files
Peace activities
Box 1 General 1950-1961, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Witness for Peace, Griffiss Air Force Base 31 Mar - 2 Apr 1961 - scrapbook of clippings
Box 1 Personal 1944-1962, undated (3 folders)

Return to top