Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Thomas F. Walsh Papers

An inventory of at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walsh, Thomas F. (Thomas Francis), 1850-1910.
Title: Thomas F. Walsh Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1901-1919
Quantity: 0.5 linear feet
Abstract: American miner and mining engineer. Collection contains correspondence, chiefly social; autographs; bankbooks; funeral cards; photos; telegrams; and a published address by Walsh.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas F. Walsh (1850-1910) was an Irish-American miner and philanthropist. After working as a millwright and carpenter in Ireland, he came to the United States and began mining for gold in the Black Hills and Colorado. His eventual discovery of the rich Camp Bird Mine yielded more than $20 million in gold and other minerals. A friend of Presidents McKinley, Roosevelt, and Taft, Walsh also endowed two libraries as well as a research fund at the Colorado School of Mines for the study of radium and other minerals, and contributed to many other social causes both in Ireland and the United States.

A biography of Walsh, Thomas F. Walsh: Progressive Businessman and Colorado Mining Tycoon by John C Stewart, was published in 2007.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas F. Walsh Papers consists of correspondence, primarily incoming, a few subject files, and one published item.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender. Subject files are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Walsh, Thomas F. (Thomas Francis), 1850-1910.

Subjects

Gold miners -- Colorado.
Gold mines and mining -- Colorado.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Miners.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas F. Walsh Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Thomas F. Walsh, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1966
Revision history: 11 May 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Balinger, R. A. 1908
Box 1 Bartel, G. C. 1909
Box 1 Bennett, Charles G. 1918
Box 1 Blythswood, Renfrew 1908
Box 1 Brind, Miran undated
Box 1 Buchtel, Henry 1907
Box 1 Burrows, J. C. 1909
Box 1 Butler, Michael 1904
Box 1 Carpenter, Fred W. 1909
Box 1 Cortelyou, George B. 1909
Box 1 Corcoran, Thom 1908
Box 1 Curtiss, William E. 1902
Box 1 Dewey, George 1909
Box 1 Executive Chamber of Colorado 1904
Box 1 Fairbanks, Chester 1908
Box 1 Governor of Ohio 1904
Box 1 Grant, Frederick 1909
Box 1 Hay, Clara S. 1903
Box 1 Hay, John 1902
Box 1 Houston, Samuel 1914
Box 1 Loeb, William Jr. 1908
Box 1 Louise 1910
Box 1 McCrey 1908
Box 1 Maenagh, Franklin 1909
Box 1 McLanahan & Burton 1919
Box 1 Miller, Anne Jean 1909
Box 1 Petherick 1910
Box 1 Skinner, James 1909
Box 1 Smith, Maggie 1910
Box 1 Stockquart, Emile 1908
Box 1 Sherman, J. S. 1909
Box 1 Taft, William Howard 1908
Box 1 Vandike, Henry undated
Box 1 Walsh, Winifred 1910
Box 1 Walsh, Blanch 1901
Box 1 Walsh, Catharine 1910
Box 1 Walsh, Sister Mary Borgia 1909
Box 1 Waddinfor, Hing 1904
Box 1 Wallace, — undated
Box 1 Warren 1909
Box 1 War Department undated
Box 1 Outgoing correspondence, from Thomas F. Walsh 1909
Subject files
Box 1 Autographs
Box 1 Bank books
Box 1 Club lists
Box 1 Design for stamps
Box 1 Finances
Box 1 Funeral cards
Box 1 Notes
Box 1 Photographs
Box 1 Pass to International Exposition, Paris
Box 1 Speech
Box 1 Telegrams
Published material
Box 1 Address by Thomas F. Walsh

Return to top