Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ralph C. Walker Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Walker, Ralph C. (Ralph Curry), 1892-1962.
Title: Ralph C. Walker Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1922-1961
Quantity: 6.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Baptist clergyman. Collection includes correspondence (1952-1961); travel journals (1922, 1934, 1956); sermons (1929-1961); photographs; church publications, and memorabilia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ralph C. Walker (1892-1962) was an American Baptist minister. He may have been affiliated with the Euclid Ave. Baptist Church in Cleveland, Ohio.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ralph C. Walker Papers consist of scrapbooks, correspondence, church publications, sermons, travel journals, and miscellany (including awards).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to church and clergy; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In addition, Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Walker, Ralph C. (Ralph Curry), 1892-1962 -- Archives.

Subjects

Baptists -- Clergy.
Baptists -- United States.
Clergy -- United States.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ralph C. Walker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1968
Revision history: 7 Jan 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Scrapbooks
Box 1 1923-1938, 1952-1959 (6 folders, 1 volume)
Oversize 1 1935, 1941-1952 (3 volumes)
Correspondence
Box 1 1952-1961 (3 folders)
Church publications
Box 1 Weekly bulletins 1952-1959
Box 1 Portland, Oregon, First Baptist Church audit 1953
Box 1 The Trumpeter 1949-1953 (4 volumes)
Box 1 Inspiration 1949-1950
Sermons
Box 1 1950, 1958-1961 (4 folders)
Box 1 1929 (59 folders)
Box 1 1932 (27 folders)
Travel journals
Box 1 1922, 1934, 1956 (3 folders)
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1 Sheet music by Walker 1943
Oversize 1 Photographs, black and white 1953
Oversize 1 Honorary Doctor of Divinity speech by George Taft undated
Oversize 1 Award 1922-1961

Return to top