Finding Aids
printer friendly version

John D. Wainwright Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Wainwright, John D., b. 1839.
Title: John D. Wainwright Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1860-1965
Bulk Dates: 1962-1965
Quantity: 4 folders (SC)
Abstract: Rear Admiral, United States Navy. Collection includes correspondence, photographs, clippings relating to Wainwright and to his father, Civil War Colonel John Wainwright, recipient of the Congressional Medal of Honor for his bravery at the Battle of Fort Fisher (North Carolina).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Drayton Wainwright (1878-1965) was an American naval officer. He served from 1900 to 1942, retiring with the rank of Rear Admiral. During the course of his career he commanded the USS Massachusetts and USS Tenadores (World War I), the USS Cleveland, and the U.S. Navy Yard in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

His father, John Wainwright, was a native of Syracuse, New York. A Colonel in the Union Army during the United States Civil War, he received the Congressional Medal of Honor for his bravery during the Battle of Fort Fisher (North Carolina) on January 15, 1865.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John D. Wainwright Collection contains material relating to both Rear Admiral John Drayton Wainwright and to his father, Colonel John Wainwright.

Biographical material contains two copies of a typescript relating the events of the Battle of Fort Fisher and Colonel Wainwright's role, which led to his receiving a Medal of Honor. There is also an original letter (and a copy of same) in the Colonel's hand, reflecting on his service, which reads in part: "I am not conscious of having done more than my duty in any of the engagements in which I participated with my regiment...I always aimed to do my level best and to do that as promptly as possible." Also included is a letter of condolence to Rear Admiral Wainwright's widow, on the occasion of his death, and a few pages of typescript with genealogical information about the Wainwright family.

Clippings consists of several obituaries for John D. Wainright, and several clippings regarding the donation of the Wainwright material to Syracuse University.

Correspondence includes letters between John D. Wainwright and Charles Kohen, the collector who donated the Wainwright material, and between Wainwright and John S. Mayfield of Syracuse University, who accepted the donation.

Photographs contains three identical photographs of John Wainwright and one of John D. Wainwright.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by type. Within each type, material is arranged chronologically where possible.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Wainwright, John D.
Wainwright, John, b. 1839.

Corporate Bodies

United States -- Armed Forces -- Officers.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
United States. -- Navy -- Officers.

Places

Fort Fisher (N.C. : Fort) -- Capture, 1865.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Genealogies.
Photographs.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John D. Wainwright Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

John Wainwright letter, gift of Charles Kohen, 1961.

Additional material, gift of John D. Wainwright, 1962.

Some correspondence, gift of John S. Mayfield, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010
Revision history: 15 Sep 2015 - added link to related material (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical information
SC 625 Genealogy, letter of John D. Wainwright, narration of Battle of Fort Fisher 1890, 1965, undated
Clippings
SC 625 Relating to the Wainwrights and the donation 1962, 1965
Correspondence
SC 625 Kohen, Charles 1962-1965
SC 625 Mayfield, John S. 1962-1965
Photographs
SC 625 John Wainwright, John D. Wainwright undated

Return to top