Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

W. D. Gates & Co. Stereocards

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: W. D. Gates & Co.
Title: W. D. Gates & Co. Stereocards
Inclusive Dates: circa 1890
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Seventeen stereocards, part of the "Gems of American Scenery" series, from W. D Gates & Company
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

W. D Gates & Co., based in Syracuse, New York, produced souvenir photographs. No other information could be found regarding them.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. D Gates & Co. Stereocards consists of stereoscopic photographs of various areas in central and upstate New York. Places represented include Watkins Glen, Genesee Falls, Niagara ("Niagra") Falls, and more. There is also one photograph showing a railroad switchback in Antrim, Pennsylvania.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to early Central New York. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a full listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

W. D Gates & Co.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- Syracuse (N.Y.)
Nature photography.
Photography -- United States.
Photography, Stereoscopic.

Places

Antrim (Pa. : Township) -- History.
Antrim (Pa. : Township) -- Pictorial works.
New York (State) -- History.
New York (State) -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Stereoscopic photographs.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. D. Gates & Co. Stereocards,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 15 Jun 2018
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Photographs
SC 825 "Gems of American Scenery" stereocards circa 1890 (17 items)

Return to top