Collection inventory

Special Collections home page
printer friendly version

Franz von Bayros Illustrations

An inventory of his illustrations at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bayros, Franz von, Marquis, 1866-1924
Title: Franz von Bayros Illustrations
Inclusive Dates: circa 1921
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: 17 color plates from Dante's Divine Comedy illustrated by Austrian artist, Franz von Bayros
Language: Italian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Franz von Bayros (1866-1924), also known as the Marquis de Bayros, was an Austrian commercial artist, illustrator, and painter.

Bayros was born on May 28, 1866 in Zagreb, in present-day Croatia. At age 17 he passed the entrance exam for the Vienna Academy. In 1896 he married Alice, the step daughter of his friend, Johann Straub. A year later they moved to Munich, where he gave his first exhibition. Between the years 1904 and 1908, Bayros continued his studies in Paris and Italy. Most known for his Tales at the Dressing Table portfolio, he belonged to the Decadent Movement in art, often using erotic themes and phantasmagoric imagery. On April 2, 1924 he died of a cerebral hemorrhage.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Franz von Bayros Illustrations consists of 17 color plate illustrations from Dante's Divine Comedy.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Illustrations are in no particular order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bayros, Franz von, Marquis, 1866-1924.
Dante Alighieri, 1265-1321 -- Divina commedia.

Subjects

Art, Austrian -- 20th century.
Illustration of books -- 20th century.
Illustration of books -- Austria.

Genres and Forms

Illustrations.

Occupations

Commercial artists.
Illustrators.
Painters (artists)

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Franz von Bayros Illustrations,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KD
Date: 10 Jan 2019
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Illustrations
SC 834 Divina commedia circa 1921

Return to top