Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Vogue Picture Disc Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Vogue Record Company.
Title: Vogue Picture Disc Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1946-1947
Quantity: 0.75 linear ft. (52 discs)
Abstract: Collection of 78 rpm phonograph records printed with color pictures.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Vogue picture records were produced by Sav-Way Industries of Detroit, Michigan between 1946 and 1947. The first 10-inch Vogue picture record (catalog number R707) was released to the public in May 1946. Production ceased less than a year later in April 1947, with Sav-Way entering into receivership in August 1947. During this time, approximately seventy-four different 10-inch Vogue picture records were released.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Vogue picture disc R718The Vogue Picture Record Collection consists of phonograph records on the "Vogue" label which have a picture (an artist's illustration) embedded in the transparent vinyl of the record. The illustrations on each side of the record are usually related to the title of the song on that side. The most common Vogue picture records are 10-inch, 78 RPM records, although a few 12-inch, 78 RPM Vogue picture records were also produced.

[Description adapted from the website of the Association of Vogue Picture Record Collectors (AVPRC) at http://www.voguepicturerecords.org.]

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Records are arranged by catalog number.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Madriguera, Enric.
Mann, Marion, 1914-
Masters, Frankie.
Montana, Patsy.
Mooney, Art.

Corporate Bodies

Art Kassel Trio.
Clyde McCoy Orchestra.
Hilltoppers (Musical group)
Hour of Charm All-Girl Orchestra.
King's Jesters (Musical group)
Lulu Belle and Scotty.
Rippling Rhythm Orchestra.
Vogue Record Company.

Subjects

Picture discs (Sound recordings)

Genres and Forms

78 rpm records.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vogue Picture Disc Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Lila Savada, 2011.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: PJM
Date: 22 Sep 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Discs
Vogue R707
P5: "Sugar Blues", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra; Clarence Williams, Lucy Fletcher
P7: "Basin Street Blues", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra; Spencer Williams
Vogue R708
P3: "I surrender Dear", The King's Jesters and Louise; Gordon Clifford, Harry Barris
P4: "S'Posin'", The King's Jesters and Louise; Razaf, Denniker
Vogue R710
P10: "Star Dust", The King's Jesters and Louise; Mitchell Parish, Hoagy Carmichael
P9: "The Bells of Saint Mary's", The Don Large Chorus; Douglas Furber, A. Emmet Adams
Vogue R711 / 713
P33: "Seems Like Old Times", Art Mooney and His Orchestra (w/ Janie Morgan) ; Lombardo, Loeb
P36: "I've been working on the Railroad", Art Mooney and His Orchestra
Vogue R712
P19: "Atlanta G.A", Shep Fields and His Orchestra (w/Jack Prince); Skylar, Shaftel
P20: "Aren't you glad you're you", Shep Fields and His Orchestra (w/Meredith Blake); Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
Vogue R713-32 / 732-13
P36: "I've been working on the Railroad", Art Mooney and His Orchestra
P40: "I don't Know why (I just do)", Art Mooney and His Orchestra (w/The Moon Chasers); Roy Turk, Fred E. Alhert
Vogue R714
P21: "Doodle Doo Doo ", Art Kassel and His Orchestra; Art Kassel, Mel Stitzel
P22: "All I do is Wantcha", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Gloria Hart; Art Kassel
Vogue R718
P25: "Some Sunday Morning", Lulu Belle & Scotty; Koehler, Jerome, Heindorf
P41: "In the Dog House Now", Lulu Belle & Scotty; Scott Wiseman
Vogue R719
P28: "Have I told you lately that I love you", Lulu Belle & Scotty; Scott Wiseman
P43: "I Get a Kick out of Corn", Lulu Belle & Scotty; Harold Adamson, Bernard Hanighen
Vogue R720
P26: "Grandpa's Getting' Younger Ev'ry Day", Lulu Belle & Scotty; Sammy Gallop, Howard Steiner
P44: "Time Will Tell", Lulu Belle & Scotty; Scott Wiseman
Vogue R721
P29: "When I gets to where I'm goin'", Patsy Montana; Edwards, Leonard, Braverman
P31: "You're only in my arms (to cry on my shoulder)", Patsy Montana; E. Nelson, M. Leeds, S. Nelson
Vogue R722
P6: "Tear it Down", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra (w/ Billie Jean Bennett); Clyde McCoy
P8: "Put that Ring on my Finger", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra (w/ Billie Jean Bennett); Sunny Skylar, Randy Ryan
Vogue R723
P14: "Wave to me, My Lady", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ The Kassel Trio); William Stein, Frank Loesser
P15: "You Won't be satisfied ('til you Break My Heart)", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/Jimmy Featherstone and The Kassel Trio; Freddy James, Larry Stock
Vogue R724
P16: "Sweet I've Gotten on You", Frankie Masters and His Orchestra (w/Frankie Masters, Marty, Kay, Pat and Jo); Williard Robison, Brad Reynolds
P47: "Everybody Knew but Me", Frankie Masters and His Orchestra (w/ Phylis Myles); Irving Berlin
Vogue R725 / 726
P61: "Rhapsody in Blue Part I", The Hour of Charm All Girl Orchestra (under direction of Phil Spitalny w/Eleanor on Piano); George Gershwin
P62: "Rhapsody in Blue Part II", The Hour of Charm All Girl Orchestra (under direction of Phil Spitalny w/Eleanor on Piano); George Gershwin
Vogue R730
P37: "Piper's Junction", Art Mooney and His Orchestra; Larry Fotin, Art Mooney
P38: "All through the Day", Art Mooney and His Orchestra (w/Johnny D'Arcy; Hammerstein, Kern
Vogue R731
P103: "Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea", Marion Mann; Ted Kohler, Harold Arlen
P105: "You took Advantage of Me", Marion Mann; Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
Vogue R732
P39: "In the Moonlight", Art Mooney and His Orchestra (w/Johnny D'Arcy; Godard, Jack Lawrence
P40: "I don't Know why (I just do)", Art Mooney and His Orchestra (w/The Moon Chasers); Roy Turk, Fred E. Alhert
Vogue R733
P64: "Blue Skies", The Hour of Charm All Girl Orchestra and Choir (under direction of Phil Spitalny w/Francine); Irving Berlin
P66: "Seville", The Hour of Charm All Girl Orchestra (under direction of Phil Spitalny)
Vogue R734
P12: "Sweetheart", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ The Kassel Trio); Davis, Johnson
P13: "A Little Consideration", Art Kasel and His Orchestra (w/ Gloria Hart and Kasell); Sunny Skylar
Vogue R735
P45: "Anybody Home", Frankie Masters and His Orchestra (w/ Marty, Kay, Pat and Jo)
P46: "Welcome to My Dream", Frankie Masters and His Orchestra (w/ Phylis Myles); Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
Vogue R736
P48: "Out where the West Winds Blow", Kenny Roberts (w/ The Down Homers); C. Guy Campbell, Everett R. Hinderer
P49: "Who you gonna kiss when I'm gone?", The Down Homers; C. Guy Campbell, Everett R. Hinderer
Vogue R744
P53: "Don't Tetch It", Nancy Lee and The Hilltoppers; Frank Madden
P56: "Flat River, Missouri", Judy & Jen (w/ The Hilltoppers); Grace Shannon
Vogue R745
P80: "The Trial of "Bumble", The Bee Part 1", The Jewell Playhouse, Inc under the direction of James Jewell
P82: "The Boy who Cried Wolf Part 1", The Jewell Playhouse, Inc under the direction of James Jewell
Vogue R746
P81: "The Trial of "Bumble", The Bee Part 2", The Jewell Playhouse, Inc under the direction of James Jewell
P83: "The Boy who Cried Wolf Part 2", The Jewell Playhouse, Inc under the direction of James Jewell
Vogue R747
P84: "Give me all of your heart", Dick La Salle and his Society Orchestra; Lew Garfield, Paul Shahin, Bill Young
P85: "I Dreamed About You Last Night (Cantigo Anoche Soñe)", Dick La Salle and his Society Orchestra; Fran Edwards, Paul Shahin, Dick La Salle
Vogue R748
P86: "Let Me Take You in my Arms (Quiérote En Mis Brazos", Dick La Salle and his Society Orchestra; Lew Garfield, Paul Shahin, Bill Young
P87: "It's Always You (Siempre Eres Tu)", Dick La Salle and his Society Orchestra; Bill Young, Paul Shahin
Vogue R750
P71: "Who's got a Tent to Rent", The King's Jesters; Fulton,Cunliffe
P71: "Who's got a Tent to Rent", The King's Jesters; Fulton,Cunliffe
Vogue R751
P73: "Humphrey, the Sweet Singing Pig", The King's Jesters; Yogi Yorgesson, Jimmy Hilliard
P74: "Mean to Me", The King's Jesters and Louise ; Turk, Ahlert
Vogue R752
P90: "(Ah Yes) There's good blues tonight", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra (w/ Billie Jean Bennett); Edna Osser and Abe Osser
P91: "Baby, What you do to Me", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra (w/ Billie Jean Bennett); George, James, Newman
Vogue R753
P88: "At Sundown", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra; Walter Donaldson
P89: "Way Down younder in New Orleans", Clyde McCoy and His Orchestra; Creamer and Layton
Vogue R754
P92: "She's funny that way", The Charles Shavers Quintent; Richard A Whiting, Neil Moret
P94: "Dizzy's Dilemma", The Charles Shavers Quintent
Vogue R755
P93: "Serenade to a Pair of Nylons", The Charles Shavers Quintent
P95: "Broadjump", The Charles Shavers Quintent
Vogue R758
P104: "You're gonna hate yourself in the mornin'", Marion Mann; Sammy Gallop, Larry Stock, Ira Schuster
P106: "Long, Strong and Consecutive", Marion Mann; Mac David, Duke Ellington
Vogue R760
P100: "So it Goes", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore and Dana Choir); Gamse, Lecuona
P101: "The Minute Samba", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Madriguera and Dana Choir); Madriguera
Vogue R761
P111: "More than You Know", Joan Edwards; William Rose, Edward Eliscu, Vincent Youmans
P112: "Go West, Young Man, Go West!", Joan Edwards; Jack Edwards, Lew Garfield
Vogue R764
P115: "I guess I'll get the papers (and go home)", Shep Fields and His Orchestra (w/Jack Prince); Prince, Rogers, Kanner
P116: "Whatta ya gonna do?", Shep Fields and His Orchestra (w/Jack Prince); Sunny Skylar, Patrick Lewis
Vogue R766
P117: "G'Wan Home, Your Mudder's callin'", The King's Jesters; Ralph Freed, Sammy Fain
P118: "Sepulveda", The King's Jesters; Jay Livingston and Ray Evans
Vogue R767
P119: "Love Means the Same Old Thing", Joan Edwards; Millinder, Tepper, Brodsky
P120: "The Is Always", Joan Edwards; Mack Gordon, Harry Warren
Vogue R770
P127: "The Whiffenpoof Song", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Jimmie Featherstone)
P128: "If that Phone ever rings (And it's You)", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Jimmie Featherstone); Art Kassel
Vogue R771
P125: "If I could be with you", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Gloria Hart and The Kassel Trio); Henry Creamer, Jimmy Johnson
P126: "Jeannine", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Jimmie Featherstone); L. Wolfe Gilbert, Nathaniel Shilkret
Vogue R772
P129: "All By Myself", Frankie Masters and His Orchestra (w/ Phylis Myles, Marty, Kay, Pat and Jo); Irving Berlin
P132: "Sniffle Song", Frankie Masters and His Orchestra (w/Frankie Masters, Marty, Kay, Pat and Jo); Frankie Masters
Vogue R774
P141: "Desert Fantasy (Scheherazade)", Sonny Dunham and His Orchestra
P142: "Save me a Dream", Sonny Dunham and His Orchestra (w/ Pete Hanley); Milton Berle, Nick Kenny, Abner Silver
Vogue R775
P143: "I Love you in the Daytime too", Sonny Dunham and His Orchestra (w/ Pete Hanley and the Sonnysiders; Sonny Dunham, H. Landis Smith
P144: "Clementine", Sonny Dunham and His Orchestra (w/ the Sonnysiders)
Vogue R776
P133: "Vem Vem (The Cuban Kissing Game)", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Danita Rodriguez); Ervin Drake, Jimme Shirl, Jose Morano
P134: "Mujercita", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore); Albert Gamse, Pedro Albani
Vogue R777
P136: "La Rumbita Tropical", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore); Gamse, Rodon, Novarro, Fortunato
P139: "Tiqui Tiqui Tan", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Enric Madriguera); Alberto Soccaras
Vogue R778
P135: "Guilty of Love", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore); John Klenner, Mundito Medina
P137: "Mucho Dinero", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore); Albert Gamse, Enric Madriguera
Vogue R779
P138: "A Man, A Moon and a Maid", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore); Albert Gamse, Robert Ratti
P140: "Cuban Yodelin' Man", Enric Madriguera and his Orchestra (w/Patricia Gilmore); Enric Madriguera
Vogue R780
P149: "Let's Get Married", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/Gloria Hart); Art Kassel
P150: "Touch Me Not", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ The Kassel Trio); Kassel, Weiser
Vogue R781
P147: "Sooner or Later", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Gloria Hart); Gilbert, Wolcott
P148: "I love you (For Sentimental Reasons)", Art Kassel and His Orchestra (w/ Jimmy Featherstone); Watson, Best
Vogue R782
P151: "What am I gonna do about you", Joan Edwards; Cann, Styne
P154: "Maybe You'll Be There", Joan Edwards; Gallop, Bloom
Vogue R786
P50: "Baby I found out all about you", The Down Homers (w/Bob Mason); Bob Mason
P52: "Boogie Woogie Yodel", The Down Homers (w/Kenny Roberts); Kenny Roberts

Return to top