Collection inventory

Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Kendall Vintroux Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Vintroux, Kendall.
Title: Kendall Vintroux Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1922-1966
Bulk Dates: 1966
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: 20 original editorial cartoons from 1966 and copies of material (cartoons and correspondence) dating to the 1920s and 1930s.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Kendall Vintroux (1896-1973) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Born in Frazier's Bottom, West Virginia on July 5, 1896, Kendall Vintroux grew up on a farm and attended a one-room school. As a teenager, Vintroux dropped out of school to work on the farm and pursued drawing in his free time. Vintroux served in World War I and sketched while at Camp Hancock, Georgia.

After sending a cartoon to the Charleston Gazette, Vintroux was hired as a cartoonist in 1922 where he worked until he retired in 1968. Vitroux's cartoons were also published in other newspapers. In addition to editorial cartoons, Vintroux drew the Sunday feature cartoon, Dog Wagon Stuff which was based on regular customers of a local Charleston restaurant, The Dog Wagon. Fourteen of Vintroux's cartoons were featured in the book, What America Thinks, Editorials and Cartoons (1944) which chronicled newspaper coverage of global politics from the 1938 Munich Agreement up to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941.

Kendall Vintroux died in Charleston, West Virginia on July 27, 1973.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kendall Vintroux Papers consists of two series.

Cartoons (1926-1966) contains 20 original, dated editorial cartoons as well as copies of material related to Vintroux's feature Dog Wagon Stuff. The editorial cartoons depict domestic and international politics including government spending, elections, America's relationship with Charles De Gaulle as well as China, the Vietnam War and nuclear weapons.

The editorial cartoons were draw on illustration board primarily with pen and ink with some crayon shading. Dates are written in blue ink at the bottom and the items measure 11 1/2" x 14". Captions appear on some cartoons at the top in pencil.

The Dog Wagon Stuff items are reproductions of original work drawn in ink that depict events at the Dog Wagon restaurant. There is a note of explanation from Vintroux as well as a copy of a newspaper article.

Correspondence consists of two photocopied letters. The 1922 letter is an invitation by the Daily Gazette Company asking Vintroux to meet with them regarding the possibility of him contributing regular drawings to the newspaper. The 1932 letter is from the Democratic State Executive Committee complimenting Vintroux cartoons.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Editorial Cartoons and correspondence are arranged in chronological order. Dog Wagon material is arranged as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Gaulle, Charles de, 1890-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Humphrey, Hubert H. (Hubert Horatio), 1911-1978 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vintroux, Kendall.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Associated Titles

Charleston gazette.
Dog wagon stuff (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Caricatures and cartoons -- West Virginia.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Cartoonists -- West Virginia.
Cost and standard of living -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- West Virginia.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Inflation -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Restaurants -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

Charleston (W. Va.) -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Correspondence.
Editorial cartoons.
Reproductions.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kendall Vintroux Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Kendall Vintroux, 1967, 1971.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MD
Date: 1 Dec 2008
Revision history: 1 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 29 Jan 2010 - added detailed bio, scope and inventory (SK)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
Oversize 1 Editorial Cartoons 1966 (20 items) 11 1/2" x 14"
Feb 23: [Hubert Humphrey and China]
Mar 15: [Western Alliance and France]: Charles De Gaulle
Mar 29: Face Saving News: J. William Fulbright, Vietnam War
Apr 2: [Europe peace and prosperity and post-war gloom] inflation, Charles De Gaulle, Europe
May 14: The Big Question (Do You want to live together in peace or die together in war?): nuclear weapons, China
May 26: [Congress working on higher debt ceiling]
Jun 25: [Here Lies U.N. Peace Force Spirit]: United Nations
Aug 18: Leap Frog Game: wages, prices
Aug 27: ['66-'68 Political Situation]: Robert F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Vietnam War, Hubert Humphrey
Aug 30: [Solider with skull on helmet saying "Never Any Trouble to Raise Plenty for Me", holding newspaper that reads, Cities Cry For More Federal Money]
Aug 31: The Spiral: cost of living, health care
Oct 5: [Lyndon B. Johnson's hand with governors, Congress and mayors as puppets]: federal grants
Oct 15: Squirrel Shooting Season
Oct 18: Election Year, Too: Lyndon B. Johnson, Social Security, Republican Party, Congress
Oct 19: Nightmare: U.S. commitments, world problems
Oct 22: [Johnson Meeting with Viet Nam War Allies at Manilla, "Is it a peace conference or a war conference]: industry
Nov 3: Coming and Going: Lyndon B. Johnson, Vietnam War
Nov 5: Hooked: inflation, women
Nov 12: Keeping Them Alive: elections, Republican Party, Democratic Party
Nov 15: [GOP Nov. 1966 Gains]: George W. Romney, Republican Party
Oversize 1 Dog Wagon Stuff circa 1926, circa 1931, undated (6 items)
not original artwork
note from Vintroux with background information about Dog Wagon
3 copies of cartoons (circa 1926, undated)
photocopy of article about Dog Wagon Club Picnic (1931)
copy of 4th Annual Grand Reunion of the Dog Wagon Club cartoon
Correspondence
Oversize 1 Incoming correspondence 23 Jan 1922, 11 Nov 1932 (2 items)
photocopies of originals

Return to top